Cody attack on Barry Kelly

zinny

Perhaps you could comment on why Clare has no referee on the hurling panel and I cannot remember many Clare referees in the past, could it be that you prefer complaining about referees in Clare rather than developing them, it also seems like a long time I heard of one from Kilkenny.

Sean McMahon was from a Clare club, haven't seen him over the past couple of years.

Clare got rode at the end of their defeat to Wexford Zinny - I wouldn't blame them for complaining!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 01/10/2014 21:30:46    1659197

Absolutely it shouldn't have been said, when questioned about the soft penalty KK got in 09 to turn the tide Cody got very irate with Marty and said he never comments about refs, well apparently that's only the case when the big decision goes his way.

I accept that we don't know exactly what way the interview went but someone with Cody's experience should show more class and not allow himself to be 'coaxed' into making bitter comments that could get him into trouble and which he's yet to deny.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/10/2014 21:45:53    1659205

OK lads, what punishment should Cody get if he doesn't say sorry?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/10/2014 21:58:31    1659216

Main difference with this referee is his mistakes don't seem to really be mistakes. His display in drawn final follows pattern. Cody right to call him out, his players (and any players) deserve better than this.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 01/10/2014 21:58:59    1659218

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

No punishment. Too me he doesn't have to say sorry directly.Simply acknowledge that referees have a difficult job, say he doesn't want to be seen as making it harder, there may have been a misunderstanding, words take out of oontext...etc etc enjoy the winter and plan how to retain ...furore over

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/10/2014 11:14:18    1659262

Bennybunny, players have a damn sight more difficult job than any referee, juggling their ferocious training sessions with their often poorly paid day job and then to be inflicted with often very sub-standard officiating.

The Cork/Kilkenny match last year was probably the worst refereeing performance I've ever witnessed at a Championship Hurling game, discarding the more contentious decisions from that match some of the other decisions that were given or not given were simply scandalous.

kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 02/10/2014 11:36:14    1659273

165+ Comments on this ?????
Some of the comments on here are quite frankly ludicrous agenda-ridden tripe .
Cody should not apologise to anyone . He has done nothing wrong . He had an opinion on decisions made by a ref . No big deal . For the record the Hogan incident at the end of drawn game was right in front of me and I thought the ref got it right - in real time .Thats just my opinion on that one incident. Cody strongly disagrees most probably considering the timing of the free . But the furore over this is mainly coming from anti-hurling , anti-gaa or anti-kilkenny ( jealous tipp folk mostly ).

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 02/10/2014 12:03:52    1659293

Kildarecat, I think what you just wrote about Cork Kilkenny highlights the problem. To you it was a bad performance. To me it was ok.

Why? Well maybe the result had something to do with it, but I think most hurling people are capable of putting that aside. The main difference was the way that Cork and Kilkenhy people interpret the rules. Becauise referees don't consistently apply them, the game is now refereed differently in different counties. The prime example is Shefflin's sending off. Kilkenny people couldn't believe that he got yellow cards for those offences - Cork people could. In a Cork club game I'd say he'd have been 90% sure of a yellow for the first offence, and 50/50 on the second. In other words, if you were used to watching hurling down here, you wouldn't be shocked that he walked.

But Kilkenny people were very shocked. I don't watch Kilkenny hurling, but I got the feeling that if he'd done those things in Kilkenny he wouldn't have been anywhere remotely near a yellow card. On the other hand, it is certain that Shane O Neill would have seen red in a Cork club game, and most Kilkenny people seemed to think that would have led to red in their county too. However I would defend Kelly to a degree on that. He got it wrong certainly. But there'll always be calls that a ref just gets wrong - thyere's very little we can do about that. It might help if he'd admitted after the game that he got it wrong. At least then players would know that a red was still a red!

On Sunday, Kilkenny people seemed happy enough with Gavin's performace. However, as a Cork man watching it, I thought he was very poor. Far too much went unpunished for my liking. One of the two Cork analysts on the Sunday Game agreed with me, the other made no comment. The Kilkenny and Tipp representatives seemed to agree that Gavin was good.

So in three different counties there are now two different interpretations of the same rules. And in one game, one ref can blatently contradict himself. This is the issue.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 02/10/2014 12:04:38    1659294

Lads, just a few points. Some people that are going mad over what Cody said should rethink things. Cody described a decision (not a person) as criminal. I had a very quick scan back through a few pages here and came across some very personal attacks on Cody (in comparison). Hey was called a bully, a hypocrite, a manipulator, vindictive. Now people using the word bully shouldn't use the word too lightly. Cody's comments do not compare to the bullying some people face. Kilkenny hurlers were described as cynical and dirty. Again, quite personal compared to a comment on a decision. A national journalist came out last year in a article about Clare and referred to Kilkenny team as an introverted team from an introverted county. Has he apologised or been sanctioned?

People have seemed to gloss over the article in which Tony Barret of Tipp County Board in 2010 said that he doesn't like nor never liked Barry Kelly, then said "He's coming from a county that..." He stopped just short of insulting Westmeath. Again a lot worse than referencing a decision.

I had my say on Cody's comments earlier in the thread so not going to go over them again.

I certainly do not think Cody should be sanctioned or should apologise. If anything he could acknowledge the difficult job refs have and state all he is looking for is consistency which is the problem. If Barry Kelly was fully consistant in decisions, nobody could say anything

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 02/10/2014 12:17:30    1659296

kildarecat22

Bennybunny, players have a damn sight more difficult job than any referee, juggling their ferocious training sessions with their often poorly paid day job and then to be inflicted with often very sub-standard officiating.

This sentence is a bit general and simplistic but well this is how you feel. Fine.

The Cork/Kilkenny match last year was probably the worst refereeing performance I've ever witnessed at a Championship Hurling game, discarding the more contentious decisions from that match some of the other decisions that were given or not given were simply scandalous.

Ok. That is your opinion.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/10/2014 13:02:55    1659321

finsceal,i see your trying to turn this into an anti Kilkenny thread.Read my posts and ull see the error of your ways.And ur also trying to say its driven by mostly Tipperary posters.Wrong again.There are lots of Meath,Westmeath,Dublin,Cork,Limerick posters,etc,that are not happy with Codys comments.Deal with the issue please,dont be putting words in our mouths,to try and stir some trouble.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/10/2014 13:03:38    1659322

As I say, the Cody issue is a non issue by comparison with the lack of consistency in refereeing. In my opinion consistency will never be absolute, but it'll certainly be better as a result of reference to the rule book. If you want 'common sense' or 'let the game flow' refereeing - you cannot have consistency. That's the only thing I find objectionable about Cody's comments. For the umpteenth time he's suggesting that a referee shouldn't apply the rules and instead use his common sense and look at the clock. That's nonsense and I couldn't disagree more.

Aside from that, I think it's a storm in a teacup. He was asked a question and he answered it. Whilst I don't agree with his perspective, or his choice of words, I'm not really surprised at his answer. He was the Kilkenny manager after all. I know that lots of Cork managers would, and probably have, given similar answers in similar circumstances. That doesn't make it right - but it does make it understandable.

People often say JBM is a gent. I can confirm, having had dealings with him, that he is an absolute gentleman to his fingertips. He's also very cute. And I mean that as a compliment. When he was interviewed after the extra 30 seconds last year he held his tongue. But I doubt that he held it in private. Cody just had a bit of a brain fart. If you're in the public eye as much as he is, it's bound to happen a time or two. JBM hasn't had one yet. But if he'd been 16 years in managment, he probably would have.

Cody always strikes me as a decent chap with a real passion for the game. He's kind of left himself down here, but as I say, his remarks, in context, are very understandable. So whilst I'd vocally oppose his continuous attempts to have the game reffed with 'common sense' instead of rules, I'd definitely forgive him a slip of the tongue or two. In his position, I might have said much worse.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 02/10/2014 13:59:48    1659368

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

Put him in charge of the footballers for 3 years. We'd see how good/happy he is after that.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 02/10/2014 14:42:41    1659394

Together with the uneccessary stripping down of Marty Morrissey live on air in a post match interview after 09 final,this episode has left a sour taste in a lot of peoples mouths.Its not anti Kilkenny bashing,or jealousy,or anything like that.People,from every county,hurling or football,dont like this type of carry on.You can nearly understand a bad loser.But a bad winner?Obviously Kilkenny people can see no wrong in the man.To be fair,after Dublin winning the All Ireland last year,if Jim Gavin had of made similiar remarks about the referee of semi final v Kerry(whether he made bad decisions or not),i would not have been impressed at all.This is not an individual county thing.Even though Cody is the greatest manager of all time,i believe his legacy has been tainted,in the eyes of a lot of people.Decent people with no agenda.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/10/2014 14:45:59    1659396

CODY was spot on it had to be said , it was a shocking call on top of others and last year , just because it was Kilkenny doesn't mean nothing should be said,if this had happened in the Final to a Limerick,Dublin,Waterford,Galway .. who are waiting desperately for their next all-ireland and free went over and they lost - Everyone on here would be agreeing.

33233 (Donegal) - Posts: 52 - 02/10/2014 15:26:26    1659419

cuederocket

cuederocket I dont think I'm the one stirring here - I dont know how many posts you have submitted on this but its not a normal reaction to a reflective opinion made by a manager . Cody's comments do not warrant the level of vitriol aimed at him by you or other posters , unless of course there is a different agenda whicjh is fairly obvious imo.

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 02/10/2014 15:33:59    1659420

Finsceal,I have been steadfast in my opinion on this matter from the start.Cody was wrong in what he said.Whats your problem with that?Your trying to make out this is an anti Kilkenny thread.Well not from me its not.Also u say its being led by mostly Tipperary people.I dont think so.Get your facts right before making false accusations please.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/10/2014 15:49:38    1659431

WHY cant remarks like this be made? Seriously why? We hear enough of them about players.

WHAT was so wrong about it? Really "Criminal decision" that is not an insult or abusive.

WHAT is our problem with these comments? Referring is not good enough across the board at the moment. Can we expect players managers etc to give 1000's of hours on the training fields to have it all take away by the decision that was wrong.

WHY do we think its acceptable to defend or cover up these poor officiating displays? Lets roll out that old cliche "Ye'd enough chances to win it".

WHY is Cody, or any manager not supposed to say these things? The man knows the game better than most.

WHY should officials be protected from these things? We or the papers, or commentators waste no time in blasting a player for a bad tackle or an ill disciplined dismal, or even a poor decision on the ball. is it OK because their players?

Lads taking into account that decision and only that decision for a moment. It could have, came with inches actually of costing Kilkenny an All-Ireland. It was not a free to Tipp or Kilkenny. All that work, commitment and essentially giving up their lives for 9 months gone because of a wrong decision. If for example on of the players got a golden opportunity to win and spurned it we'd be cursing his name for weeks to come. But shhhh because this one was different it was a referee.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 02/10/2014 15:51:52    1659433

Well let me say I am not anti kk , I don't like hurling and never will.
My opinion of codys unacceptable comments are based on the fact I know Barry Kelly , and a more down to earth honest guy with no anti kk or any other county bias could you meet. Barry is a single father after the tragic loss of his wife so young. Let's just put it like this Barry would never stoop so low as to call Cody criminal, however that just shows class and decency on Barry's part. ..........

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2014 15:58:06    1659435

Brian Cody well said,
but to be honest its similar words spoken by Donal Og after we won
it wasn't such a issue but hey papers have to be sold and Kilkenny have to be pay a price for being such skilful
players of the sport.
it hurt when the King was given a red card only for it to be revoked 2weeks after,
there is lots Kilkenny fans and players could point out
but all we ask for is fair decisions on both sides we can adapt to the ref
so Barry Kelly play it fair as
teams especially teams with the calibre of Tipp want to beat us with skill not help from a ref
we are beatable
Thank you to Tipp for the 2 great games super team

thedaddy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 02/10/2014 16:07:00    1659441