Donegal v Kerry

I suppose Kerry will recieve the same amount of tickets as Donegal- sorry I forgot, they go to finals...

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/09/2014 12:59:04    1648384

For me Kerry have alaways been to Gaelic football what Brazil have been to soccer,it's going to be a great occasion just to play them in a final,'92 and the semi this year were brilliant against the Dubs,but for me playing the Kingdom tops it.
I see a lot of bitterness coming from some Tyrone folk,we always supported ye so I don't know what your problem is unless you're feeling left out.
At this stage the joy of getting to the final leaves me not really caring if we win or not,that doesn't make much sense I suppose but I'm sure as the game approaches that will change,good luck to both teams on the day and may the best team win.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 05/09/2014 13:53:58    1648408

Think Kerry will win the All Ireland I'm afraid...there like dogs this year...

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 05/09/2014 14:09:31    1648422

I think the behavior of some of the Donegal fans in that 2013 match in Ballybofey has soured our relationship with our Tyrone brethren. I remember getting a few beatings from them most notably in 2007 but must say I cheered ye on in 2003(well I wasnt going to cheer on Armagh after beating us) 2005 and 2008

Always find myself cheering on the Ulster teams against rest of country probably in part because of the anti Nordie bias in the media.
Some of the best matches outside Donegal would have to be:
Down beating Kerry in 2010
Tyrone battering Dublin in the quarters in 2008
All Tyrones and Armaghs All Ireland wins

Most fellas I know are the same. Is there many other Ulster fans cheering on Kerry to beat Donegal?

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 202 - 05/09/2014 15:26:58    1648463

A plea to all Donegal fans keep the hype down u seen what it did to fancied Dublin. Leave the football to Jim and our wonderful team not forgetting Declan and his heroes and you'll find they won't let us down dun na Ngall Abu

Gaafanatic61 (Donegal) - Posts: 48 - 05/09/2014 16:03:38    1648489

Kerry's midfield is a different class to anything we have faced so far. Their defensive strategy is well versed and a naturally brilliant attack all points to a seriously formidable opponent. Donegal will need another savage performance to live with Kerry for 70 minutes. What I admire also about Kerry is their ability to stick at it when the chips are down. They pulled themselves out of a hole big-time against Mayo twice and Fitzmaurice has them believing. It takes a fine team to stop that Mayo outfit so for me, Kerry are slight favourites despite what the bookies may say.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 05/09/2014 17:25:18    1648533

In the semi last year, Kerry were caught out at the end. Weaker bench. Not enough mental toughness. This year, they have drifted on occasion BUT they are far more adaptable and can call on strength in depth.

Every Kerry player wants, by instinct, to cut loose. EF has drilled into them various systems of play to counter that. Why? Donegal are masters of mass defence and experts at goal raiding counter attacks. I expect EF to cal plays almost like an American Football coach. I would be certain of it working if two of C Cooper, B Sheehan and D O'Sullivan were fully fit and battle hardened. Indeed, EF has done an excellent job precisely because he's had excuses a plenty not to get this far.

Now, the referee needs sorting before the final. Greater clarity is required about what will be permitted. It would be a real shame if the final is won by frees and penalties with fourteen men playing thirteen

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 05/09/2014 17:29:39    1648534

Kerry could very easily win this one. But I am not going to doubt our lads after last sunday. I think that it will be the most tactical game of the modern era, 2 young managers watching every play. Much more interesting sport as a result. Absolutely cannot wait for this game!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/09/2014 19:03:28    1648580

Would it be a good idea if a ref met with both managers and both captains at the same time maybe the Thursday or Friday before a game and go through what is and isn't acceptable , that way the manager and captain could go back to there respective teams and tell them what's what then there could be no qualms if something does happen in a game. What ye think of that idea?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 19:13:03    1648582

A few Kerry boys seem very worried and stressed about the referring of this game, why yous so apprenshive about this facet of this game? It's important in every championship game?

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 05/09/2014 19:33:06    1648594

I'm not sure being compared with Brazil is a compliment after the World Cup! We are where we are anyways regards being in transition. I haven't heard any complaints really regards Donegal being the clear favourites by the bookies. Some of the Donegal players have been complimentary of Kerry in interviews after last week's game. It's nice of them but it's all media talk at the same time and they are just going through the motions. Donegal without question are going to be a difficult opponent.

I cannot see Donegal suffering from the hype that got the better of their opponents last week. Donegal are favourites no question but the circumstances are different to that of their opponents a week ago.

Kerry's midfield have done alright. Moran obviously had a good game the last day. One or two swallows don't make a summer. Donegal are the difficult opponent no doubt. Donegal were not blown away by the capital machine that was destroying everything that was put in front of them.

The Donegal defensive triangle is the best defensive system in the country. The forward is being marked by the defender but as the ball comes into him, two other players close in in no time at all. Donegal's attack then once they have possession is awesome and lethal. 3-14 they amassed against the unbeatable Dubs. Says it all as does the odds from the bookies. Not a whole lot more can be said.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 05/09/2014 19:36:13    1648596

Truthfully, the last two encounters between Kerry and Galway at the business end of the competition and Tyrone's clinical execution in 08 are my favs over the past ten years. Local rivalry is a bane and a boon. In Kerry, we can be harsh about Cork because we are close neighbours... and... we know that if we let down our guard they will annihilate us. When Cork do seal the deal, I am always happy as I want them to win if we're not there. Hardly surprising really. Just see how many Kerry players have played for UCC. Great university. Great city.

Watching the final in London can be a nuisance. Lots of gadflies about. Some of whom take more pleasure from others losing than their own crowd winning. Watch Kilkenny on Sunday. They are playing to win. Settling scores is for the mafia or bookies. All the while, I think of great players from lesser counties. Mind you, my regard for John Galvin will go out the window when next he togs out against DC for Cratloe.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 05/09/2014 19:37:27    1648597

KingdomBoy1

Would it be a good idea if a ref met with both managers and both captains at the same time maybe the Thursday or Friday before a game and go through what is and isn't acceptable , that way the manager and captain could go back to there respective teams and tell them what's what then there could be no qualms if something does happen in a game. What ye think of that idea?

Unnecessary. The rule book is sufficient. I think that neither team are dirty teams, although we did pick up 2 black cards the last day out, the first one being a very soft one, they were merited according to the rule book. No complaints from the donegal camp about either. I think that kerry were involved in a hugely competitive tie v mayo and the rule book went out the window, especially the second day out. The ref actually lost control of the game. If kerry play the way they did v cork or clare, or even galway, then they should have nothing to worry about. But if they go out the same way as they did v mayo, then they run the huge risk of punishment from the ref. Or they might get away with it. This is exactly the reason why the ref should stay well away from both camps before the final. Because it would only serve as a benchmark by either team as to what the can get away with.

I dont see a dirty game happening unless it is premeditated, and neither team is likely to lure the other into that sort of a game, unless they are insecure of their footballing abilities.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/09/2014 20:13:26    1648604

Donegalman
I know what you mean and I also think it'l be a clean game with gods help, but in general would it not be a good idea for the future? The reff the two managers and the 2 captains and it might just break the ice a bit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 20:35:52    1648610

Seems some posters from both counties are seriously worried about carrying the favourites tag and think that if they mention transition enough times and keeping the hype down in other cases that it will somehow change their chances on the day.
Yes players are human but does anyone think that supporters talk and bookies tags will get to them. The bookies are regularly wrong as we witnessed recently so enough of the down playing already nobody is swallowing it least of all the people that matter, the players.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 05/09/2014 20:42:58    1648614

KingdomBoy1

I think it's a great idea kingdom, even 1 hour before the game would do for 5 minutes. The more communication the better.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/09/2014 20:48:39    1648617

Very little in this to be honest. Clearly I believe we are much better fixed for any ariel threat. Mayo needed to outfield Donaghy with small defenders. We have the 2 mcgees who dont even need to field they just need to punch it to the sweeper. I expect we will double team donoghue - maybe Lacey and Eamon.
Looking at the Mayo game - Kerry conceded a lot of frees if we get our runners going and if Murphy wins ball inside the 45 i expect the free count to be high so Mcfadden will need to be on form
( i noticed a free on his side v Dublin from 40m where murphy played it short - If Mcfadden was confident he would have taken this direct. If Kerry start like thevdid against Mayo in replay with 4 poor wides Donegal will be biting at their heels.

However my big concern is midfield - It took Neil 30 minutes to get into the game against Dublin and 40'v Armagh. If we give Kerry that much scope Maher and Moran will destroy us.
If they get quick ball into O donoghue we will not have the same cover as we do with a slow build up. This to me is the crucial battle.

Another key difference could be Sheehan. Donegal will concede frees outside 40m but not many insude - his accuarcy/ fitness is key v Donegal.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 05/09/2014 21:04:53    1648623

Why fear clarity, transparency and accountability? What is wrong with the ref and gus team neetung the managers ans captains to specifically clarity what will and what won't be tolerated? What is more, I would like to see a fourth official being more proactive:

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 05/09/2014 21:04:56    1648624

Why fear clarity, transparency and accountability? What is wrong with the ref and gus team neetung the managers ans captains to specifically clarity what will and what won't be tolerated? What is more, I would like to see a fourth official being more proactive: the modern game is very fast!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 05/09/2014 21:05:47    1648626

Muckrosshead
Cheers ould stock, it isn't often I have a good idea but I think it would help, and pike your right you can't have enough clarity when it comes to big games.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 21:38:27    1648634