Can Kerry win back to backs?

Every year the side who wins the All Ireland are unbeatable and will win Sam the year after.
2012: Jims system could never be cracked Sure it was only year 2 of a 5 year plan. Donegal were going to be unbeatable.
2013: the dubs have the production line, population, money blah blah blah
2014: Kerry have Tommy Walsh and gooch coming back so they are going to be unstoppable in 2015.

Folks give it a rest. A lot of football between now and then.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/09/2014 12:09:42    1656469

Defo can be done - alot of talk already from the players and management about next year. I'd think Aidan O Mahony and Dec might call it a day - donaghy is already committing to next year..then add in cooper and walsh - we could be back to the days of the twin towers attack again!! Key will be to unearth 2-3 new players - I think we could have a couple of them on the bench already - Jonathan Lyne in particular. Avoiding injuries with Eamonn at the helm they'll take alot of beating next year..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 24/09/2014 12:14:46    1656474

If Kerry get ahead of steam, I fear for the rest of us....

They have everything in place, structures, coaching, underage coming through, and great financial clout via their sponsorship with Kerry Group.

Their players want for nothing and they know how to win.

This victory will bring them on no end.

Back to the drawing board for the rest of us.

What do you think Snuff..???? :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 24/09/2014 12:29:15    1656486

Capital cumuppance for Kerry next year Snuff - as you predicted this year!! Pity ye took the eye off the ball with Donegal!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 24/09/2014 13:13:00    1656523

A lot of football to be played before then. With the assistance of playing in Munster and the fact they steer clear of Cork to the final they can start planning for the August bank holiday weekend next year. Add in the players to return and it is not impossible for them to win it again. The Dubs in my opinion are still the best footballing team of the past 20 years, they got badly caught but if they find a way to play there attacking football with a system that protects the defence it is goodnight to the rest.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 24/09/2014 13:32:14    1656530

Tyrone will stop Kerry winning back to backs, we always do ;)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/09/2014 13:51:18    1656548

Except in 2007!!

No in all seriousness Kerry for the Three in a Row, the future's bright, the future' Kerry.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/09/2014 14:03:56    1656552

Am I would like to enjoy the arrival of Santa before I start thinking about next year!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/09/2014 14:13:08    1656560

Kerry can possibly win it again next year but I don't think they will.

They will have strengthened with Tommy Walsh coming back and the Gooch if he make a full recovery but that won't be enough. They will still need to find another 2 or 3 players, especially defenders.

Dublin for me have the strongest panel in Ireland and will have all them again next year and possibly a few additions. The lessons learned from the Donegal defeat will be ringing in Jim Gavins ear and they won't make the same mistakes again. If there is one position they need to look at though it would be in the full back position. Rory O carroll is ok but a player like Donaghy or any other player of that type would destroy him under a high ball.

As for the rest. We don't know. Mayo under new guidance could improve or go backwards. We don't know what retirements will be from players of management in Donegal. Cork or Tyrone don't seem to be improving. Monaghan seem to have regressed. Armagh and Galway will improve this year but will they improve enough. Derry are Derry.

It could possibly be a Dublin v Kerry and Mayo v Armagh semi final set up next year with Dublin to beat Mayo again in the final!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 24/09/2014 14:22:07    1656565

Would Dublin and Mayo not meet in the semis next year if they both get that far?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 24/09/2014 15:45:28    1656603

the difference being that a good kerry team is a far more dangerous prospect than anybody else due to the ability in the county, tradition of winning and high level coaching

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/09/2014 16:07:13    1656608

24/09/2014 14:13:08
woops

Am I would like to enjoy the arrival of Santa before I start thinking about next year!

Exactly. It's going to be easier getting through the winter! All I know is it's a Munster v Ulster semi-final next year. Our old nemesis Tyrone will be one of many dangers from the North. Armagh are coming.

Have some people any club championships to look forward to?!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 24/09/2014 17:34:00    1656638

Legend,why do u think Tyrone are coming again?Cant see it myself.Theyll be down for a few years.Armagh are improving,but All Ireland contenders?Dont think so just yet.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/09/2014 17:45:20    1656646

I think Kerry will be favorites to win next year
1) if Tommy Walsh and Goouch are added to that team they will be the best forward line by a great distance
2) players like Moran, Buckley Geaney O'Donoghue Crowley and Murphy have now all won All Ireland's for the first time. In Kerry winning one All Ireland does not suffice and they will want to win as much as they can
3) Stephen O Brien and Sheehan at full fitness will be great for competition for places so players will not be resting on their laurels
4) Dublin who I believe are next best are too weak in the full back line to manage players lik Donaghy a James O Donoghue, Tommy Walsh. Players like Walsh and Donaghy will destroy ROC as they are too physical and unlike many other forwards they can also kick scores.
6) Barry Kelly is a fantastic addition to the team and I believe he does not make stupid mistakes.
7) Kerry are Kerry and no matter what people say any time Kerry step out onto Croke Park and no matter who they are playing losing does not come into the equation.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 24/09/2014 18:27:07    1656668

@ cuederocket - They won't be down for long at all. I think they are being misjudged. You'll have to excuse me for not elaborating much further for now. Enjoy the club championships! A lot of club football to be played.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 24/09/2014 18:28:02    1656669

@ dubshurling7 - not at all. Sure we'll be looking at a year of transition looking to integrate TW and Gooch into the team for starters. Ah sure look it, we'll enjoy the winter. Talk of the other 3 provincial champions, Armagh and Tyrone will have to wait until the new year. Ciarrai abu!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 24/09/2014 19:00:19    1656684

Id be surprised if someone other than Dublin or Kerry wins next years all Ireland.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/09/2014 19:08:16    1656687

Rumours of Kerrys demise have been greatly exaggerated.I think we could be about to enter another Dublin v Kerry era of dominance,to surpass the 70s.Already weve had the 2011 final and 13 semi final.Kerry are here to stay with,what looks like,a formidable team.Dublin have a taste for success,and only more silverware,will sate their appetite.I think Mayo and Donegal may fall back a bit,and the likes of Galway,Meath,Cork,Tyrone,Armagh and Monaghan are still short of being major contenders.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/09/2014 19:08:19    1656688

4/1 the Kingdom lads, get on it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 24/09/2014 19:20:54    1656694

Sooner or later a county will retain , honestly thought it would be us this year , It will happen , maybe Kerry , maybe not ,I do know one thing if Tommy Walsh comes back with the Gooch then their chances seriously increase , on the other hand Im very optimistic that my own county will prove a thorn in the kingdoms side again .
If I haven't said it already congrats to Kerry , to hell with the begrudgers and enjoy the next 12 months .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/09/2014 12:21:55    1656878