Donegal v Kerry

Well brendtheredhand Kerry have been in transition since losing to Down in the '10 quarter-final. The 'll final was a surprise and shows what happens to a team in transition.
Donegal are champions from 2012. They seem to be at and above the level of 2012. We lost out to them in the '12 quarter-final where as Jack O'Connor said - they had our measure. With the Gooch out, and Tomás O'Se and Galvin gone, we are probably more in transition than we were in '12. At the same time though, the current team seems to be operating at a higher level than we were in 2012. The '12 final came a bit early for Mayo. The feeling is this final has come early for this Kerry team. Still it's great to be there.

Paddy Power outright betting:
Donegal 1/2
Kerry 6/4

Sign of the task that lies ahead.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 31/08/2014 21:15:04    1645608

Jim's tactics for the final will be very simple.

Put 6 men round Donaghy & job done!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/08/2014 21:18:55    1645619

I do not see why this game will not follow the 2012 clash with Donegal coming out on top thanks to superior team strength.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 31/08/2014 21:20:52    1645624

I dont think Fitzmaurice will start Donaghy in the final, he knws the ling ball will fail and Donegal will hover up any knock downs or any ball Donaghy gets, quick moving foot passing into space is the only way to beat Donegal.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 31/08/2014 21:23:17    1645626

Kerry's chance to put a Northern team to the sword and convince us all that they can beat Northern teams when it counts.

I for one would not underestimate Jim's charges.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 31/08/2014 21:55:54    1645660

One thing is absolutely certain - Donegal have got their mojo back! They look to be an even better model than the 2012 team that won the All Ireland. They will relish the locking down of Kerry's Kieran Donaghy and James O'Donoghue especially. However, Donegal's magnificent defensive play is merely a platform these days for their attacking play that is far more dynamic than hitherto. Donegal are playing for a place in history here, as Jimmy McG said, 'they don't want to be remembered as the Champions who were trashed in Croke Park by 16 points'. Donegal are clearly drawing on the hurt of that humiliation last year against Mayo and winning a second All Ireland in three years will mark them down as a truly great side.

Do Kerry have a chance? Yes, but they would need an awful lot to go their way and probably need to build a really substantial lead quickly and early. Can Kerry build up a really big lead and score goals good and early against this Donegal team - something the much vaunted Dublin ultimately failed to do? In addition, Kerry will need to put a runner on McHugh and go with him all day long, easier said than done!

Is the young Kerry keeper and Kerry full back line still there to be got at by Donegal's big men? Expect Murphy and MacFadden to make hay if the suspicion here proves correct. I could see Donegal doing a real number on Kerry or simply just wearing them down but either way I can see only one outcome - a Donegal victory.

Another part of the equation that should not be ignored is Ulster teams in All Ireland finals and in the Championship generally seem to spook Kerry and get inside their heads like no other opposition. As in the 2012 quarter final, Donegal will not fear Kerry in the slightest and will really believe and expect to beat them. Donegal will not deviate from their game plan and they look once again to have total and utter belief in that game plan. Not for the first time Kerry probably have a bigger spread of more natural footballers but the psychlological and tactical edge lies with Jimmy McGuinness and his men unless Eamon Fitzmaurice can prove otherwise? At this juncture, I agree with the bookies Donegal look the better bet for a win. A Donegal double of minor and senior would be some achievment - would you bet against it? I won't.

PS: Before those few one eyed Kerry posters accuse me of been anti-Kerry, I am most certainly not, this is just my opinion on the outcome of the All Ireland final with an impartial view on the evidence I have witnessed. I could be wrong of course and Kerry might win and this would reflect very well on Mayo and the massive effort we gave in the semi-final. Good luck to both sides!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 01/09/2014 11:49:42    1645873

Yerra JamesH sure, people have been saying since League Kerry were gone and hadn't a chance. We were told Cork would take us handy, then we were told Mayo would send us packing. Before yesterday people were saying Dublin would steam roll us in the final and now sure we are being told were only going to be a guard of honour for Jim's finest hour in 3 weeks. We're heading into a final as underdogs probably for first time since 1997.

I guess most neutrals won't give us a prayer. Sure after all I don't think we have ever beaten a team that's geographically north of Westmeath (that seems to be most people's opinion anyway). We don't have any stomach for a fight at all, never did, and those big bad Ulster teams will eat out poor young lads alive. The sight of a Donegal jersey will inspire as much terror as Tyrone or Armagh before it, but sure won't we head up anyway and see if he can't disgrace ourselves. God help us it will be hard for this team not to, but sure no harm giving it an old go!

P.S. Did you ever think that it might simply be the fact Tyrone were the better team on the day in 2005 and 2008, and its got nothing to do with Northern teams 'spooking' Kerry? Different Kerry team now, young, fearless and eager and while Donegal will be given the utmost respect, they will not be feared. No Kerry side has ever feared anyone.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 12:35:05    1645911

The hermit well said, most people on here hate Kerry, in fairness to Cork they may despise us with a passion, but they have respect for us, the Dubs also can take their beatings from us and in the past few years have been better than us. We have never beaten Down in champ football, do I hate them or begrudge them I hear you say, I think they are a fantastic football county who have had the upper hand when they play us. Mayo fans have a massive chip on their shoulder, maybe if they move on and learn their lessons from their defeats that may beat us and win Sam in future years.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 01/09/2014 13:26:56    1645976

Only makes sense that Donegal are installed as favourites - they've a seasoned AI winning team who knocked out the champions yesterday playing just as well as when they lifted sam in 2012. Kerry will be starting 3-4 lads in their first season in the final and are a pretty unfinished article I believe.
On the game itself Eamo will have to come up with a plan to take donegal out of their routine - I'd actually set up very defensive for the first 15-20 mins and if necessary hold up the ball on our own half back line - then donegal have to decide do they come out to get it or stay in their shell. Worst thing you can do is run hard at donegal for 20 mins - they'll soak it up and then start to open up as the opposition tire. Saw it happen cork in 2012 and Dublin yesterday - half back line sucked up the field attacking and loads of space for Donegal to attack then. Really have to attack down the wings also to spread the donegal cover - our forwards will need to run them about as much as possible as we wont be able to match them physically - no donaghy for me on the starting 15.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 01/09/2014 13:46:29    1645990

Kerry Boys......... What an honour it will be to play yous in an AI Final and I'm not being smart when I say that, I have always said that you haven't really won an AI until you beat Keery in the final of one........ I'm not saying we will beat yous either, it will be a fascinating game and will be interesting to watch the two brightest and estutue managers in the game go head to head.....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 01/09/2014 13:49:08    1645991

Dont mind who wins now, Good luck to both.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 13:51:10    1645992

No problem with Donegal being favourites after all its a young and inexperienced Kerry side at this level against a Donegal side that is more or less the same as that which lifted Sam only two years ago. Donegal will take some stopping if they can replicate how they played yesterday.

But I think we have a great chance. Few reasons for this: Donegal do not have a bench like ours.

Whereas Dublin were naive and continued to play their attacking style even though they were being sucker-punched on counter attack, Kerry will not negate their defensive duties when they have the ball in attack.

Thirdly, while Dublin seemed incapable of changing their style of play when the aforementioned attacking game plan began to hurt them, Kerry have shown the ability all summer to chop and change their system as required. Like Donegal they have an ability to set up to take on their opponents strengths, and they can play a number of different ways as match/opposition dictates.

If Kerry have full squad to chose from I would feel confident, you just don't know whether what Donegal achieved yesterday was the apex for Jim's team this season. They have avenged their Mayo defeat surely, but can they replicate another performance li ke that? That's a big question. Fitzmaurice will relish being tested against Jim and will have something up his sleeve to scupper Donegal.

Its going to be a fascinating final, but at the moment I think Kerry have a brilliant chance. Now to find a ticket!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 14:02:41    1646002

As a kid I would always be delighted for and root on any Ulster side that got to Croke Park on All Ireland Football Final day. I recognized the difficulties some counties had & still may have? But for the life of me I am very confused how in modern times whatever Ulster team reach the final, the majority of the Province jump on the band wagon. It must be great to be able to support nine counties. I have one county that I roar for, that is all I need to root for, I know my allegiance. It must be quite confusing come the following Spring when the Ulster Championship restarts, who do you cheer on then? Ha-ha.....Great win by Donegal yesterday.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 01/09/2014 14:20:10    1646026

This will be very interesting final alright, people judging Donegal on yesterday's win shouldn't get carried away cause we made it so easy for them by leaving our full back line so isolated, when Donegal break down a Kerry attack it won't be as easy as yesterday cause Kerry play defensive now aswell and will have lots of bodies behind the ball it should be a fascinating contest. To the opening poster we had a bad day we will learn from it and come back we still our without a doubt the best team in Ireland and there's at least 3 more all Ireland's in this team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2014 15:03:10    1646090

That is a very humble comment ClondalkinDub. Will that be three in a rowfor this present Dub side or will we spread it out over a couple of decades? Be easy with such remarks, there are goms on here who will attack us for such smugness.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 01/09/2014 15:11:49    1646103

That's some statement Clondalking, being the best team in Ireland and yet not being in the final!! Doesn't work like that I'm afraid.

You might be back, but in case you didn't realise it Kerry are building their new Empire too. Only six more years left in the decade, it will have to be 3 titles for Dublin 3 for Kerry so.

Sure you never know you might get a chance at stopping our two in a row next year, but Gooch will be back by then to terrorise ya ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 15:11:58    1646104

Mayo played in patches against Kerry and went 5-7 points ahead in the drawn game and first half of the replay.. If Donegal go 5 points ahead of Kerry it's game over.. A poor Galway team ran through the Kerry team as did Mayo so unless they can close the defence they'll be beaten. Big difference closing down a one man Cillian O'Connor show than a Murphy/McFadden/McBrearty/McHugh combination. Kerry will put up 14-15 points and Donegal 12-13 points so goals will win the game. Donegal will need 2 goals.

WolfeTone (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 01/09/2014 15:33:17    1646118

To the opening poster we had a bad day we will learn from it and come back we still our without a doubt the best team in Ireland and there's at least 3 more all Ireland's in this team.

Jaysus clondalkin, less than 24 hours after a shellacking of biblical proportions & you think you have the best team in Ireland? I love it.

As for the 3 more All Irelands, only a couple of weeks ago you were counting us down to the mythical 5 in a row. Moderating the old ambitions a bit are we? As it happens I agree with you but only if you learn the lessons from yesterday otherwise other teams will have your number. The veneer of invincibility is gone & once it's gone it's bloody hard to get it back. Ask Tiger Woods or Man Utd.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/09/2014 17:04:36    1646254

So muck after the hammering you's took off Mayo last year did you's become the worst team to ever win an all Ireland like most people were saying? No it was a bad day but will be back and I bet the bookies will have us as favourites for next year, Muck it's abit of banter we give and we take more than any other county so I like to throw out a few wind ups to get people going.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2014 17:12:51    1646262

clondalkin

I can recognise a bit of fun, that's why I said "I love it".

I would be the first to recognise that Dublin have possibly the best players in any squad in Ireland but that doesn't make them the best team. Not this year anyway.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/09/2014 17:23:38    1646272