Kerry Unfair advantage??

Someone started a thread before the championship of people's expectations for their county. I said going one step further than last year and making a final. Someone remarked was that the limit of our ambition these days. Not at all was my response. Sure any team has to make a final first if they are to win it.

People are being hypocritical regards Kerry being in transition. Before the replay win noone had an issue with it. This being despite an impressive provincial final win where most preferred to speak of our opponents.

Just because a team is in transition, it does not mean they cannot have players of quality who might not be known of nationally. The championship was perfect for these lads. Underdogs for the Munster final, both semi-finals and the final itself. Performing away without expectation. If some will winter well believing it was not a team in transition, fair enough! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 07/10/2014 20:38:33    1661245

The Hermit - "Same goes for Kilkenny: Kilkenny have had nothing to touch them in Leinster for the majority of their golden era over the past 14 years. Winning Leinster also means they get straight into an All Ireland final"

This year's All Ireland semi final against Limerick where I got absolutely fecking drownded must have been a figment of my imagination then!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/10/2014 20:39:27    1661246

Stop with the victim play now and playing to the crowd, you were giving it loads at every opportunity about how players retiring would mean ye wern't expecting anything and thought some were buying it.If you new how good the players coming in were then you would have know what their chances were but of course you thought it better to play this oul yerra yerra stuff. As I said, wouldn't be considered transition at all considering players at yer disposal. Favourites alright. Winter away there so .

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/10/2014 20:53:50    1661252

People from all counties were more than happy to use the team in transition tag themselves prior to the Mayo match in Limerick. Then when (to their dissapointment) Kerry actually won the match, posters threw their toys out of the pram and used it as another stick to beat Kerry with, distancing themselves from having ever used it themselves.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 07/10/2014 21:02:46    1661257

No dissapointment, no toys thrown here at all. Kerry don't have to worry about transitions due to the player resources at their disposal.
Had being saying that all along and will be the same next year.Kerry favourites again with returning players.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/10/2014 21:14:27    1661264

Well I suppose I called both semi-finals right. I said Kerry after extra-time in the replay and Donegal the following day. Donegal won me money with their Ulster title. On the morning of the All-Ireland I put my money on a Kerry minor and senior double.

Expectation was the title of someone's thread prior to the championship. My own word would have been "hope" for the championship ahead. The lads still had to prove themselves on All-Ireland final day. I didn't have my house on it. Donegal were the difficult opponent I expected. In truth I had a quite confidence. I feared a repeat of '11 during the final 10 minutes. After the 60th minute, I didn't look at the clock for the rest of the game. Kelly in goals funnily enough did something similar. He said he saw it last in the 62nd minute and did not look again after that! Thankfully it was our day. Ciarraí abú! We'll winter well. County semi-finals coming up this weekend. Lots of football to be played this year yet.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 07/10/2014 21:17:10    1661267

Won myself as it happens. Had Geaney as first goal scorer in final. So I had my money where my mouth was all along.Nothing wrong with collecting a few bob if you have a hunch on what might be the tactics deployed.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/10/2014 21:29:22    1661274

SLLY

1661264 No dissapointment, no toys thrown here at all. Kerry don't have to worry about transitions due to the player resources at their disposal.
Had being saying that all along and will be the same next year.Kerry favourites again with returning players.

Funny stuff. All year people, again manly Dubs, were ranting on about hw Kerry didn't have the players anymore and were going no where. Try to deny it all you like but that's what was happening

gaadude1884 (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 07/10/2014 21:35:11    1661278

gaadude1884

SLLY

1661264 No dissapointment, no toys thrown here at all. Kerry don't have to worry about transitions due to the player resources at their disposal.

Funny stuff. All year people, again manly Dubs, were ranting on about hw Kerry didn't have the players anymore and were going no where. Try to deny it all you like but that's what was happening

Not trying to convince you of anything and only talking for myself. I'm sure there were some saying ye wouldn't win and why would everyone think ye would. That's pretty normal I'd imagine.No ranting here lad.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/10/2014 21:52:22    1661284

Getting back on topic. Mickey Harte wanted a seeding system in Ulster based on league placing. His opinion on the All-Ireland series was that there should be a champions round giving provincial champions a second chance short of the semi-finals.

Kerry and Cork could draw each other in a Munster semi-final next year. That'll mean one of the other 4 making the final. That finalist will be seeded the following year. My preference is for finalists seeded and on opposite sides of the draw but the majority did not want that. Majority rules. The 4 counties are content with what's agreed and with good reason depending on luck of the draw!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 07/10/2014 22:02:53    1661289

legendzxix

1661289 Getting back on topic. Mickey Harte wanted a seeding system in Ulster based on league placing. His opinion on the All-Ireland series was that there should be a champions round giving provincial champions a second chance short of the semi-finals.

Kerry and Cork could draw each other in a Munster semi-final next year. That'll mean one of the other 4 making the final. That finalist will be seeded the following year. My preference is for finalists seeded and on opposite sides of the draw but the majority did not want that. Majority rules. The 4 counties are content with what's agreed and with good reason depending on luck of the draw!

The fact is this has nothing to do with making it ''fair'' for the others. All they want to do is not have to play Kerry or Cork in the semi and get an easier way to the final and last round of the qualifiers. Last year there was an open draw and all 4 of the other counties were beaten by 20 plus points so their argument of the open draw being fair doesn't actually stand up at all

gaadude1884 (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 08/10/2014 09:11:55    1661301

I think that they should seed every province. We want to see the best teams in the final.
Also there could be an instance every year where a less strong team constantly gets stuck playing all the good teams at one side of the draw.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 08/10/2014 10:38:06    1661345

This is why I've suggested it should be finalists rather than named counties seeded in opposite semi-finals. If Clare and/or Tipperary had made the final this year, it would have been fully fair then that they'd have earned seeded status for next year. Anyways we are where we are.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 08/10/2014 10:52:40    1661352

I always have found the idea people put forward of kerry being in munster being the reason they have so many all irelands ridiculous! Prior to the back door you were guaranteed a team from connaught and ulster in the semi final but kerry still has more all irelands than both provinces combined! Also, cork are no joke to get past and it has never been easy going to the pairc! It is a lot harder for kerry to win munster than it is for the dubs to win leinster or mayo to win connaught! Even when things havent gone our way in munster we have always proved our worth and are the only team with a 100% record in qualifying matches! The provincial system isnt perfect but to think it would effect where kerry finish up at the end of the year is just wrong!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 08/10/2014 20:54:39    1661632

Lads ask yourselves this, If the format was radically changed into any format you wanted would that benefit Roscommon or Carlow or Louth etc?
The same teams would still be there year in year out.
I don't have the answer but I know this some of the whinging on here gets tiring.
Get your structures in place to be as successful as you can. That starts at county executive level, put proper coaching stuctures in place and build from there.
Is the championship perfect? No ... But I want Munster finals in Killarney it's the best day of the Summer and if someone in Roscommon or wherever has a problem with that tough.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 08/10/2014 21:38:45    1661658

08/10/2014 20:54:39
as_ky

I always have found the idea people put forward of kerry being in munster being the reason they have so many all irelands ridiculous! Prior to the back door you were guaranteed a team from connaught and ulster in the semi final but kerry still has more all irelands than both provinces combined! Also, cork are no joke to get past and it has never been easy going to the pairc! It is a lot harder for kerry to win munster than it is for the dubs to win leinster or mayo to win connaught! Even when things havent gone our way in munster we have always proved our worth and are the only team with a 100% record in qualifying matches! The provincial system isnt perfect but to think it would effect where kerry finish up at the end of the year is just wrong!

I presume your talking about hurling??

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 08/10/2014 21:54:14    1661669

08/10/2014 21:38:45
westkerry

Lads ask yourselves this, If the format was radically changed into any format you wanted would that benefit Roscommon or Carlow or Louth etc?
The same teams would still be there year in year out.
I don't have the answer but I know this some of the whinging on here gets tiring.
Get your structures in place to be as successful as you can. That starts at county executive level, put proper coaching stuctures in place and build from there.
Is the championship perfect? No ... But I want Munster finals in Killarney it's the best day of the Summer and if someone in Roscommon or wherever has a problem with that tough.

Dont blame you Kerry will dominate Munster for the next 10 years as their rivals including Cork focus is on hurling.Cork dominated Munster u21 for last 10 years and their golden generation have nothing to show for it

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 08/10/2014 21:57:36    1661675

In the lead up to the final, when all talk was of a fear of Ulster ahead of a tough task against a difficult opponent, I was looking forward to comical blarney threads like this that could only mean we were successful. We'll winter well. Ciarraí abú! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 09/10/2014 08:06:10    1661681

07/10/2014 21:35:11
gaadude1884

I rememem kerry starting similar threads in 2011 when the used every excuse from Dublin buying thewin, referee conspiracies and time waisting which they done for most of the game themselves

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 09/10/2014 10:02:43    1661710

HandyMoran
County: Roscommon

1661710 07/10/2014 21:35:11
gaadude1884

I rememem kerry starting similar threads in 2011 when the used every excuse from Dublin buying thewin, referee conspiracies and time waisting which they done for most of the game themselves

You're not the best when it comes to hiding your bias are you? For someone whos supposed to be from Roscommon you sure spend a lot of time taking about Kerry and Dublin

gaadude1884 (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 09/10/2014 15:25:54    1661872