Donegal v Kerry

It was wonderful to snatch that victory from the jaws of defeat in a classic encounter that will last the test of time IMO.Because of the wait for Dubs it made it all the sweeter and I can only imagine how disappointing that was. Here's hoping for another great game in a couple of weeks time and all the best to whoever wins.They will be deserving winners.We shall return.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/09/2014 08:33:28    1648952

TheHermit

My mistake Sam, I forgot to mention Donegal in 2012. But of course my argument remains the same. In 14 seasons since 2000 Kerry have been knocked out of the All Ireland on eight occasions, six of which by the team which was crowned All Ireland champions.

They proved to be the best teams in Ireland that given year, be they from Ulster or not!

Your statement is very true, and it is an Incredibly Impressive statistic. Also worth noting that during this same period, Kerry managed the elusive "Back to back" All Ireland titles and contested 6 consequetive All Ireland final's of which they won 4.

I'm looking forward to seeing this All Ireland final, more so because it is a fresh pairing for a final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/09/2014 09:05:31    1648955

@ SLLY, I would have thought TheHermit's point was obvious. You have yet to explain why you have chosen to speak of the Munster seeding and not the Leinster seeding?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 07/09/2014 09:33:53    1648960

Tis impressive stuff all right Gary, it was a golden generation and I believe that over time the Kerry side of 2004-2009 will go down as the third Great Kerry team after Micko's Marvels of 1975-1986 and the great post Civil War side of John Joe Sheehy and Joe Barrett et al from 1924-1932.

But that's all history and it will count for little enough if this wilderness keeps up. Don't want the Twenty-Teens to end up being the only decade Kerry failed to win an All Ireland in since 1880s!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/09/2014 10:39:55    1648979

you have yet to explain why you are so shy of being considered a favourite this year or any other for that matter.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/09/2014 11:18:12    1648994

I went on to Paddy Power's website there:
Donegal 4/6
Draw 8/1
Kerry 13/8.

There isn't a whole lot to explain. Kerry are currently in transition. I suppose we can draw positives from winning Munster against all the odds and then going on to make the All-Ireland final against all the odds. Some performance by the lads in fairness. Can we expect more? It's a lot to ask. It's great to be there in the final which of course gives us some chance. Donegal will be a difficult opponent no doubt. We are very much aware of the task that lies ahead. M Murphy is the dangerman amongst others.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 07/09/2014 11:40:42    1649005

Yes, yes all very well Legend but we are in the final! To hell with talk of us over-achieving and being a year ahead of schedule, we are in it to win it!

You know as well as myself that down home we are the worst shower of effin animals (to use a famous phrase) and Eamon and the players will be judged on whether they have won an All Ireland or not. While its unreasonable, the fact remains that getting to a final or winning Munster will offer very little protection for this team down home this winter if they fail to perform in two weeks and bring back Sam. You might have a few calling for his head if we don't at least give Donegal a good rattle, crazy but it will happen if we are beaten well!

That's the pressure Kerry players are constantly under and they usually thrive in it. I take the point of course that this is very much a young side only growing into their skins, but at the same time if we are good enough to be here we are good enough to win, no Kerry team should or would ever consider another county unbeatable in a final.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/09/2014 11:54:56    1649009

The favorites tag is nothing new for Donegal. We were similar odds 2 years ago v Mayo, and the county got a bit carried away in hype before the game. It doesnt seem to affect our players. the supporters can sing and shout away for all the team cares.

Interesting to read all about tradition as well. Kerry have a massively impressive list of successes and will be looking to add to the list. I think it is something that they are entitled to bring to the table. The only thing is that MGuinness wont be looking back at anything that doesnt involve the 15 players that start for kerry. there is no past nor is there future in 2 weeks. It is all on the day, within 70 minutes. Same applies for our lads. Nothing will have mattered much if at all before championship 2014. It is probably the most interesting game I can remember donegal preparing for. Great times to follow donegal gaa.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/09/2014 12:00:43    1649013

Kerry would have been favourites to beat all the teams they beat on the way to the final so it's not against the odds and as for the final it would be Kerry who should be slight favourites IMO considering the extra game against Mayo and the nature of the two games.
Wouldn't buy the transition thing either and while Donegal have a fine team and could well win out on the day I would think the experience and tradition of making it to Croker would be in yer favour also. It would seem obvious that you should go in as favourites so don't overplay the underdog tag.
In relation to the seeding point I don't agree that there should be seeding certainly not when it benefits the stronger counties and you were playing the poor mouth a bit too much.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/09/2014 12:02:30    1649014

Cool beans TheHermit! ;) We're naturally in it to win it and I'm not saying anything to the contrary. Fitz is well aware of the currency on which he will be judged. While many did not, I saw enough in the league to see that we could make the All-Ireland final. The players after last weeks game were essentially saying what I had thought, they were confident enough all year that they would make the final. Regards the final itself then it'll naturally come down to the battle on the day. Ciarraí abú! :)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 07/09/2014 12:06:04    1649016

Kerry will need to go quite defensive , try and build up a lead and make sure to dominate midfield ( which they should ) while working hard to support Jod and Geaney up front , a lot of composure , patience and discipline will be needed while subs will need to make an impact , the trick is not to panic and try not to be lured to much by Donegal out of their defensive shape , Donegal are a very ordinary team , the trick is to play them at their own game and this is where Kerrys quality players will shine through , I really hope Kerry win for the good of the sport of gaelic football , Kerrys big guns will need to perform ie O'Se , Fitzgerald , Crowley , Moran , Maher , Walsh , Dec O'Sullivan and of course JOD who will need to tally at least 8 points if Kerry are to win

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 07/09/2014 12:38:05    1649025

In 2012 I thought Kerry started quiet well and played clever direct kicks into corner men, which stretched Donegal's defence. Then Kealy made an awful blunder and let in a soft goal which gave Donegal a lead to hold onto and allowed them to dictate the game.

Also, and its a mystery to me ever since, Kerry stopped the tactics of kicks into space in corners and instead tried to drive up the middle and carry the ball passed Donegal massed defence in front of them. Despite this we kept ourselves in the game and what really swung it against us was fact that a number of key players got injured in the second half.

Now don't get me wrong Donegal were the better team, but Kerry did a lot of things wrong and luck deserted them as well as regards injuries during the game. Plus while from the perspective of 2014 the full forward line looked strong (JOD, Gooch and Star), you need to remember JOD was only just on the team and struggling to cope at this level, while Star's form was dipping drastically due to injuries. Therefore I would argue that our full forward line, and team in general is superior now as a collective to what we had in August 2012.

We need to be clever and patient as was mentioned, pick off our scores as we have the forwards with ability to shoot from distance and keep scoreboard ticking over. Drag their defence over the width of the pitch and start kicking accurate clever balls into space when it opens up and trust players like JOD to have enough skill to capitalise on few goal chances that might come our way.

If we manage to get an hold a 3-4 point lead, Donegal will have no option but to abandon a defensive set up and start committing more players to attack, that will open up more space and opportunity for our forwards to do the damage they are capable of.

I think its imperative Kerry start well and get a lead, the longer they hold onto it the more likely Donegal will feel the need to revert to more traditional gameplan which I believe will suit Kerry.

However if Donegal start brightly and get a goal or two early enough, we will have a mountain to climb clawing a lead back, they are experts of maintaining a foothold in game once they achieve it.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/09/2014 13:06:40    1649038

07/09/2014 12:02:30
SLLY

Kerry would have been favourites to beat all the teams they beat on the way to the final so it's not against the odds

Kerry were rank outsiders for the Munster final and both semi-finals. Some performance by the lads to make the final against all the odds.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 07/09/2014 13:32:16    1649042

stekhli

Donegal are a very ordinary team. I really hope Kerry win for the good of the sport of gaelic football.

stekhli, this was a very ordinary post. I really hope you improve for the good of the sport of posting on HS!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/09/2014 14:08:32    1649054

When will Jim mcguinness start the mind games lads? I bet theyl start tomorrow or some day this week, it's gona be tough to see what he can pick on from this Kerry team . Also I wonder what he will use as motivation for his team, I mean we have no real history bar 2012 and he won that game , I suppose winning the all Ireland will be motivation enough for his team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/09/2014 14:12:12    1649056

stekhli

Kerry will need to go quite defensive , try and build up a lead and make sure to dominate midfield ( which they should ) while working hard to support Jod and Geaney up front , a lot of composure , patience and discipline will be needed while subs will need to make an impact , the trick is not to panic and try not to be lured to much by Donegal out of their defensive shape , Donegal are a very ordinary team , the trick is to play them at their own game and this is where Kerrys quality players will shine through , I really hope Kerry win for the good of the sport of gaelic football , Kerrys big guns will need to perform ie O'Se , Fitzgerald , Crowley , Moran , Maher , Walsh , Dec O'Sullivan and of course JOD who will need to tally at least 8 points if Kerry are to win

Cracking post there mate............ Yes we are an ordinary team like every other team in the country, it's just a pity your team and supporters didn't feel the same way about yourselves last Sunday instead of thinking yous were invincible.....

As regards the good of Gaelic sport...... You obviously must not have seen last weeks game....... Where we blitzed yous with 3-14, not bad for a defensive team........ Sure I mean what earn does us mere mortals like Donegal even be attempting to win a 2nd all Ireland in 3 years, it really should be shared between yous and the kingdom every year.......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 07/09/2014 14:16:31    1649057

I'm sure Jim won't be saying too much, only that it as honour for us donegal to be playing the kingdom in the final and we will go their and give it go and hope for the best........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 07/09/2014 14:18:51    1649058

Awesome attacking display last week alright Ben! 3-14 was some score to register. Donegal will be a difficult opponent no doubt. The defensive triangle followed by the attacking intent is the best in the country right now.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 07/09/2014 14:47:37    1649064

Ben1977
I hope neither camp go down that road and would be disappointed if they do, I think there is big respect between both managers and teams, the next 2 weeks are gona drag :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/09/2014 14:51:12    1649066

TheHermit

Tis impressive stuff all right Gary, it was a golden generation and I believe that over time the Kerry side of 2004-2009 will go down as the third Great Kerry team after Micko's Marvels of 1975-1986 and the great post Civil War side of John Joe Sheehy and Joe Barrett et al from 1924-1932.

But that's all history and it will count for little enough if this wilderness keeps up. Don't want the Twenty-Teens to end up being the only decade Kerry failed to win an All Ireland in since 1880s!!

I agree that the 2004-2009 batch were a extremely talented bunch of players, quality in every position.

As for the Wilderness, I seen signs against Mayo that this current crop won't be too far away.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/09/2014 14:53:26    1649070