As a Dub I'm sick

The semi final was dublins first real challenge, and they were found wanting. Donegal utterly deserved their victory.
I just dont know how anyone from Dublin could see this as the one that got away.
Dont always believe the hype.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/09/2014 20:36:14    1656735

All too true Donegalman, and while the purpose of sites like this are for gaa debate you get all those wise men and women here too.
All just fans and most just wise after the event. I know it will seem harsh but after a while it just gets boring.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 24/09/2014 20:40:28    1656736

arrogance ingrained in the psyche of some of the dubs on here it appears joncarter as i have seen the points about missing a few goal chances constantly made as an attempt to get away from the fact that they were simply outplayed and well beaten by a better team on the day..

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/09/2014 20:41:22    1656737

Joncarter if we hold a few defenders back it's a completely different game it's our tactics that has us annoyed, but on the day we didn't and the best team won. I accept Donegal have to play defensive against us but do they have to do it in every game? I'm sure some Donegal supporters are thinking if we didn't go so defensive against Kerry we could have beaten them man on man?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2014 20:45:16    1656740

Can I ask one question? Do Dublin supporters generally agree that Gilroy was a very defensive manager which utilised a very effective blanket defense?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/09/2014 20:53:40    1656746

@ Donegalman - well said, fair play.

Would any other county have started such a thread? Not many champions make the final the following year. The capital are another to come up short. Move on!

I did call a Donegal win before the semi-final. My money on Sunday went on a Kerry double.

Despite Kerry being written off and winning against all the odds, it's no surprise to see some begrudgers about. It's great actually. When discussing the final last week, I was hoping there would be such begrudgery about as it would have meant we'd have won. Cool beans! :D

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 24/09/2014 20:58:37    1656751

clondalkin i imagine donegal are content with their style of play and the success it has brought them..losing an all ireland final that could have gone either way by 3 points hardly suggests the need for a huge overhaul

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/09/2014 20:59:27    1656752

Fabio I'm just asking the question.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2014 21:04:33    1656756

Says legend whose been a smart a--e all summer with his Dublin Region stuff.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2014 21:06:15    1656757

very strange question to be asking considering what donegal have achieved..bit like the thread in the first place..why the need to always overreact to an isolated match?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/09/2014 21:07:55    1656758

No what's strange is a man that's afraid to put where he's really from down on a Internet forum USA USA USA

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/09/2014 21:17:13    1656764

doublehop

Can I ask one question? Do Dublin supporters generally agree that Gilroy was a very defensive manager which utilised a very effective blanket defense?

Absolutely, sure how could anyone say otherwise?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/09/2014 21:17:41    1656765

Fear not Dublin fans I don' think your team threw an All Ireland.

In relation to a posisble Dublin Kerry final the way Kerry went about their business on Sunday I think they could have beaten Dublin too. They left 5 men on their 50 yard line even when in attack so Dublin, if they had met in the final would not rampage through the Kerry defence. Kerry's midfield is better than Dublins in terms of fielding. O'Donoghue would have been given space inside and Donaghy on O'Carroll has only one winner. Not saying its definite but would have been very close. The way Kerry set up would Kevin Mac have run half the pitch untouched to score the winner with a mis-hit last Sunday as he did in 2013? Don't think so. So fear not I don't think the Dubs threw it away. Had they met Dublin I would have backed Kerry quite heavily.

This Kerry team can't be blamed for lacking star quality (as seems to be the generally held view). They are certainly the bravest. I was worried from the moment the second half started, while Murphy got a great score to get one ahead that score in itself was a hail Mary. We had one decent team score (Mc Gees point) everything else was individualistic and in no way fluid… usually it's the other way around. Durcan's goal can be deemed the turning point but I don't see it that way.

Good luck and congratualations to all Kerry posters. My return to Hogan Stand has gone well. The grieving done, roll on the club championships. The Dubs at 5/4 for Sam in 2015....................... Here we go again

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 24/09/2014 21:40:23    1656778

doublehop

1656746 Can I ask one question? Do Dublin supporters generally agree that Gilroy was a very defensive manager which utilised a very effective blanket defense?

Gilroy was defensive minded. whch won us an AllIreland in 2011, but he too cautious in 2012 . Gavin was attack minded which won us an AllIreland in 2013 , but eventually he went too attack minded in 2014.
Although all this is easy in hindsight.
Next year should be interesting :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/09/2014 21:44:54    1656779

what does it matter clondalkin?..so you could slag off my county and tell me how none of them would get in the dublin team?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/09/2014 21:54:08    1656789

hill16no1man

I think Clondalkin put his point across badly Haha and will get stick for it.
But as a dub I know what he was

We all know what he was trying to say, thanks.

Donegal blew a gasket beating Dublin in the semis and had no answer for Kerry. Kerry continued their cynical, fouling ways from the semifinal but were allowed away with it again. Any other team would have had ata least 2/3 black cards in each game for the same tactics.

The worst final since 1990 and if referees don't apply the rules, there's no hope for it.

We could play Go-Games rules where the forwards cannot come back into the backs.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 25/09/2014 09:01:56    1656797

Terrible OP.

Dublin played the team that lost the final, and lost by six points. That's the reality. If Dublin came up against Kerry the last day, they may have won. I say May, because Kerry were not firing on all cylinders in terms of the scoring department. Did they beat a Donegal team set up defensively and counter-attacking at speed? No, they were well beaten. Would they beat a Kerry team playing in the same manner? I don't think they would.

Dublin are a fine team, but they are not as good as many thought (I was always sceptical). I think that applies to some Dublin supporters as well. Are they the best team in the country? I personally think they are, but their achilles heel has now been exposed. It feels a bit like Kerry during the 00's to be honest.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 26/09/2014 12:52:59    1657204

Not as am good as people thought? Listen we could have played Donegal at there own game like Kerry did and beat them but at least we went out and played the game the right way we can keep our heads up cause ourselves and Mayo are the only teams left out there that play it the right way. The Kerry team of the 70's and 80's will go down as the greatest ever but they were beaten by Offaly and Cork during that era so our people telling me that Offaly or Cork were the better team than Kerry? No just like in this era so far we our the best and will be back not year to show everyone why, sure the bookies have us favourites already ffs

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/09/2014 13:13:37    1657209

Listen we could have played Donegal at there own game like Kerry did and beat them but at least we went out and played the game the right way.

Enjoy that then. The moral high ground trophy is shinier than Sam anyway.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 26/09/2014 13:26:15    1657213

Not as am good as people thought? Listen we could have played Donegal at there own game like Kerry did and beat them but at least we went out and played the game the right way we can keep our heads up cause ourselves and Mayo are the only teams left out there that play it the right way. The Kerry team of the 70's and 80's will go down as the greatest ever but they were beaten by Offaly and Cork during that era so our people telling me that Offaly or Cork were the better team than Kerry? No just like in this era so far we our the best and will be back not year to show everyone why, sure the bookies have us favourites already ffs

No, Dublin are not as good as people thought. They are excellent, have no doubt, and still the best team in the country in my opinion. But Donegal were not negative against Dublin, and played some fantastic football. Don't pretend otherwise. Kerry played some great stuff against Cork and Mayo. People might want us to believe that what we saw in the final is the norm from both teams, but it isn't.

As for the bookies... are we really going to go there? They had ye at 1/10 to beat Donegal. Do you think being favourites already really matters? Or has anything been learned?

(By the way... I think Dublin will win next year.)

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 26/09/2014 13:29:25    1657214