Donegal v Kerry

The hermit
What about 2012, did Donegal not beat Kerry on their way to Sam

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/09/2014 17:33:44    1648809

They were in transition for God's sake man that's why ye beat them. :o)

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/09/2014 17:39:01    1648811

My mistake Sam, I forgot to mention Donegal in 2012. But of course my argument remains the same. In 14 seasons since 2000 Kerry have been knocked out of the All Ireland on eight occasions, six of which by the team which was crowned All Ireland champions.

They proved to be the best teams in Ireland that given year, be they from Ulster or not!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 17:48:28    1648816

If on the day we simply come up against a better side than so be it, no shame in losing once you have left everything out on the pitch, as Mayo did last week. But we cannot let slip another final like 2011 when we did not play to our potential for most of the second half.

Maybe you were not let play to your potential and were beaten by a better team that day along with being in transition also of course.
As for beating Tyrone if ye met them any other year other than the years ye did well that's just silly stuff that anyone could claim when they don't win.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/09/2014 17:50:22    1648818

a much inferior down side..that kerry side had some of the best players ever..im aware they were short galvin at his peak and o se but still..that down side never went on to do a whole lot

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 06/09/2014 17:57:05    1648821

Tommy Walsh, Tadgh kennelly and Dara o Se had also gone from the 2009 side fabio8. In fairness it was always going to be hard for them to cope.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/09/2014 18:03:52    1648825

Kerry were in a great position to win in 2011 with 7-8 minutes to go and I believe they threw the game away.

You can believe Dublin were head and shoulders the better side if you wish, but personally I think we lost because we got too complacent and didn't close the game out like we should have done.

Its not degrading Dublin's victory to simply voice an opinion that Kerry lacked the normal experience and composure I would have expected from that team to emerge victorious given the situation they were in with 7-8 minutes left on the clock.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 18:04:47    1648826

Well Fabio we must be the only team in the history of the GAA to lose to an inferior side so. Still its an inferior side that went on a month later to only lose an All Ireland final by 1 point!

And plenty of teams mange to reach a final and then do feck all else in few years after they end up losing it. Recent examples include Meath 2002-Present, Armagh 2003-Present, Mayo 2007-2010.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 18:10:09    1648827

In some ways the situation reminds me of the 2010 All Ireland Final between Cork and Down. Cork then like Donegal now were the physically stronger and more experienced team expected to win going into the Final while Down like Kerry now defied expectations by getting into the final well ahead of schedule. Another lesson from that game for players is you never know if the opportunity will ever come again for you - no matter what county you are from.

Despite being underdogs, Down actually could and probably should have won that final while Cork the warm favourites were very fortunate to squeeze home. Actually Cork probably should have won the 2009 Final and lost the 2010. The point is finals are strange beasts and often take on a life of their own - a hugely decorated and experienced Kerry team straightened their shoulders and looked down the home straight with a little over 5 minutes of normal time remaining in 2011 but the underdog refused to yield.

Donegal based on experience and actually achievement over the last 4 years are rightly just about favourites. I feel with Jimmy McGuinness at the helm they will embrace it and wear the mantle easily enough. However, while this current Kerry team may not have the footballing gold standard of old - I don't think I've seen a gutsier or harder working Kerry team leave the Kingdom in my lifetime. It might take more than one day to sort this battle out.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 06/09/2014 18:17:07    1648832

Jaysus don't say were in for another replay, they'll probably shove us up to Clones because some photo-shoot is going on in Croker!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 18:20:57    1648835

Nobody mentioned Dublin being head and shoulders above anyone but simply were the better team that day and won because of their never say die attitude and a brilliantly finished goal to shock Kerry at the right time and steal the momentum. While I'm at it in relation to Kerry hurling I know enough about it to know it will never impact on Kerry football which is the point I was making and I would have nothing but the height of respect for any team who is fighting against a tradition to one code or another so step back from that.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/09/2014 18:31:57    1648838

Two weeks tonight boys and Dublin will be green and gold with all the fans arriving. Great for us to be in the final again and as they say at home , with the CADDIES in the final and all we should have some weekend. Looking forward to some mighty craic in 2weeks time.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/09/2014 18:35:18    1648841

I suppose Portebello and D2 will be big Donegal haunts Sam, where else do Donegal fans usually end up before big games?

Planning on spending a good bit of weekend in Mulligans myself and customary stop off in Sean O'Casey's and the Gresham that morning of course!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 18:42:23    1648848

TheHermit is making a fair point regards the 2011 final. Firstly as always, hats off to the capital for winning it. In defeat, it's natural to look at where we lost it and that's all that's being discussed. From where I was watching the game in the Hoganstand that day, we were dominating in the second half but started this ridiculous hand passing stuff which was not effective at all. We wasted a number of opportunities to put the game to bed. It was a strange championship for us in some ways. I hear things about soft All-Irelands. Had we won in 2011, I think it could have been labelled this thing of a soft All-Ireland. We went through Munster and the All-Ireland no bother and seemed to be coasting in the final.

All-Irelands however are hard won. The capital seized the day and deservedly won. It was a hard fought win on their behalf and much deserved after years of wait. Finals as has been pointed out are a different beast of a game. The 2011 final and even the hurling final where Offaly came back against Limerick says it all.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 06/09/2014 19:28:34    1648862

TheHermit

I suppose Portebello and D2 will be big Donegal haunts Sam, where else do Donegal fans usually end up before big games?

Planning on spending a good bit of weekend in Mulligans myself and customary stop off in Sean O'Casey's and the Gresham that morning of course!
--
Portobello changed hands about 2005 . D2 or Cassidy's will have lots of Donegal also the Burlo for the winners banquet
Most Interesting will be the brazen head on Monday . A traditional Kerry haunt but Donegal team went there in 2012.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2014 19:54:18    1648873

TheHermit

Skylon Hotel which is owned by the McEniffs is a big gathering point for Donegal supporters, Good breakfast/lunch for €10 to soften the effects of the aclohol!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/09/2014 20:37:51    1648897

I'm glad you acknowledge that it was a deserved victory as was the one in 2013 and of course we all perform postmortems after we loose but it was just the terminology seemed a little disingenuous but maybe he's no Con Houlihan but then again who is.Finals can indeed be strange beasts as you put it but equally perhaps it's because they are finals that they are perceived in a certain way and we do see strange outcomes in league and championship games often enough eg Tipp and Kilkenny in the league earlier this year also Dublin v Cork earlier this year. Yes it was the league but anyone there on those occasions went away scratching their heads.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/09/2014 21:29:04    1648929

Donegal after match is in city west

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2014 21:48:57    1648944

The hermit
A lot of Donegal people were in The Regency , out towards the airport last weekend and I think it will be full again in two weeks time Quinns and Dorset st Sunday morning as most Donegal buses come in there these days with the new motorway coming from Dundalk. Cassidys would be another I don't drink myself but I also go into O shea's in Talbot st. Plus the Greshem as it is a good meeting place.also I was in Murrays on O Connell st on Sat night 2012 and good fun between Mayo/Donegal fans.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/09/2014 21:53:59    1648947

Never said Dublin didn't prove themselves better than Kerry on that day 2011 SLLY, just frustrated that Kerry let a commanding position slip when game looked in the bag.

Was worst I ever felt after a Kerry defeat and it took a while to get over it, I tell ya. But I was convinced after it that next time Kerry got to a final they would not let it get away. Still think that, Kerry for Sam!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/09/2014 21:58:07    1648948