Worried about Kerry dominance?

Goos team this year but would another couple of quality players to dominate, luckily we have two quality players in gooch and tommy walsh to add to this team for next year :-) Be hard for any team to hold those forwards!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 28/09/2014 19:28:26    1657773

Ya Garry mac I'm surprised with you really, I'd have good time for you and your posts are allways well tought out, but I'm getting a hint of bitterness and that's fair enough we know we're not liked out side our own county but to me that's a good sign, if every1 liked us that would mean we're not successful .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/09/2014 19:28:42    1657774

Does it matter where GaryMc is from? Is he not allowed to make reasoned remarks on Kerry? Are Kerry now free from all scrutiny just because they are All-Ireland champions?

To me, his posts are not anti-Kerry, they are about Kerry and he raises interesting points. Why not debate his points instead of slag his county, accuse him of things he is not and compare him to Joe Brolly

GarryMC is very fair with his predictions and will admit that he is 'wrong' if needs be.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/09/2014 20:26:03    1657805

legendzxix

Surely a Derry man will be more interested in how his county might transfer league form into championship? What's the state of play with ye're county championship? Worry not of Kerry for we will winter well! ;)

I think my comments were both balanced and fair, especially in addressing Jon's comments. Which In fairness, I stuck to topically.

Now your comments have diverted from that topic on this thread posted in the "National" section of the HS forum, to pointing out the following
1. I'm a Derry man ( Presumably because I'm discussing Kerry ).
2. While Derry played well in National league, they were crap in Championship against Longford ( Hints of "Sure what would ye know about Championship football ).
3. Asking what the state of play is with Derry County Championship ( Hints at maybe I should concentrate on matters within my own county ).

Now my football knowledge is not directly connected to the performance of the Derry senior football team, and my opinion's are no less relevant to your's on a forum such as this. Regardless of where I hail from or what my opinion is, this is the Ideal forum for sharing those GAA opinions.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/09/2014 20:26:45    1657806

westkerry

GaryMc,

It's obvious you don't rate us, that's grand we won't loose any sleep over it.
You extected us to loose the final. You were wrong.
Like your fellow countyman Brolly, it's hard to praise a team that beat the System!

That's not true, In fact I have rated Kerry several times this year.

When the final pairing was decided, I figured it would be a very tight game and I expected Donegal to edge it. I was specific about that in my prediction, and fairly detailed in why I felt that way. I gave my personal analysis in detail, rather than simply flying provincial colours for the sake of it.

Now on that note, I freely admit shouting for Donegal during the game. They are my neighbours after all.

What has clearly ruffled your feathers, is probably the way I replied to JonCarter's post. But I stand over those comments, and I can assure you they had nothing to do with "The System" being beat, Joe Brolly and the Exorcist or my predictions been wrong.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/09/2014 20:39:08    1657818

@ GaryMc82

1. Obviously you are from Derry.
2. Not at all man. Not at all.
3. There's plenty of football to be played this year in the club championships. I don't see much point wishing life away and speaking of next August. We'll winter well. Ciarraí abú! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 28/09/2014 20:55:17    1657828

Bennybunny
Absolutely every1 is entitled to their opinion I have no problem with that, but it's hard to give a balanced opinion if you don't like the team you are talking about don't you think?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/09/2014 21:03:58    1657837

My last post for a while, take a winter break...

The funny thing I've noticed over the last week on here
is post from lads from Roscommon , Galway , Derry , Mayo and others sticking the boot into Kerry.

Lads Kerry have done what I'd consider nearly the impossible. Taken a brand new team nearly relegated
in the league to the championship.
We lost the best player in Ireland, stalwarts like Galvin & Tomas.

I always tipped the cap to the champions yet on here it's been digs and Ohh they were lucky etc etc...

We may not win again next year or the following years
but we have won in 2014 and that's all that matters.

It doesn't matter if your from Kerry or Antrim you can have an opinion on football and no county has a monopoly on knowledge.
I do find it amusing that posters from the above counties get a kick out of putting us down given the current state
of their counties senior teams.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/09/2014 21:12:09    1657842

Kerry will never go away as its the only sport the are interested in.kilkenny are the same in hurling its like their second job so the have a head start on most counties every year.some counties have to have development squads just to compete but Kerry and Kilkenny have so many schools competing at a high level every year its easy to pick up players that way.

leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 64 - 28/09/2014 21:23:06    1657851

Joncarter
You are talking rubbish about Kerry dominating. Same old talk about Dublin last year, same talk about Donegal 2012.
There was a big element of luck in Sundays game and for us Durkin's mistake costs us. Now since I came back to London they the big opinion among the GAA people here :::: giveaway goal beat us. As regards the system being beat ::how do. Kerry copied it, had to play Ulster type football to have a chance of winning. The Kerry manager knew, he suffered enough at the hands of Tyrone and Armagh in finals. So JIMS system won. Therefore JMcGuinness has taught Kerry how to play the system. So after 130 years of GAA we in Donegal can be proud that we learned Kerry how to play a different type of game and fair play to E F and Kerry they did defend ( as good as Tyrone or Armagh in their hayday) so to me last Sunday was a big endorsement of Ulster football by KERRY
Asky
I would not be too worried about Gooch coming back and what age is he. Do you not realise he can be marked same as JOD last Sunday. Plus he must be nearing the end of his career.
Legendzxix
You can thank P Durkin that ye are going to winter well and you must agree you need luck at times to win games. Still we will winter well and let's hope we get a chance to put the record straight next year to unfinished business held over from last Sunday.
At the end of the day four teams stood out since 2011, Donegal, Mayo, Kerry and Dublin. On any given day one could beat the other :: Donegal beat by Dublin, Dublin beat by Donegal Kerry Mayo the same only Mayo did not beat Kerry. Plus await the new arrivals, Armagh ( wonder will they jump in behind the Kerry flag if they meet) Galway should also pick up maybe Roscommon

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 28/09/2014 21:32:32    1657859

westkerry

My last post for a while, take a winter break...

The funny thing I've noticed over the last week on here
is post from lads from Roscommon , Galway , Derry , Mayo and others sticking the boot into Kerry.

Lads Kerry have done what I'd consider nearly the impossible. Taken a brand new team nearly relegated
in the league to the championship.
We lost the best player in Ireland, stalwarts like Galvin & Tomas.

I always tipped the cap to the champions yet on here it's been digs and Ohh they were lucky etc etc...

We may not win again next year or the following years
but we have won in 2014 and that's all that matters.

It doesn't matter if your from Kerry or Antrim you can have an opinion on football and no county has a monopoly on knowledge.
I do find it amusing that posters from the above counties get a kick out of putting us down given the current state
of their counties senior teams.

I didn't stick the boot into Kerry, they are All Ireland Champions and I respect the Kerry players for achieving this tough achievement.

I agree and acknowledge that very few Including myself expected Kerry to win the All Ireland this year, especially after recently losing great players like Tomas O'Se and Paul Galvin to retirement and Gooch to Injury.

The beauty of HS, Is that we get to hear the opinions and perspectives of folks outside Top 4-6 teams. And I think that keeps things balanced and Inclusive.

I still stand over my comments, but I don't wish to disrespect your County or anybody elses County in the process. I call it as I see it, and my actual comment content wasn't nasty.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/09/2014 21:56:28    1657880

Well Sam you were dreaming of Kerry being destroyed. Errors can be forced as well. Ye're kickouts were under pressure all day and ye're effort in the 3rd quarter was nullified. Pressure forced the error. Might take a broad perspective to appreciate that.
Pointless looking at next year. Both teams were hungry last Sunday. You've said yourself that champions being beaten cannot be judged. Most teams of note will put it up to the champions. Donegal know it from 2013 and the capital from this year.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 28/09/2014 22:03:03    1657885

KingdomBoy1

Bennybunny
Absolutely every1 is entitled to their opinion I have no problem with that, but it's hard to give a balanced opinion if you don't like the team you are talking about don't you think?

Yes 100% agree. I don't see that happening here at all though. He has stuck rigidly to the topic at hand and he has struck me as possibly one of the most balanced posters on this site. I don't know him. However there are a lot of wind up merchanats on here that love sticking the boot in. He is not one of them and I think people have gotten a little sensitive about the points he made.

For the records, I probably would not agree with many of his points but I am not going to slag him off about being from Derry because of it. Earlier in the year he predicted Cork would be relegated and give valid reasons why he thought so. As it happens he was wrong and openly admitted it. Very few do this on here.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/09/2014 14:07:45    1658092

Bennybunny
True enough, I even said that in my own post that I enjoy garrys posts and like your self I don't always agree with them but in fairness he can be fairly spot on at times, I suppose there are so many wums on here ( my self included :-) )that the waters can get muddied from time to time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/09/2014 14:30:32    1658118

Give credit where its due every county in Ireland had the chance as Kerry at the start
of the championship and they failed You have the posters saying its a poor Kerry team
will the other counties must be alot poorer we have Sam thats the bottom line Donegal
and Dublin bought into the media hype that they were unbeatable all they had to do was
show up and pick up Sam. There is a reason why we have 37 AI we know how to win them

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 29/09/2014 14:32:33    1658122

Legendzxix
Well I was not dreaming as I did think that Donegal would beat Kerry but like a lot more I thought Mayo /Cork would have beaten Kerry.
As you knowfrom my posts earlier on in the year that I never expected Kerry to win SAM. Did not think that they were far enough down the road as regards all the training etc. but I was not the only one who wrote Kerry off here in London a lot of Kerry people were saying back in May::::: the worst Kerry team since 1992. So that goes to show you what a lot of us know including Kerry people.
Now if you read Dara o Shea in last Wedensday's irish times::::: he text a friend at half time and said:::: Durkin's kickouts are killing us. But you recond we were under pressure with our kickouts all Day. I thought Donegal were the better team over most of the first half but the second half became just like another Ulster championship game , low scoring, very defensive and very tight. Thought at stages I was in Healy park or Clones.
I don't think you could say Durkin's error was a forced error, just a lack of concentration and similar to D o Sullivans giving away the ball against Dublin in 2011. We all make mistakes, I got paid out on Dublin in 2011(£2200 sterling::::400@ 9/2). Could not believe my luck as with Kerry 5 points up and 63 mins gone thought my money was gone Winter well my dear man and hopefully we will meet again in another Ulster championship type game next Summer. And if it happens may the best team win.

As regards the poster on about every county having the same chance as Kerry:::: do they honestly believe that say Leitrim, Carlow,Wicklow Clare or a few similar counties have the same chance as Kerry. Going into next year's championship only and only again have Kerry, Dublin Donegal Mayo Cork have a good chance Meath,DownArmaghDerry GALWAY Roscommon TYRONE and MONAGHAN could figure but could not see them winning an All Ireland. Will probably be won by a team playing Ulster style football

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/09/2014 20:16:09    1658309

Sam, not all Durkin's kickout were great now in fairness. I recall one going over the sideline in the first half. Pressure was being applied to the kicks. The Kerry forwards though were making efforts in the first half to close down options. The noose tightened more in the second half. Durkin did not want to go long. When he took that kick-out, he had no options out wide. Noone was making a move. When he lined up that kick, it seemed very obvious where he was going to kick, Star was running to the side but then stopped and read it well. Obviously a disaster of a goal for ye to concede as was the sideline kick for us 2 years ago. If Durkin had steadied himself though for the kick, he still had limited options. Donegal were at the end of the 3rd quarter with little to show for their efforts. Many have not noted how they were putting in a massive effort but with little reward as Kerry were holding firm.

Donegal to their credit brought the game back to a one point game. The pressure was on Kerry at that moment. All talk before the final was that if it was close around that moment that Donegal would kick-on and that Kerry would flinch. Many were saying Donegal would pull away in the final 10 minutes. As we know, the final 10 minutes did not work out that way. Commiserations again on the defeat. I'm sure our counties will lock horns in battle again.

The thread title - Worried about Kerry dominance?
We'll winter well. I don't see the need for such talk. None of the last 6 champions have even made the final in the following year.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 29/09/2014 21:30:48    1658351

what do people think about splitting county Kerry into 2 teams. Say North Kerry based in Tralee and South Kerry based in Killarney. I think it would certainly help the Munster championship- which is a joke really. Has any one other than Cork or Kerry ever won it (ok Clare won once). Split Kerry into 2 I say.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 30/09/2014 11:21:37    1658464

GaryMc - all about snobbery. God you want to see the condemnation any of the Antrim posters get on here when commenting about anything outside of or not relating to Antrim - what do we know etc etc. Keep 'er lit ye boy ya.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/09/2014 11:46:30    1658484

Lads Galvin, O'Se retire and Gooch injured. What a year for Kerry... only Kerry could turn that around lets be fair.
Just imagine similar circumstances with Donegal and others. Maybe the Dubs could put a team together still to do it but nobody else could.
Would be like taking Gallagher & Murphy out of Donegal, Wexford would probably beat them.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 30/09/2014 11:57:56    1658494