Your county's cult hero?

chriscart580

Good call on Heery, top class operator, great footballer, and a divil to boot!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 18/09/2014 18:30:14    1653575

Dubjohn. That was his great attribute, we loved him, all opponents hated him, but we all knew they'd adore to have him on their team.
On the field he was a genius , everybody knew on his day he was unstoppable and what really annoyed people was the fact Graham knew that himself.
I doubt Meath will ever see his brilliance again, but what a joy to have seen him play.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/09/2014 19:46:25    1653597

Maurice Sheridan from Mayo. He seems to have been completely forgotten about. Never seen anyone ever mention his name since he retired. Quality player, and one of the best dead ball specialists I've ever seen in GAA. Too bad he had to go off injured in the 97 final

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 18/09/2014 20:29:13    1653608

Brogan was as infamous as he was famous in Mayo and Ireland. He liked his pints but I'm not sure he loved socialising? Fair play he won his battle with the bottle, hope he's a happy man these days.

For me there was one man head and shoulders above the rest. Ciaran Mc was a class act, with skills I heard admired by sympathetic Kerrymen after the '04 and '06 finals, genuine in their admiration. But James Nallen is still my hero. Not short of skills by any means, he never gave less than his all even if the chips were down or he was in poor form he'd give every last ounce for the jersey. Legend!

Outside of Mayo I'll say Séan Cavanagh is the best all round footballer I've ever seen. He couldn't field like Jacko, kick points like The Gooch, take frees like Bernard, tackle like Moynihan or captain like Peter the Great but he's damn good at all of those parts of the game.He hates losing and is a pleasure to watch.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 18/09/2014 20:52:11    1653624

Mick Lyons, poor old Joe McNally still has the bruises.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 18/09/2014 21:01:07    1653632

1653543 tirawleybaron, good shout. Padden was a very gifted footballer. Probably doesn't get the credit he deserves.

Any man that finishes an All Ireland semi with underpants on his head to stop the bleeding has to be THE cult hero of Mayo.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 19/09/2014 08:11:23    1653668

So many !! Brian Mullans as a kid everyone loved him, Denis 'Ogie' Moran - loved the chants. John Mullane for such passion, DJ Carey what a player

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 19/09/2014 08:56:52    1653682

From the great antrim team of the late eighties and early nineties I would have to say Niall Patterson and Olcan Mcfetridge

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 19/09/2014 09:21:25    1653692

football - Mattie ford, Louis Rafter
Hurling - Larry O', George O'Connor

other counties - Football Paudi remember what he did to Joe McNally before the 84 all-Ireland.
Hurling - Brendan Lynskey, Sylvie Lenane

fearcliste (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 19/09/2014 09:58:45    1653711

A lot of hating on Joe McNally going on here, he must have touched a sore spot with a lot of culchies;-)

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 19/09/2014 10:21:53    1653720

Fergus Caulfield (Mon). Peter Whitnall (Down). K Duff (Dublin), M Lyons (Meath), T Walsh (KK) Paudie and Sylvie

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 19/09/2014 10:55:26    1653736

We've had many cult heroes in Roscommon, Gerry Fitzmaurice back in the late 70s/ early 80s but in recent years I'd go for Francie Grehan, a leader and a man you'ld like beside you in the trenches.

Lambchop (Roscommon) - Posts: 10 - 19/09/2014 12:57:02    1653822

agh a great fun thread
as a meath man
Joe Cassels was a cult hero - My sister always used to relax when he came on, she'd almost be in tears saying "we're ok now Big joe is on"
Brian stafford - The man who never missed, right foot left foot, of the ground from teh hand, never ever got the credit he desserved
Liam Harnan - a rock that ships always perished on, his cousin Mick Lyons always got the plaudits, but Liam stopped the majority of things going through to make his life easier

From our "beloved" neighbours in Dublin
Paul Curran - could play anywhere and flourish and his da was a meath man so that helped
mick Deegan - jaysus he was a tight b******d
mick kennedy - himself on O'rourke was worth admission to matches on its own

Other
Nudie - what a name, my oul fella has his centenary cup final jersey at home
Shea fahy - broke our hearts in 90
greg Blaney - broke our hearts in 91
Ogie - as class a footballer as you'd ever se
John Lynch - an absolute nutter from tyrone
eugene McKenna - as clonoe used to say we'd all love a team of eugenes
Kevin O'brien - soldier for years without success but a classy player
Dessie barry - as above

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/09/2014 13:37:28    1653857

Hurling - John Leahy, he had that divilment streak but he was an all action swashbuckling hurler. For cult status its a good sign that he was very unpopular with opposition fans.

Football - Declan Browne is too clean cut to be a cult hero, but HERO he most definitely was. Derry Foley would probably be my cult hero, he was another all action, no nonsense type who was nearly always a contender for man of the match regardless of the result or opposition. He was our Paddy Keenan or John Galvin.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/09/2014 13:39:10    1653861

Lambchop would it not be more Shane Curran?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/09/2014 13:44:42    1653867

I'm from Ballyhaunis so Gerry Fitzmaurice's pub is only a few miles away in Ballinlough. We were in there one night and I asked one of my mates, who's not a GAA man but loves the craic, if he knew Gerry. He said he didn't so I told him in the All Ireland Final v Kerry and he gave Pat Spillane a clip. I thought no more of it til my mate came back from the bar with his round. He told me he said What about Pat Spillane to Gerry! Gerry was not amused but fair play he knew my mate meant no harm.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 19/09/2014 14:43:07    1653905

Kenneth Mortimer is a man often forgotten also, but a class operator who would walk into any team in the country if he were playing today.
From a county other than my own I would have to say Padraig Joyce. Not as flamboyant as McDonald, but arguably more effective and probably better between the two ears. Michael Donnallen for his sheer talent also. Graham Geraghty deserves a mention too, but the one guy who no mayo man would have a bad word said against is Maurice Fitzgerald. It is a strange feeling losing an AI final but knowing that in doing so you are watching one of the finest footballers there ever has been or will be, have probably the defining game of his career. I have yet to see another individual display like it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/09/2014 14:45:17    1653910

Seamus Moynihan AKA 'The Pony'

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 19/09/2014 16:11:10    1653969

Jayses i completely forgot about Seamus Moynihan another Kerry legend

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/09/2014 17:18:50    1654017

Has to be Ciaran Mac for me.Absolute class.From other counties I liked Brian Dooher from Tyrone,always came up with a score when needed,Maurice Fitz who broke our hearts in 97,Padraic Joyce who never seemed under any pressure and Ger Power who could run all day.I also liked Bobby Doyle from Dublin and further back Paddy Doherty from Down. A left footed free taker,my father used to say he kicked the frees with his ankle.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/09/2014 19:28:57    1654065