The worst feeling ever...

Lockjaw

Well I hoped and prayed I'd never have to endure what I am this morning. The most gut wrenching sense of disappointment around work. Jimmy McGuinness himself would have trouble motivating us today I'd say. I'm not going to analyse the game to death or anything but just a few points I'd make.

- Kerry's tactics were spot on. They played defensively as expected but unlike Armagh they have a bit more cutting edge up front. Couple that with the uncharacteristic error which led to the second goal and it just wasn't going to be our day.

- Maybe if we had gone a bit more attacking and direct a wee bit sooner we could have pulled it out of the fire. McBrearty looked very dangerous when we got good early ball in.

- While I was incensed at what Keane did at the time I can understand it fully. If the roles were reversed and McFadden did the samne and us ahead, I wouldn't give a fiddlers.

- I think it was quite possible that I was technically dead for a few seconds as my heart stopped with the goal chance near the end. Would we have deserved a draw? Maybe not but there was a heartbreaking fleeting moment of hope which ultimately lost way to despair and at that moment we knew that was that.

- Good luck to Kerry and enjoy your celebrations. I still feel that if we met 10 times we could possibly beat you 4 0 r 5 times. But it doesn't work like that. It's all on the day and yesterday your boys were that wee bit better and cuter than ours.

- What happens next for Donegal? The coming weeks and months will be interesting. We could possibly lose Gallagher, Toye, McFadden, Kavanagh etc not to mention the great man himself. Those guys owe us nothing. To a man they have represented our great county with pride and distinction. They have improved the morale of the people here ten fold in the last 4 years. All we can do is thank them and wish them well in whatever decision they come to. But there is hope for the future also. Hopefully the minors can push on and feed the senior team eventually. We had lads like MacNiallais and Ryan McHigh really step up this year. Mark will hopefully be back next year also so we can look ahead with optimism.

Now I'm away for a full Irish in the canteen and going to try and avoid the forum for a while... :-(

Great post lockjaw, it mirrors exactly how I'm feeling today.

However all is not doom & gloom, the club championship starts on Sunday, away we go again.

C'mon Kilcar!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/09/2014 15:08:05    1655403

MuckrossHead

Kilcar must have a right good side?

The younger McBrearty looks a great footballer I think.

I was up around your neck of the woods over the summer months. Beautiful part of a stunning county.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2014 15:13:44    1655411

It's tough alright. Come Christmas you'll be over it though......................(not that long don't worry :) - but It certainly does take a week or 2 of pain). Going through it once, twice, three times doesn't make the subsequent ocassions any easier either. All I can say is be proud and start enjoying the club scene as quickly as possible..

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 22/09/2014 15:16:46    1655418

Yeah I think Kilcar will be there or thereabouts this year! We're in the junior semi-final on Saturday evening. Heads down now again and back to training!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 22/09/2014 15:22:18    1655425

I feel for you LockJaw, keep the chin up lad

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/09/2014 15:23:34    1655429

Good man Lockjaw, get it off the chest, I'm only accepting our defeat to ye now, let's all hope for a quick winter :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/09/2014 15:39:44    1655453

Ah you'll be alright. Imagine what seven in a row feels like added to a hangover from two days of drinking in Dublin at 7 euro a pint.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 22/09/2014 15:42:44    1655459

I feel for you LockJaw, keep the chin up lad

You certainly didn't "feel" for Donegal, their players, management or fans when you couldnt get on this forum quick enough yesterday to ask if they where bottlers in fairness cacs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 15:43:36    1655460

If anyone knows how you are feeling it's Mayo people and I'd like to be able to tell you it gets easier the more finals you lose,but it doesn't.The worst ones are the ones you feel that you could have won if only......I know it's no consolation but you have one great day in 2012 to look back on. Don't let yesterday take away from those memories.Now it's about getting rid of the recordings you've kept of the earlier games, only talking about football to fellow county people(they understand how you feel) keeping the head down and when the League comes around we're all equal again. I presume you have arranged the wedding before next years Championship.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/09/2014 15:49:55    1655464

Llaw_Gyffes

If anyone knows how you are feeling it's Mayo people and I'd like to be able to tell you it gets easier the more finals you lose,but it doesn't.The worst ones are the ones you feel that you could have won if only......I know it's no consolation but you have one great day in 2012 to look back on. Don't let yesterday take away from those memories.Now it's about getting rid of the recordings you've kept of the earlier games, only talking about football to fellow county people(they understand how you feel) keeping the head down and when the League comes around we're all equal again. I presume you have arranged the wedding before next years Championship.

+1

It will hurt for days and weeks, but before you know it, the Dr. McKenna Cup will come round and you'll be on your bike again. At least you have seen your county lifting Sam, never take that for granted.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/09/2014 15:56:37    1655470

I know it's only a game however I'm devastated . Then again , I've witnessed it on two occasions ; there are some great Gaels from counties that cannot even win a province so I suppose we can count ourselves lucky . Doesn't help though - not today !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 22/09/2014 16:10:45    1655487

Ah I know, time is a great healer and all that and we should be grateful for the 2012 win. But for counties like Donegal these occasions are not too frequent. We can only hope that going forward that this changes and we can regularly dine at the top table. It really is a horrible feeling and to be honest I've developed a greater respect for Mayo fans - how they can keep going back and supporting their team after so many All-Ireland defeats. Jesus when your lads ever land one the session and partying in Mayo will be unlike anything seen before on this island I'd say!

The wedding is in the spring. I had an idea that I had kept to myself that I was going to try to get Sam Maguire a seat at the top table on the big day but not to be now unfortunately.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 22/09/2014 16:18:02    1655493

I felt awful yesterday. Just a pure sinking feeling. We have two titles in 127 years, so when you're the width of a post away from salvaging something from it, it's heartbreaking, as we know how rare these opportunities are.

I think this current crop still have a few years left in them, and the future looks bright. The U-21s from 2010 provided a huge amount of players for this team - hopefully the minors from this year can do the same.
A few of the older lads might think about hanging it up, but I saw names like McGlynn mentioned on here. McGlynn won't turn 30 for another two years. He's in the middle of his career and is one of the fittest players in Ireland! Personally, I don't think anyone will call it quits this year. McFadden had a below par year, but he is still capable of moments of genius, and would still be a huge addition to any team. Neil Gallagher is very close with Murphy, and is in the best shape of his life, coming off arguably his best ever season. He has a few years left in him yet.

The core of the team will be the same. I think McBrearty, MacNiallais, Jigger and Ryan McHugh will continue to grow into better players. As long as Dublin and Kerry keep progressing like they have been, it will be difficult, but I'm confident Donegal will be playing into September over the next few years again.

Texas (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 22/09/2014 16:30:44    1655507

Commiserations as I've said in another thread. Ye were a difficult opponent. As ye are saying, Fitz had the tactics spot on. Players on our side were bringing in the hurt from the '11 final.

Donegal and Kerry will lock horns again. All the best.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 22/09/2014 16:39:15    1655516

Lockjaw

The worst feeling ever is to be surrounded by the good men and women of Donegal in HQ when you're effectively being hammered and you're gripped by a sudden and violent episode of morning sickness!:0

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 16:47:30    1655521

Ah sure look we've all been there. People, Donegal people included, had us up on Mt Everest before our semi so we came down with a bang. At least you don't have countless threads coming at you gloating at your demise, mainly from posters whose county has yet to win a Sam ironically enough.

It will take about a week or two but then you'll be back on the horse. Remember that every county bar one goes through this every year. McKenna Cup starts in 12 weeks or so and club championship will be running so plenty to keep the mind occupied.

On Donegal, fair play to them for getting to the final. I wouldn't be the biggest fan of the system but I admire the way they execute it. Also, fair play to Kerry. Just goes to show you the you can have all of the talent you like but it's no substitute for tactics and organisation. Fair play to them for taking Sam against all the odds.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2014 17:57:01    1655555

MesAmis

Kilcar must have a right good side?

The younger McBrearty looks a great footballer I think.

I was up around your neck of the woods over the summer months. Beautiful part of a stunning county.

Aye, it's the best Kilcar side in manys a year with Rory Gallagher training them.

A very small club with only one school of 100 children but they look like they will win Div 1 & give the championship, last won in 1993, a right rattle.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/09/2014 18:44:11    1655571

MuckrossHead

Good stuff man. Best of luck in the Champo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2014 20:24:45    1655614

Great post Lockjaw........says it all really, today has just been a weird day....feel like crap

@ Wayno, you make a very good point about keeping this in perspective after you lost one of your friends............. I was driving down the road from Dublin today with the wife and kids in the car and I don't mind saying but i was like a bear with a sore head, when we passed enniskillen I saw a signpost for the Northern Ireland Children's Hospice, I looked in the mirror back at my two kids and thought if I had to take that turn and head for there then I would have something to really be worrying about, so that was enough to flip me out of my state of sadness and put this thing in perspective............. Having said all that I would just love to be in donegal town tonight welcoming Sam back.

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 22/09/2014 20:50:37    1655631