Assessment after the semi's Dubin - Donegal

1646885 Any other decade and we win the all Ireland easy, just nowadays teams play with 13 men behind the ball (fair play to them) great teams like Kerry 70's and 00's never had to worry about coming up against 13/14 man walls infront of them, it was on man on man back then and usually the best team won but that's all changed now with defensive teams.

Tuh, talk about sore losers, look, the best team were the boys from Donegal and they won the game fair and square. Don't start whining about systems now just because D'unbeatables were beaten.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/09/2014 15:26:14    1646920

Listen

Donegal played brilliantly...

Hats off

Said it before the match

Getting beaten by the greatest Donegal team of All TIME with 3 Ulster tittles and and AI already in the bag would hardly be a shock

Listen --- you can have all the huff and guff you want

Many a Dub fan knew before a ball was kicked this year that we'd have an awful challenge to beat Donegal

All the huff and guff before the match was because we were anxious and wanted to believe in a victory

The best team won... Dublin didn't take their chances.. the best team always does.

Well done Donegal - feck it... twas great to be there and cheer to the end

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 15:32:56    1646925

Overall I wouldn't be too worried if I was a Dublin supporter. They were just beaten by a better team once this year. They will be back in the same position next year.

Now just because they lost IMO it doesn't change my view on the finances issue. Just because they lost doesn't mean there is no point trying to level the playing field. I credit every GAA player in Ireland and would like to see everyone get great facilities and that.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 02/09/2014 15:54:36    1646955

DUBLIN - Massive reality check on Sunday that could be a blessing in disguise. They will need to work on a defensive strategy to compliment their brilliant attacking ability. Brought down to earth after the massive over hype and shown to be mere mortals like the rest of us and not God like beings. Will bounce right back next year.

The two statements in bold.

The first one - +1

The second one - Also +1, The Dublin lads are human like the rest of us. Not machines.

I honestly dont believe that they believed the hype themselves, I believe the hype was created by the media and alot of people (including country folk, just look at Royaldunnes comments before the game, and others) believed it.

I was certain Dublin would win, But not cause of any media nonsense.

To all those waffling about splitting Dublin in two, Hopefully they shut up talking nonsense now.

We wont dominate.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 15:57:45    1646961

Just came on to say fair f***s to Donegal, great performance. I was writing them off all year long, start of league, end of league, after winning ulster and before the semi, and they proved me wrong. Just wanted to put my hand up and say I was wrong. Looking forward to a great final now!!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 02/09/2014 16:18:59    1646982

Think Dublin peaked too soon. When looking back on the year they won a Leinster and League title that made them look indestructible. Bought into their own hype and all the media stuff with it.

And in the end they were soundly beaten by the Division 2 runners up in the championship.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 02/09/2014 16:59:00    1647029

Think Dublin peaked too soon. When looking back on the year they won a Leinster and League title that made them look indestructible. Bought into their own hype and all the media stuff with it.

And in the end they were soundly beaten by the Division 2 runners up in the championship.

Ah the Dublin peaked too soon line, Wondered when that rubbish would be thrown at us!!

We where beaten by a better team, To suggest we peaked too soon doesnt do Donegal justice.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 17:19:59    1647055

bryanadams

1646897 superbluedub

1646790 bryanadams

1646738 Dublin are the fast track bullies of the GAA. Their monumental advantages in funding and resources make them look great, as they blitzkrieg their way through Leinster, where all they have to play against are under funded counties

What a load of rubbish,smaller counties than Kildare can more than put it up to Dublin,Donegal mayo etc,dry your eyes m8.

Now now, don't be greedy. Thankfully the process of curbing GAA funding to Dublin has already begun, mainly because it is obvious that Dublin have enough private sponsorship to self finance their operation. Better funding and division of resources among the rural counties will result in a more competitive championship, and attract more people into playing and supporting our games.

greedy not at all,now answer me this ,how can the likes of Donegal mayo Kerry etc compete with and beat Dublin?,and poor ole Kildare cant?
do Kildare get less funding/resources than these counties?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2014 17:38:56    1647071

MaigheoAbu

1647029 Think Dublin peaked too soon. When looking back on the year they won a Leinster and League title that made them look indestructible. Bought into their own hype and all the media stuff with it.

Think you really need to work out how Mayo are finally going to win that illusive all Ireland,and stop thinking about Dublin,who where beaten by a very good Donegal team,who where all Ireland champions in 2012 and won 3 out of the last 4 ulster titles,not just a division 2 runners up team!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2014 17:48:51    1647077

The reason no real Dubs are given out is because it doesn't really matter, your only as good as your last game. The next game Dublin play in it will all be forgotten and all the usual nonsense will follow about funding, about too big etc etc business as nonsensical unusual.

The only people who predicted Dublin would lose in the media was - none, yet open the back pages, turn on the TV channels and watch as they tell you HOW they lost. Not one shred of information as to WHY they lost. Hindsight is not insight every lacky has it. Cliche's drip out of newspapers and pour out of speakers but it still won't tell you WHY they lost. I don't want to hear the how its the why and few very few actually know.

On saturday during the Mayo v Kerry game Carney and Marty either wet themselves over Kerry or drooled over Mayo. All attempt at commentary went out the window as they gave us PASSION, real raw PASSION, it was classless it was tasteless it was first class tripe.

The bottom line is no one knows why they lost, I haven't read/heard one single plausible reason and no Jim walking across Lough Derg in his bare feet is not one of them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 02/09/2014 18:44:54    1647108

superbluedub

Think you really need to work out how Mayo are finally going to win that illusive all Ireland,and stop thinking about Dublin,who where beaten by a very good Donegal team,who where all Ireland champions in 2012 and won 3 out of the last 4 ulster titles,not just a division 2 runners up team!!

I#'m only commenting on the actual thread. Don't shoot the messenger now - it's not my fault ye choked !

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 02/09/2014 19:55:31    1647156

Fantastic weekend of football, Kerry Mayo could have went either way, Dublin were pure class for 25 mins and Donegal showed great inner belief to stay in the game and great skill and resolve to go on and win it. In time i believe this Dublin side will be ranked with the truly great sides and one defeat doesn't change that

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 02/09/2014 20:21:13    1647167

Any other decade and we win the all Ireland easy, just nowadays teams play with 13 men behind the ball (fair play to them) great teams like Kerry 70's and 00's never had to worry about coming up against 13/14 man walls infront of them, it was on man on man back then and usually the best team won but that's all changed now with defensive teams.
------
Maybe they should all wear Stanley Matthews ankle boots and tweed caps aswell. Also if you think Kerry 06/07 played "regulation layout" you clearly never watched a match that Paul Galvin played in.
As regards man to man - what should Donegal have done different ? It was hardly Ryan MCHughs fault that his marker was 60 yards upfield trying to stop a short kick out. Also Murphy was man marked by the best full back in history so you can't have any complaints there.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 02/09/2014 21:34:31    1647222

arock

The only people who predicted Dublin would lose in the media was - none,
----
No Brendan Dev predicted it - but I recall the reaction from this forum was outrage at the insolence

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 02/09/2014 21:38:48    1647225

the 4 all irelands kerry won in the 00s were certainly not done playing orthodox football and they also managed a back to back..adapting their style as the years went on...you can only be as good as whats in your own era and dublin were bet fair and square...this dublin side do not play orthodox football either at all and often leave themselves as open at back as you will ever see an inter county side be

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/09/2014 21:45:00    1647231

arock

The reason no real Dubs are given out is because it doesn't really matter, your only as good as your last game. The next game Dublin play in it will all be forgotten and all the usual nonsense will follow about funding, about too big etc etc business as nonsensical unusual.

The only people who predicted Dublin would lose in the media was - none, yet open the back pages, turn on the TV channels and watch as they tell you HOW they lost. Not one shred of information as to WHY they lost. Hindsight is not insight every lacky has it. Cliche's drip out of newspapers and pour out of speakers but it still won't tell you WHY they lost. I don't want to hear the how its the why and few very few actually know.

On saturday during the Mayo v Kerry game Carney and Marty either wet themselves over Kerry or drooled over Mayo. All attempt at commentary went out the window as they gave us PASSION, real raw PASSION, it was classless it was tasteless it was first class tripe.

The bottom line is no one knows why they lost, I haven't read/heard one single plausible reason and no Jim walking across Lough Derg in his bare feet is not one of them

Brilliant, class post Arock.

Ruanua
Brendan Dev was interviewed. He is not a regular analyst in the national media.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/09/2014 21:55:26    1647240

My assessment.

Perfect start, we were in control and I thought the game was being played on our terms. We conceded a very avoidable goal, the momentum went to Donegal and from there on in we lost the game on the sideline. Whatever about individual performances, we lost the game because we panicked once we went behind and made poor tactical changes.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/09/2014 08:56:12    1647263

I think it's hurting certain posters here that the Dubs have accepted their beating on Sunday with no sour grapes. We know we were well beaten by the better team on the day. Too many of our players did not perform to their own high standard on the day. We are not blaming referees, management, the media or anyone else for our loss, it was just a bad day at the office.

It has been a pleasure to watch this Dublin team throughout 2014 and despite the fact that we are giving up Sam, we are confident there are more All Irelands in this team.

It's hilarious to hear the haters label a team who has won 2 All Ireland's in three years as bottlers or chokers. Good luck to both teams in the final, we will see you next year.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 03/09/2014 09:46:22    1647296

We lost a game, simple as. Donegal were the better team for the majority of the game with the exception of the first 25 minutes. The concession of the third goal was the killer. Lessons to be learned and we will bounce back. Too may good footballers in this panel and with a few players coming through from successful U-21s we have a great chance over the next few years. Need to slightly modify our style and be a little more defensive. Maybe a little bit of complacency set in, hard to know. We had donegal on the ropes in the first half and if either of the two gilt edge chances had have went in we would have won in a canter. It seemed that we panicked a little in the second half and backed ourselves to just outscore Donegal which didn't work. Only two of our players really excelled themselves and maybe another three held their own after that the players in general had a poor day out. In sport it is how a team comes back from setbacks that is a measure of their greatness. We came back last year from 2012 and there is no reason why this can't be done next year. As I said Donegal are an inspiration for so many counties and maybe we can take a little from them and how they turned things around from last year. They are a credit to their county and themselves and will go down as the greatest donegal team ever win or lose in a few weeks time. I also was delighted to see that the myth about them just being a defendive team is absolute tripe and maybe this will stop the media talking about football teams using phrases like defensive and offensive. Overall I loved following the Dubs this year as I have since 1983 when as a ten year old I went to cork. They have been brilliant over the last few years and don't need to apologies to anyone for the defeat. That is sport and it would become very banal if games always took the path that the so called experts in the media predict. Upsets are part of what makes us as GAA people live through the bad days and enjoy the good days when they do come around. I bet Donegal people never envisaged 2014 unfolding as it has done to date in the aftermath of the mauling by mayo last year. 2015 can't come quick enough.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 03/09/2014 10:24:01    1647317

dstuction

Overall I wouldn't be too worried if I was a Dublin supporter. They were just beaten by a better team once this year. They will be back in the same position next year.

Now just because they lost IMO it doesn't change my view on the finances issue. Just because they lost doesn't mean there is no point trying to level the playing field. I credit every GAA player in Ireland and would like to see everyone get great facilities and that.

in all fairness i dont think dublin could be that far ahead of donegal on finance
when you consider donegal could go away to portugal in may
and then afford a 5 day training camp last week in meath.
i dont think dublin done any training camps or went away anywhere
plus we are probably the last county to get good facilites for clubs
only 5 or 6 years ago a lot of dublin clubs still played in public parks
where as clubs in the middle of nowhere had big grounds and state of the art clubhouses
what we have done is invested money smartly into coaching and structures
that can easily be replicated in other countys off smaller budgets
as they have less numbers to cater for

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2014 10:58:56    1647349