Barry John Keane - Bad Form

Definitely the turning point of the game!

Lighten up people. The lad had a rush of blood to the head. No harm done.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 21/09/2014 20:53:03    1654861

Have a look at your own teams lad be for you start talking dung.

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 21/09/2014 20:57:05    1654863

I'm not at all surprised by Keane's antics. Donaghy was at the same craic in the replay against Mayo- throwing footballs into the crowd to stop Hennelly taking quick kick-outs near the end. The self-proclaimed purists are not so pure at all.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 21/09/2014 21:00:05    1654867

Bad form but the ref dealth with it. He gave him yellow and added extra time. Plenty of Donegalnlads committed petulant fouls in last few mins. David Walsh gave Kerry lad a couple of slaps in row at end. Nothing worth talking about though. Move on.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/09/2014 21:00:21    1654869

Here didn't the donegal supporter at the ulster final make sure to throw the ball out on to field of play to stop the monaghan keeper from taking quick kick out in the second half

smiler (Fermanagh) - Posts: 88 - 21/09/2014 21:04:07    1654872

Stupid thing to do by Keane. I think the ref played an extra minute and a half, in which Donegal nearly scored a goal, and Keane's act was no doubt a factor in that.

I've mentioned this on other threads and I think it needs to be implemented urgently; any form of interference with an opponent's free-kick/kick-out should result in the ball being brought forward FIFTY metres, like they do in Aussie rules. There's too much acting the maggot now with not giving the ball back, throwing the ball away, standing in front of the kicker, not retreating the required distance etc. It's directly leading to many of these ugly schemozzles.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/09/2014 21:21:46    1654895

this is only being mentioned because it happened in the last seconds of an all ireland final
what about kevin mclaughlin he done this throughout the entire first half against dublin in the league match
and cluxton retalated and got sent off for the same thing that lee kegan got sent off for only he got his red resinded.
the donegal minor players done the same thing grabbed the dublin keepers tee and threw it away to stop a kick out
nobody condemned these players so barry john keane is being very unfairly singled out here

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/09/2014 21:30:10    1654909

Im not going to argue that it went against the ethics of the game but u have to know how to get over the line! We hailed roy keane as a hero when he went throufh overmars in a world cup final! Champions need to be able to master the dark arts, right or wrong! There is no asterix engraved in sam about what bjk did!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 21/09/2014 21:33:43    1654912

is this really worth a thread?

freddy2 (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 21/09/2014 21:35:47    1654914

Daft thing to do by Keane but for example if your club team were leading by 2 pts and their goalie kicks the ball out its caught by their midfielder and kicked into the forwards where they score a goal to win by 1 pt what would people say or even your club officals say 'why didn't somebody stand in front of the keepers kickout or throw the ball into the next county anything but letting them get a quick clear kickout' Fact, that would happen and has often been said to players. Not a nice thing to do and is unsporting but is a fact of life i'm afraid

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/09/2014 21:36:01    1654916

Some crowd of angels on here lads. 90% of players would've slowed down that kick out, he'd have been stupid not to. This happens all the time in club games, it's gamesmanship, what's the big deal? All the ref has to do in these situations is add 30 seconds on and book the offender.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 21/09/2014 21:39:09    1654919

Well said Hill.
Spot on.

No one mentioned those instances...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 21/09/2014 21:42:36    1654921

Happens in club matches, sometimes the ball is kicked into the next parish

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/09/2014 21:44:53    1654925

This type of behaviour cannot be condoned or explained away by using examples from other codes or other games by other players. The reality is that it is a terrible thing to do and it should not be explained by anyone that it is part of the 'dark arts' of winning. Rubbish.

This type of cynical comment is just the thing that ensures that such behaviour continues in our game.
Kerry are know as the aristocrats of the game. Sadly this behaviour has become the hallmark of a number of teams and sadly Kerry have not been immune from it either.

The game is all the poorer for such cynicism..

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/09/2014 21:45:39    1654927

carlowman

but when i brought it up when kevin mclaughlin persistently done it against dublin
nobody wanted to know and just said what cluxton doen was a disgrace
the umpires that night clearly saw him doing it and let him away
take it up with the officals they are the ones to blame
at least today the ref carded the player who done it
he got the warented punishment

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/09/2014 21:55:46    1654935

jusy pure cyncism..... typical kerry

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 21/09/2014 21:57:05    1654936

Guys on hear saying that it happens other times - That doesn't make it right. I actually only heard the story about the Donegal Minor player after the game. Still doesn't make it right.

If I was a Donegal player on that field I would have made sure BJK had a very sore head and wouldn't have been able to enjoy his celebrations. It was a dirty move and IMO is worse than the cynical tackle.

I said last year after the Sean Cavanagh thing that it should be a straight red. My judgement this year is that an act like that deserves a straight Red also. Still likely to happen (same as the Cavanagh tackle) but at least it may make players think twice.

Also I have to say the black card was a complete shambles and they seemed to decide to scrap it after the first few rounds of provincials. Its got to the stage where we at club level are told we can do everything not allowed, just don't be overly obvious where the ref has no choice.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 22/09/2014 08:29:17    1654946

Kerry were at the same messing in last years semi verse Dublin. Mayo did it in the league v Dublin. A 50m punishment for delaying frees and kickouts was proposed to congress last year and defeated. We in the GAA are clearly happy to have this kind of thing go on.

Kerry also got a row going at the end to kill time, same in the semi. No one sent off, no fines dished out. Once again, we in the GAA are happy for this kind of messing to go on.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1130 - 22/09/2014 08:31:55    1654949

dstuction

1654946 Guys on hear saying that it happens other times - That doesn't make it right. I actually only heard the story about the Donegal Minor player after the game. Still doesn't make it right.

If I was a Donegal player on that field I would have made sure BJK had a very sore head and wouldn't have been able to enjoy his celebrations. It was a dirty move and IMO is worse than the cynical tackle.

I said last year after the Sean Cavanagh thing that it should be a straight red. My judgement this year is that an act like that deserves a straight Red also. Still likely to happen (same as the Cavanagh tackle) but at least it may make players think twice.

Also I have to say the black card was a complete shambles and they seemed to decide to scrap it after the first few rounds of provincials. Its got to the stage where we at club level are told we can do everything not allowed, just don't be overly obvious where the ref has no choice.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Point number 1 in bold I agree with. What Keane did yesterday grates on me more than say, what, Cavanagh did last year. Don't get me wrong, both were cynical acts, but at least Cavanagh's was in the context of a match where he was faced with making a split-second decision to save his team conceding a goal, and decided to listen to the bad angel on his shoulder rather than the good one. Keane's was just acting the maggot, pure and simple.

Point number 2 in bold I disagree with. I don't think it warrants a straight red card, no matter how much you dislike it. Does the current black card cover this? Like I said, a 50 metre penalty for this carry-on would go a long way to sorting it out.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/09/2014 08:59:17    1654965

I think that we are reacting on principles here rather than practicals. It wasnt a match losing action. The ref added on a good minute of injury time on top of the existing 2 which was fair enough. As regards whether it was sporting or not, it was not a great thing to do. but nobody got injured from it we have to put things in perspective here.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/09/2014 09:09:44    1654969