Cody attack on Barry Kelly

Fan Larkin said before the drawn game in up for the match Kilrenny were going to catch Kerry in All Irelands.Well Fan you are still two behind and 37 behind in class cause even though the two All Irelands were brilliant I have never heard such whingers as the Kilrenny supporters.Cody is merely the boss of the whinging wasps.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1459 - 29/09/2014 14:25:22    1658113

I remember him getting angry a few years ago in a interview, was it the All Ireland final? Kilkenny were after winning that day too

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/09/2014 14:29:33    1658117

Very poor form from Cody, it should be easy, after 10 AIs to win gracefully, whatever about losing, its not fair on refs having to put up with this rubbish from someone with as much clout as Cody. On the other point brought up, Gavin had a good game by his own criteria , but it's obvious to anyone (who isn't a trembling coward) that that amount if whistling ruins the game as a spectacle. Compare the two games, only a corpse would prefer the replay, no matter what the whiners whine

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/09/2014 14:31:17    1658119

This sort of thing is par for the course for Cody, I know his record is fantastic but personally I can't stand him, bitter in victory and borderline dangerous in defeat.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2014 14:37:15    1658124

Yes fools gold that was in 2009, Marty Morrisey conducted a post all Ireland interview suggesting kilkenny had won by a dodgy penalty, perhaps they did but cody let rip, famous words," did you think it was a penalty yourself Marty? " he was angry in that one alright

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 29/09/2014 14:48:52    1658127

Yes fools gold that was in 2009, Marty Morrisey conducted a post all Ireland interview suggesting kilkenny had won by a dodgy penalty

Ye that was one of the main incidents that really turned me off Cody to be honest, although admittedly I wasn't a fan of him before that either. Cody was being asked what he thought of a penalty given against Tipp which was never a penalty but instead of acknowledging it was harsh (which in fairness most managers wouldn't) or just brushing it off, he turned it into one of the sourest interviews I've ever seen.

Ps now one of Cody's lines of his from that interview in 2009 was = "I make a habit of saying absolutely nothing about referees".........what was it you said about referee Barry Kelly yesterday Brian???

Here's 09: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWgp-vSs7zI

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2014 15:17:46    1658145

Although a great admirer of Kilkenny and Cody,as the years have passed,Ive found it more difficult to warm to the man.He tore into Marty Morrisey after the 09 final,when there was no need.Slating B Kelly for doing his best,even after winning the replay,shows a certain lack of class and humility.There were borderline calls for both teams that day.As there is nearly every game.To personnally question a mans honour like this,publicly,is most definately poor judgement.Downright nasty in fact.I notice he also took issue with the media for branding S Callinan a speed merchant,and justifying it by highlighting JJs hook on him.I think most would agree Callinan is fast,and if he had of lowered the grip on his hurley,i dont think JJ would have saved the day.
If anyone has grounds for complaint its Tipp,as for the first time in 130 years,after being awarded 2 penalties the first day,the ball had to be struck outside the 21 yard line.If the penalties had of been struck as per the last 130 years,no doubt Tipp would have scored at least 1.As highlighted on Sunday Game last night,only 2/10 penalties have been scored since the Nash rule was ammended.Only 3 months ago Kilkenny got 2 penalties v Tipp in League final,and TJ Reid nearly decapitated the Tipp defenders from 14 yards out,for both goals.And even if the 2 penalties in the drawn game should have been frees to Tipp instead,they would have taken their points,and been champions anyway.Do u hear Tipperary moaning about this?Not a murmur.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/09/2014 15:19:44    1658147

The_Bull

KK are the most cynical team in the GAA. Look 2 finals and 3 penalties against them with numerous high challenges that went unpunished. Cody is like Alex Ferguson, he tries to intimidate referees who then wouldn't make tough calls against them. Barry Kelly had a good game. KK really are fairly lucky to be All-Ireland champions. Then can thank the GAA for their stance on penalty taking

Sorry but that is nonsense. Tipp every bit as cynical in both games, any time Richie Power or C Fennelly looked like breakng into the 21 they were fouled more often than not, Tipp lucky to finish with 15 the last day, persistent fouling from centre back and Georoid Ryan very lucky to stay on the pitch.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 29/09/2014 15:37:47    1658157

Admire Brian Cody, love Kilkenny hurlers, but these remarks about the ref were just bitchy and small-minded. Refs are an easy target, as all managers know

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 29/09/2014 16:10:46    1658177

Ballydalane, I like the way you try to make out the way KK were hard done by with the ref. KK P. Walsh haul down Bonnar Maher in the 4th minute, this was a penalty, the ref left it go, didn't see E O'Shea complaining. KK are a cynical team even M Kavanagh as good as admitted this on the sunday game last night. take off the rose tinted glasses, the whole country knows kk play close to the edge and most over it.

As for Flaker, i wouldn't consider tipp a cynical team. the game against cork was a clean game of hurling, no off the ball activity. with KK teams become drawn into this style.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 29/09/2014 16:42:12    1658198

The_Bull

Ballydalane, I like the way you try to make out the way KK were hard done by with the ref. KK P. Walsh haul down Bonnar Maher in the 4th minute, this was a penalty, the ref left it go, didn't see E O'Shea complaining. KK are a cynical team even M Kavanagh as good as admitted this on the sunday game last night. take off the rose tinted glasses, the whole country knows kk play close to the edge and most over it.

As for Flaker, i wouldn't consider tipp a cynical team. the game against cork was a clean game of hurling, no off the ball activity. with KK teams become drawn into this style.

You brought up the final, that is what I was posting on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 29/09/2014 16:48:43    1658202

So, the free at the end of the drawn game was harsh, but wasn't arbitrary, there was a charge. In any case, it went wide, so it was all the one. I'm not sure what Brian had to gain by attacking Barry Kelly again. Barry generally does a decent job. Kilkenny have just won the All-Ireland, won it well, played an amazing game in the replay, they were the better team on Sunday. If Brian can't be happy with that, he'll never be happy with anything. They should just enjoy it, I know I would.

We have the perverse situation in hurling, where ref's are lauded for not doing their job, or 'letting the game flow'. Letting the game flow means ignoring fouls. Referee's who do their job, and penalize fouls, are lambasted. If this is what we want in hurling, its pointless having a ref at all. If a game is slowed down because because of fouls spotted/free's awarded, that's not the refs fault, that's the fault of the teams competing.

The problem everyone has is lack of consistency. That comes from a situation where refs take a laissez-faire approach to implementing the rules, in the interest of letting the game flow. They'll blow for fouls some of the time, but not all of the time. You'll get consistency when refs just blow for fouls every time they see them, and penalize accordingly, regardless of letting the game flow. You either let the ref do what they're supposed to do, or dispense with the refs altogether.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 29/09/2014 16:51:36    1658208

The_Bull

1658198 Ballydalane, I like the way you try to make out the way KK were hard done by with the ref. KK P. Walsh haul down Bonnar Maher in the 4th minute, this was a penalty, the ref left it go, didn't see E O'Shea complaining. KK are a cynical team even M Kavanagh as good as admitted this on the sunday game last night. take off the rose tinted glasses, the whole country knows kk play close to the edge and most over it.

Still waiting for your thoughts on Fennelly and Power being dragged back while through on goal with overlapping Kilkenny runners. Still waiting for your thoughts on Power almost getting his ankles broken (the foul was significantly more malevolent than a mere trip) while straight through on goal. Are you as outraged at cynical play against Kilkenny players? Honest answer, please.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/09/2014 17:16:19    1658218

Lads, in fairness to Cody, I think we're being a bit harsh.

As you'll see from my previous post, I think this 'let the game flow' is a nonsense. The reffing yesterday was a bit of a joke, and I am concerned that such a display seems to be lauded by most of the so called experts on the Sunday Game. It's like they just don't want to hear anything about rules anymore. I think Cody feeds off of that, I think that his teams generally prefer it when the game is left flow, and I think he tries to influence referees and refereeing standards accordingly.

However, he's not doing anything that any other manager wouldn't do. He's a fanatic. Fanatics are often bad sports, but they're often winners too. His lack of sportsmanship is just a sign that he finds it hard to deal with losses, or even draws! That's what makes the man, and the team. Billy Morgan had that same fanaticism when he was in charge of Cork football. He was an aweful loser. He is also the only Cork manager in history whose teams broke even with Kerry.

And, we shoudl consider the context. Was Cody asked 'What did you think of Barry kelly's refereeing?' If he was, then he just gave an honest answer. I'd like to think I'd be more diplomatic, but then I don't live eat and sleep KK hurling, and I haven't trained ten AI winning teams. Perhaps diplomacy is for losers?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 29/09/2014 17:19:50    1658221

blueskies

serious lack of class by Mr. Cody. no other manager would get away with it.. i found it also disappointing on Saturday that cody spent a good 10 minutes jumping up and down and running around before shaking eamon o sheas hand. That should have been the first thing after the final whistle. and jumping up and down at every decision. He could learn alot from JBM a real gent.

Agree 100%. Its not sour grapes either as I'd be the first to admit that the best team won.Cody had comments on Gavin beofre the replay saying he knew Gavin "will let the game flow". IMO it was a stone wall free on Paudie Maher the first day. Tipp could say if there was a black card in hurling or the penalty rule wasnt changed then we'd be all ireland champions now but why bother.

What is Cody trying to achieve by what he said? Did he see Powers foul on Bergin for the first goal I wonder.

His statement on Barry Kelly is very much lacking any class. Enjoy the win Cody and leave that rubbish to the "expert analysts"!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/09/2014 17:29:29    1658226

Bad form from Brian Cody on Sunday, after achieving 10 AI wins.Cop on Cody. Truly great managers show grace in victory and defeat. Barry Kelly applies the rules fairly, and isn't intimidated by the colour of a player's jersey.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 29/09/2014 17:32:06    1658229

Again its not sour grapes the best team won.

But on the subject of refereeing and letting the game flow....the players knew what they would get away with with Gavin but in reality they wouldnt get away with half as much in any club game.

the main hurling people dont want the black card but I think it has to be brought in. (KK are the most cynical team ever but KK poster you are right in saying Tipp can be cynical too. Particularly Paddy Stapleton whos first thought is always to foul).

There are a number of issues that need to be addressed in Hurling refereeing no matter what any of these "common sense" lads say!

As the common sense factor is only used late in the year

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/09/2014 17:38:36    1658233

I dont think Kilkenny are cynical.I think people do them a disservice saying they play on the edge.They do what they have to do to win.They fight from 1st minute to the last.They carry no passengers.Each player is there on merit.There is no room for "characters" or "messers".The squad is brimming with quality.Their strength in depth is unrivalled,and it is this high quality of training that prepares them so well for battle.They are master craftsmen,geniuses at hooking,blocking and flicking.Their workrate is exemplary.They are the standard bearers.Pure class.

However,it must be said that although this is undoubtedly the greatest team of all time,Tipperary should not be airbrushed from history,because they came up just short in a few titanic battles with the cats.Very rarely have Kilkenny had an easy ride against Tipp.4 brilliant All Irelands and 3 of the best League Finals ever,all went down to the wire,with Kilkennys nous and cool heads managing to carry the day.While Kilkenny will get all the plaudits and kudos,i think people should recognise Tipperarys part in these exceptional battles.It takes 2 to tango.I,for one,have nothing but admiration for this Tipperary team.They must be hurting like hell.There is nothing wrong with their character.They are just short 3/4 quality squad players to equal Kilkenny.Two brilliant teams.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/09/2014 17:38:46    1658234

Ballydalane, you tell me what minute in the game this happened and i will tell you what i think. It is widely known ye are very cynical and over the top. Yer own former star corner back as good as admitted it last night. You hardly expect opposition players to let KK constantly foul and be over physical and expect no retaliation. tipp are a clean team who play hurling, not the player unlike KK. The sooner only the goalkeeper is left on the goal line for a penalty the better. It might soften yer fouling around the square. 3 penalties conceded in 2 games says enough about KK cynical approach to the game. how cody has the audacity to question barry kelly is beyond belief. Ye won the all-ireland by fouling players going in on goal and this is a fact. Yer cynical approach won ye the all-ireland

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 29/09/2014 17:40:50    1658241

I think it says a lot when Cody endorses a ref! All his comment has done is take away from his teams achievements and his own. This nonsense about playing on the edge, letting the game flow, such crap talk. The only rules Cody likes are ones that don't get in the way of his aim.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 29/09/2014 17:42:44    1658244