Who is the Brian Cody of football - Football's greatest manager

bdbuddah

I asked the question so I will give my opinion. Despite having the best players you still have give M O'D credit for keeping them winning at a rate that has never happened before or since. To keep players motivated for so long makes him the best. 8 AI's in 12 years including 7 AI's in 9 years is amazing.
I would put Heffo and Sean Boylan as joing second, Heffo as he was the first modern GAA manager who all others followed and Boylan as his initial successes were very good in themselves but his second spell with a new team proved his greatness.
Now time to put on my Meath scarf!

How cqan you say this and then say he wasn't the best??

Stopthelights I know you want to forget '83 down your way but this was a 2nd Dublin team that Heffo built with only 2 players from the 70s

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 01/10/2014 08:39:52    1658823

witnof

You ask how can I say Heffo as he was the first modern GAA manager who all others followed and then not rate him the best?.
Simple really. For rethinking the role of team manager, which I mean a much more systematic approach overseen by the manager I have rated him very highly. He deserves credit for changing the way GAA inter county teams have been run since.
Other counties then adopted the same approach. Others have done it better since he did the job but his biggest plus in terms of rating him as a manager was it was him who invented the role in the first place.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 01/10/2014 10:45:56    1658876

micko o dwyer simple as that

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 01/10/2014 11:42:50    1658903

There is a top echelon of football managers. Mick O'Dwyer, Kevin Heffernan, Sean Boylan, Billy Morgan, Mickey Harte, Jack O'Connor, Paidi O Se and Pete McGrath.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 01/10/2014 14:33:09    1659012

Micko. End of story.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 01/10/2014 17:12:33    1659106

Kildare have won 2 Leinsters since 1956, both under Micko. How that can be classed as him not showing his greatness is beyond me.
Laois have won 1 since 1946. Micko again.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 01/10/2014 21:11:48    1659186

Stop the lights, I don't know how you can say Cody's only won a "2 or 3 team championship"? He's defeated 7 different counties in All Ireland finals, including all 5 competing Munster counties. That's 7 different potential champions in a "2 or 3 team championship".

Football lads go on about how open their championship is, but the vast bulk of the counties involved have no hope of ever winning it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/10/2014 21:15:45    1659191

Dr. Eamonn O'Sullivan hands down.
Trained 8 All-Ireland winning Kerry teams over 5 decades from the 20's to the 60's.
Some of his methods were years ahead of their time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7ZKDMFrxwo

http://oldsite.drcrokes.com/dreos.htm

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/10/2014 13:30:49    1659342

I'll say it again. Sean Boylan. No contest.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2014 15:48:38    1659428

Mick O'Dwyer.

It's not even a contest.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 02/10/2014 19:50:28    1659525

Royaldunne lol :-).

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 02/10/2014 20:20:09    1659539

Ballydalane,
Since Brian Cody took over 3 teams have won the hurling all Ireland.
Kilkenny, tipp and cork. Correct me if im wrong but That's a 3 team championship . Those 3 teams are rarely strong at the same time..
Fair play to ye and well done but that's not a healthy competition.
In that time 8 different football teams have won with mayo knocking on the door regularly.
Thats not a point of view ,,It's just a fact.
Boylan has won 4 all Ireland's in different eras in competitive championships.
It was harder to win the Leinster football title than a hurling all Ireland.
That's not kilkennys fault by the way,, just another fact!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 02/10/2014 20:53:05    1659558