Did Donegal Bottle it?

MesAmis

They should have won that game today. No doubt about but they left an All-Ireland behind them today.

Just like Dublin left an All-Ireland behind them in the semi-final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 21/09/2014 19:58:19    1654755

foreverroyal, oh to think the 'Mighty Meath' are such a distant memory now; still hurts does it?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 21/09/2014 19:59:39    1654758

Still lmao miler your class of support was well viewed at end of kerry semi

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 21/09/2014 20:00:01    1654760

rubbish thread if anything Donegal over achieved and deserve great credit for that, they really are a very average team on paper

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 21/09/2014 20:02:32    1654765

Donegal showed what a average team with 1 forward a system a belief and a great manager could achieve in fairness to them they'll inspire a lot of counties cause they nearly fooled a nation

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 21/09/2014 20:08:43    1654775

Ok, i don't ever post on these forums, but i read all of the posts good or bad, Kerry won today!!!!!!! They beat Donegal at their own game, Donegal don't like it, Dublin doesn't seem to like it, no one seems to like it, so what, GROW UP. For once, a team did their homework properly, they beat the defensive system, at times it was horrible, as a Kerry person i was disgusted, but it worked. I suppose this is another easy one!!! Ah well, we have put the Ulster hoodoo behind us. As a Kerry supporter i am so happy today, yea its our 37th, but i wasn't here for most of those, i am enjoying the 6 i can remember!! And the Minors what can i say YAHOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Both teams deserved their wins today, roll on Tues night, it will be one to remember!!

Pat29 (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 21/09/2014 20:12:36    1654781

If I was you I wouldn't drink anymore Pat.....I wouldn't drink any less either. Enjoy it friend!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 21/09/2014 20:19:37    1654794

Small margins involved in winning big games. Didn't get the rub of the green today and perhaps the semi took too much out of them.

What was it with the Gooch doing a 'John Terry', lol

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 21/09/2014 20:30:45    1654819

I think the thread name is incorrect.

Donegal didn't bottle it today but they did throw it away. 2 unbelievably soft goals the second one offered on a plate to Donaghy. And then when the game was in the melting pot they came with the width of the post to snatch a replay.

If they had adapted their initial game plan to a more offensive then going ultra defensive for most of the match they would I think have have won the game.

So no they didn't bottle it but Jimmy got the tactics wrong today.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 21/09/2014 20:39:17    1654836

I started the thread withe idea of getting a reaction and I got it with loads of hypocrisy. Mayo bottle it when they lose but Donegal don't? It is a phrase that should be confined to the bin for good.I feel for the Donegal players and supporters tonight, it's an awful feeling having invested so much emotionally on such a journey and they were beaten by a better performing team today. Donegal DID NOT bottle it, they were flat after the heights of the semi final and awful unlucky with the start and the unfortunate second goal . It just is too easy a cliché to use when talking about the reasons Mayo lose All-Irelands but not one poster would agree when talking of another county. Well done Kerry playing Donegal at their own game and winning.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 21/09/2014 20:44:49    1654845

Cant believe the disrespect Donegal are getting here, They didnt bottle it, they have some brilliant footballers, The difference in losing the final was a goal keeping error. Lads here slagging them would love to have players like Breaty, Christy toye ,Micheal murphy or Karl lacey in their team.
Stop the begrudery ffs.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/09/2014 20:49:06    1654853

Fair play Peile. I think the irony was lost in certain areas. If Mayo lose by 10 points they bottled it and if they lost by one point still seemingly bottled it. The strange thing is it mostly come from posters whose county rarely challenges for anything and are therefore beyond reproach. Try telling the O Sheas or Colm Boyle they are bottlers. There are very fine lines between winning and losing, a misplaced kick at one end and a shot that hit the post at the other is a six point swing. Well done to Kerry you can't keep them down for long.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2014 21:05:08    1654874

Ath Cliath I don't think anybody is slagging Donegal. As I said got the desired reaction.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 21/09/2014 21:05:27    1654876

OhtobeARossie
County: Roscommon

1654760 Still lmao miler your class of support was well viewed at end of kerry semi
Your posts suggest that you are another true sporting Rossie, without an ounce of bitterness of baaaaad feeling towards your neighbours and without any trace of a chip on your shoulder.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/09/2014 21:29:36    1654907

Cockney_Cat
County: UK

Just like Dublin left an All-Ireland behind them in the semi-final.

All-Ireland's aren't won in August unfortunately!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 22/09/2014 08:28:37    1654944

The difference between bottling it and losing honorably is on certain details. Taping a ball over the bar rather than going for a needed goal with the last kick of the game is a good example of it.

We went for it until the last kick. No regrets.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/09/2014 09:17:30    1654972

Donegalman

We went for it until the last kick. No regrets.

I don't think you did actually. you only "went for it" when it was too late.
bad tactics and bad selection policy by J McG. clearly showing too much loyalty to certain players.
I didn't like J McG comment that the team were flat and had no energy. well whose fault is that ?. I actually don't believe that was true. I think McG was tactically out-thought but wasn't man enough to admit it and laid the blame with his players.

Also had to laugh at Pat Spillane last night crowing about how tactics would not win a game that it's all about the players and that the cream would rise to the top Blah ! blah! blah! . If kerry had gone out and played like dublin they would have been beaten.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/09/2014 09:38:23    1654986

Donegal certainly didnt bottle it. Kerry were gifted a goal and like all good teams took their chance and punished donegal. Until then i thought Donegal looked more likely to win. Roll on 2015 so kerry can be knocked off their perch!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 09:41:39    1654990

Donegal certainly didnt bottle it. Kerry were gifted a goal and like all good teams took their chance and punished donegal. Until then i thought Donegal looked more likely to win. Roll on 2015 so kerry can be knocked off their perch!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 09:41:52    1654991

Donegalman I think you are 100% correct. The difference between bottling it and losing honourably is down to the finer details i.e. if from Mayo you bottle it any other county you don't. Exactly the response I expected when starting this thread. Unlucky yesterday in a match that could have gone either way, with a bit of luck who knows but I think better performance won it on the day. Did Donegal bottle it? Not at all.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 22/09/2014 09:50:38    1654999