Donegal v Kerry

No news from our camp. Excellent sign. Bring on Sunday.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/09/2014 20:04:45    1653600

Donegal are favourites because the beat Dublin.

Its like there previous games don't matter.

one game lads, to be honest I thought Ulster was poor this year.

Donegal struggled over Armagh then came in under the reader against Dublin.

I do believe that Donegals counter attack against Dublin was excellent BUT Dublin contributed
to Donegal's success that day with awful defending.

Kerry will have 9 new players starting an all Ireland for the first time on Sunday.
This is a new period for us and lots of unknowns for us.

my fear is Murphy on the square under the high ball, its giving me nightmare's.
we must try and starve him of the ball if possible.

Either way its been a great Summer for us.

Ciarrai Abu.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/09/2014 20:33:40    1653613

I suppose Donegal have put in the best performance of the championship westkerry. I don't think Armagh and Tyrone are all that far away at all to be honest.

We've a lot of unknowns alright. I don't like this uncertainty at all. M Murphy is the dangerman but there are other possible foxes in the box who'll cause trouble.

It's been a good championship but the players and management are well aware of the important currency. Ciarrai abu! :)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7869 - 18/09/2014 20:45:49    1653619

Kerry XV to face Donegal:
B Kelly;
M O Se, A O'Mahony, F Fitzgerald (capt);
P Murphy, P Crowley, K Young;
A Maher, D Moran;
S O'Brien, J Buckley, D Walsh;
S O'Brien, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7869 - 18/09/2014 20:47:57    1653620

B Kelly;
A Maher, D Moran;
P Geaney, K Donaghy, J O'Donoghue.

(correction from earlier XV, not trying to smokescreen the Donegal lads!)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7869 - 18/09/2014 20:51:23    1653623

Kerry - 1-5

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 18/09/2014 20:52:13    1653625

Legend
The currency is very important to our lads, it's how they will be judged for years to come.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2014 21:06:52    1653634

legendzxix

B Kelly;
A Maher, D Moran;
P Geaney, K Donaghy, J O'Donoghue.
(correction from earlier XV, not trying to smokescreen the Donegal lads!)

legend, We will pay about as much attention to this named team & you will to any team named by JMcG.

To tell you the truth I don't really see the point in naming teams when they are rarely if ever the actual starting 15, never mind positional switches

I know the programmes have to be printed & all that but surely we are now at a stage where all we really need to know is who is the fella in the No 25 jersey, a straight listing starting at No 1 & going down the list would be much easier to use.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/09/2014 21:30:33    1653650

Donegal don't usually bother naming a team. But safe to say its the same as the last day with Christy Toye starting

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 19/09/2014 10:33:19    1653726

no question it will b the same starting 15. Midfield likely to be subject to change through the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/09/2014 10:41:04    1653729

I think it shows a bit of fear by Jim not to name his team, but I'm sure Eamon won't be too worried bout it, we're gona play our own game and let Donegal try and adapt if they can.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2014 12:22:13    1653788

I think the last game Donegal named a team was Ulster Final so def no fear anyway.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/09/2014 12:29:41    1653801

for Donegal and Kerry people what player would you not want to be without for this match. God forbid if one player got injured between now and the start of the match. which player would you NOT want it to be. conversely which opposition player would you be only too glad to not be facing.

I would say if it was Dublin that would be Cluxton, Mayo Cillian O' Connor.

Donegal. M.Murphy and Kerry would be more difficult. I know JOD would be the obvious choice but I still think Kerry could cope.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/09/2014 12:44:35    1653811

Cant wait for the game to get started. Should be an intense match , I will hold back from saying it will be a cracker!

Confident Kerry will bring Sam home but can as easily go skewways.

Well hope Kerry & Donegal peeps (and whoever else is around Dublin) have a great weekend.
See some of you in Flannerys on Sunday night!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/09/2014 13:20:07    1653836

legendzxix

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I disagree with you as well Gary but naturally you are entitled to your opinion and you are simply expressing that obiously enough! You are right regards Donegal not being drawn out. They have shape and they'll stick to it more or less. As they showed early in the 12 final though, they can mix it and go for the jugular as well if necessary. You've an interesting view on the game however. Sure all we all are doing is speculating. Some Donegal posters on here have hit on possibly one of Kerry's best approaches for the game. I'll be interested to see if it's something they will adopt. Time will tell. Ciarrai abu!

These games are really difficult to decipher, because nobody really knows how both sides will react on the day. So many variables to consider tactically.

I did call it in favour of Donegal 2 weeks ago, and not without some thought. In other words, I didn't automatically just say Donegal out of some blind commitment to

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/09/2014 14:13:41    1653885

legendzxix

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I disagree with you as well Gary but naturally you are entitled to your opinion and you are simply expressing that obiously enough! You are right regards Donegal not being drawn out. They have shape and they'll stick to it more or less. As they showed early in the 12 final though, they can mix it and go for the jugular as well if necessary. You've an interesting view on the game however. Sure all we all are doing is speculating. Some Donegal posters on here have hit on possibly one of Kerry's best approaches for the game. I'll be interested to see if it's something they will adopt. Time will tell. Ciarrai abu!

These games are really difficult to decipher, because nobody really knows how both sides will react on the day. So many variables to consider tactically.

I did call it in favour of Donegal 2 weeks ago, and not without some thought. In other words, I didn't automatically just say Donegal out of some blind commitment to the Ulster Champions.
And when I did call it, I felt it would be a very tight encounter in the end.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/09/2014 14:19:19    1653887

I think we may have a draw on Sunday

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 19/09/2014 14:28:30    1653896

I don't think I could face a draw and have to wait out for the replay with probably even more tension! Christ above I've never known anything like it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 19/09/2014 14:35:46    1653901

As a lot of ye Kerry and Donegal men/woman will be making a weekend of it,i wish both counties all the best on this most special time of year.Soak up the atmosphere,the craic,the citys many great watering holes.I may even pick one of ye up in my cab.Half price if i do.May the best team win!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 19/09/2014 14:37:02    1653902

Out of Interest,

Would an All Ireland final replay wreck havoc on the County Club Championships in both counties? When would that replay take place?

I know the Donegal championship will commence after the final, and they have already requested the Ulster Club Championship be delayed.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/09/2014 14:44:11    1653907