As a Dub I'm sick

Some Dubs still moaning I see. In a way I feel sorry for Dublin, because Sam was there's for the taking, but they bet themselves against Donegal. After the game all the talk was that McGuinness is a tactical genius, and granted he is a smart, smart man. But Donegal did not play in any way differently to how they played all year. They were never impressive. Dublin on the other hand, came into the game unbeaten in championship football in 2 years, with a system and style of play that is proven and worked.

But then they changed the way they played, because they came up against Donegal. In the first half there were periods when Dublin had 13 men behind the ball, they NEVER did this in previous games. They didn't try to penetrate the blanket, instead took shots from 30 or so meters out. They changed the way they play for that game. Why??

A winning team should never change the tactics that work. Donegal didn't. Dublin were naive and the Dublin management team made very very a very very bad call if you ask me. A good team sticks to their plan, believes in their system, and because of that, plays with the confidence of champions. And Dublin had that. But threw it all away against Donegal (For this year may I add!!)

Then when they realized that plan B wasn't working they tried to revert to plan A, but they were not organized or composed enough to do it. Again, a management issue.

I also think that some of Dublin's average players, who were protected by the system they used, were seriously exposed. As a team, using the system they usually use, Dublin are a major force. But 1-15, there are a few very ordinary players. Dublin should have had the courage to play their game against Donegal. If they had done, I am sure they would have won that day, and we would have had a more open and entertaining final.

The only way to really beat a blanket defence, is to find the gaps, or make them open up, by moving the ball from touchline to touchline, and then bursting through it into the space behind, using speed, power, and accurate passing. These are exactly the characteristics of Dublin's game.

Kerry did this yesterday, but in patches, not consistently. But they were measured, and controlled the ball. They were tough in the tackle, and yes, maybe a little cynical at times. But they are worthy champions.

Dublin will be back next year, and if they use plan A, they could potentially walk the All Ireland.

MeathBhoy (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 22/09/2014 08:49:02    1654958

Great 2 see some dubs still believing in the hype..will make it easier to do a job on them next year! Can u not see all da probs dub have..no ball winner at mid field..no centre half back..both brogans finishing up..have a keeper who rarely makes a save.. 10 points better than kerry I don't think so..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 22/09/2014 09:42:12    1654992

ok this is an interesting one...
Dublin lost to a better donegal team on the day in a fairly high scoring semi final..Donegal lost to kerry yesterday in an absolutely shocking game of football....The reality is kerry and theor supporters wont care and if it was cork playing yesterday and they won i wouldnt care either..

Say what you want about dublin they are still the best team and will still start next year as favourites..

But i do worry about the game of gaelic football in general. Its all bloody tactics which is great for the winners but bad for the game as a spectacle .... The days for skillful forwards andf teak tough backs are gone its been replaced by a game of positions and stopping the other team scoring is of paramount importance,,,, This year will be remembered for the managers rather than the players... The two men in the running for footballer of the year Being Michael Murphy and James on donoghue scored one point from play between them in 75 mins of an all ireland final... Thats hardly the stuff of a player of the year and speaks volumes about where we are with the game now its all quite sad

roll on the hurling we need a pick me up

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 22/09/2014 09:45:51    1654996

Richie great post and I agree with everything you say.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2014 10:01:59    1655015

Well said Richie.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 22/09/2014 10:11:29    1655025

blacknamber

Great 2 see some dubs still believing in the hype..will make it easier to do a job on them next year! Can u not see all da probs dub have..no ball winner at mid field..no centre half back..both brogans finishing up..have a keeper who rarely makes a save.. 10 points better than kerry I don't think so..

------
When was the last time that Kerry beat Dublin? We even beat you with 14 men the last time out. All the problems? The Dubs have won 2 leagues, 2 Leinsters and a Sam in the last 2 years and they have lots of problems? Don't think so buddy.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2014 10:15:32    1655032

Very good post ritchie, but I think that the rules have got to change if there is going to be any return to football as you are hoping it will. if the game is results based, then players are going to do everything in their power to do it no mater what. I think that we would have scored more yesterday, and kerry would have scored more yesterday if there were less men in the defensive zone. I cant blame the players or management for this, but am at a loss as to what an alternative would be.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/09/2014 10:19:51    1655040

Blacknamber...if a team as limited as Kerry can win Sam, there's hope for the rest of the country next year trust me!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 10:20:28    1655044

Good man Richie.

Dublin No 1 and Cork No 2.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2014 10:20:50    1655045

Jesus wept....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 10:56:36    1655088

Dublin will be hard to stop in 2015.

But this thread is sour, and really disrespectful of what Donegal & Kerry have achieved this year.

Kerry cant win, they play open football and the are accused of not being able to handle the Northern teams,
They play Donegal at there own game and they are accused of being limited and non purists.

So SOME of you Dubs should show a wee bit more humility and wait till 2015 to do your talking.

Anyway back to the celebrations.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/09/2014 11:53:19    1655160

That has to be the worst Kerry team to win an All_Ireland, were was spillane criticising Kerry for there version of puke football if that was tyrone who had won he would be all over the airway's.

Donegal beat Dublin because Dublin were naïve. Mayo should have beaten Mayo. A hail mary drops into donaghy hand and goal. Even in the replay Mayo should have won.

If any team should have a slight regret it should be mayo. They were a better team than Kerry. Ref saved Kerry in the Semi

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 22/09/2014 12:12:11    1655189

Dublin lost the semi final because they were tactically inflexible. Kerry won the final because of of the opposite and also superb in-game intelligence, organisation and the belief that playing for the Kerry Senior Football team instils.

Jim Gavin's Dublin attacking football is his ethos. Kerry's ethos is winning. And they do it very, very well.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 22/09/2014 12:21:54    1655201

But this thread is sour, and really disrespectful of what Donegal & Kerry have achieved this year.

Kerry cant win, they play open football and the are accused of not being able to handle the Northern teams,
They play Donegal at there own game and they are accused of being limited and non purists.

So SOME of you Dubs should show a wee bit more humility and wait till 2015 to do your talking.

Agree completely.

Clondalkins thoughts dont mirror those of the vast majority of Dublin fans though as the replies on this thread suggest.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 12:28:14    1655212

Ah clondalkindub can be a wum at the best of times, I wouldn't give this thread too much attention, but then again he's after getting 3 pages worth of responses so job done I guess.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/09/2014 12:33:11    1655219

county man
County: Limerick

How about a proper league. Everyone knows Dublin are the best team in the country but they were caught on the day. Donegal deserved it but Dublin just didn't show up. Every team can have a bad day. Dublin would have beaten Kerry today but that is cup knock-out. Determining the "best" team in Ireland by a cup knock-out system is outdated.

If there was a real league not the "we are using it as a preparation for the championship" league we have at the moment, that would be the proper measure of teams.

HAVE TO AGREE 100% WITH THIS MAN TAKE KERRY OUT OF MUNSTER AND SEE HOW GOOD THEY ARE AND HOW FAR THEY GET THE ONLY GAME THEY REALLY HAVE TO PLAY THERE IS CORK AND THE SAME FOR DUBLIN IN LEINSTER IT DOES THEM NO GOOD COMING UP AGAINIST TEAMS TO SAY LETS BE FAIR ARE NO BLOODY GOOD ITS TIME THE ALL IRELAND WENT INTO A OPEN DRAW OR LEAGUE STYLE MORE TEAMS WILL GET MORE GAMES

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 22/09/2014 12:52:27    1655248

I'm no wum I'm sick that we left this all Ireland behind us anyone could see how average both teams were yesterday, Jim McGuiness invented the blanket but doesn't really know how to beat it. Think of Dublin's half forward line and then think of Kerry's my god.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2014 13:05:46    1655275

It's posts like these that make me cringe as a Dub. We had our chance v Donegal and for 20 minutes we were the better team, but ultimately the best team won, no complaints, so get over it. Yesterday wasn't a game for the purists but for a back like myself, I really enjoyed it. Football(and hurling) isn't all about attacking, defending is part of the game too(We lost to Donegal because we forgot that part). Peter Crowley's diving block on Paddy was as good as any score you'll see. Kudos to Kerry, Hogan Cup winners, minor All-Ireland winners and senior All-Ireland winners, it's been their year.~ PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 22/09/2014 14:28:13    1655358

I'm no wum I'm sick that we left this all Ireland behind us anyone could see how average both teams were yesterday, Jim McGuiness invented the blanket but doesn't really know how to beat it. Think of Dublin's half forward line and then think of Kerry's my god.

Both sides where involved in a chess-type tactical game yesterday. Both defences for the most part dominated. They are not average sides though.

You waffle on about how Dublin left it behind, Maybe they did, maybe they didnt, But show a bit of class FFS man.

Both those sides where in the final on merit.

You can argue Dublin had a bad day at the office against Donegal, I don't buy it, We went 6 points up in the first twenty mins and had goal chances to kill the game off, Thats not a bad day, Thats feckin tactical naivity, And give Donegal, their players and management most of the credit too, Because they took control of that semi final and thought Dublin and indeed, Jim Gavin a SERIOUS lesson.

As for Kerry, They won the All-Ireland even with the absence of the greatest player to ever play the game in my opinion, gooch. They had to beat Mayo in a replay to do so. Then arguably the best ever Donegal side in the final. Last year, They where level with us and we got the rub of the green when Kev mc was, In his own words "Aiming for the crossbar" and got a goal. We made that luck but we didnt exactly outplay Kerry last year.

Both Kerry and Donegal are not getting enough credit from you, I dont know why, I suppose i could hazard a guess but i wont get into petty arguments. Its time to forget 2014 from a Dublin point of view, Its over, Its done.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 14:45:34    1655373

As a Dub I'm sick cause we are a country mile better than either of them two teams , that's the worst final I've watched in years , all you have to do is play the Donegal way and you beat Donegal cause there an average team , we keep our shape we hammer them and please that's the worst ever Kerry team to win an all Ireland but fair play to them but let's be honest we'd beat them by 10 points god I'm so sick. Roll on 2015 we will be back

While I agree it was a poor All Ireland final as an overall spectacle, I think you as an GAA fan should take your oil and be a little more humble.

Dublin were beat, and they were beat fair and square by Donegal team who were on par with them in terms of fitness, conditioning and bested you on the day in the tactical battle.

While I agree that Dublin will be back challenging for SAM in 2015, However If your kind of blind arrogance soaks into the Dublin players mindset, they will fail again next year. Your only as good as your last game, and your last game ended in a 6 point defeat.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 22/09/2014 14:48:45    1655377