As a Dub I'm sick

Cringeworthy, that's the word! Even the Mayo lads haven't posted anything like this, and they have a better case. Still, I admire your positivity!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/09/2014 10:11:50    1655747

As others have suggested, as bad as Dublin fans may feel, Mayo fans should be the ones to be feeling really sick.

They Should have beat Kerry in the semi and can feel hard done by.

All if an but's now though.

Roll on 2015.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/09/2014 10:19:58    1655753

What really annoys me is that this is not a good Kerry team. Fair play to them, they went and won it but they are not the best team in the country in my opinion. I would say Dublin are still the best team and they just got caught on the day by Donegal, where they played a tactical master class. Mayo also can feel hard done by in that they were up 5 points in the first semi final and should have closed the game out. Also, there were a number of questionable referring decisions in the second day that went against them.

Bigboy (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/09/2014 10:56:27    1655776

Dublin have every right to be sick. They can perform better than they did in the semi.
Mayo have every right to be sick. They were done out a final place by poor refereeing.
Donegal have every right to be sick. They didn't perform close to their best and were therefore beaten.
Kerry are delighted as they are All Ireland Champions.

Season is over and all teams bar Kerry are sick!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 23/09/2014 11:01:18    1655778

well in fairness mesamis, the same would happen if this thread were started by a mayo man. It isn't just a Dublin thing. Also, you cant claim that there was only 1 Dublin poster who dismissed all comers this year. A two second glance at the Dublin forum and that becomes pretty obvious.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2014 11:05:09    1655781

Why would I be embarrassed that I think the best team didn't win the all Ireland? trust me I ain't one bit embarrassed , well done Kerry you won the all Ireland but the best team in Ireland will be back next year to take it back , I'm not Wayne I don't think I'm Dublin spokesman on here it's just my opinion on a Gaa forum which I thought we were all entitled to? By the way anyone see whose the favourites to win next years all Ireland? Surely it's Kerry?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2014 11:18:34    1655791

Neither Dublin, Nor mayo can feel hard done by.

Dublin where dirt against Donegal (thanks to Donegal not allowing Dublin to play, all credit must go to Donegal for that)

Similarly, Mayo blew their chance in the first game against Kerry, Down to 14 men admittedly but they still went 5 points up, and they couldnt defend a high ball in, A basic for any defence with any asperations of winning Sam.

Neither side where good enough, Maybe they where both phenomonal in previous games in the championship against worse opposition, But Dublin particularly in their first big test (not their fault) where beaten.......

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/09/2014 11:25:04    1655797

Well if we are calling a spade a spade here clondalkindub, and I suspect this will be blocked, but if that is what you want to do then here it is. Dublin bottled it, like it or lump it, that is just the reality. It was there for them, they were up against a weaker side who just set their stall out, i.e. played the only card they had - the same card they were playing all year, and Dublin walked straight into it, and what is worse, kept walking straight into it for 70 minutes. People talk about mayo bottling it, well that was, genuinely, worse than anything mayo ever did. So I cant for the life of me understand how you could go and start this thread.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2014 11:38:12    1655817

Typical whining Dublin , reality is ur 16th man "the hill " failed to get behind yez when the chips were down

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 23/09/2014 11:49:32    1655837

Holy mother of god, talk about whining and sore losers. Dublin have every advantage under the sun and they were beaten fair and square by Donegal.

How about a new rule in the GAA, that every time Dublin get beaten the game has to replayed until Dublin win. lol.

Come on lads, at least pretend you want a fair playing field in gaelic games, and learn to show a bit of class.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 23/09/2014 11:59:24    1655850

well in fairness mesamis, the same would happen if this thread were started by a mayo man. It isn't just a Dublin thing. Also, you cant claim that there was only 1 Dublin poster who dismissed all comers this year. A two second glance at the Dublin forum and that becomes pretty obvious.

Who were the Dublin posters dismissing all comers all year?

Clondalkindub yeah but I didn't see many more.

You've let yourself down with the bottling comment above there Master I think. When you'e beaten by the better team on a given day then that is not bottling it. You'd want to be pretty Dublin myopic if you thought that Donegal were not the better team in the semi-final on the day.

Poor comment.

Essentially every team that's ever lost to a team that was perceived to be weaker beforehand has bottled it going by your logic. Mayo bottled it against Kerry, Donegal bottled it against Kerry etc etc.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/09/2014 12:14:18    1655868

Well if we are calling a spade a spade here clondalkindub, and I suspect this will be blocked, but if that is what you want to do then here it is. Dublin bottled it, like it or lump it, that is just the reality. It was there for them, they were up against a weaker side who just set their stall out, i.e. played the only card they had - the same card they were playing all year, and Dublin walked straight into it, and what is worse, kept walking straight into it for 70 minutes. People talk about mayo bottling it, well that was, genuinely, worse than anything mayo ever did. So I cant for the life of me understand how you could go and start this thread

Your point is 100% correct.

Dublin played right into Donegals hands.

Fair enough, The first 20 minutes, Flynn and Connolly where hitting some wonderful scores, But at 6 points up, We where naive.

Naive from the players on the pitch, naive from the sideline.

And if truth be told, There was probably a bit of complacency/arrogance (call it what you want) in the 15 minutes from going 0-09 v 0-03 up, And Donegal just took over.

Instead of getting men behind the ball, like Kerry did when they got a lead, We somewhat stupidly kept going forward like tsunami waves, time and time again and Donegal just hit on the counter with oceans and oceans of room in our own half of the field for them to exploit, Which they did.

From that 20th minute on in the game, Everything Dublin did, They did it wrong. Thats a fact that Jim Gavin and the players must acknowledge and work at it next year. Bottom line.

I suppose you could say we bottled it, yes.

I don't see any harm in feeling that as a Dublin fan, We had a really great chance to do a back to back, unfortunately naivity on the management side of things, coupled with an on field arrogance/stubborness to change things when momentum swung Donegals way, meant we failed.

That said, We have lost 1 championship game in 2 years, It was a bad day at the office for Dublin (Again, i will say this though, Some of it was naivity, But credit to Donegal for most of that game, They where much better).

Clondalkin is venting his frustration and anger, Fair enough..... But he is venting that anger and frustration at the wrong team, He should be crucifying his own sides players/management for balls-in up their great chance, Instead he is blinded by his loyalty to Dublin and will lash out at other teams instead.

Look closer to home Clondalkin. Stop embarrasing yourself.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/09/2014 12:15:36    1655870

royalpainter

Typical whining Dublin , reality is ur 16th man "the hill " failed to get behind yez when the chips were down
23/09/2014 11:59:24
bryanadams

Holy mother of god, talk about whining and sore losers. Dublin have every advantage under the sun and they were beaten fair and square by Donegal.

How about a new rule in the GAA, that every time Dublin get beaten the game has to replayed until Dublin win. lol.

Come on lads, at least pretend you want a fair playing field in gaelic games, and learn to show a bit of class.

Hilariously bad stuff there buddies.

Pot, kettle black on showing a little class Bryan

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/09/2014 12:16:22    1655873

Dublin would have beaten Kerry on Sunday. They will regret not closing out the Donegal game.
Can't see Kerry winning Sam in 2015.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 23/09/2014 12:32:22    1655885

Why would I be embarrassed that I think the best team didn't win the all Ireland? trust me I ain't one bit embarrassed , well done Kerry you won the all Ireland but the best team in Ireland will be back next year to take it back , I'm not Wayne I don't think I'm Dublin spokesman on here it's just my opinion on a Gaa forum which I thought we were all entitled to? By the way anyone see whose the favourites to win next years all Ireland? Surely it's Kerry?

I know how you feel. I feel the same about 2011

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 23/09/2014 12:43:41    1655892

Id say the punter who lost 121 grand on a Donegal victory is still sick.A few of us seasoned punters said,at odds of just 8/11,it was a silly bet.There were a lot of safer evens bets over the weekend.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/09/2014 12:50:36    1655896

Mes your saying I was the only Dublin poster that said Dublin wouldn't be beaten this year? Are you having a laugh?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2014 12:52:15    1655898

The Limerick team of 02-06 would have beaten this Kerry team so I am sickened they weren't born 10 years later.

And that my friends is about as relevant as the opening post. Coulda woulda shoulda!!!

Limerick beat Tipp in the Munster hurling semi final. If Tipp win on Saturday does that mean Limerick are the best team in Ireland?

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/09/2014 13:03:02    1655907

WaynoI is making the same point I am MesAmis. How many Donegal lads would start for Dublin? I would have murphy, lacey, mcglynn, Noel McGee. 4 players. I would say that before the game, plenty wouldn't have given them that many. That is why I say you bottled it, I don't mean that in a derogatory way, I mean it like waynoI has described, and it is just the truth, the chance was there, and Dublin made a bit of a mess of it. You say Donegal were the better team on the day and so that isn't possible, I say you made Donegal look the better team by playing into their hands all day long, and that is the very reason I say you bottled the game. I would say, objectively speaking Dublin couldn't have gotten it more wrong if they tried. I mean look, take your own county out of it for a second, man utd and leicester at the weekend, utd made them look like a great team, despite being far superior. If they done that on the last day of the season, with the title on the line, you would say they bottled it, simply because they would have. Im not saying the difference between the two was the same, but the example serves the purpose.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2014 13:08:19    1655911

Hold on now Master, I'm making the point that Dublin got it very badly wrong. And that they had a great chance to do back to back all irelands and wasted the chance, threw it away. I'm not saying we are bottlers, I'm saying that others could say they bottled it. I however am now using that word.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/09/2014 13:15:17    1655916