The Hypocrisy of the GAA Fan

Liamwalkinstown, you're generalising a bit when you say 'every culchie this side of Dingle' wanted Dublin split. Granted there were a few, but most people saw it for the foolish idea that it is.
People are happy Dublin were beaten on Sunday because the media furore all summer had become unbearable. I agree that the players and the majority of fans didn't do anything to encourage this nonsense, but there were some Dublin supporters who bought into the whole 'Invincible' thing.
Back in 2012 Donegal and Jim McGuinness became media darlings for their achievements. It was stated by many that no team would touch Donegal for some time, purely because of the system they had evolved, and because of the quality and fitness they possessed in the starting XV.
Less than a year later people were calling for the black card and a limit on hand passes to stop our imminent dominance of the game, until we were humiliated by Mayo, and then people clambered all over themselves to stick the boot in. The thought that we might dominate for a period didn't sit well with people, and when we were knocked out the Championship people revelled in our failure.
The point I'm making is nobody wants to see one county dominate Gaelic Football unless it's their own, so when you have success there will be plenty of people praying for your downfall the season after. It comes with the territory.
One thing is for sure, Donegal and Dublin will be at the top of the game for the next 5 years, provided there are no drastic changes in management.

Glasgow_Gael (UK) - Posts: 8 - 03/09/2014 09:26:35    1647273

There seems to be a whole lot of jealousy on this forum.

Dublin fans were extremely confident coming into this game and rightfully so. They were playing so well and blitzing every team in front of them. If I was a Dublin fan I'd have posted exactly as most of them did. The majority of Donegal fans if they were honest were hoping for a good performance and see then where that got us. After the game the Dublin fans were very gallant losers and didn't hear one begrudging word from them.

I can't understand the hate of this Dublin team. They play a fantastic brand of football and when they get the balance right at both sides of the pitch they will be a serious nut to crack next year.

The funding issue is what it is. Big brands look at investment in the bigger teams and populated areas. Sharing the funding around is a non-runner. If a big sponsor wants to pump money into Dublin they will back off if they hear that this money will go to other counties. Dublins shirt sponsor went for Dublin as I'd safely say they probably sell more merchandise than any other county in Ireland, they are current All Ireland Champions and the poster boys of the GAA. Remember Cork had a decent sponsor in O2 but never heard much complaints from the mob.

Splitting Dublin in 2 is a ludicrous idea. This would only lead to more dominance from Dublin. The Dublin underage structures seem to be excellent and having two county teams in the area would just mean more lads getting an opportunity on the big stage and eventually it would lead to Dublin A v Dublin B in Leinster finals. Would there be an appetite for that in the GAA community.

Most of the posters on here would love to see their county getting the same funding as Dublin, having a similar quality of squad as Dublin and having the same success. They fact that their counties are getting this leads to a jealousy that is in the DNA of this country and that is why we see so many posters knocking Dublin.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/09/2014 09:34:49    1647286

Not one poster talking about Dublin being split in 2 was actually serious, just a bit of craic. Same with the Dublin Region expression, just banter.

It's the Jackeens v The Culchies. The city slickers v the boggers. The tax payers v the mullahs. Usually it's good-natured stuff. Life's too short to be getting upset over anyone's remarks on here or over a game of football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7349 - 03/09/2014 10:04:52    1647309

Well said Greenandred!

No-one died. I am dying but that is metaphorical for worst ongoing hangover ever :-(

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/09/2014 10:23:07    1647316

We need a referendum on this YES or NO! but those in the occupied 6 counties not aloud a vote

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 09/09/2014 21:35:15    1650361

I have a one Dublin shirt in my collection which I got from a fella in the Big tree a few years ago it says on on it "DUBLIN a City the fought an empire" its very dear to me this shirt but just like back in 1916 when the streets of Dublin ran red with blood their has been alot of Culchies blood was spilled outside of Dublin over the last 98 years Laim..... so please were not wingers or jealous of Dublin in any way....... The biggest threat to the youth of this Country is not Nationalism/Republicanism/ or Xfactorism but the Drug Lords of our wee Island it seems not a day goes bye without a drug turf war in the inner cites spillin out to the culchieside Football Hurling Comogs Handball brothers and sisters in Arms the GAA the life and soul of Communities up and down the country thats the Ethos of Gealic Games UNITY not name calling ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 10/09/2014 21:38:02    1650785