Leinster QF and Semi out of Croker please.

keeper7
County: Longford

1663334 If we beat Offaly we'd love to have the Dubs in Pearse Park again!

Would love to be there :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/10/2014 21:13:43    1663363

It is unlikely that Dublin will be asked to play any of their 2015 Leinster SFC matches outside Croke Park.

The Dubs will open the defence of their provincial title against either Longford or Offaly next summer and Leinster Council chairman John Horan expects that quarter-final clash to take place at HQ:

"Nothing is set or decided yet," he told The Irish Daily Star. "It's the perennial question: are Dublin going out of Croke Park?

"If Offaly beat Longford, going forward is Tullamore big enough? There was 41,000 at the Dubs' first match last year; you could only get half that in Tullamore.

"You have season ticket holders too. There's great concession rates for kids - €5 at Croke Park, which the Leinster Council are subsidising, as it costs us €6.25 per seat in Croke Park.

"You have six- and seven-year-olds standing on the terraces in Tullamore and less scope for concessions.

"I'd love as a Dublin Leinster chairman to say 'I took Dublin out of Croke Park', but you have to be realistic about it."

Ah now here, Ballybofey with a capacity of around 20'000 or a bit less was big enough for Donegal v Tyrone in 2013 and they both had significant support and Donegal were All Ireland Champions at the time. And kids?? I had my 6 year old standing in Tullamore for Meath v Laois in 2010 and he stood on terraces at various venues since, do the children of other counties not rank in the same level of importance as those from Dublin in so far as being able to sit in a stand?? And my son got a concession that day in Tullamore too so Croke Park isn't the only venue with concessions for children, the views of other counties aren't mentioned in this article these views are those of the Leinster Council and its chairman so I would imagine what other counties may say Leinster Council has final arbitration in this matter

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/10/2014 13:44:56    1663521

Let each and every Chairman nail there colours to the board , come out publically and push for Dublin to be moved out , the silence from Leinster county boards allways tells a story

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/10/2014 13:55:38    1663528

Richieq

very well put. I remember the atmospere in Ballybofey for that clash, for 20,000 people it was electric and really got the championship of and running. A Dublin v Offaly/Longford clash at HQ may well attract 40,000 people but in an 80,000 capacity stadium it will feel like a minor match on AI final day, a few echoing cheers at best. I guess money talks louder than specticle!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 14/10/2014 14:11:17    1663536

Exactly Richieq. Apparently, because a minority of the fans of 1 county bought season tickets, the entire leinster championship has to bend over backwards to suit them. It doesnt take a genius to work out that you simply refund them and come up with a more suitable season ticket plan.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/10/2014 14:24:48    1663545

The 'think of the children' excuse is a joke.
And 41k for the Laois game. Eh...it was a double header. And the support will naturally drop for an away QF.
Pathetic stuff from the Leinster Council.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 14/10/2014 14:36:03    1663553

All he has to do is look after the season ticket holders tough luck to the rest of us who don't have season tickets, like I'd love a game down the country but if I don't get a ticket cause I'm not a season ticket holder then fair enough but play the game out of Dublin ffs, there was 41 thousand for last years game but it was a double header wasn't it? honestly all Dub supporters would love to go down the country for a game but If we don't get a ticket for a game against Offaly or Longford I don't think we'd be losing to much sleep.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/10/2014 15:00:17    1663566

blah blah blah blah blah blah……………

Poor culchies. Yous have had ample opportunity to take the big bad Dubs outta Croker and on the road and since 2006 you've refused to do it.

No one is bending over backwards for one county's supporters here, one county is doing exactly what the other 11 counties tell us and want us to do.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 14/10/2014 15:06:34    1663569

Damothedub

Let each and every Chairman nail there colours to the board , come out publically and push for Dublin to be moved out , the silence from Leinster county boards allways tells a story

That excuse is wearing thin with me, if the majority of counties spoke out in favour of moving Dublin out I don't think it would matter one bit and the myriad of excuses outlined above by the Leinster Chairman in my view proves that point, the more I look at them the worse it sounds. Again I acknowledge the desire of Dublin supporters, and most likely players, to play "away" from home and the atmosphere they create and craic they bring us always great, but it now seems to me that Leinster Council just want the Dubs in Croke Park and whether other counties speak out about it or not I think is irrelevant to their decision making. If Offaly beat Longford, and that is no guarantee whatsoever, they should certainly push to host Dublin in a ground which has seen wholesale redevelopment into one of the finest venues in the country and in which Offaly invested significantly with assistance from other bodies, if Longford win they too could host the Dubs and indeed they were the last county to do so in Leinster. Pearse Park has also seen significant development and whilst recent audits reduced its capacity I don't think much investment would be needed to fix up the standing area behind the goal to boost capacity above its current level. The Dubs had the same support in 2005 as they have now and Longford was bustling that day and the local economy benefitted hugely. What is the point in Leinster Council or Central Council making funds available to redevelop these grounds, and what is the point of counties bothering their ass fundraising or borrowing for big redevelopment, if those grounds then can't be used for big occasions like the Dubs coming to town. Limitations of capacity are a poor excuse and really doesn't wash with me any more.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/10/2014 15:09:57    1663571

There was 41,000 there last year because it was a double header. It should not make a difference if the ground in not big enough as long as there is enough for the 2 teams season ticket holders.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 14/10/2014 15:47:18    1663583

The favouritism extended to Dublin by the GAA is disgusting.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 14/10/2014 16:26:19    1663613

Playing Dublin v Offaly/Longford in a packed Portlaoise on a Saturday night would be some atmosphere.

100 times better than playing infront of a half empty Croke Park where you could here the players shouting to each other.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 14/10/2014 17:22:35    1663648

Two years ago the Swiss used hydraulics and railway lines to move an old factory to another location whilst keeping it fully intact.

Surely the same should be done with Croker up and down the country?

Teams get to play in their own county, they also benefit from this supposed advantage that Kildare, Laois and Meath so evidently and successfully enjoy of playing regularly in Croke Park and the Dubs season ticket holders don't lose with capacity problems removed from the equation.

Win win all round, especially if you've shares in a moving company.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/10/2014 17:46:18    1663659

14/10/2014 17:46:18
if_in_doubt

Two years ago the Swiss used hydraulics and railway lines to move an old factory to another location whilst keeping it fully intact.

Surely the same should be done with Croker up and down the country?

Teams get to play in their own county, they also benefit from this supposed advantage that Kildare, Laois and Meath so evidently and successfully enjoy of playing regularly in Croke Park and the Dubs season ticket holders don't lose with capacity problems removed from the equation.

Win win all round, especially if you've shares in a moving company.

Ha, excellent idea just put her on wheels, and she wouldn't even be held up at Newlands Cross now shortly :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/10/2014 19:03:17    1663696

RoyalBadger

The 'think of the children' excuse is a joke.
And 41k for the Laois game. Eh...it was a double header. And the support will naturally drop for an away QF.
Pathetic stuff from the Leinster Council.

------
Yes but that's too simple. Do you seriously think that Dublin would bring less to an away game? If anything they will bring more. For starters there are 14000 season tkt holders who will get free tkts. You then add on the Parnell Park tit scheme people, those who normally pay in on spec and then the away day trippers. Now add on supporters of the opposition and then find a ground to accommodate those numbers.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/10/2014 21:01:50    1663749

Exactly Richieq. Apparently, because a minority of the fans of 1 county bought season tickets, the entire leinster championship has to bend over backwards to suit them. It doesnt take a genius to work out that you simply refund them and come up with a more suitable season ticket plan.

----
And what exactly would this 'more suitable' plan be assuming it's not denying the die-hards tickets, which of course is what a suitable plan is all about.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/10/2014 21:06:04    1663754

in fairness people saying there ws 41 thousand because it was a double header is untrue
as about 35 thousand were dubs, there was more louth than kildare that day.
what they need to do is renovate navan
simple as, if you put in proper terraces in navan and a new stand
you could have a 35 thousand stadium
that dublin could play quarter finals against louth, westmeath, longford and offaly.
tullamore for all the work on the stand, behind the goal has nothing where you come in and thats included in the attendance
it probably bumps it up 3 thousand even to make it 17,500 capacity
what sort of a joke would that be having to come in and stand on flat grass to watch a match
yet navan has two hills which you can see the match from and its deemed unsafe haha
but flat grass is perfectly safe haha wheres the health and safety in that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/10/2014 09:39:16    1663803

1663545 Exactly Richieq. Apparently, because a minority of the fans of 1 county bought season tickets, the entire leinster championship has to bend over backwards to suit them. It doesnt take a genius to work out that you simply refund them and come up with a more suitable season ticket plan.

Master, its not quiet as simple as that, the whole idea of buying a season ticket is to be sure of getting tickets for matches where tickets are scarce, be that an All Ireland final or a first round game in a ground with a small capacity. To suggest just refunding people for games where the supply exceeds demand just defeats the whole purpose of the scheme.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 15/10/2014 11:38:30    1663859

If there is such a high demand for season tickets then the money must be rolling in. Therefore the much needed refurbishments of some Leinster county grounds should be priority instead of airbrushing HQ.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 15/10/2014 11:52:14    1663866

Why do the culchies in charge of where Dublin play keep putting Dublin into Croker?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 15/10/2014 12:06:09    1663876