Jim McGuinness - I salute you

Well said Liam.

You are up there now with JMcG in my estimation!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/09/2014 14:19:03    1650603

the likes of roscommon and cavan have very little chance to break through..both are quite small counties and most of cavans youngsters are in their prime now and have not really pushed on...cavan seem to have a lot of good underage teams but they dont seem to push on after that like say a good dublin u21 team would

that's very little to do with the thread on the brilliant manager McGuinness is. In Cavan we have focused on underage development in the last few years and we are starting to reap the rewards. We need to bring the seniors to a new level of consistency of division 2 and division 1 football. its hard to consistently stay there, look at galway and Armagh. (instead of division 3).

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 10/09/2014 14:20:13    1650606

yes it is off topic..i didnt originally bring up the point on cavan and roscommon

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 10/09/2014 14:28:31    1650614

feck off Muck ya cheeky git !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/09/2014 14:29:00    1650615

Donegalman

Zero chance.

I'd say you've got a fairly short memory. Donegal were ranked 19th in the country after their exploits in 2010, and were hardly a sleeping giant of the game. 2 years later, ye were All-Ireland champions, despite having won SFA in the game and not having a large tradition to speak of. Yes, I'd say its highly unlikely that either Roscommon or Cavan will with an All-Ireland in the near future, however, zero chance is a bit rich coming from the nouveau riche of the game!

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 10/09/2014 14:57:30    1650632

Jim is a fine manager, and what he has done with donegal football has been amazing and he's not finished yet, he comes across realy well in interviews as well so you'd have to try very hard not to like him, even though I'm sure come 5 o'clock on the 21 st It'l be a little easier after his team give us a hiding :-/

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/09/2014 15:19:21    1650641

Unlike Moses who had to pray to God for the Red sea to part, the Donegal forwards had to do very little for the Dubs backs to leave them through and unlike the Red Sea which closed in again the Dubs back line remained wide open :-)

In fairness Jim Mc his best call of the day was to bring on Christy Toye who will likely never have such an influence personally on a game again.
As soon as he started to go direct down the middle his team mates followed suit and they completely blew the Dubs away.

Donegal like Kerry have used every game to get better and better and it should make for a great final

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2014 15:19:39    1650642

If Donegal win it, will Jim have overtaken Mickey Harte and joined the Micko Heffo Boylan club of all time managers?

Is that a jibe at Harte or am I being paranoid? I mean McGuinness would be on two all-irelands and Heffo won three as a manager. Harte also won all-irelands at minor and under-21 level (twice at under-21) and won an ulster club with Errigal Ciaran. Shame the last few years haven't gone as well but that's life.

Apparently O'Connor will join him as the only manager to have guided teams to all-irelands at minor, under 21 and senior level. O'Connor's underrated imo.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 10/09/2014 16:53:32    1650678

I meant if Kerry beat Donegal in the minor final*

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 10/09/2014 16:57:51    1650679

i'd say if Jim McGuinness was in Charge of Cavan we would have a fair chance of landing Sam in a few years.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 10/09/2014 17:42:14    1650694

s goldrick

i'd say if Jim McGuinness was in Charge of Cavan we would have a fair chance of landing Sam in a few years

Same could be said of a few counties, but yes I agree. Our underage success shows that the talent is there, like Galway, Cork, Dublin, etc. but we need a major shift in attitude at senior level. The work Terry Hyland has done is to be applauded but he isn't in the same league as McGuinness - no manager, past or present, is!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 10/09/2014 17:45:54    1650696

fabio8
County: USA

yes it is off topic..i didnt originally bring up the point on cavan and roscommon

I mentioned Cavan and Roscommon. My point before all of the smart ass comments, was that Donegal are not extra special in every respect. They have some very good players (as good as anywhere) and are extremely well drilled and well organised. A lot of credit is due to them and JmG for being so organised. However, Donegal do not have a monopoly on good players. Good players exist everywhere and if other counties could get organised (hypothetically speaking) then they could become a Donegal. I used Cavan and Roscommon as an example.

Dublin are different due to the scale of their resources. Kerry are different due to their tradition of always winning. In my opinion, these two will be close to the top for a while in the future. But like every other county, Donegal are having their moment (and more power to them) but like all the others they will fall from grace.

There is no shame in that. The only ones that should be ashamed is Cork. We have more players and clubs than anybody but we are just shambles after pathetic shambles most years.

I did not go off topic. I answered the question as posed by Liam. Ignore the substance of my point to slag of Cavan and Roscommon if you will.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/09/2014 20:08:36    1650738

Well done Liam and a nice post Fair play to all the Dublin fans on the day, helped to make it a great occasion and it takes two to tango Best of luck Liam and all Dublin GAA folk.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/09/2014 20:19:40    1650742

Goldrick.. Great manager - yes. Miracle worker? I think not.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/09/2014 20:25:37    1650747

where was i slagging off cavan and roscommon???...how is just disagreeing slagging off?..i am from a small county and greatly admire what cavan have achieved underage in a very tough province i might add..this donegal side while underachievers have had decent recent before mcguinness on numerous occasions and had a few highly regarded footballers such as murphy and lacey and also appeared in a few ulster finals and all ireland quarter finals....i hope the likes of cavan and roscommon progress i just think donegal while having attitude issues and so on had better players and are in a better place when compared with cavan or roscommon...i suggest you read back on what i actually said..but you are correct in saying cork should be doing a lot better then they are especially considering recent u21 success where it looked at one stage like they may take over

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 10/09/2014 20:27:58    1650749

Would Pat Gilroy have had the capital better prepared for the JMcG challenge?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 10/09/2014 20:31:31    1650753

they would have been better set up defensively anyway but the 2012 donegal version would have beaten any of gilroys dublin sides i feel and also the 2014 version

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 10/09/2014 20:45:44    1650760

Fabio

Sorry for the confusion. I did not intend to suggest that you slagged off Cavan or Roscommon. There was a debate on Cavan and Roscommon between others and I just chose one post (yours) to end the discussion on who brought it up (me). Reading my post, I can see why it may seem that I was having a go at you. Apologies again, I just chose your post to end Roscommon/Cavan (them specifically) issue.

Yes, I was present when Donegal won a national league in 2007. They had some top players then. In 2010, I was also present when Cork crushed them in Croke Park. However, they had talented players and went to win one All-Ireland (possibly two)

Wexford in 2009-with outstanding footballers such as Mattie Forde, Red Barry, Ciaran Lyng etc were in a position (arguably ahead of Donegal) to win an All-ireland. They didn't but had the talent.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/09/2014 20:49:11    1650763

Legend
Good question kid.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/09/2014 20:50:33    1650765

Legendzxix
Will Eamonn Fitzmaurice have the Kingdom better prepared for the JMCG challenge

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/09/2014 20:56:59    1650767