Mayo fan

Yeah seen that lockjaw he rightly fired him to the ground and there was another fan with a north face jacket on that was in the middle of the first melee anyone spot him?

Oh aye Clondalkin - you had to bring the North in to it..... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 17:01:30    1646250

Htaem
Ps, anybody reckon it was either TheMaster or yew_tree? :-)

Was not me anyway, would have taken more than five men to stop me if I decided to bring the ref to task and I im not much of a Supermacs man myself;)

On a serious note, it is totally un-acceptable to approach the referee on the field and it should be dealt with but I doubt it will. I could understand his frustration at the end, the game was lost and I was just standing on the Clare End terrace shaking my head but you can't do that.

Didn't Thomas O Se say he was attacked my a Tyrone fan once after a game on the field? Supporters need to stay in the stand, emotions are high and bad things happen when people loose the run of themselves.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 01/09/2014 17:02:46    1646251

Nor me, YT, Id have been on taking the free quick for a goal and leaving the Kerry lads rolling around on the floor. Actually, I can never understand why people don't do that. When someone holds onto the ball, particularly when they go over the sideline, just grab another ball and take the free. He wont be long getting up off his backside.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2014 17:06:51    1646256

Firstly Master hard luck to Mayo after their heroic efforts over the last two games. Ye can hold your heads high. No one can ever again question the mental fibre of this team. They have showed commendable spirit and never say die attitiude not just in this year's championship but throughout James Horan's reign. As regards grabbing a spare ball and taking a free while an opposition player holds on to it I agree with you that that would if allowed cut out this nonsense. However I would surmise that the Referee would not allow it. Does he not have to approve a ball change during a game?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 01/09/2014 18:11:11    1646302

This Mayo fan could be the new poster boy for Super Macs :)

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 01/09/2014 18:17:54    1646308

The daughter trying to get him off the pitch was priceless. Also, it looked like it was a bangard put that Mayo fan on his arse after the match, am I wrong? Street cred out the window for that fella if that's the case!

On a serious note, anyone invading the pitch during a match to confront or attack a player or match official should be banned for a couple of years at least, there's no excuse for it. I've shouted horrendous abuse at referees over the years but I've never felt the urge to run onto the pitch and attack one.

I'm against fans coming onto the field after a match. The reason being is that I've heard of too many stories of players being struck by opposing fans who then courageously disappear into the crowd.

However, I think the kids coming onto the pitch at HT to puck the ball around is a quaint little tradition that should be kept if at all possible.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/09/2014 18:24:25    1646313

Are Croke Park going to lay any charges against Kerry and Mayo and that particular fan? I don't want to see anyone up on a charge BUT there has to be consistency in these matters. Many people couldn't wait to stick the boot into Armagh and Cavan and the newspapers and airwaves were full of the usual voices demanding something be done. Strangely the same people have been very quiet since the weekend. There is total hypocrisy going on here and fairness has to be seen to be done; if not then the accusation will remain that there are two sets of rules and standards being applied for Ulster sides and non Ulster sides.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 01/09/2014 18:52:01    1646330

Ah he's in today's star ha he's from Castlebar and is involved with the local boxing club (no surprise there the man is a beast) , he went down as a family day out with wife daughter and son haha could you imagine the drive home with his missus ha he didn't want to punch the ref he just wanted to talk to him haha, I can't stop laughing thinking of him and the 5 stewards Only in Ireland

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2014 18:56:25    1646337

Stewards should have done a better job.
How he manage to get on the field the 1st.
It certainly wouldn't have happen in Croke Park as there is security everywhere around the field.

footie16 (Mayo) - Posts: 222 - 01/09/2014 18:57:05    1646338

We could have done with him at CHB yesterday, a one man Dublin blanket defence. The man and took four guards, no match stick men themselves, to 'escort' him to the sideline.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2014 19:18:28    1646350

Ulsterman

Are Croke Park going to lay any charges against Kerry and Mayo and that particular fan? I don't want to see anyone up on a charge BUT there has to be consistency in these matters. Many people couldn't wait to stick the boot into Armagh and Cavan and the newspapers and airwaves were full of the usual voices demanding something be done. Strangely the same people have been very quiet since the weekend. There is total hypocrisy going on here and fairness has to be seen to be done; if not then the accusation will remain that there are two sets of rules and standards being applied for Ulster sides and non Ulster sides.
------
The only thing hypocritical is your post ironically enough. Were charges brought against the Cavan U21 management team and indeed supporters who tried to attack officials in Portlaoise back in April? Answer that first and then we can talk about Saturday.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2014 19:40:26    1646373

Ulsterman
This is not an anti north or anti ulster issue. Don't see any need to bring that into this debate.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/09/2014 21:59:45    1646491

Fair play to the lad, not enough people in this country prepared to stand up and be heard, ban him for what???........having an opinion???

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 02/09/2014 09:36:13    1646542

Absolutely. Maybe even longer. Here is the thing though, these guys exist, they are going to come onto the pitch. It is another nail in the coffin of the gaa's decisions to put an AI semi final outside of croke park.

TheMaster, I hope your previous 11848 posts were of better quality then this. What on earth does a supporter comming from the stand onto the pitch have to do with the game being on in Limerick and not Croke Park. Mayo gave the whole week leading up to this game complaining about the game being on in Limerick and that to me showed weekness and this did in some small way showed a lack of confidence in the teams ability to beat Kerry. Now you are blaming the venue on this supporter for comming on to abuse the referee. I met hundreds at the game from both Kerry and Mayo and not one person was unhappy at the venue or its location last Saturday. From a venue point of view this was a huge success and you should acknowledge that.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 02/09/2014 10:22:59    1646582

To me, the root of the problem was putting the game on outside croker. The guy simply wouldn't have gotten onto the pitch up there. These guys are out there so blaming him is kind of pointless. He was going to do what he was going to do, in the future others will try to do the same, not a whole lot you can do about that. Im not defending him, and I am ashamed of his actions. But the real worry is he should never have had the opportunity to go on, and he should never have gotten as far as he did.

As for the comparison with cavan-armagh. There are two big differences.
1) The Armagh lads contrived that fight in a cold and calculated way while the second erupted at the end of 2 massive games, where the ref had lost control of the game long ago.
2) The Armagh-cavan lads involved a marching band containing women and children and showed little regard for them, the Mayo-Kerry lads were fighting each other.

Obviously neither is acceptable. But I can see why the first caused more of a response, and frankly I think any reasonable person could see that also. It is yourself that is biased Ulsterman, sorry but that is the truth. Compare the actual incidents, not where they are from.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 10:29:51    1646589

Fair play to that mayo supporter, the referee lost control of the game from the very first incident where kerry targeted cillian o connor and tried to antagonise him into getting sent off, he then booked o connor for defending himself.

Who is going to voice their opinion of the refereeing standard of that game? Will we all get our views across to Pat Mc Enaney?

We lost a semi-final due to cormac reilly, and I have a right to be agreived.

There is no consistency with refs and this blatantly highlights it.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 02/09/2014 10:43:33    1646600

As for the comparison with cavan-armagh. There are two big differences.
1) The Armagh lads contrived that fight in a cold and calculated way while the second erupted at the end of 2 massive games, where the ref had lost control of the game long ago.
2) The Armagh-cavan lads involved a marching band containing women and children and showed little regard for them, the Mayo-Kerry lads were fighting each other.

Your aul sheugh TheMaster. This is the sort of justification as to the differences which is peddled as to why there wasn't the same outcry. I'll give you another couple of big differences:

1) The Kerry/Mayo game was televised Live across the world and so the scenes were beamed directly in to a lot more homes that the untelevised Cavan/Armagh game. The only reason the Cavan/Armagh brawl got more airtime was because those with their agendas decided to get it in to the public domain through television, radio and forums like this.

2) The Mayo/Kerry guys went at it TWICE. So while it could be said the circumstances which led to the Cavan/Armagh brawl were heat of the moment (due to a mistake by the Flag bearer which I don't think the Armagh team orchestrated) the fact that the other teams went at it twice suggests more than just heat of the moment. First brawl probably yes, second time no.

Also, what evidence do you have to say that the brawl in the Armagh/Cavan game was contrived and calculated but that the brawl in the second one wasn't? If anything logic would say that a brawl started in the closing minutes of a game which has one score between the teams would have more chance of being contrived than one which happens before the teams even line out.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/09/2014 10:56:45    1646613

I thought the daughter was cute! Love the glasses and the hair!

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 02/09/2014 13:29:23    1646768