Football rankings: Thy Kingdom come!!

It probably boils down to the fact that this guy 'legend' is full of it and can't help himself.
People get sick of the same ould drivel all the time. Aren't we great,and what kind of a classless individual opens a topic called (congratulations to my county).That lasted about 5 minutes before it dropped off the radar.

By the way before you get on about me being anti Kerry, I'm not but you know as well as I do that there are a few gombeens on here from various counties and I'd image Handy has probably just got fed up with this individuals totally biased point of view.

Also, he opens a topic on rankings and then contradicts himself by stating that he doesn't pay too muck attention to them.

911 (USA) - Posts: 41 - 05/10/2014 16:52:27    1660386

Handymoran, you've several threads started regarding Kerry.
Man you must have little to be doing with yourself.
I noticed you've no post on the Roscommon page.

You've either zero interest in Roscommon or your not a rossie at all.

Just on here to wind lads up...

The Kerry bunch are very sensitive bunch if your worrying about what the "small fish" have to say

you mustnt have much to do yourself if your trolling the Roscommon.

well maybe if you look at the facts below

Donegal played 14 Won 10 Draw 1 Lost 3 71% winning ratio=22 points
Dublin played 14 Won 10 Draw 1 Lost 3 71% winning ratio=22 points
Kerry played played 13 Won 8 Draw 1 Lost 4 62% winning ratio=17 points
Mayo played 13 Won 7 Draw 2 Lost 4 54% winning ratio=16 points

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 05/10/2014 17:11:35    1660392

Rankings mean nothing after sam is handed out.

Reading some topics here, I am in agreement that dublin will benefit hugely from losing this year to donegal. It will prepare them no ends for a meeting with kerry next year or the following year, as I am sure will happen. Should be a cracking tie.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/10/2014 17:28:03    1660399

As far as Im concerned, the moment the final whistle blew, the AI Final of 2014 was ancient history (and was a game that wont live long in popular memory).....and Championship 2015 began!
In the 'limbo period' between a final and a new championship.....what does any 'rank' matter?

Snuffy was lambasted for predicting that kerry would win 2014 and here I am again just as confident that they wont in 2015, ready to be lambasted again (just because I keep getting it right!).
Todays No.1 'rank' will not be in the shakedown next year!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/10/2014 18:29:10    1660423

What stage is the Roscommon county championship at? Surely you've got more pressing matters to be attending to?!

Rankings are just idle winter talk as the man said as we winter well!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7884 - 05/10/2014 20:51:51    1660516

Snuff which one of Kerry's 37 All Irelands bothers you the most? Just out of interest ..................................

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 28/10/2014 13:16:31    1667732

As with most posters its pointless. We are all fairly sure where the teams are at. You start out by trying to capture your province and then sam. For me, topple Donegal and take Kerry down is the objective next year. It should be the same for each respective county.

One thing tho....I think Derry might be ranked a little too low. One poor performance shouldnt drop them down there...

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 28/10/2014 15:00:49    1667785

I couldn't help but notice that Munster is the 'strongest' prov with 5 teams in the Top 16. If we drop No 16 Clare for No 17 Tyrone, we have 4 teams from each province in the 'Super 16'. If after devising a good 'ranking points' system, each year why not have the top 4 of each province enter respective prov SFs, with the 'Other 16' (accommodating NY, and London replacing Kilkenny) in the Tommy Murphy Cup (TMC).

Both streams play 4 knockout rounds - One unbeaten prov champ to AI SFs; TMC unbeaten champ to AI QFs.

Losers in prov rounds of 8, 4, 2 and 1 enter Qualifier Rds 1, 2, 3 & 4 - with 8 losers in TMC 1st rd only entering Qual Rd 1 as well.

This leaves the Qual Rds 1, 2 and 3 with quantities of 16, 12 and 8 - the 4 Rd 3 winners join TMC champ & loser from Prov Champs Rd 4 in AI QFs. Reigning 4 prov champs and TMC champ could be guaranteed 'Super 16' spots for the following year, regardless of ranking.

Do I have any support ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2627 - 28/10/2014 16:49:35    1667828

HIll 16 is Dublin region only

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 29/10/2014 10:53:40    1667979

westkerry

Handymoran - A minor final 8 years ago is your highlight?

What have Kerry done to you for such bitterness ?
Those it just boil down pure jealousy?

In fairness, All-Irelands don't come all that often to the West, so I'd say he's well within his rights to class that game as a highlight; doesn't necessarily have to be an anti-Kerry thing. I'd probably feel similar about Mayo's 2013 minor victory, or their U-21 win in 2006.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/10/2014 13:33:36    1668031

Yes Puke football no 1

In my opinion the best team all year was a toss-up between Mayo and Dublin - they both played attractive and attacking football - can we really say Kerry are the best team, I know they won, have the Cup, but sometimes the winners aren't necessarily the best team - Dublin were caught by Donegal, but Mayo were robbed by Kerry!! How Kerry had 15 players remaining on the field against Mayo requires one of those 'Tribunals'. Both Mayo and Dublin played football from January right through to August,
Kerry played and won 2 games, one with a freak of a goal, the other was just a joke of refereeing!!! It my opinion but if the 2014 Kerry team are seen as No 1 in the country, well there is something seriously wrong!!

It's an opinion not an attack on Kerry - many if not all their previous Sam Maguires were fully deserved but can we really claim that Kerry are the best, when they stumbled past Galway, were more than luckly ( poor and biased refereeing) against Mayo and not convincing ( freak goal) against Donegal.......

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 29/10/2014 16:43:58    1668120

Handy moral
I like your ratings and not bad for a team that played Div two last winter. But to be honest over the last four years there has not been a lot between DUBLIN, Mayo, Kerry and Donegal towards the later stages of the championship two AI's for Dublin from two appearances, one for Kerry from two appearances, one from Donegal from two appearances and unfortunately none for Mayo from two appearances. But to me Mayo should have got one. Should this have been their year.
Cuchulainn
Like your post and no barrels hold You are probably telling it as you saw it and that's fair enough Everyone to their own opinion but I dare say it will open a big debate and it won't go down too well in the Kingdom
As regards Donegal we had a good year and I enjoyed many great moments from Clones to All Ireland final day and that night in the City West plus the following night in Donegal town where the two teams arrived. 'twas a great year for us ven though we lost the two finals. But we can be still proud of our teams and the future is bright enough up there

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/10/2014 20:25:30    1668183

Lads I can't talk for my fellow county men and women but I believe that we got more than our share of luck this year, but sometimes the harder you train the luckier you get so we'll take it while it's going. I didn't expect us to win this year I tought it would be next year we'd win it but we'll take it when it's going, I tought Dublin would win this year couldn't see passed them, to tell you the thruth getting the replay against mayo was progress in my eyes and I would have been happy with that much for this year but Eamon and the boys smelt blood and went for the jugular and fair play to them.
Also can I ask has any1 got any problems with the way our minors won the allireland this year? Just asking is all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2014 20:47:42    1668196

Cuchulainn, freak goal, LOL, Kerry are the all-Ireland champions because any team they met were not good enough to beat them, re: refereeing well the referee rode Kerry in the first semi, so karma came into play for the second and regarding deserving champions, yere win in 2002 was handed to ye by us and you could not say ye were deserving champions then because the best team lost and by the way the best team did win the all-Ireland this year and if we met the Dubs we would have their number as well, why ? because we are the Kingdom, suck it up.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 29/10/2014 20:50:22    1668197

Kingdomboy
The better team won on the day plus Kerry had a manager who done it at Senior level.
But I was happy enough( disappointed of course) as we were not that far behind Kerry and we seem to have a fair bit of talent in that minor squad. A very good Kerry team and a right good Donegal team Hopefully both teams progress at under age and most make it to senior football and could have a right few battles with Kerry again over the next few years. From a Donegal point of view will be disappointed if we don't get a few players off that minor squad.
Was talking to J o COnnor here in London last Friday night and said Kerry had a very good team but he was impressed with the DGL minors. On the day I thought Kerry found it easier to get points and to me that was the difference so no complaints at all Kingdomboy and we can't complain too much either about the senior final , we made the mistakes.
Whatever you do Kingdom boy be careful this winter as they recond it will be a hard one and don't get frost bitten down their in Kerry

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/10/2014 21:59:58    1668217