As a Dub I'm sick

Think of Dublin's half forward line and then think of Kerry's my god.

And another thing, Could you sound any more disrespectful ?

Our half forward line may be better on paper than Kerrys...

But "Think of Kerrys DEFENSIVE PERFORMANCE against Donegal, compared to ours"

Chalk and cheese. We can have brilliant forwards on the pitch and coming from the bench like we did against Donegal, But what use is it when they are nullified by a fantastic defence and our own defence is mangled to pieces ?

Kerry are all ireland champions cause they got the balance right in big games, Dublin arent because Donegal exposed our weaknesses and Jim Gavin didnt, for whatever reason, focus more on our defensive set up this year (and last in fairness), And had it not been for a lucky goal against Kerry last year, Whos to say we'd have been in last years all ireland final let alone yesterdays ?

PLEASE take the blue tinted glasses off Clondalkin. The bias is embarrasing.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 14:55:09    1655386

As a Dub I'm sick..

As I met up with a few old friends from the Hills and commiserated as best we could over too many ales.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2014 15:00:34    1655397

I'm no wum I'm sick that we left this all Ireland behind us anyone could see how average both teams were yesterday. Think of Dublin's half forward line and then think of Kerry's my god.

Think of Dublin's full back line, half back line & midfield & then think of Kerry's, My God indeed.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/09/2014 15:13:09    1655410

kerrys full forward line is a lot better than dublins..eoghan o gara or kieran donaghy like?..and dublin have nobody in the league of o donoghue

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/09/2014 15:14:04    1655414

I have to say I agree with Wayno on most of his posts but I still go back to the absloute shambolic referring display in the semi final by cormac o' reilly. The bias in his decision making was the reason kerry got to the final and honestly could them have been any luckier yesterday. I know you make your own luck in sport but how could you ever see a goalkeeper of paul durcan's stature making the mistake he did. You can talk all you want about tactics and defensive alignments which kerry learned from our absloute ridiculous approach but when it all comes down to it the lucky goal was the difference. Kerry like all champions will be happy and fair play to them but they are no world beaters and if we haven't learned our lessons from the semi-final and come back stronger next year I will be shocked. It was without a doubt the worst all-ireland final in years, lacked quality all over the pitch and lets be fair kerry reverted to the " puke " tactics of tyrone, armagh and donegal to win their all-ireland but let us not fear them. To be honest I couldn't be feel a tinge of regret yesterday that we were not there because we blew it big style.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 22/09/2014 15:16:59    1655420

There are 32 other counties as good as Dublin are this year, including London and New York. Dublin are not the best team in Ireland as Kerry are, they beat Donegal in the Final, end of story.
As for refereeing, the referee in the first 20 minutes against Monaghan kept them in it with easy frees and did nothing when they battered the Monaghan forwards. Kerry won the match yesterday with a ref that constantly blew easy frees against them. So blaming the referee is nothing but sour grapes...

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 22/09/2014 16:00:29    1655475

As for refereeing, the referee in the first 20 minutes against Monaghan kept them in it with easy frees and did nothing when they battered the Monaghan forwards. Kerry won the match yesterday with a ref that constantly blew easy frees against them. So blaming the referee is nothing but sour grapes...

Sounds like there are more than a few sour grapes in your fruit basket, Farney.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 22/09/2014 16:21:45    1655498

Dublin were well beaten by a team that were in turn beaten yesterday. Can't see how dublin can have any regrets. Maybe Mayo can - they should have beaten Kerry.
As regards Kerry and Dublin. Kerry have a better midfield - better half back line better full backs and a target man that can kick the ball. Flynn and Connolly are the only stand out players

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/09/2014 19:43:08    1655594

Dont know what the fuss is all about.We were beaten fair and square by the better team in the semi final.We folded like a cheap suit when the pressure was put on.Comical defending.We had no answers on the day.Congrats all Kerry people on a fantastic victory,and Donegal can hold there heads up high for their achievements over the last 4 years.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/09/2014 20:09:25    1655611

If my granny had balls she'd be my grandad, move on!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/09/2014 20:27:00    1655616

How much did Donegal beat Dublin by again? The game was over with 20 mins to go lads. You'd swear you were beaten by the all ireland champions after extra time in a replay or something.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2014 20:29:26    1655617

@Gavvygavgav no sour grapes at all, read the post, Kerry won with a referee giving the majority of the frees to Donegal. If Monaghan were good enough they could have done the same against Dublin, but they weren't..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 22/09/2014 20:32:42    1655619

Farney
County: Monaghan

Kerry won with a referee giving the majority of the frees to Donegal.

I don't understand the point that is being made here. Is there some unwritten law that says the referee has to give the same number of frees to both sides & was being biased by giving more to Donegal.

Or could it maybe, just maybe, have been because Kerry committed more fouls?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/09/2014 20:42:37    1655623

Dublin are far and away the best team in the country and will walk it next year. Donegal had to be brilliant to beat them when they were out of sorts in the semi and you'll find they won't be found out as badly again. As for Kerry, they're decent. Played superb stuff v Cork but the ref won it for them down in Limerick. Dublin would have wiped the floor with them in that final.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 22/09/2014 21:33:37    1655659

I did read it, Farney. Your post makes out that the referee had a major hand in Dublin's victory over Monaghan. With the greatest respect that's a ludicrous supposition.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 22/09/2014 21:39:36    1655665

Their was good will between Dubs and Donegal on here after we were bet fair and square in the semifinal. We rightly acknowlegded we were bet and wished Donegal well in the final. That result is still the same today, nothing has changed..
Donegal are sick today and are probably thinking of what could of been,well done ye had a great year. Kerry are AllIreland champions and congratulations to Kerry for beating all before them to lift Sam.
This thread is cringeworthy and brainless, trying to second guess (sorry not even second guessing ,but fully sure we would of won this game ,when we already lost the semi to one of the teams competing in the final ).
Give it a rest Clondalkin it embarressing . Worry about next year . We had our chance this year and didnt take it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/09/2014 21:53:05    1655677

Lads celebrations going well down in the kingdom - some of the dubs on here are really gobbling up the sour grapes. I'd be the first to agree what we had a limited team this year (makes the win all the sweeter) but we played to our strengths.
More in the dubs line to be working on getting their own house in order because were coming next year to go back to back and show ye how its done. We've a massive opportunity now with Cooper and T Walsh back, best management team in the country, the young lads a year older, find a couple of additions - ye wont be calling us limited next year!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 23/09/2014 09:25:37    1655719

cuederocket
Dont know what the fuss is all about.We were beaten fair and square by the better team in the semi final.We folded like a cheap suit when the pressure was put on.Comical defending.We had no answers on the day.Congrats all Kerry people on a fantastic victory,and Donegal can hold there heads up high for their achievements over the last 4 years.

I agree with you, I cant understand it either. Dublin were well beaten by Donegal, most admitted that at the time. What has changed? Christ we had Kerry beaten, went to a replay and got one of the worst refereeing performances of a senior intercounty game in living memory, with that team going on to win sam. If anyone was going to put up a thread like this it was us. But Im happy nobody did, because it would reflect very badly, just like this one does.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2014 09:26:20    1655720

In fairness this thread doesn't reflect badly on most Dublin posters, just the one.

Not that that'll be remembered!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/09/2014 09:55:35    1655733

Very true MesAmis, one Dublin supporter has a gripe that Dublin should be all-ireland champions and then it's taken that ALL Dublin fans arrogantly share that opinion. 'Twas ever thus. Even Darragh O'Se was at it in his post-semi column.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 23/09/2014 10:08:48    1655742