Well done Donegal

Absolutely no complaints

Well done on a much deserved victory against 10/1 favs!

If there's one thing... I'm delighted the bookies got it so wrong!

Better team won and it was a great performance

Dublin missed so many chances so in no way did we deserve to be in that game

Also credit to the Donegal fans who I thought were excellent

Gave a young Donegal lad my program on the walk up!

Nice family, we all had a good chat heading up through Drumcondra

Best of luck and hats off

Dublin will be back but that's for another day

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/08/2014 17:59:51    1645363

I long for the day that rte actually bring in some real analysts. Still can't see how everyone thought it would be an easy win fr Dublin. Donegal were all Ireland champions just two years ago. I felt this was a 50 50 game. Now it proved to be different but this hour about Dublin was ridiculous, us Leinster folk need to realise our game is in serious trouble if that Dublin team can do easily dominate it

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 31/08/2014 18:02:42    1645366

To all Donegal posters here. Have enjoyed the crack here the last few weeks. Can't tell you how impressed I was with your performance today. Didn't see it coming. Shows what application and belief can do Wish you best of luck in final.
Aido.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 31/08/2014 18:06:07    1645371

To all Donegal posters here. Have enjoyed the crack here the last few weeks. Can't tell you how impressed I was with your performance today. Didn't see it coming. Shows what application and belief can do Wish you best of luck in final.
Aido.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 31/08/2014 18:06:17    1645372

Brilliant Donegal. No complaints here. Nothing but gracious in defeat. Better team won by far. Good luck in the final .. Enjoy the celebrations tonight boys. You deserve bit after that. The last few weeks the banter has been brilliant but the talking was done by Donegal on the pitch today ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2014 18:12:10    1645382

3 brilliant semi finals. Fitness and direct football won the day for Donegal. They matched the dubs fitness but the keepers kick outs were excellently fielded/contested by Donegal which kept Dublin on the back foot. The all ireland final will be a cracker. Good look to both team!

Headtheball1 (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 31/08/2014 18:12:44    1645383

Sincere Congrats to those fine Tir Conaill men on a stunning display. I hope ye win the final now.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 31/08/2014 18:22:58    1645397

Didn't watch the game Didn't listen to the game That was my dumb ass fault I guess still sick after yesterday 3:16 is a hell of a score for a defensive minded team to post Unreal Well done Donegal Hoping you still have 1 big performance left for the 21st Go Get Sam

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 31/08/2014 18:24:55    1645401

Just back from the game and really dont weant to talk to anyone.
But i had to come on here and say congragulations to Donegal you were the better team. No complaints and to all the donegal folk who travelled from far and near enjoy your day i hope you get the credit you deserve for a fine performance.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/08/2014 18:31:30    1645411

Barrowsider
County: Carlow
I long for the day that rte actually bring in some real analysts. Still can't see how everyone thought it would be an easy win fr Dublin. Donegal were all Ireland champions just two years ago. I felt this was a 50 50 game.

I can't state how much I agree with this post. I felt for the last 2 weeks I've been shouting into a gale. It was blindingly obvious. All Ireland champions don't give it up easy. Ever. Why would you when you know you can do it? Some, not all, Dubs fans on this forum must be feeling mightily embarrassed. I'm not, the team did well this year but Donegal weathered the early storm, answered the questions Dublin posed, then posed Dublin questions that they couldn't answer. That's football. For the Dubs I thought Paul Flynn was good, Cian O'Sullivan and one or 2 others. The rest didn't didn't step up, just like the other teams who've exited the championship they'll feel they didn't leave it all on the field. That's just the way it is. Dubs now just one of the disappointed counties who will feel that they should have done better. As for the hype around Dublin - you only find out in September who the best is. Congrats Donegal, most of their players did well today. Should be a good final.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 31/08/2014 18:46:45    1645428

A lot of decent Donegal posters on here, so for them, after the dust settles, I'm glad for them, a great day for them to enjoy, fair play!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/08/2014 19:02:16    1645453

Fair play to the Dublin lads here. Dublin supporters for the most part are a great sport!

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 31/08/2014 19:02:42    1645456

Well done to Donegal great display today. Delighted for their fans decent lot. Dublin have been outdone a lot over the years having too easy of matches or peaking too early in the season. Reminded me of a knock out specialist boxer who couldn't handle the later rounds of a fight they when their opponent was still standing. Donegal are physically the most intimidating team ever to come out of Ulster and will beat Kerry.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 31/08/2014 19:30:01    1645496

Well done Donegal. I was laughed at by a couple of Dublin posters on here last week when I said we were very beatable. Too disappointed to analyse the game but that was a fine Donegal performance. The Dubs haven't gone away though. Wel

We'll be back!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2014 20:22:10    1645545

Cheers Liam.
Hard luck Dublin played some awesome stuff in first 20 mins. One of those goal chances and we would have been beat out the gate. Paul Flynn was a class act today

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 31/08/2014 21:19:07    1645621

Dublin owned the game in the 15 mins and I had a sinking feeling. Some of their scores were a sight to behold. Somehow we won it, I hope this is the start of regular meetings between out two teams in the latter stage of the All-Ireland.

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 31/08/2014 21:32:50    1645636

Phenomenal performance from Donegal, really had it all. Brilliant display. Tough defeat to take but a great bunch of players there for Dublin for the future. Looking forward to a great final

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 31/08/2014 21:38:45    1645638

Echoing the sentiments of the other dub's on here, just want to say well done Donegal on a terrific display. Not to labour too long on our own deficiencies but I was very disappointed with the tactics in the second half. Caution was what was needed after the initial burst didn't beat Donegal out the gate. Donegal kept their heads remarkably well and punished Dublin with some very slack defending with the 2 goals in the second half. Once they had them they were able to play the game their way and just soak up all the pressure.
Can't see Donegal being beaten in the final playing like that. Best of luck to yis lads

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/09/2014 09:56:19    1645741

Donegal pushed up on our kickouts and then pulled their men back , their game was to win the 50/50 around the middle and with our half backs still in their half of the pitch only have Fitz and ROC to run at. This didn't work in first 20minutes we were winning the breaking ball and with our half backs up front Donegal were in trouble. But we needed a goal like against Monaghon but it didn't come. O Garas bad pass and Connollys chance saved ,then Donegals game plan swung into action with a couple of points and then the goal. Our defending in second half was terrible Players leaving their men and going for the ball leaving spaces behind them. Slow tracking back, For all the talk of a big squad Dublin have. James mc Carthy, ,CoS.ROC,Mdmc to name a few have played most full matches since 2010 and I thought looked tired yesterday.
This is a learning experience for us ,we still have a young team and yesterday showed the art of defending is very important in winning Sam.
Good luck Donegal you won the game with good defending and good attacking play. For us we have to learn from this experience and come back stronger.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/09/2014 10:19:18    1645767

@essmac Jim Mc Guinness got it tactically right. Brolly and Spilane were wrong though,Donegal were the best team on the day. I've enjoyed watching Dublin play this last few years and they have become a better, humbler team under Gavin.

Congratulation to Donegal on a fantastic performance and a memorable win. Donrgal fans enjoy it, you earned it:)

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 01/09/2014 11:02:21    1645825