Improving the atmosphere in Croke Park and other grounds...

Hi folks. The atmosphere in Croke Park was outstanding for the recent Donegal Dublin game but looking around duirng the game I thought it could have been even better. Three of us Donegal fans bought supervalu tickets and had excellent seats together . On one side of us were 5 Dubs and on the other 4 Dubs then beyond them on both sides were more Donegal fans. It got me thinking that if Supervalu/Centra sold a block as Donegal block, then the next as a Dublin block and son on that it would surely boost the atmosphere. It worked really well for the Munster Leinster semi final in the H cup in 2009. The clubs for instance receive tickets in blocks and this greatly enhances the atmosphere within these blocks. 6 of us were at the Mayo quater final last year and again with 4 teams it was all very diluted with regards to atmosphere. I have emailed this suggestion to Croker.

What to you think, any other ways atmosphere could be improved? Another exmample this year is that a gaa season ticket holder can buy additional tickets but these seats are all situated seperately, poorly planned really.

fintownsuburbs (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 09/09/2014 20:54:16    1650338

fair point and I agree that it could certainly help with the atmosphere - it is fun winding up Kilkenny fans sitting close by tho as well

hurlinortoggin (Tipperary) - Posts: 30 - 10/09/2014 09:28:56    1650411

I really like the fact that fans are not segregated in the GAA. I think it's better how it is. Cheering all around the ground, and shouting louder than the lad from the opposition next to you.

They really should stop having Hill 16 separated for just Dublin fans. What a load of nonsense.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 10/09/2014 09:44:45    1650419

some vuvuzeuluas would add to the atmosphere as well!

In a packed Croke park the atmosphere is electric....but when it is isnt oh jesus the atmosphere is brutal. The best remedy is to hold games in smaller stadiums but that wont happen too often

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/09/2014 11:28:18    1650481

I agree with you Icehonesty on the ground not being segregated. Neither is the Hill. Non Dub supporters happen to return them for stand tickets! Except of course as when Mayo pulled their stroke last year and reduced Dublin club allocation to lowest ever.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 10/09/2014 11:39:37    1650488

fair point and I agree that it could certainly help with the atmosphere - it is fun winding up Kilkenny fans sitting close by tho as well

hurlinortoggin (Tipperary) - Posts: 30 - 10/09/2014 11:49:48    1650495

Hill 16 is not segregated ice honesty.

Everyone can buy Hill tickets. A lot of tickets (pre final) get sold online and through ticket outlets.

I believe both shops and the internet have spread into the provinces these days so there's no barrier to culchies coming onto the Hill.

Their county boards can also take up to half the Hill tickets on offer if they so wish.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13730 - 10/09/2014 11:54:53    1650498

They really should stop having Hill 16 separated for just Dublin fans. What a load of nonsense.

Ah feck off will ye!

Sick of this boring stoneage argument used.

If yiz want to go on the hill, Bleedin buy hill tickets or tell your county board not to swap them for stand tickets.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 11:57:42    1650499

1.have music blared out every time there is a score.
2. supporters bands, like the wonderful one the English football team have
3. some land with a load hailer standing on a fence leading the supporters in some some chanting with some jumping round in unison.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 10/09/2014 12:13:04    1650510

1. have music blared out every time there is a score.
3. some lad with a load hailer standing on a fence leading the supporters in some some chanting with some jumping round in unison.
4. have so right lads come up with some witty songs insulting the opposition and some opposition players
5. Cheerleaders

just a few suggestions to get things started.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 10/09/2014 12:15:08    1650513

1. have music blared out every time there is a score.
3. some lad with a load hailer standing on a fence leading the supporters in some some chanting with some jumping round in unison.
4. have so right lads come up with some witty songs insulting the opposition and some opposition players
5. Cheerleaders

Yes, I'm all for that......

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 12:22:46    1650517

waynoI

Ah feck off will ye!

Sick of this boring stoneage argument used.

If yiz want to go on the hill, Bleedin buy hill tickets or tell your county board not to swap them for stand tickets

Exactly Wanyo. Spot on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3745 - 10/09/2014 12:23:57    1650519

Each county to bring a dedicated band/brass section to games would be great.

Although the older fans might object to the noise pollution... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3745 - 10/09/2014 12:25:59    1650520

As far the Cheerleaders, sure we already have those on the Hill when the Dubs play... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3745 - 10/09/2014 12:29:02    1650523

hurlinortoggin
County: Tipperary

1650495 - it is fun winding up Kilkenny fans sitting close by tho as well

I'd love to be beside you if KK win on the 27th hurlinortoggin !
Thought Croke Pk was electric last Sun. ( OK the type of game we got helped ) but yeah, it can wane a bit if it's sparsely attended or a poor game.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 10/09/2014 13:12:14    1650549

A packed Croke Park is brilliant and I love it when the Dubs have the Hill to themselves, its a special atmosphere when its packed and a sea of blue.

The best atmosphere's I was at were from a Donegal point of view were '92 Final, '12 semi v Cork and the semi this year v Dublin. The All Ireland finals in general have a good atmosphere but with more neutrals at a final it is reduced a bit from the semi. This years semi v Dublin was probably 95% from each county which led to a great atmosphere.

The bottom line is that a great game will build atmosphere, a poor game will result in the opposite. I always liked the drums on All Ireland Final day before the teams made entry on Croke Park but they should scrap that trumpet sound when the teams arrive on the pitch.

This video sums up Croke Park brilliantly:
http://youtu.be/bCYSflQwc7o

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 10/09/2014 13:15:39    1650550

Well said Wayno and maybe some of your county men on this board could change the broken record such as hurlingdub saying "Mayo pulled Stroke" - by taking up our full hill allocation and any other tickets we could get a hold off. Get over lads ffs sake...it pops up here every few days in some thread or another. My God imagine if ye had lost.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11250 - 10/09/2014 13:17:01    1650552

As an atheist I would strongly support the playing of 'Faith of our Fathers' before each game (not just the finals) and then let the archbishop of Cashel throw in the ball before each game (not just the finals), now granted he'll be a very busy man especially during the qualifiers but I think that would make a nice addition to the atmosphere.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/09/2014 13:21:23    1650555

Tir Conaill Abu

This video sums up Croke Park brilliantly:
http://youtu.be/bCYSflQwc7o

I see Brian Cody made the cut there at 0:37 :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/09/2014 13:23:29    1650557

Tir Conaill abu, That video gave me goosebumps. Spine tingling.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 13:29:25    1650560