The state of Cork hurling

ballydalane. How do you read joncarter's comment as blaming Kilkenny.

Maybe its like you said on the Cody-Kelly thread, he might be blaming Hilkenny's dominance but not Kilkenny themselves. Sound familiar???????

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 05/10/2014 13:42:37    1660320

Westfester, are you serious?

Tell me, are we killing hurling in Limerick too?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/10/2014 14:49:39    1660337

Chill boy. Check out a few more threads and see if you can find anything else to be offended by.

I hope everyone will see the answer to your question in 11 months!!!!!!!!!!!

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 05/10/2014 15:05:01    1660342

Im not blaming Kilkenny for anything ballydalane. In fact I think that when you look at the challenegs that hurling is facing in modern Ireland, they are the only county in ireland who are blameless.
I dont think that the cats dominance is helping hurling, but that doesnt mean I think the cats are at fault.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/10/2014 19:30:24    1660838

Kilkenny's dominance is most likely down to their lack of another sport. In every other hurling county, young lads are playing at least two games while growing up, and even 99% of inter-county hurlers play club football at a serious level. That is bound to have an effect. Obviously nothing KK can do about it. But it is a handicap for all other counties.

That said, Cork's current player numbers should make up for it. And I suspect that they would, if only CCB would admit we have a problem and go about fixing it.

I'm not sure that the point about KK being beaten by Offaly and Wexford in the 80s and 90s, is relevant. KK have never experienced a famine like Cork are currently experiencing. KK teams always won frequently at underage and schools. Not only are Cork teams not doing that any more - they have actually become the weakest county in Munster. And we are also lagging behind, Kilkenny, Galway, Wexford and Dublin. Whilst I would still rate Laois as weaker than Cork, at least they might be on an upward curve - we are not.

The Offaly story is similarly depressing, but at least it's being addressed. I think that a statement from the Munster Council acknowledging concern at the decline in fortunes of their second largest county, is appropriate - and I feel that the same would be done for any other county. The only reason it's not being done here, is because some of the Cork administrators are powerful at National level and will not be embarrassed.

If what I'm hearing is true, Cork hurling might be about to suffer yet another body blow. And this time, there will be no denying that we've hit the self destruct button.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 06/10/2014 21:30:30    1660899

The old chestnut - Kilkenny play just one sport! For the small population that it has Kilkenny are over achieving. Rather than whinge on about them, why don't other counties concentrate on one sport and see how successful they are? It's not that simple. Perhaps their structures have more to do with it. Did I not read that Cork have only recently introduced hurling academies? Other counties have been operating them for ten years and more, including believe or not, Kilkenny!

Cork people don't seem to care too much about their 'second' sport, football. About two hundred of ye attended the quarter final against Mayo this year.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 06/10/2014 21:54:58    1660908

Have always thought it is amazing with their population, number of clubs and playing numbers that Cork are not be one of the dominant counties in football most of the time. Would be more amazing if the same thing became true for the hurlers considering that they have far less completion when it comes to winning hurling all Irelands.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 07/10/2014 14:52:39    1661099

Culchie
I do not know about your famine argument. Kilkenny won one All Ireland between 1939 and '57, when they decided to tackle what they saw as a problem and boy have they been successful.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 07/10/2014 19:13:59    1661213

Great news with Jimmy The Gent stayin on for another 2 years.Losing badly to Tipp in semi final Would have been a sad way to bow out for a Cork legend.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/10/2014 21:33:14    1661651

Kilkenny's dominance is most likely down to their lack of another sport.

Why don't New Zealand win every Rugby world Cup then?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 08/10/2014 21:44:35    1661663

Because New Zealand dont have JJ playing full back.Dan Carters good,but hes no Henry Shefflin.The All Blacks are lucky they dont have to play in Nowlan Park.The Haka would only get the cats tails up!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/10/2014 21:56:30    1661674