The Hypocrisy of the GAA Fan

Get yourself over to the quotes thread bryanadams. Some outstanding efforts there

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 16:52:57    1647021

Liamwalkinstown

" "
Pre Dublin Donegal we had every culchie this side of Dingle saying Dublin should be split in 2, that it was going beyond the joke and it was an unfair playing field etc etc etc, Split Dublin in 2, take them out of Croker etc etc etc
It was all Non Dubs saying it, every single Dub here poo pooed the idea

Now here we are in the aftermath of last Sunday, and all of a sudden all the same lads taking great delight in our "demise" are pointing to our arrogance at the idea of splitting in Dublin in 2....when it was ye're idea in the first place!!

Only in the GAA!!

I never said any of those things so stop generalizing.......one person says it on tv, then everyone in Ireland has said it?....seriousy. Dublin will be bac next year stronger, just deal with being beaten by the better team. No one hates Dublin, just hate when people from there spout this kind of nonsense. Hard luck though and a great game it was:)

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 02/09/2014 16:55:29    1647022

I find it funny to see Dubs, more so you Liamwalkinstown, talking about hypocrisy. This is another example of a Dublin (limerick) poster being left say what they like. Its also funny to see your normal lambs following you too

football_dude (Roscommon) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2014 16:59:15    1647030

Yeah it's the culchies that are the whingers I couldn't of cared if dublin won lost or drew get over yourselves fed up with it

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 02/09/2014 16:59:17    1647031

aido.........Sitting here wondering to myself when are we going to see the first A-list celeb been tricked into holding up a "Mayo 4 Sam 2015" banner, flag, scapula
The dubs' obsession with mayo continues!!! Get a life!!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 02/09/2014 16:59:59    1647032

Good man Liamswalkintown, its nice to see you so bitter!

The Dubs - Bad Winner & Bad Losers!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/09/2014 17:25:53    1647061

I'll repeat what I said previously on teams seeming like they will dominate for years...

benjyyy

Dublin may well win this year and next year too. But no team can keep doing in for 9/10 years. The players will inevitably lose the hunger, which cant be understated as to how important that is. Another problem with successful teams is that the players become legends...and then their place in the team is almost guaranteed. This then stops younger, fresher, hungrier players from getting gametime and it takes years to rebuild from that. Kerry are an example of that I think - there were 9/10 of the 2005 team still starting in 2012. Tyrone have suffered too. Its not really that they are doing anything wrong, its just the cycle of a good team. Its not like in soccer where a manager can spend big money on a new player with top level experience to freshen up the team. In GAA the only way you get a player with top level experience is by giving them that experience and that takes time. When you have players with 3 or 4 all Ireland medals keeping these players from getting that experience then there comes a point where the system breaks down.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 02/09/2014 17:36:08    1647068

If Dublin improve as much in the next years as they have in the last ten years where will they be?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 02/09/2014 18:12:21    1647092

Fair enough htaem, excuse me. For the record, Id keep an open mind about splitting Dublin, not because I ever thought wed be invincible, but for the sheer size of the place

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 02/09/2014 19:20:42    1647129

Miler

The poor Dubs. You'd nearly feel sorry for them.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/09/2014 19:27:12    1647136

Come on up the Glens Liam and I'll give you a hug... :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/09/2014 19:29:35    1647139

flack

No worries, to be honest I'd love to see a Northside v Southside game, I think it would make for an excellent derby match but I'd still rather see Dublin playing as one and to be honest I don't think that's going to change anytime soon anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 19:50:04    1647152

realman2

If Dublin improve as much in the next years as they have in the last ten years where will they be?

Hard to know. Depends on how much you believe about what's written about you and what your fans are preaching day after day.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 02/09/2014 19:51:28    1647155

People talk about the population of Dublin and the unfair numerical advantage they have over the rest, but they forget that if you remove the junkies and shoneens the pool from which to pick is seriously depleted, the best thing about Donegals win on Sunday is that it rubbishes the idea of split Dublin teams

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 02/09/2014 19:59:38    1647158

Ah well it was nice to have fans from different counties liking us for one day and commenting on our good spotsmanship , but sure nothing like a few more of these threads to have them hating us again ;). Though i did find it strange to see us being complimented and then realised we must of lost a game.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/09/2014 20:32:49    1647174

Splitting the Dublin Region in two was first mooted in late 2001. That was 6 years after their last All-Ireland at the time and 10 years before the next. I was living in the capital at the time. I can remember the Evening Herald having a map of the Dublin Region split north and south. They game a breakdown of the clubs either side of the liffey and even did a graphic on the starting XV for both teams. I agreed with it at the time. That is the key difference here. People only speaking of it after '11 and '13 seem to be approaching it for the wrong reasons.

I was one of the few to call a Donegal win on Sunday. It did not surprise me. At the same time I fully expect the capital to be back. The shame really is that Meath and Kildare don't seem in a position to put it up to them in Leinster. Their getting tested in the All-Ireland series but in their province, they are virtually sauntering through. Meath and Kildare while fine Ring counties like ourselves, do not have too much hurling distractions.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7859 - 02/09/2014 20:39:47    1647181

Liamwalkinstown

Pre Dublin Donegal we had every culchie this side of Dingle saying Dublin should be split in 2, that it was going beyond the joke and it was an unfair playing field etc etc etc, Split Dublin in 2, take them out of Croker etc etc etc

Now now Liam, don't be like that.

Every culchie this side of Dingle was not saying Dublin should be split in two. I was never in favour of that idea, said so on many occasions & I wasn't alone.

Why would we settle for beating half of Dublin when beating the whole county is so much more fun?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/09/2014 20:56:08    1647190

In all honestly country people don't hate Dublin its just the media hype around everything ye are involved in is what we hate, 5 in a roe blah!! If you asked who would you support in an odd match Dublin footballers or England soccer team then the answer is neither, i'd turn off the tv. Ignore the media hype, paper never refuses ink, and just see things as they are and over time maybe country people will, dare i say, mind ye winning a game or two (good God did i really say that). No must be the doomey gloomy weather and that cursed result last saturday 30th of Ahhhhhhhh, don't want to remember the date

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 02/09/2014 21:31:07    1647219

MuckrossHead

1647190 Liamwalkinstown

Now now Liam, don't be like that.

Every culchie this side of Dingle was not saying Dublin should be split in two. I was never in favour of that idea, said so on many occasions & I wasn't alone.

Why would we settle for beating half of Dublin when beating the whole county is so much more fun?.

Enjoy , and dont go starting 5 in a row or we are unbeatable threads now Muckross , i hate all that sort of cockiness :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/09/2014 21:33:45    1647220

Football dude Rossie......... Its also funny to see your normal lambs following you too .
This dude knows a thing or two about sheep.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 02/09/2014 21:58:08    1647242