Donegal v Kerry

All the best to Declan, Jim, the Minor s, Senior s, and every1 got to do with Donegal, on sunday against Kerry, go on boy s do us proud, wont be easy but i believe we can do it, roll on sunday.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 18/09/2014 12:48:56    1653370

GaryMc - Completely disagree with your idea that Kerry need to blow donegal out of the water in the first 20 mins - Donegal will hope Kerry attack in waves early on - they'll soak it up and open up to play when Kerry start to tire. Kerry need to be very patient - get a good foothold at midfield, retain their shape and try to draw donegal out of their shell early on. Kerry need to pace themselves and be in a position to attack Donegal when they start to commit numbers forward - thats the only chance we have of getting O'Donoghue into the game to do real damage. If theres only a point or two in it with 10-15 mins to go I'd fancy Kerry to close it out as I think we'll have the superior bench especially if Darren O Sullivan and Stephen O Brien are back fit.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 18/09/2014 13:11:31    1653387

Donegal have typically over the past few years raised their game in the third quarter and blown teams away so you could see if they were in touch at half-time they were likely to win. Against Derry & Antrim they did this and coasted through the final 15 minutes.
Against Monaghan they were always in control and could have won by much more. Armagh was the only sticky one where, I thought, some of the off-the-ball stuff made it difficult for Donegal.

Against Dublin they raised the game at an earlier stage - from 25 minutes in and left Dublin in tatters - showing that they can vary their strategy.

I don't believe this is a great Kerry team. I think Mayo are not as good as some people think which led to two great games between fairly average teams.

So I think Donegal will win comfortably, maybe not on the scoreboard as they tend to close out games defensively rather than going for big scores but I can't see them being behind for much of the game apart from maybe the first 20 minutes.

Donegal by 4.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 18/09/2014 13:54:58    1653413

They say that you shouldn't wish your life away but I'd happily give the next 2 days the chop to get to Sunday.
I've been reading various respectable columnists' views and predictions and I'm swaying between quiet confidence and utter panic from one minute to the next!
I'm going to do a 15K run tonight to clear the head. Or else drink about 10 pints. Anything to take the mind off!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9153 - 18/09/2014 14:02:31    1653419

Kerry will look to try and goalblitz Donegal from the start and they have the players to do it BUT Kerry won't go gung ho like Dublin did; they are tactically a bit more astute and will bide their time a bit.. However Donegal will close ranks and stifle Kerry's nippy forwards and squeeze the confidence out of them. If Donegal are leading at half time or are very near Kerry they will win but Kerry are very capable of repeating what Mayo did last year to Donegal.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 18/09/2014 14:10:15    1653426

blacknamber
If theres only a point or two in it with 10-15 mins to go I'd fancy Kerry to close it out as I think we'll have the superior bench.

Now, where have I heard talk of a "superior" bench before?

It's on the tip of my tounge, give me a minute & it'll come to me..................

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/09/2014 14:14:28    1653429

blackanamber
The only flaw with what you have outlined is that Donegal won't come out, even if behind. We seen that in the Dublin game. Dublin had a better start than any other against donegal this year but we still didn't see much of a chance in the system. The personnel and positions changed slightly as Neil Gallagher went to midfield and Toye came on but the defensive set up stayed exactly the same we just got more reward going forward with different players.
This game will go right to the wire. Both teams have shown that they will go full pelt for the full 70 and more. There is a great hunger for success in both teams and Donegal will find that Kerry won't panic like Dublin did as EF will have them primed for patience.
I still maintain that if Donegal put adequate pressure around the middle third on the kickers playing into O Donoghue and Donaghy therefore limiting accurate ball it will go a long way to winning the game. We did this successfully in 2012 and Tomas O Shea said that although they were prepared for it, they just had a split second to get that ball right and they more often didn't get it right.
Kerry will set up defensively and try to deliver long ball quickly in the event of a turnover so I'd imagine Donegal will play with at least one sitting sweeper even when we are attacking.
The biggest obstacle for Kerry will be if Donegal get a good start and go 4 or 5 up. What will Kerry do then? Will they bomb everyone forward leaving gaps for the counter or stick to the gameplan and hope it comes right!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2014 14:21:49    1653431

It's remarkable. Donegal are favourites by virtue of being last but one champions and putting out the champions. Too much talk about their system. Both teams adapt, and that is what has brought them this far. Targeting McHugh and Murphy for Kerry is as obvious as Donegal shackling Donaghy and O'Donoghue. Chances are others will shine far brighter on the day. Finals are like that.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 18/09/2014 15:02:56    1653461

Lockjaw........... I couldn't have out it better myself, if its any consolation I'm feeling the exact same and I'm pretty sure that goes for most of Donegal fans and maybe 3 Kerry fans as there used to this oul Craic by now..........

Only 3 sleeps to go, I plan to nullify myself with beer on Friday and Saturday night but tonight could be a long one......

Come on Donegal

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 18/09/2014 15:36:36    1653480

Kerry team named tonight, should be interesting to see

jackrobin (Kerry) - Posts: 15 - 18/09/2014 16:08:37    1653493

plike

It's remarkable. Donegal are favourites by virtue of being last but one champions and putting out the champions. Too much talk about their system. Both teams adapt, and that is what has brought them this far. Targeting McHugh and Murphy for Kerry is as obvious as Donegal shackling Donaghy and O'Donoghue. Chances are others will shine far brighter on the day. Finals are like that.

Good post plike.

I remember 1992 when Manus Boyle came from nowhere to score 0-9 in the final against Dublin.

Someone is going to make a name for himself on Sunday, the only question is who.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/09/2014 16:35:47    1653511

Getting so nervous now

Did a betting podcast with Alan Mulholland, the outgoig Galway manager here:

https://soundcloud.com/kevin-breslin-1/all-ireland-football-final-2014-podcast

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rz5nJmuVUSk&list=UUS0KdbmtQm2DyI9iajMY90g

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 202 - 18/09/2014 16:43:34    1653516

Aye we are fans for the game but only marginally. I would sy the bookies are looking at our experience when they gave out the price. Still, if we. Don't deserve the tag, we r. There for the taking and that's fair enough.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/09/2014 16:51:13    1653525

I don't think Kerry need to win the game in the first 20 minutes. Donegal went for the jugular early on in the 12 final. We did something similar in 04, 06 and 07 but they bizarrely got labelled soft by some lacking knowledge of the game.

Of the two camps, it's possibly Donegal who'll look to build an early lead. If they don't or even if they are behind, they won't panic and will adapt to the situation if it arises. The 3rd quarter is called championship minutes. Donegal have a great record in that quarter while Kerry have had poor 3rd quarters. Donegal are in a great place. We've too many uncertainties and I don't like it. 97 is probably the last time we've gone into a final like this. The momentum appears to be coming from the north-west. I am optimistic for my county. It's a huge task ahead. I hope they can deliver against all the odds. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 18/09/2014 17:14:34    1653541

Was terrified after seeing Joe Brolly's preview of the final on Sunday Game, he would almost make you believe Donegal are unbeatable. But no team is and no Kerry side would ever go into a game of senior football believing in their soul they weren't good enough to win it.

The closer this game gets, the more confident I am that Kerry will win. I can't explain it in terms or tactics, player match ups, background personal ect but I have seen this Kerry side mature in the space of a few summer months into a team I think will be around for a very long time. And I saw signs of it in the league, even when a few results were going against us. Yes maybe we might be vulnerable under a high ball and when teams run at our back line, yes Donegal have a highly organised system designed to sap confidence of teams, yes they can get goals etc.

I just feel that football is still a simple game, and usually the team with the better forwards wins. Donegal force teams to shoot from distance, but there is no better team with forwards able to shoot from distance than Kerry. They won't panic just because things go against them during a game, we saw that in abundance against Mayo. They have steel and they lack fear. I can't see Donegal reaching heights of Dublin performance while from a Kerry point of few, I still think we have yet to replicate how good we were against Cork. I feel Kerry have another gear in them and Donegal don't.

The other thing is, and its probably not coming from Donegal, but the media has become obsessed with them and Jim again this year. I've been listening to bits and pieces about the build up on things like Off the Ball and its all Jim, Jim, Jim. the run up down home is low key, very few people in media seem to be talking about Kerry. It makes me confident. Going in still under the radar and ready to let loose.

This is how I see it going: Kerry to put in a monumental effort to keep their defensive composure, limit amount of frees they give away and crucially not let Donegal get s sniff of goal thus forcing Donegal to shoot from distance. Kerry meanwhile to pick off their scores from range and build up 3-5 point lead by half time. Then to keep patient and take their scores in second half and using their bench to exploit space in the defence when game becomes a bit more open in last 10-15 minutes. Kerry by 4 or 5, I reckon (and hope!!!).

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/09/2014 17:24:06    1653545

blacknamber

GaryMc - Completely disagree with your idea that Kerry need to blow donegal out of the water in the first 20 mins - Donegal will hope Kerry attack in waves early on - they'll soak it up and open up to play when Kerry start to tire. Kerry need to be very patient - get a good foothold at midfield, retain their shape and try to draw donegal out of their shell early on. Kerry need to pace themselves and be in a position to attack Donegal when they start to commit numbers forward - thats the only chance we have of getting O'Donoghue into the game to do real damage. If theres only a point or two in it with 10-15 mins to go I'd fancy Kerry to close it out as I think we'll have the superior bench especially if Darren O Sullivan and Stephen O Brien are back fit.

I stand over what I said, and I maintain that Kerry will definitely need to hit Donegal very very hard in the first 20 minutes and maintain that lead until half time. The problem with playing the patience game, Is that you probably won't draw Donegal out. Look back at every game this season, and they don't break rank whether behind or in front.

Donegal have learned sharp lessons from Monaghan & Mayo back in 2013, and no longer commit substancial numbers forward. They always keep at least 7 players back, and with 2 full forwards in advanced positions. The rest of their attack/defence tends to vary, but their backline and goal mouth is rarely exposed.

The only scenario I can envisage Donegal breaking rank, is if they are behind by a very large score and time is running out. And the patience approach is unlikely to reap Kerry that kind of lead.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 18/09/2014 17:41:34    1653554

@TheHermit - Brolly made a good case for them alright. I had the nightmare outlined by SamOnErrigal after watching it! I understand your confidence. I saw the same signs in the league. Neither side will panic on Sunday however. The capital were the only semi-finalist to panic. I don't expect a replication of the Cork game nor the Mayo game.

The media focus on Donegal is understandable. Their semi-final performance was awesome. They appear to be at a higher level than 2012.

It'll be great to have a lead at half-time but regardless of a lead if there is one or not, Donegal will not be fazed by it. One of many options available to Kerry is something which has been outlined by the Donegal contingent on here funnily enough. We're in for a tough game. Ciarrai abu!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 18/09/2014 17:57:26    1653562

Confident eh! Jaysus you better not let your man see you posting like that.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 18/09/2014 18:04:04    1653565

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I stand over what I said, and I maintain that Kerry will definitely need to hit Donegal very very hard in the first 20 minutes and maintain that lead until half time. The problem with playing the patience game, Is that you probably won't draw Donegal out. Look back at every game this season, and they don't break rank whether behind or in front.

Donegal have learned sharp lessons from Monaghan & Mayo back in 2013, and no longer commit substancial numbers forward. They always keep at least 7 players back, and with 2 full forwards in advanced positions. The rest of their attack/defence tends to vary, but their backline and goal mouth is rarely exposed.

The only scenario I can envisage Donegal breaking rank, is if they are behind by a very large score and time is running out. And the patience approach is unlikely to reap Kerry that kind of lead.

I disagree with you as well Gary but naturally you are entitled to your opinion and you are simply expressing that obiously enough! You are right regards Donegal not being drawn out. They have shape and they'll stick to it more or less. As they showed early in the 12 final though, they can mix it and go for the jugular as well if necessary. You've an interesting view on the game however. Sure all we all are doing is speculating. Some Donegal posters on here have hit on possibly one of Kerry's best approaches for the game. I'll be interested to see if it's something they will adopt. Time will tell. Ciarrai abu!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 18/09/2014 18:06:07    1653567

As the weekend nudges a little closer I'm starting to get more relaxed and confident thank god, I tought I'd need Valium earlier in the week but I suppose the beauty of being a Kerry supporter is we can take allireland defeats pretty well, and my god we've had quite a few of them, but we know the drill by now, saying that I haven't given our young manager Eamon fitzmaurice enough credit for what he has done for us and it's time I did now, he's only 37 and he carries the weight of our football tradition and our high expectations on his broad shoulders, what a man, and he must have ice in his veins as well, and I think he'd be some poker player coz he gives nothing away. Go on Eamon boy bring us home Sam . An Riocht Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2014 19:21:48    1653595