Kerry Unfair advantage??

agreed but they would have to peak a lot earlier to do so which would impact on all Ireland bid 4 hard battles injuries etc etc

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 11/10/2014 14:00:01    1662641

Badbounce - Kerry beat the best of Ulster and would do so again.

god help ye the jealousy much hurt.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/10/2014 14:09:48    1662643

thebadbounce

I will try one more time would Kerry win ulster from tyrone/Donegal draw?

Yes. Why not?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 11/10/2014 14:15:56    1662645

Theres no chance Kerry would win as many Provincial titles in Ulster,as they do in Munster.Obviously theyd still win a fair amount but their titles would be considerably fewer.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/10/2014 14:30:09    1662651

What a shower of begrudgers on this form take yer beaten if ye are good
enough ye have 2015 to have another shot at Sam

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 11/10/2014 14:59:44    1662656

11/10/2014 11:22:08
thebadbounce

I will try one more time would Kerry win ulster from tyrone/Donegal draw?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If my aunt had liathróid she'd be my uncle comes to mind! Would Mayo? Would Galway? Would Dublin? Would Cork? blah blah blah. The fault in the system is not Kerry - it is the system.

The All Ireland Championship is not a fair and equable system - no arguments there but is that Kerry's fault?

Let's get down to brass tax here - would the Ulster council be willing to abandon the lucrative Ulster Championship? I doubt it!

Truth be told Kerry don't give damn what system is there - we'll show up any time, anywhere and play anyone - no problem. Let's see how many counties would like to come down and play us in Killarney with everything on the line?

Personally as stated earlier I think Kerry will only improve with more competitive games and it won't stop Kerry winning titles - far from it.

More games and more gates for Kerry? The Kerry players would welcome it to a man, so would the supporters and so would the county board!

Bring on the open draw. I can't wait to the see the spoofers found out.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 11/10/2014 15:29:12    1662662

thebadbounce

agreed but they would have to peak a lot earlier to do so which would impact on all Ireland bid 4 hard battles injuries etc etc

They have the panel to do this. They did it this year and showed they had the reserves to win it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/10/2014 17:21:01    1662688

THEBADBOUNCE, if playing in a small province is such an advantage why dont WE have close to 40 all irelands?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 11/10/2014 17:29:21    1662689

THEBADBOUNCE, if playing in a small province is such an advantage why dont WE have close to 40 all irelands?

The same reason Leitrim don't, you are not good enough. This debate is a bit ridiculous, of course Kerry have an unfair advantage, but so do Mayo and Cork. Kerry have throughout the history of the GAA have produced quality teams and this is the main reason they ave so many titles. However there is no doubt in my mind that if they played n Ulster, they would not have as many titles as they have, at least since 1990. The more difficult games you play, the more likely it is you are going to get beat in anyone of them. Donegal/Tyrone/Armagh do not have the luxury of preparing to peak for the All Ireland series, they need to be at 100% the first day or they get beat. I don't think there can be any argument made that peaking in May will be beneficial in September.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 11/10/2014 18:00:22    1662696

Cuderocket
You could say the same about Dublin if they were in ulster. What is it ?9 out of 10 leinsters for ye now?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2014 18:04:29    1662699

Look lads,nobody is denying Kerry are the aristocrats of football.Whatever system is in place they would more than likely be the most successful.And nobody is saying its Kerrys fault the way the Championship is run.However i dont think its fair to say Kerry do not have an advantage by playing in Munster.The system is not equitable across the board.This certainly favours Kerry.Through no fault of their own.It badly needs to be corrected and changed into a fairer system.Each team in the country should have to play the same amount of games to win an All Ireland.I think well be waiting a while though.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/10/2014 18:07:48    1662700

Exactly jp1, we are not good enough, but kerry are, and thats why they have so many titles.
One thing that i will admit though is that if kerry were put into Ulster, they would have to curtail their attacking instincts more. They are allowed to express themselves more in munster and because of that they have a reputation of playing "beautiful football".
If they were based in ulster they would have had to concentrate on defense and physicality more but they still would have won imo.
As the final showed they can de damn good defensively when they put their mind to it.
Just a great footballing county. More all irelands than Ulster and Connacht combined. Theres no getting away from that.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 11/10/2014 18:16:00    1662701

Kingdomboy,why just concentrate on Dublins dominance in Leinster for last 10 years?.Before that Meath were the dominant team and the likes of Laois,Kildare and Westmeath all won Leinster finals also.Outside of Dublin,the other counties have won 71 Leinster titles combined.We wont dominate forever.Ye have dominated forever.Outside of ye and Cork,only 1 Munster title has been won by the other 4 counties in 80 years.How can ye not see the inequality of the system?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/10/2014 18:30:04    1662705

Sorry now lads please stop mixing up competitive with good quality.
Ulster is competitive but the standard is not good IMO.
I don't agree with my county man regarding scraping Munster, The best day of Summer is a Munster Final in a sunny Killarney.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/10/2014 19:24:49    1662725

Cuderocket
I don't mean any disrespect to the other counties in Leinster but Dublin will win the next 10 leinsters as well, no doubt about it, but what I can't understand is how Meath and Kildare aren't stronger, those two counties would have big populations and great facilities , and neither are big hurling counties I know they play hurling at the same level as our selfs. Is soccer and rugby big in Meath and Kildare?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2014 19:35:08    1662727

remember 1984 open draw who won it it doesnt matter what draw Kerry get
the cream will always come to the top

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 11/10/2014 20:34:26    1662747

Wfkerry
Spot on .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/10/2014 20:52:17    1662750

To be honest Kerry have an advantage in Munster because they make the most out of it,Cork havnt availed of it as much and they have it easy also. but that advantage would be classed as a disadvantage if they were constantly losing at quarter or semi final stage.We would be told they werent tested. Look at the Galway hurlers over the years
Truth is a glove wasnt laid on us this year in leinster and if we had of been in Ulster this year we might have faired better in the long run. Whether we won Ulster or had to go through the qualifiers.
Munster gets Kerry or Cork , Like Leinster gets Dublin and Connaught gets Mayo to a Quarter final stage much easier than a team in Ulster .
But after that its usually the best team that usually wins it.
Bar this year of course ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/10/2014 20:54:10    1662751

if Kerry have unfair advantage?
in hurling why did galway ask to go into Leinster championship to get harder games?
why back in 2006 were people saying kerry were at a disadvantage because they were not tested?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 12/10/2014 09:47:40    1662786

Talking about Kerry playing in Ulster and how they would get on , well having looked at the results of meetings between Kerry / Ulster teams since 1960 and I think it stands at 5-2 to Ulster with Kerry never have beaten Down in the championship so I'd say it's the one Provience Kerry MIGHT struggle. Leaving Cork out they have no opposition in MUNSTER. Forget about Clare troubling Kerry this year in their meeting, Kerry done enough to win end of. Do you think Clare would have troubled Donegal or even MONAGHAN or even Armagh this year. ??
As regards saying the four MUNSTER counties ( T CWL ) would win matches in Ulster well I very much doubt it. They might and just might beat either Antrim or Fermanagh but if people thinks they could win in Ulster why can they not win in MUNSTER now and again How often have any of them beaten Kerry in the championship or when did they last do it???
Now if we check up on winning Ulster teams over the last few years I'd say most were playing in Div I and I'm talking about the Ulster championship. When have any of the afore mentioned MUNSTER teams played in Div one or even Div two?? I'd love it I'd Donegal were to meet any of them in the provincial semi final and leaving just Cork to meet in the final
So at the very worst three games and you are in the quarter finals providing you win you back door game. Compare that to what Donegal /TYRONE have to face this year::: if the winners of that game were to get beat in the Ulster final then they would have to play five games to reach the quarter finals. And if they were to reach the All Ireland final that would ammount to 8 games
We can also look at things from another angle. When did Clare Tipp Limerick or Waterford have teams like Dowm in1991/1994 Donegal1992 Derry in 1993 Armagh in2002 to 2006 TYRONE from 03 to 08 or even the present Donegal team Now don't think I'm running Down any of the four MUNSTER counties ( in fact I wish some of ye would come with a team and dominate MUNSTER for a few years) but at present it a handy championship for Kerry and Cork.
Even though we have a good tough draw next year I'm not complaining and it would be great for Donegal to come through and win Ulster But we will take things as it comes but to me it could be the best Ulster championship in a long time with hopefully a team from the provience going on to lift SAM

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 12/10/2014 09:54:56    1662788