New Stadium

Hill
I know what you mean, it's hard getting in and out of some places and like you say portlaoise would also be ideal if the stadium was a bit bigger ,and of course they also have the prison so we could call to see the relatives while we'd be there :-) only joking , plus portlaoise would only be about a 4 and a half hour drive for me so it would be handy enough , but it was great mixing it up with ye in thurles 13 years ago now, 2 of the best days iv had on the road.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2014 13:14:39    1664669

MFS Limerick was far from sold out this year for the semi final despite an increase in the number of Kerry fans who went compared to the first match.

Grounds like Thurles, Limerick and the new pairc ui chaoimh are big enough for the games you talk of.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 17/10/2014 17:38:44    1664778

Portlaoise is poor for big games, lack of parking is a huge problem. The queue coming off the M7 is shocking too.

Very similar problem with access by car in Thurles too.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/10/2014 18:15:55    1664786

Richieq

Joxer

1) All counties play either three or four league games away, don't know what your trying to prove with that point

Proving that Dublin already play a number of games outside of the capital so why build a large stadium for them for 1 championship game, assuming the goal is to get Dublin out of CP.

2) Not all quarter finals are in Croke Park, out last two have been in Aughrim and Carlow respectively

Yeah but let's face it that's because Meath are not good. When Meath were good and had all of the bandwagon fans then they played at HQ.

3) I don't want any new stadium built, I think the notion of such is pure folly especially when a ground like Pairc Tailteann has the scope for proper redevelopment into a mid size ground and is already located in the Dublin commuter belt

Agreed

4) No new stadium was ever going to be built for one Dublin game, don't believe the hype that your that important to the association, the notion of building a new stadium was so redeveloping three or four other grounds wouldn't be necessary despite the fact that renovating those grounds was a cheaper and far better option

Nothing to do with me pal. Not being cocky, read the OP's second sentence.... 'No stadium big enough in Leinster to hold the Dubs other than CP'. I didn't say that. Pay attention!

5) Dont be so cocky as to presume your going to win by a cricket score for years to come, you all thought that v Donegal and were left with a hefty slice of humble pie to devour

Who's eating humble pie? We've won five of the last six competitions we've played. They're just facts pal. Round 1 LSFC is not the same as AI semi. I know it's a while since you've been there but trust me. Again, pay attention to the posts. I said 'probably'. How is that cocky?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/10/2014 18:24:37    1664789

Richieq

Joxer

1) All counties play either three or four league games away, don't know what your trying to prove with that point

Proving that Dublin already play a number of games outside of the capital so why build a large stadium for them for 1 championship game, assuming the goal is to get Dublin out of CP.

SEE POINT FOUR, ITS NOT ALL ABOUT DUBLIN INCEDENTALLY YE RECENTLY HAD 5 HOME GAMES ONE YEAR SO EVEN LEAGUE MATCHES AWAY ARENT A FULL GAURANTEE ANY MORE

2) Not all quarter finals are in Croke Park, out last two have been in Aughrim and Carlow respectively

Yeah but let's face it that's because Meath are not good. When Meath were good and had all of the bandwagon fans then they played at HQ.

FIRST OFF WE NEVER HAD BANDWAGONERS, SECONDLY YOUR NOT ALL THAT RIGHT IN 1987 WE WERE IN PORTLAOISE AND TULLAMORE 1988 IN DROGHEDA AS ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS, 1992 NAVAN 1993 PORTLAOISE 1995 LONGFORD 2001 PORTLAOISE AND THEIR JUST THE ONES I REMEMBER WE WERENT ALWAYS IN CROKER AT ALL

3) I don't want any new stadium built, I think the notion of such is pure folly especially when a ground like Pairc Tailteann has the scope for proper redevelopment into a mid size ground and is already located in the Dublin commuter belt

Agreed

SOUND

4) No new stadium was ever going to be built for one Dublin game, don't believe the hype that your that important to the association, the notion of building a new stadium was so redeveloping three or four other grounds wouldn't be necessary despite the fact that renovating those grounds was a cheaper and far better option

Nothing to do with me pal. Not being cocky, read the OP's second sentence.... 'No stadium big enough in Leinster to hold the Dubs other than CP'. I didn't say that. Pay attention!

OH IM PAYING ATTENTION DONT WORRY AND AGAIN LETS CLARIFY ITS THE DUBLIN FOOTBALLERS, A SPECIFIC TEAM AS OPPOSED TO A SPECIFIC COUNTY. I WOULD ARGUE THAT PORTLAOISE OR KILKENNY COULD HOLD THEM NOW BUT THAT OTHER GROUNDS SHOULD BE 25 TO 30 K TO ACCOMODATE THE BIG DAYS THAT INVOLVE DUBLIN OR NOT ANYONE THAT THINKS THIS STADIUM PLAN WAS TO BE BUILT TO ACCOMODATE ONE TEAM FOR ONE GAME.........I DONT KNOW AT TIMES!!!!

5) Dont be so cocky as to presume your going to win by a cricket score for years to come, you all thought that v Donegal and were left with a hefty slice of humble pie to devour

Who's eating humble pie? We've won five of the last six competitions we've played. They're just facts pal. Round 1 LSFC is not the same as AI semi. I know it's a while since you've been there but trust me. Again, pay attention to the posts. I said 'probably'. How is that cocky?

WE WERE THERE IN 2007 AND 2009 IM NOT SO OLD THAT MY MEMORY IS SO POOR OF THOSE DAYS WE ALL KNOW WHAT YOU HAVE WON WE DONT NEED REMINDING JUST AS WE DONT NEED COMMENTS ABOUT DUBLIN WINNING BY CRICKET SCORES IN DAYS AHEAD, ONLY DOES YOURSELVES A DISSERVICE TALKING LIKE THAT AND SHOWS DISRESPECT TO OTHERS, THATS MY OPINION ON IT ANYWAY

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/10/2014 13:00:08    1664913

Richieq

Joxer

SEE POINT FOUR, ITS NOT ALL ABOUT DUBLIN INCEDENTALLY YE RECENTLY HAD 5 HOME GAMES ONE YEAR SO EVEN LEAGUE MATCHES AWAY ARENT A FULL GAURANTEE ANY MORE

FIRST OFF WE NEVER HAD BANDWAGONERS, SECONDLY YOUR NOT ALL THAT RIGHT IN 1987 WE WERE IN PORTLAOISE AND TULLAMORE 1988 IN DROGHEDA AS ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS, 1992 NAVAN 1993 PORTLAOISE 1995 LONGFORD 2001 PORTLAOISE AND THEIR JUST THE ONES I REMEMBER WE WERENT ALWAYS IN CROKER AT ALL

Agreed

SOUND

OH IM PAYING ATTENTION DONT WORRY AND AGAIN LETS CLARIFY ITS THE DUBLIN FOOTBALLERS, A SPECIFIC TEAM AS OPPOSED TO A SPECIFIC COUNTY. I WOULD ARGUE THAT PORTLAOISE OR KILKENNY COULD HOLD THEM NOW BUT THAT OTHER GROUNDS SHOULD BE 25 TO 30 K TO ACCOMODATE THE BIG DAYS THAT INVOLVE DUBLIN OR NOT ANYONE THAT THINKS THIS STADIUM PLAN WAS TO BE BUILT TO ACCOMODATE ONE TEAM FOR ONE GAME.........I DONT KNOW AT TIMES!!!!

WE WERE THERE IN 2007 AND 2009 IM NOT SO OLD THAT MY MEMORY IS SO POOR OF THOSE DAYS WE ALL KNOW WHAT YOU HAVE WON WE DONT NEED REMINDING JUST AS WE DONT NEED COMMENTS ABOUT DUBLIN WINNING BY CRICKET SCORES IN DAYS AHEAD, ONLY DOES YOURSELVES A DISSERVICE TALKING LIKE THAT AND SHOWS DISRESPECT TO OTHERS, THATS MY OPINION ON IT ANYWAY

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/10/2014 13:00:26    1664914

There is no need for a 60 thousand stadium or a new greenfield stadium but what is needed is a 30 thousand modern fully roofed stadium in the middle of Ireland. I would suggest these tipp and Kerry posters who Thurles is central should recheck there map as it is not central. The centre point of Ireland is Lecarrow, Co. Roscommon less then 10 miles from Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon which is in need of work and this would make a lot of sense to make it in to a modern 30 thousand stadium as the most central town in Ireland, also it is the most central venue in Connacht. Donegalman there is no good site in Athlone for a stadium like that, you have to go miles outside the town on the motorway and buy a pile of land for parking etc, Connacht rugby do not have a need for any more capacity and i can not see them wanting to leave Galway and in any case Roscommon would be better located then Athlone. Roscommon and Westmeath would not share a pitch for many reasons, it would be a bit like wanting Donegal to play there games in Sligo.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/10/2014 14:04:28    1664927

Makes no sense. At moment too far too many big capacity uncovered stadiums which have few seats and are mostly terraced. Hardly ever filled. Better to build stadiums of about 20k which are covered and mainly seated rather than build 45k uncovered mainly terraced stadiums.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 18/10/2014 16:28:15    1664968

Makes no sense. At moment too far too many big capacity uncovered stadiums which have few seats and are mostly terraced. Hardly ever filled. Better to build stadiums of about 20k which are covered and mainly seated rather than build 45k uncovered mainly terraced stadiums.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 18/10/2014 16:28:32    1664969

No need for a new stadium.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 18/10/2014 16:37:49    1664971

It's in the midlands that a stadium needs to be built, anywhere around the Longford Mullingar Athlone triangle, no need to build a new one maybe redevelop an existing grounds, it's near roads and trainlines that a stadium needs to be placed, no need for a massive ground, 30k people is more than enough. At the moment if Dublin reach the the AllIreland final they will play 6 games in Croke Park. No problem playing AllIreland semi and final in Croker but maybe a quarter finals or 2 could be played in the new stadium as well as Leinster quarter and semis. Biggest complaint is most supporters from Donegal all the way down to west Cork leave home at 7 or 8 am for a 3.30 game in Dublin, we arrive in Drumcondra between 12 and 1 o'clock before we enter the grounds before 3.30, the Dublin supporter can have a lie in, then go to Mass or the local shop for a newspaper,have the dinner at home and at 2.30 or 2.45 decide to go to the game, afterwards they are at home by 6pm while the rest of us haven't made it past the M50 yet, Croke Park is more convienent for Dublin supporters, if games involving Dublin and at times Kildare and Meath were put down the country then they would get the same matchday experience as the rest of us, falling asleep up to and down from the game, being starved, complaining about traffic jams, complaining about the grub you ate, complaining about the game, swearing you'll never go to a game again, complaining that you won't be home in time to watch The Sunday Game and wondering why it's on so early and so forth, really adds to the experience. Supporters in The Pale would love this craic

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/10/2014 20:48:02    1665269

Riverboys Dr Hyde Park is the best option for this.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 19/10/2014 21:24:41    1665293

No no no Roscommon town is awful for traffic on big match days especially if you come from Tulsk direction, in all honestly we have nothing west of Maynooth

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 20/10/2014 12:11:24    1665407

While I dont think a 'new' stadium is necessary, some grounds could do with a upgrade. Walsh Park in Waterford is the worse county ground I have been in. I think they should just knock that and rebuilt it. Some club grounds Ive been to are btter.

deadybai (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 20/10/2014 16:20:51    1665559

riverboys

It's in the midlands that a stadium needs to be built, anywhere around the Longford Mullingar Athlone triangle, no need to build a new one maybe redevelop an existing grounds, it's near roads and trainlines that a stadium needs to be placed, no need for a massive ground, 30k people is more than enough. At the moment if Dublin reach the the AllIreland final they will play 6 games in Croke Park. No problem playing AllIreland semi and final in Croker but maybe a quarter finals or 2 could be played in the new stadium as well as Leinster quarter and semis. Biggest complaint is most supporters from Donegal all the way down to west Cork leave home at 7 or 8 am for a 3.30 game in Dublin, we arrive in Drumcondra between 12 and 1 o'clock before we enter the grounds before 3.30, the Dublin supporter can have a lie in, then go to Mass or the local shop for a newspaper,have the dinner at home and at 2.30 or 2.45 decide to go to the game, afterwards they are at home by 6pm while the rest of us haven't made it past the M50 yet, Croke Park is more convienent for Dublin supporters, if games involving Dublin and at times Kildare and Meath were put down the country then they would get the same matchday experience as the rest of us, falling asleep up to and down from the game, being starved, complaining about traffic jams, complaining about the grub you ate, complaining about the game, swearing you'll never go to a game again, complaining that you won't be home in time to watch The Sunday Game and wondering why it's on so early and so forth, really adds to the experience. Supporters in The Pale would love this craic

Only culchies have their dinners in the middle of the day.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 20/10/2014 17:26:46    1665580

Riverboys are going to have traffic problems no matter where you have it that is a fact, you dont have to come through Tulsk coming from Mayo. Three towns you mentioned are a lot worst then Roscommon for traffic on a normal day never mind if you put in a big stadium in to them

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/10/2014 19:11:06    1665617