Donegal v Kerry

Good man legend,
The closer I get to Sunday the more excited I am about meeting the great Kerry in an All Ireland final.

After the Dublin game I felt that if the good Lord had decided to come and take me there & then, I would have gone a happy man.

Daughter No. 3, who accompanied me, asked about tickets for the final and I had to declare that I wasn't that bothered whether I got one or not. We had beaten Dublin in Croke Park in the most amazing circumstances & I felt that nothing could surpass it.

Now however as the big day approaches, I am being a pain in the a**e as far as the club secretary is concerned, I'm not sleeping well & as cranky as could be.

All signs that a big game is coming!!!!

C'mon Donegal!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/09/2014 18:04:55    1652815

I still can't pick a winner, it is dragging in, wake me up on Sunday.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/09/2014 18:38:03    1652835

Not too bothered who wins but best of luck to both teams and supporters, i hope its a classic. Both teams deserve to be in the final, we can complain about negative tactics and refs all we like but it wasn't a fluke that Kerry beat Mayo (we should have won the 1st day) and Donegal beating Dublin (sure who did Dublin beat up to that point but Div 2, 3 and 4 teams). In my opinion Eamon Fitz is a gentleman, never heard him whinge or complain about other teams, nice to see that in manager and he has got his team to an AllIreland final when nobody gave them a chance. I don't really like Jim McGuinness as a manager he seems too stubborn, too moody and looks like he'll bite the head off you if you say the wrong thing but as a player he was a legend and in all honestly he has proven himself as a great manager with his Donegal team 2 AllIreland finals in 3 years, should be going for 3 in a row this year but for the disaster last year v Mayo. Looking forward to a good game, safe travelling to all

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/09/2014 19:55:21    1652853

Love or hate Kerry, there's been tough defeats to bounce back from over the last few years. Down in a quarter-final in 10, losing a final when they should have closed it out in 11 (our opponents of course seized the day!), conceding an early sloppy early goal in the 12 quarter-final but as Jack O'Connor admitted our opponents had our measure and losing out in a classic semi-final last year where a starting XV without strong enough reinforcements from the bench gave it their all. Fitz has done some job to get the current crop to a final. Players and management are well aware of the currency on which they'll be judged.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 16/09/2014 20:13:50    1652860

Riverboys
Fair play to you and thanks, hopefully we can make the most of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/09/2014 20:33:30    1652864

Riverboys,Dublin beats what was put in front of them up to that point which is all any team can do as you can well appreciate.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 16/09/2014 21:10:56    1652876

Legendzxix
What I am saying is just my own opinion but as we all know we don't know how the game will pan out.
What would worry me would be the Kerry players looking at recent results against Ulster teams in AI finals and they could end up playing out of their skins. They might take it into their heads;;;; no more defeats by an Ulster team in a final. So that's one thing could spur them on. Also you never know when a team WONT perform but I hope it does not happen to Donegal on Sunday. So as I said yesterday Kerry can win( of course they can) but I doubt it.
It will be very interesting to see what the Donegal players do once the ball is thrown in. If the Donegal half forwards fall back into the defence what will the Kerry half backs do. ???
I myself would think that it must be very difficult for an opposing manager to plan for Donegal. Any suggestions from posters on here, what would you do and how would you go about it ???

I might be wrong but I think this is a serious team (Donegal) I think they are peaking at the right time, not really dependant on any given player on any given day ( M Murphy to a great extent would be one ) as different players contributed to their victories over the summer.
What I would not like to see happening is that K Donaghy would run amok and being our downfall. Donegal has got enough warning about Star /JOD so should have their defensive house in order. Anything can happen but I am fairly confident that's SAMs first stop next Monday will be Pettigo. T and S for the Hills

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 16/09/2014 21:45:30    1652885

According to some from Ulster the capital had an easy route but again it's been shown competitive games is an advantage. Just as Division 1 football is good championship preparation, Ulster championship is by far the best preparation when it comes to the All-Ireland series.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 16/09/2014 21:52:38    1652890

Check out the Kerry & Donegal Homepage for a chance to win Premium Level Tickets to the Final:

http://hoganstand.com/Kerry/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=224114
http://hoganstand.com/donegal/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=224114

Draw has been extended until this Friday @ 8pm

wicklowrunner (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 17/09/2014 09:12:19    1652918

MuckrossHead It's just that Kerry depended so much on Donaghy against Mayo, he was the difference between the two teams.

Donaghy had a huge impact to be sure, O'Donoghue is a class forward (understatement of the year) and Kerry cleaned up in midfield. Yet D & O'D only scored 1-4 from play between them.

So unless 'what made the difference' is also in the mix against Donegal it might be tough for Kerry.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 17/09/2014 10:31:52    1652955

I watched the Dublin game in full last night again and although it was a great victory I wouldn't be getting over confident after watching it,if Dublin had scored one of their goal chances they'd have been out of sight,Dublin seemed to fall apart after we got back on terms with them, I don't think you'd see any Kerry team collapse like that,I know we played brilliant but we'll need that level of performance from the throw in to beat Kerry,they are coming into this game perfectly placed,a very dangerous animal,I'm sure the lads are well aware of this though,Jim knows his stuff a lot better than me.
I see the game as 50/50 and going into any game with Kerry with a 50/50 chance is very good.This week is dragging it's still only Wedensday,csn't wait for Sunday,hope it's a great game, and the ref has a good game,and may the best team win.
Tir Chonaill Abu.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 17/09/2014 11:55:11    1652983

legendzxix

According to some from Ulster the capital had an easy route but again it's been shown competitive games is an advantage. Just as Division 1 football is good championship preparation, Ulster championship is by far the best preparation when it comes to the All-Ireland series.

I don't think Leinster is an easy route, the problem is more that most teams in Leinster feel Inferior to Dublin before the ball is even thrown in. This is more of a mental thing, rather than a physical or conditioning thing. Now in fairness, Meath have shown the balls to challenge Dublin from time to time. But Meath have been unable to sustain this pressure, and Kildare's failure to win Leinster titles has probably meant that Dublin dimissed them as a genuine threat.

As for the Ulster Championship, It can be more of a hinderance that a blessing at times. Donegal took major hits to their efforts to reach full strength last season in vicious battles against Tyrone, Down and Monaghan. But yes if you can manage to avoid Injuries, It certainly will toughen you up.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 17/09/2014 16:53:01    1653153

like the Scottish referendum, this I think, will be close...

...and the result will be the right one

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 17/09/2014 19:27:14    1653204

like the Scottish referendum, this I think, will be close...

...and the result will be the right one

My spidey sense is tingling, at that comment

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/09/2014 20:17:12    1653218

Best wishes to all travelling to CP on Sunday and to all the players on both sides.
To all Kerry fans well I'm not wishing ye a successful weekend but I do hope you all enjoy yerselves and see what it like to be in among Donegal fans on All Ireland final day.
Must go as I'm heading for the skies again tomorrow morning and back to Donegal to see the county in its golden splendour. Then Dub sat and settle in for Sunday and the big game. Once again it's great to be there and I'm so thankful for both Seniors and minors to be in the finals. Must be in C p early on Sunday as I want to see history::: the first ever minor Donegal team running out on All Ireland final day. Best of luck to all Hope to see Sam and Tom in Pettigo on Mon evening

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 17/09/2014 22:03:21    1653255

Getting close now, really looking forward to this one, Donegal do have the edge with Jim McGuinness setting them up superbly and if it was any other team I'd fancy Donegal but Kerry are Kerry and that's what makes this such a hard one to call. Kerry have surprised a few people this year (myself included) because without the Gooch it was hard to see them making real progress yet here they are in AI final but still I just think that Donegal will have that little bit more than the Kingdom on this occasion, Donegal by 3 or 4 for me.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/09/2014 10:43:32    1653303

As much as I support Kerry, this is an average Kerry team, I feel Donegal will win by 2 goals,I have a nightmare that M Murphy and McFadden will get 3 goals between them in first 20 mims.

3-13 Donegal -Kerry 1 -13

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 18/09/2014 11:03:41    1653308

kerryrowz, your nightmare is my dream. If Murphy and McFadden can twine early like in 2012 it'll do wonders for my nerves!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 18/09/2014 11:45:46    1653329

kerryrowz stay at home will you!!!!!

Confident of a Kerry win :-) it is 50/50

I stated from a long way out Kerry had a great chance of winning the All ireland if someone else beats Dublin. That has happened so hopefully we can beat that someone else!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/09/2014 11:58:25    1653334

kerryrowz

As much as I support Kerry, this is an average Kerry team, I feel Donegal will win by 2 goals,I have a nightmare that M Murphy and McFadden will get 3 goals between them in first 20 mims.

3-13 Donegal -Kerry 1 -13

No I think while Murphy will rotate as usual, he be mainly designated to midfield to help Neil Gallagher deal with Kerry's exceptional midfield pairing. Jim McGuinness's management team will know that Donegal will not be allowed the same space against Kerry, that they found so plentiful against Dublin. And that Kerry will possess more patience and much better attacking options that most defensive sides Donegal have played to date.

Donegal are exceptionally good defensively, with each man have spent a few years being drilled in where he should be and what he should be doing. Apart from a lapse last season when they were badly weakened, they have been very consistant since 2011 in Championship. I feel if this game becomes attritional, then it will be won by Donegal's defensive structure. Likewise if Donegal keep it tight until half time, it will likely be their defensive structure that wins it. And if they open up a 5-6 point lead, their defensive structure will win it.

If Kerry are to succeed, they must hit Donegal hard in the opening 15-20 minutes. I expect a bombardment similar to Dublin's, with them hoping to cause maximum damage and delay Donegal from settling. Kerry will put huge emphasis on not conceding goals in this game, as they will figure they can outscore Donegal with points in an attritional game. Once Donegal settle, they systematically force their will upon the game, and can claw back deficits of 4-6 points. Kerry will look to score goal's, 2 or more in the opening 20mins.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 18/09/2014 12:16:33    1653346