Best wishes to Johnny Cooper

Best wishes to Jonny Cooper thank god he's all right.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2014 13:00:53    1655266

This really is horrific and is part of a massive pandemic in Dublin right now, Johnny was extremely lucky, the amount of scumbags that roam the streets is crazy..

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 22/09/2014 13:29:33    1655304

A lucky escape. I work around there and Dorset Street has gone to the dogs.

All the best to you Jonny. Hopefully see you on a pitch sooner rather than later.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 22/09/2014 13:33:10    1655308

Best wishes johnny! Good to hear you're on the mend! Hopefully the dirt that did this will be caught soon!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 22/09/2014 13:41:04    1655318

when the lad is caught he will get a slap on wrist and as good as get away with it there in no such thing as justice in ireland [ as i know to well]

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 22/09/2014 14:04:46    1655338

Jonny is a very lucky guy.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2014 14:15:31    1655347

Best wishes to Johnny on a speedy recovery. Tagann an ghrian i ndiaidh na fearthainne. Biodh dóchas as Dia agat is ní baol duit.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 22/09/2014 17:23:20    1655540

Best wishes to Johnny Cooper. Great player. Terrible incident.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 22/09/2014 17:50:07    1655552

Just watched the bit there on Crimecall.
Im glad they rowed back on showing the incident as people dont need to see such an awful thing. To know it happened is enough!

Lets hope the person responsible is caught!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/09/2014 21:45:43    1655670

Fair play to you Yew-tree and the other non-Dub posters on here wishing Jonny all the best in his recovery.
Nice to see.

Rivalries fade into insignificance when incidents like this occur.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/09/2014 09:44:48    1655730

Best of luck to Johnny, hope he recovers soon and is back playing football again. Up until now I always felt relatively safe walking the streets as I'm pretty well built and I'd figure no mugger would take me on - the scary thing here is that this scumbag was willing to attack a fit young footballer. It's not just little old ladies who are a target anymore.

I was up in Grafton Street a few weeks ago for the first time in a number of years, and I was shocked by the number of beggars harassing passers-by, drunks lying in doorways etc. Kind of expect it on O'Connell Street and some of the side streets off it, but not on Grafton Street. Terrible image of the city and country. Could not see any Gardai, at all.

What happened to Johnny is symptomatic of a city and country whose police force's morale is on the floor. They just couldn't be bothered policing the streets anymore. You rarely see Gardai on "the beat". I was in Bournemouth last year on a stag and there were bobbies everywhere that night.

Anyway, rant over - get well soon Johnny.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/09/2014 12:05:47    1655856

Yep, we need a lot more Gardai on the beat, with proper training in the disposal of sub-humans.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/09/2014 13:52:03    1655961

What is simply needed is less 'light touch' policing!
I once seen a tourist in Temple Bar take the cap off the head of a Garda while the Garda was with 3 other Garda in a group!
He eventually got it back but I thought to myself 'Could you imagine what would happen if you were to take the beret off a Gendermerie in Paris and wave it about'!!!!!

Nothing was done to the guy who took the Guards cap and he had a great laugh with his mates!
The Guard was made to look stuipid and by letting the tourist away with it the Guard ensured that (a) the guardians of Irish law and order are a pushover and (b) because of point (a) 'anything goes' in Ireland!

This is the result of 'light touch' policing!

Just to add, our nations 'light touch' policing policy is a hangover from when the Garda Siochana was formed as the new state was eager to have a community based 'Guardians of the Peace' rather than the old RIC 'heavy hand alien police force' over the people!
Trouble is......its not the 1920's anymore!......and everyone is not dancin at the crossroads!

Also, like most public sector jobs in this country its 'a job for life' once you join the Guards and you will not do anything to jeapordise it. It also takes about 2 years to go through the Templemore process.....what a joke....backwards and forwards.....so institutionalised and outdated!
In the UK you join and have 'the powers' in about 16 weeks!....and people rarely 'stay in the job for life' and so people are fresh all the time!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/09/2014 14:49:39    1656009

Poor guy , hope he gets 100% right again . There are some scum out there !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 23/09/2014 15:33:43    1656057

You're right Snuf!

There seem to be less and less of the old school Gardaí bout these days. Too much PC involved.
My Da is a retired cop. He often tells stories of his old sergeant who was most definitely old school.
One day they received a reprimand from the super about not doing enough to deter drunken students from the local college from making a racket every night they were out. That they needed to be more proactive etc.

Just at that moment a student happened to be walking along the footpath outside the station singing Wonderwall at the top of his voice and basically being a bit of a pain in the arse. Harmless enough stuff really. But the sergeant went out, grabbed the young lad, clipped him around the ear and hauled him into the station by his hoodie. He gave him an unmerciful bollocking and then made him ring his mother to explain he'd been acting the eejit and the Gardaí had taken him in!!

Now obviously that was a bit OTT and it happened a good few years ago but if that kind of thing happened nowadays, there would be an inquisition!

All the best to Johnny on his recovery. I used to live near that area in Dorset St and it can be shady enough at times. I hope they get the attacker and make a proper example of him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/09/2014 15:44:20    1656063

Clearly heavier handed policing would be positive but at the same time most of the people involved are caught and charged by the guards at numerous points in their "careers". What I find more frustrating is reading about crimes or disorder involving people with dozens of previous convictions/ on remand/on bail/ etc etc.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/09/2014 15:48:47    1656068

There's an image of the chief suspect in today's papers. Many GAA clubs have their own websites. Would it not be a good idea for them to post that picture on their own sites ? The sooner the perpetrator is off the streets the better.

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 23/09/2014 16:09:17    1656087

It's terrible what happened, and I wish him a full and speedy recovery both physically and mentally. As this kind of Incident will no doubt shake the young fella.

I heard my cousins in Dublin saying that O'Connell street has become a dangerous place at night recently, and clearly this extends to other parts of the City Centre.
We are fortunate that Derry as a City doesn't see muggings or random stabbings too often.

I think a deeper look into where this type of scum originates from, and how they become like this is needed. The average joe doesn't do this sort of thing, and perhaps they need to look at what makes this kind of person become like this.

Also Gardai need to look at access to and from the City Centre, as this kind of attacker normally only strike when they are confident of easy escape. Dublin City Centre is a congregation point for most tourists when they arrive in Ireland, and needs to be made super safe.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/09/2014 16:19:24    1656096

True, the heavy handed police approach is a thing of the past I feel.
As you say rua it's the lack of appropriate punishment as a proper deterrent that's more of a problem than the policing. You hear stories of lads racking up 70 or 80 odd convictions and still being free and able to advance their 'career' as you put it. Then again, prison is like a holiday camp. No bills, great facilities, etc. The whole penal system probably needs to be overhauled but is there the money or the will to change it?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/09/2014 16:21:15    1656098

They should be issuing a more accurate description of the perpetrator to accompany the photo. Although they sometimes don't for fear of being attacked by the Care Bears for 'racial profiling.'

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/09/2014 16:24:56    1656103