All is well again

Disagree about it being the worst kerry team ever. Just because they have addopted a new way of playing for a certain day doesnt mean that they are worse or better than anything that has come before it.

There is a big point that is worth mentioning at the core of this point. gone are the days of glorious high fielding and time on the ball. there is simply none. The idea that the championship should be compared to the game in the 1980s is folly. Teams have simply no time to express themselves on the ball. We see it occasionally, but mostly it is very much a case of movement and set piece. If kerry won on sunday by playing a different game to that of their forefathers, they owe noone any apology, including those from their own ranks. (Im sure they are there somewhere).

Imagine if Kerry went out and played open expansive football against us last week. They would most likely have been beaten. I think that they showed great wisdom to play the tactics they did. Against mayo, they had to mix it up a bit. Again, they did, and it was not the traditional game we have come to expect of kerry. It was a total scrap from start to finish. They showed brilliance against a cork team who gave up after 10 minutes. I think that this sums up what it takes to win. They are winners and will win rather than play aesthetically. Gud luck to them.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/09/2014 17:21:33    1658668

And for all of their greatness, niether one of them comes within an asses roar of Cork's combined All Ireland count. Great indeed!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 30/09/2014 18:15:12    1658706

Culchie

1658706 And for all of their greatness, niether one of them comes within an asses roar of Cork's combined All Ireland count. Great indeed!

And ye'd rather stay jack of both trades than master of either.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 02/10/2014 16:26:21    1659460

Culchie

Have Cork over hundred in total when everything is added up?

However when just looking at Senior Inter County Football and hurling I believe Cork have 37 titles.

Just one shy of Kerry's combined football and hurling titles at 38!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/10/2014 17:12:20    1659485

122 I think Mes Amis. That's what I'm counting this week, as you're right, Kerry have gone ahead on Senior titles alone.

Then of course if you include handball, Kilkenny migbht take the lead (though Cork have quite a few titles there too). But in Cork, we have an answer for that too. Of course we have! 122 AI's by an average of twenty players per panel = 2,440 AI medals - and that's just the men! The girls could probably add another 1,000.

So when some Kerry clown starts on about AI medals falling out of the back of a couch he was lifting (one of them actually told me that vomit inducing story!). I politely remind him that for ever AI medal in Kerry, there's probably at least 3 in Cork:)

Now of course if the talk turned to 'most sucessful sporting county' and one was to look at things like Leaguue of Ireland and FAI cup medals, the Dubs might be able to take us on - so I'd just have to find a way of excluding that from my data! And you'll probably agree that all of the sporting success in Cork and Dublin has nothing to do with our populations - we're just naturally superior!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 02/10/2014 17:54:38    1659493

Culchie

122 I think Mes Amis. That's what I'm counting this week, as you're right, Kerry have gone ahead on Senior titles alone.

Then of course if you include handball, Kilkenny migbht take the lead (though Cork have quite a few titles there too). But in Cork, we have an answer for that too. Of course we have! 122 AI's by an average of twenty players per panel = 2,440 AI medals - and that's just the men! The girls could probably add another 1,000.

So when some Kerry clown starts on about AI medals falling out of the back of a couch he was lifting (one of them actually told me that vomit inducing story!). I politely remind him that for ever AI medal in Kerry, there's probably at least 3 in Cork:)

Now of course if the talk turned to 'most sucessful sporting county' and one was to look at things like Leaguue of Ireland and FAI cup medals, the Dubs might be able to take us on - so I'd just have to find a way of excluding that from my data! And you'll probably agree that all of the sporting success in Cork and Dublin has nothing to do with our populations - we're just naturally superior!

Everyone know this. Thats why when pairc ui caomh is reopened, it will be packed to capacity every time there is a game on it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/10/2014 18:26:36    1659507

Going by the demand for All-Ireland football final tickets, Croke Park is not big enough! They'll nearly want to be directing money from Pairc Ui Caoimh towards the Hill 16 end if it was possible to maintain a lower tier terrace and then upper tier seating in line with the rest of the stadium. Obviously logistics etc. regarding railway tracks, property and all that at that side of the ground.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7882 - 02/10/2014 20:41:07    1659550

- we're just naturally superior!

Ha ha ha, ah typical Cork sure life would be much duller without their inane bluster! Fair play on those 122 medals (can I ask where you get that stat from) my guess is your able to include those great Cork victories at U-12 football!!!

By the way yer record in All Ireland finals versus Kerry is currently 0-2, in the All Ireland series its 0-7 and what is it again in Munster Championship?? Something like 66 loses at the hands of Kerry!

That's some record boyo, especially considering the 7 All Irelands on top of it ye have managed in last 130 years despite the hundreds of GAA clubs down there and the massive population difference as regards the Kingdom!

If only yer men had the balls of yer women!

Cork GAA: keep reaching for the stars!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/10/2014 11:37:33    1659664

Culchie

122 is some haul in fairness!

We've a while to go but us native Dubs were a little late to the party in many ways when it comes to GAA!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/10/2014 11:41:57    1659669

The Hermit - I'll have you know that I'm including such prestigous trophies as the what's it cup, that's awarded for the Junior football, and the famous yokey jig for the Intermediate hurling:) What's the score in Cork Kerry hurling meetings now anyway? Are we more than 7 ahead maybe? Mind you, given the downward curve for Cork hurling, and the comparitive upward trend in Kerry, that could actually change in my lifetime. Heaven forbid!

Ah - the winter's really setting in now. Nothing to talk about but past glories. And for Cork, they're a long way in the past now!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 03/10/2014 13:12:24    1659723

Finally got to see the final after some time away. I know the rest of you have been able to dissect the game over the last few weeks, the expected hyperbole and rhetoric from the usual suspects has been thrown about as well. But I haven't posted in ages so here's my take on the game.
In line with this thread, all is certainly well again. Family were down in Kerry recently and they couldn't believe the flags and bunting scattered throughout Kerry, they're celebrating like it was their first one. No harm there, its great to see Kerry folk still take nothing for granted and that football is life down there. We all remember the stories of how Kerry folk reacted when the news of Gooch's injury came through - some down there compared it to a death in the family. But as Eamon Fitzmaurice proved, as Jim McGuinness had done with Donegal before him, you don't have to have the best players all the time to win All Irelands. Tactical discipline and belief, accentuating the positives and hiding the negatives - these are all the hall marks of great managers.
You also need a bit of luck and my god did Kerry have it on All Ireland final day. I wouldn't put their victory down to it completely but in the realms of knockout competitions, Paul Durcan's mistake was the winning and losing of the game. Having only had newspaper snippets to go by before I watched the game, I was surprised to see many sugar coat Durcan's performance. Now, I hate to single out lads, in fact I rate Durcan, he's been a pivotal piece of the Donegal machine. However, the Donegal system only works when all players are effective especially the goalkeeper. It wasn't just the gifted goal, his kickouts were dreadful and his decision making wasn't great either. In a game as tight as what it was, the goalkeeper cannot afford to gift possession away like he did. Seems harsh but this lad is the favourite for the goalkeeper all star and he had possibly the worst performance of the season in the biggest game of the season.
I dare say that Dublin did Kerry a favour by showing them Dongal's strengths and weaknesses in the semi final. Fitzmaurice set his team up really well to stifle Donegal. Dublin foolishly went down the road of 'live by the sword, die by the sword' instead of changing tactics during the match when the game was going against them. Kerry did their homework and most importantly kept their composure when needed. I think this is something that Kerry have better than any other team at Croke Park, regardless of what players are there or not. One thing I will agree with Spillane on was that Kerry players always have ability to catch and kick. When it comes down to it, if you can stay in a match, you can be sure that these strengths will stay true to you. Spillane has however lost the right to any moral outrage for future teams that adopt such tactics.
Kerry also influenced the referee well, something Dara O'Se alluded to after last years final in the way that Dublin bullied Mayo at certain times of the match. I counted quite a few black cards, second yellow's (Donnacha Walsh was very lucky) that were never given but this is part and parcel of any game. Donegal were in a lot of ways too nice. Kerry did manage to get under Donegal's skin, the Michael Murphy softening up seemed to work. They slowed the game down when they needed to, the odd time wasting tactics were used well and even the sporting kicking the ball off Durcan's tee. These are all small pieces that can make a big difference on the day. Fitzmaurice himself knows how teams can do this just like Tyrone had done it to Kerry before.

In the world of knockout competition, Kerry are kings again. Reminds me a bit of when Chelsea were the best team in Europe when they won the Champions league in 2012 in so many ways.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 05/10/2014 08:52:07    1660240

What's the score in Cork Kerry hurling meetings now anyway? Are we more than 7 ahead maybe? Mind you, given the downward curve for Cork hurling, and the comparitive upward trend in Kerry, that could actually change in my lifetime. Heaven forbid!

Ah - the winter's really setting in now. Nothing to talk about but past glories. And for Cork, they're a long way in the past now!

Culchie, I have a dream that before I shuffle off this mortal coil, I will be in the stand in Thurles witnessing a Kerry team lift the Munster Senior Hurling Cup, after beating Cork in the final! We live in hope, but we need to start closing out Christy Ring finals first!

Yerra the winter is a great time to indulge in the old past glories, but of course the danger is you get stuck there!! Never fear though Culchie, Cork will be back as brash and brazen as ever come June. Looking forward to the Red horde descending on Killarney looking for vengeance for the massacre in the Paric!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/10/2014 16:35:38    1660777

Speaking of the junior All-Ireland. A statistic that may be of interest. We lead the poll in that (not boasting). We have won the following years:

2001, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013.

The rules of this competition stipulate that when you win an All-Ireland, no player from that team in eligible the following year. You need a completely new squad. However, all players then become available again the following year. Though it is very hard to keep a team together (at this level) for such a long time, I believe Enda Wiseman and Pat Gayer (but must check) have 4 in a row won in the years that they have been allowed to play. Wiseman may have a 2013 sub medal.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/10/2014 16:54:44    1660781

Cavan used their junior team as a B team this year. Not many counties have done that as far as I'm aware. The Kerry manager was very much aware of the challenge there ahead of the game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7882 - 06/10/2014 20:25:16    1660860