Well done Kerry GAA

Fair play to Kerry. Haven't felt this dejected since we lost to Armagh 11 years ago.. Congratulations, well deserved today

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 21/09/2014 19:26:05    1654687

Well done Kerry. A hard won All-Ireland. I though both teams were equal today. A mistake for a goal decided it really.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/09/2014 19:32:05    1654701

Fantastic achievement , the strongest senior All Ireland championship in many, many years. Congrats to Kerry

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 21/09/2014 19:42:18    1654726

I'm naturally gutted but I would like to offer Kerry & the posters on HS my heartiest congratulations on a well deserved win today.

We gave away two poor goals & were the width of a post from tying the game up at the end but if we had it would have been an injustice as Kerry were the better team.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice out Jim'd Jim & anyone who knows me knows that praise doesn't come any higher.

Now it wasn't a game to entertain the masses & I'm sure there are plenty complaining about the standard of fare offered but no one in the 82,000 crowd took their eyes of the game for a second. It was hard & tough with proper defending & some great scores from play.

Kingdom, my old friend, The uncles must be happy tonight!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/09/2014 19:51:51    1654744

Congratulations to Kerry, the best team adopting the best tactics and taking their chances better. Well done to the team and management. Huge satisfaction for Kerry as a result/

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/09/2014 20:17:27    1654790

This was started as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

JamesH
Mayo

Congratulations to the Kerry on winning the double

Congratulations to the county of Kerry and Kerry people everywhere on a magnificent double - not an easy achievement and they should get due credit from GAA fans everywhere. I think this thread needed to be opened before the sour grapes dominate the post-match discussion. I really think the victory over my own county sowed the seeds for the senior victory and as a Mayo man there really is a feeling that this is the one that got away but Kerry are deserving winners in both grades. Anyone who thinks this is a bad Kerry team is seriously underestimating them and they are only going to get better now. I think it's safe to say the transition in Kerry is now well and truly over.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 21/09/2014 20:21:32    1654800

Congrats to the kingdom taking sam south is hard to take,better the devil you know he gets to stay with,

see you next year sammy back in the capital

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 21/09/2014 20:34:05    1654830

JamesH,

I agree with you 100%. I was a great achievement by Kerry today to do the double.

As to getting in before the negative, sour stuff starts, I'm afraid you are way too late!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/09/2014 20:41:02    1654840

Here here! Deserving champs and best team of 2014. Just shows you how unimportant early league form is. Remember all the goons spouting about the demise of Kerry after a few poor league results at start of year? Great achievement by their players and management. Hoping for something similar from Mayo next yr!

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/09/2014 20:43:35    1654844

Congrats to Kerry on both the senior and minor victories, hard luck to both Donegal teams, wasn't a great game to watch i'm afraid, safe journey home to all

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/09/2014 21:08:10    1654882

I for one was wrong about this team, we may not have the stars of others years but this is a great team. I thought JoD had a fantastic game he handled a rack of ball around the middle and set up most of our scores and missed chances.

He showed great maturity and is certain POTY.
Again hard luck to Donegal, see you again next year.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/09/2014 09:01:42    1654967

I'll hold my hands up and say that I didn't see that Kerry win coming.

Well done to Eamonn Fitzmaurice and his back room team, as well as all the players. A special mention for the Star. He was written off for the last few years and everyone said (myself included) how the 2 McGee boys would eat him up all day long - shows what we know!

And Jack takes the minors to glory too!

As well as rumours of Tommy Walsh coming home and the Gooch's recovery going well ----- be afraid lads!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2014 09:58:36    1655010

A special mention to the Ó'Sé family. Marc's all ireland medal yesterday brought their family tally of senior all ireland medals to 16, amazing achievement in the modern era.

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 22/09/2014 10:20:03    1655041

Comhgairdeachas kingdomboy, legendx, rowz etc, I thought this year we might have narrowed the gap on yiz a bit!
I couldn't understand how it took Donegal so long to come out of their shell, when your 4 points down in an ai final you can't wait till the last 5 minutes to throw the kitchen sink at them

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/09/2014 10:30:49    1655065

Well done to Kerry again

See you boys in the winter months

Outta here for a while... Congrats again on a great day for Kerry GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/09/2014 11:09:39    1655109

I'll know Mayo will have finally arrived as All Ireland Champions when the patronising talk about deserving stops and people are sniping about our tactical approach to doing whatever it takes to win as Donegal, Dublin and Kerry have now shown us.

Pat Gilroy played a VERY defensive and negative style to win the 2011 All Ireland against Kerry but Dublin followers like to wallow in the myth that they are now the protectors of the beautiful game. Dublin turned to the dark arts again to see out the 2013 final but hush don't mention the truth!

However, as 2014 has shown it's fair to say that Gilroy was less naive as he went on than Gavin but expect Gavin to learn quickly or be out of the job. We thank our friends in the North for unleashing a monster because we know now going forward, if you want to play defensive football then the likes of Kerry will get down in the sewer and play it with you - if you want to play open attacking football then ditto, Kerry will meet you head on.

I think Mayo have let an opportunity slip big time. The landscape is about to change, Armagh are coming in the North, Galway will come in the West, while Dublin will foolishly continue to think they are better than everybody else until their underestimation of Kerry comes home to roost in 2015. This is a New Kerry and their back - big time! Just wait and see. A terrible beauty is born! Thanks a lot Northern football and Dublin!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 22/09/2014 17:23:17    1655539

I'll know Mayo will have finally arrived as All Ireland Champions when the patronising talk about deserving stops and people are sniping about our tactical approach to doing whatever it takes to win as Donegal, Dublin and Kerry have now shown us.

Pat Gilroy played a VERY defensive and negative style to win the 2011 All Ireland against Kerry but Dublin followers like to wallow in the myth that they are now the protectors of the beautiful game. Dublin turned to the dark arts again to see out the 2013 final but hush don't mention the truth!

However, as 2014 has shown it's fair to say that Gilroy was less naive as he went on than Gavin but expect Gavin to learn quickly or be out of the job. We thank our friends in the North for unleashing a monster because we know now going forward, if you want to play defensive football then the likes of Kerry will get down in the sewer and play it with you - if you want to play open attacking football then ditto, Kerry will meet you head on.

I think Mayo have let an opportunity slip big time. The landscape is about to change, Armagh are coming in the North, Galway will come in the West, while Dublin will foolishly continue to think they are better than everybody else until their underestimation of Kerry comes home to roost in 2015. This is a New Kerry and their back - big time! Just wait and see. A terrible beauty is born! Thanks a lot Northern football and Dublin!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 22/09/2014 17:28:09    1655545

ADMI why is there a second thread - http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/MessagePage.aspx?TopicID=90369

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 22/09/2014 17:46:21    1655550

Feck me some people on this island could do the propaganda for North Korea. Kerry's playing puke football was the fault of the Ulster counties and Kerry winning is a great victory over the puke football that they used to win. Holy Moly.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 22/09/2014 17:47:51    1655551

The first goal was one of the moments of the match for me. All talk of Donaghy and O'Donoghue. It was Geaney that was there to field the ball and tuck away the goal.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 22/09/2014 18:07:30    1655563