Donegal v Kerry

Lengendrixx.......

I'm getting the impression that deep down you don't really rate or respect this Donegal team, as everyone if your posts refer to us as being a difficult opponent.......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 09/09/2014 21:58:06    1650382

6/09/2014 11:10:05
legendzxix

@ kerryrowz - That's the truth of it really. M Murphy is the standout player and could well be the difference. I'm not entirely sure why some people are bothered by Kerry being a team in transition. It has been the case since we exited the championship in 2010. Sure it is part of the reason that Kerry were not expected to win Munster and were not expected to make the All-Ireland final. In fairness to the lads, they overcame both hurdles against all the odds. Is winning the All-Ireland a step too far? Many believe it is at least a year early in terms of their development. Mayo's 2012 final was a year early for them. 2013 had to be Mayo's year and is the one championship those players and management will have the most regret about.

I dont know how you think this is a Kerry team in transition.Brian Kelly,Paul Murphy and Stephen O'Brien are only new players this year.One of the most expreienced teams

Marc OSe playing since 02
Declan O'Sullivan 03
Aidan O'Mahony 04
Darran O'Sullivan,Bryan Sheehan,Kieran Donaghy 05
Killian Young 07
Donnacha Walsh,Kieran O'Leary,David Moran 08
BJ Keane,Anthony Maher,Brendan Kealy 2010
James O'Donoghue,Shane Enright 2011
Johny Buckley,Peter Crowley 2012
Fionn Fitzgerald,Paul Geaney,Jack Sherwood,Mark Griffin 2013

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 09/09/2014 22:05:49    1650387

09/09/2014 21:58:06
ben1977

Lengendrixx.......

I'm getting the impression that deep down you don't really rate or respect this Donegal team, as everyone if your posts refer to us as being a difficult opponent.......

Au contraire benners, au contraire!!

I had Donegal backed in the Ulster final and then was one of the few to say they would beat the Dubs! Facts. No more to be said! Ye will be a difficult opponent. Of that there is no doubt.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 10/09/2014 18:05:12    1650705

Fair enough legendzxix, you did call those in fairness...

Anyhoo in respect of the actual game itself, Kerry are going to be our most difficult opponent of the year, one minute I'm thinking this fairy tale that we are currently living in at the minute is going to come to an abrupt end on the 21/9/2014, the next minute minute I'm confident we can turn you boys over.....

My reasons for optimism are as follows, donegal have been masters are closing out the oppositions danger man, between having two men on him and also the protection that our full backs get from our half backs and half forwards makes it very difficult for any full forward line to be a factor in the game..... If we can succeed with this with O'Donoghue and Geaney then i believe we are half way there, as I'm not sure where the required scores would come from Kerry..... Wouldn't surprise me to see JOD out in the half forward line to try and get that bit of space, this tactic would delight me and most of Donegal for that matter as the further from goal he is the better.........

Midfield is as always the crucial area as yous have two monsters there and any midfield that outplays the O'Sheas deserve the ultimate respect, if the game was the traditional kick it out and hope for the best I believe we would get destroyed here, but because kickouts are varied and actually if needed midfield can be nearly passed it makes this area less of a problem for us, where Kerry have the advantage of height and power we have the advantage of being more mobile around this sector which could decisive.

When we played Kerry in 2012 I felt donegal would win because of the lack of legs in the Kerry defence at that time, they have certainly addressed this and now have a very mobile,fast and fit defence but now Im not sure yous have the power or experience to deal with the donegal attack and for that reason I believe Donegal will win by 4 pts......

Having said all of that, this is Kerry we are playing and they are one dangerous animal to be playing in an AI final....... So this could go any way as its all on the day......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 10/09/2014 18:54:40    1650719

@ ben1977 - you've painted a bleak picture for the Kingdom. The only positives being that we're Kerry and that we're a different animal in a final, neither of which will win any game. I've no answer as to how Kerry will combat what you've outlined. It's a measure of the tough task that lies ahead. All challenges however must be embraced. It's great to be there in the final to look forward to it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 10/09/2014 20:08:01    1650737

It appears others are onto the rare species known as the legendary Kerryerraticus Godhelpus .An endangered species thank god that tends to downplay their chances at every opportunity and thinks others will somehow be taken in. This creature appears predominately in autumn having spent the spring and most of the summer in hiding.It has a somewhat limited vocabulary and tends to repeat itself at every opportunity.Usually uttering the familiar (yerra sure we're going up more in hope than expectation) or the often used excuse of being in transition.Sometimes referring to the lads as though it were part of the more dominant and developed members of the species aka the team.It's main weakness is that it is extremely predictable as I will attempt to demonstrate shortly providing it has not dozed off.
Under no circumstances should you approach this creature with the intention of placing the burden of favourite on their countymen as this will invoke an immediate reaction which you will most likely witness in the not too distant future.
Wait for it !

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 10/09/2014 20:19:22    1650741

Legendzxix....... It's far from bleak from your perspective and you know it my friend......... To ave a team with the quality of your players and one of the brightest and shrewdest managers in the game makes this 50/50.,,, I was just merely posting how I think we may win the game.... Would like to hear where you think the winning of this game is for Kerry, but seeing yous are Kerry and all the Kerry cute hoorism that goes with that I'm not likely too....... Ha

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 10/09/2014 20:23:33    1650745

Sllyl....

Brilliant post

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 10/09/2014 20:45:53    1650761

One can only laugh Ben,one can only laugh.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 10/09/2014 21:09:08    1650774

Slly
Brilliant I love it, some of my fellow countymen are very negitive all right although with good reason, in a week and a half we have to face up to a lethal donegal team in their prime with our best player sitting crippled on the sideline. How are we gona cope with that? Nearly all the rest of our expierenced players are on the treatment table and our young lads haven't expierenced an all Ireland final as players. donegal have been fair haunted all year they haven't any of their main players struck down with injuries.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/09/2014 21:17:46    1650777

Well Kingdom, ye have a task on yer hands no doubt about it and from what you say sure it will take a miracle Godhelpus.
Say a few prayers and sure youd never know,the lame might arise and walk. ;-)

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 10/09/2014 21:33:17    1650783

£600 of my previous bet winnings are going on a Donegal win, Donegal don't lose all ireland finals

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 10/09/2014 21:44:21    1650789

Kingdomboy and Legendzxix

Your every move all year , every score ye got/ missed,your kickouts, your back line , midfield your inside men, who kicks with what foot, the strong/weak foot , how ye defend/attack. All this and more will be looked into over the next 5 days and this Kerry team will be studied from head to toe. Jim has five days to hatch his plan ::::will he bamboozle EF ??

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/09/2014 21:55:08    1650795

lol, you haven't had to be too patient SLLY! Going by what you're saying, the bookies must have applied the very same logic in deciding the favourites.

@ Sam - you've very eloquently outlined the size of the task ahead of the Kingdom. Donegal are going to be a tough opponent no doubt.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 11/09/2014 08:01:33    1650798

I'm a fairweather follower who never played. I have seen Kerry teams come and go since the early seventies. The cute hoor in Kerry is as much of a bane there as the obnoxious Jackeen in Dublin. Don't judge those counties on that, their respective records argue against trite généralisations.

Kerry are most certainly not overconfident this time. Donegal are recent winners, they humiliated Dublin and their blanket defence and counterattacking game is formidable. I expect EM to drill his charges on varying the play, lines of attack and taking on Donegal at their strongest. It also tickles me that a team undone in spectacular fashion last year by Mayo is so self assured with their system. On the balance of probabilities, it will work...but... finals are strange animals. Just ask Kerry after 82 & 08.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 11/09/2014 08:44:32    1650804

Kerry certainly pose a different problem for Donegal. The Kerry half-back line won't disappear like ours did so can't see them scoring 3 goals. Tough one to call, I'm edging towards Kerry at the moment.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/09/2014 14:04:49    1650951

4KHDoneill
County: Derry

£600 of my previous bet winnings are going on a Donegal win, Donegal don't lose all ireland finals

If memory serves me right you put the house on a Dublin win & declared yourself "sick" after the result.

I'm puzzled.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/09/2014 18:21:55    1651070

Plike could you please explain how YOU think donegal humiliated dublin! Donegal were well deserving winners v dublin but i certainly dont think they humiliated us!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 11/09/2014 18:37:08    1651076

I'm glad we are playing Kerry but I think Mayo were robbed in Limerick,If we play even at 80% of how we played against Dublin we will win.
We just beat the team that couldn't be beat, so there's nothing to fear from Kerry.
The buzz is really getting going here now,not easy getting a ticket as the usual bandwagon bridgade are for going now also,
Donegal by 4-6 points is my prediction,mightn't be as easy as the 2012 final,in which we played rubbish after the first 15 mins.
The 3rd quarter will be decisive,Kerry will be as frustrated as Dublin were.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 11/09/2014 19:55:52    1651102

@ TirChonaillabu2 - (avert your eyes for anyone fed up of reading this) Donegal will be a difficult opponent no doubt. You make a fair point regards even reaching 80% of ye're capital performance. 80% of that approach versus a 100% performance of ours in Limerick won't be enough for us on the day. There are too many unknowns of our squad heading into the final. Donegal are arriving in a great place with everyone knowing their roles. If our team on the day have a number of keys to unlocking ye're defence, ye've shown ye are quite well able to adapt to a situation. Ye appear to have the extra aces in ye're deck. You also quite rightly point out what everyone has been saying - the team that beats the capital will win the All-Ireland.

Massive occasion however for both of our respective counties to be there.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 11/09/2014 20:30:50    1651117