Dublin Invincibles - greatest team ever - discuss

dubs a terrific team and will be back. Expect mayo, donegal and kerry to be thereabouts next year too, not much will change. Not much sense in posters from counties that Dublin hammer most times coming on and having a pop now.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 01/09/2014 13:39:05    1645984

superbluedub

How is disrespectful to Donegal?
Michael Darragh Macauley?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 01/09/2014 21:30:50    1646462

Great to see lads getting their kicks in. Wide up merchants, all funny now.

Dubs will be back hungrier than ever next year lads.

Sure always next year!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2014 21:43:24    1646473

kerryluck

superbluedub

How is disrespectful to Donegal?
Michael Darragh Macauley?
---
MDA,s fine sure he is from Leiter in Donegal

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2014 21:59:33    1646490

I think the Dublin players thought they were going to win handy enough after 25 mins. Six points up and got two goal chances and thought it was just a case of keeping it going. Donegal realised they needed to lift their performance or they were going to get hammered. Christy Toye was a crucial substitution. Dublin just folded when the pressure came on. Didn't have a tight game in league or championship since 2013 final. Donegal were used to battles as they style of football puts them in the same battle every match regardless of the opposition. Also Donegal took every chance they got. Had O Gara or Connolly scored their goals we would be still talking about how invincible Dublin were and how Jim McGuinness had no plan to deal with them. Instead Jim Gavin is at fault tactically. Got to love the GAA hero to zero in 70 mins.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1134 - 02/09/2014 08:39:24    1646510

Dublin where a spent Force after 22mins on Sunday
Donegal started to Control the whole Flow of the game.
When Toye was brought on for Walsh on 26mins and started to run at Dublin like walsh was suppose to do then thing began to change.
Yes Dublin Kicked some great Long range scores but apart from there one goal chance did they get a chance within Donegals 45 yard line in the 1st half
Dublins Bench was exposed.For Subs that came on in Numerous other games all year and Kicked some thing like 2;15 between them they had no bearing on Sundays Games when Dublin Needed real warriors and Not Show Poneys
Dublins Managment Team have alot to answer for aswell, Galvin stayed in the stands till around the 55min of the game by which time the game had already passedd the point of no return.
Dublin and there fans can come on here now and say that they respected Donegal and Everything else But as far as they where Concerned it was just a matter of Turning up.

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2014 10:23:53    1646585

Id agree with the point about the bench, it wasn't something I ever bought into. Every bench looks good when the game is won. Bar kevin mcmanamon, the Dublin bench don't really offer anything different to the guys already on the field, they are just slightly poorer versions. So if the guys on the field aren't going well, they don't really offer a different option.

Jim Gavin too was a little exposed. His selections didn't work, and his tactics were only concerned with how they would score, not how they would keep Donegal at bay up the other end. It was a massive oversight. I thought he bought into the hype a little.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 10:40:24    1646596

Have to laugh at the Dubs. Now they're saying we'll be back next year after the last 6 months telling us they more or less only needed to show up this year. Sorry to disappoint lads but thats not going to happen. Sunday showed how overrated they really are along with their supposed superstars and strongest subs in the country.

Also its funny to hear their usual everyone is ''putting the boot in'' something they're not too shy about when they're no their high horses

football_dude (Roscommon) - Posts: 34 - 02/09/2014 11:04:01    1646620

Any chance of seeing the dubs play their games away from croke park from next year onwards???

Just as the Kerry/Mayo game the last day?

Come on GAA, lets get the show on the road.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 02/09/2014 11:30:06    1646640

From what I 've read here it's all very civil : Dubs not whingeing, other 31 not gloating. Best team won & it'll be a great final after what's been a great weekend for football.
Dubs will be back & if I were a Dub I'd want Gavin to stay. Two more AllIrls in the core of this team anyway.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 02/09/2014 11:35:03    1646641

Have to agree football_dude. It is all harmless 'banter' when it is coming the other way. Now all of a sudden it is putting the boot in. Nobody has actually said a whole lot to them since the game so I don't know what they are talking about really.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 11:42:11    1646648

Very disappointed with some of the comments. Yes I am disappointed with the result last Sunday but the majority of Dublin supporters more than respected Donegal. We have been around long enough to realise how games can go. The management/players/supporters of Dublin did not big the team up as invincible. I stated this yesterday nobody can control the media or the bookemakers odds. Let's be realistic we were never 1/10 on shots no more than Donegal were 7/1 outsiders. I am more than happy with what this team has acheived to date and I am sure they will bounce back for 2015, that is all any county can do. We will dust ourselves down and learn the harsh lessons from the defeat. Whether we got our tactics wrong is not part of this thread but please don't come with the ludicrous comments about we thinking we were invincible. Let's not forget this team has come from being hammered by Kerry and Meath in 2009 and 2010 to win 2 all-irelands, 2 leagues and 4 leinster titles. Donegal are on the verge of replicating this achievement in a few weeks time so they were never dismissed by the real Dublin GAA people. They also have bounced back from last year's mauling by Mayo and if anything can inspire Dublin to bounce back. No need for comments from Mayo and Roscommon basking in the glory of Dubli's defeat, that is not what it is about and on another point the majority of the television media and journalists are from your own counties and they have already taken great pleasure in highlighting the demise of Dublin last sunday after telling us for the last 6 months that they were unbreatable. A little bit more common sense in posts would be nice.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 02/09/2014 11:49:39    1646658

Ah Jaysus leave the Dubs alone. Yer all having a go now but I didn't see many on here actually saying anything different than them. Everybody was on the Dubs invincible band wagon including me. It was difficult to see past them based on their previous performances. You'd have to give Donegal the credit here in relation to the game plan and the effort they put in.
If they went out again next weekend I could see a very different result but that's football lads. You only get one chance in the semifinals.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 02/09/2014 11:57:14    1646664

Dublins 'invincibles' strike me as a similar team to the Tyrone team of the 00's. Wonderfully talented, outstanding individuals, and on their day a case can be made for them being the best team in the country but unable to sustain it over 2 years and beaten by teams they were expected to beat. Now whilst that is incredibly difficult to do, Kerry did manage to hit that consistency and so far seem to be the only team that can manage it for whatever reason year in year out.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 02/09/2014 11:59:08    1646667

Oh dear. A lot of mystic megs on this thread who think they know what was going through the Dublin players and managers heads that they thought they only had to turn up. All assumption. Cop on lads! We were beaten on the day by a better team. You wont hear us whinging about the ref like other counties. We accept we weren't good enough now i suggest you all do likewise!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2014 12:12:20    1646679

Admin won't let me post, and all I want to do is congratulate Donegal on their fantastic win, and express my sincere condolence to those gracious humble supporters, of the greatest team ever in the history of Gaelic football.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/09/2014 12:25:56    1646690

Well said, Jackeen......

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 02/09/2014 12:39:08    1646700

JohnGrace1989

Dublin where a spent Force after 22mins on Sunday
Donegal started to Control the whole Flow of the game.
When Toye was brought on for Walsh on 26mins and started to run at Dublin like walsh was suppose to do then thing began to change.
Yes Dublin Kicked some great Long range scores but apart from there one goal chance did they get a chance within Donegals 45 yard line in the 1st half
Dublins Bench was exposed.For Subs that came on in Numerous other games all year and Kicked some thing like 2;15 between them they had no bearing on Sundays Games when Dublin Needed real warriors and Not Show Poneys
Dublins Managment Team have alot to answer for aswell, Galvin stayed in the stands till around the 55min of the game by which time the game had already passedd the point of no return.
Dublin and there fans can come on here now and say that they respected Donegal and Everything else But as far as they where Concerned it was just a matter of Turning up.

------

I'm sure the many decent Donegal posters on here would distance themselves form this drivel. Who is Galvin anyway? Dublin missed two sitters in the first half not one. Were you even at the game? In fairness I think some respect should be shown to a Dublin team that has won a Leinster, a league and a Sam Maguire in the past 12 months. These 'show ponies' relegated Donegal in Ballybofey last year when they had nothing to play for. Donegal have still to play Kerry so nothing has been won yet. Don't fall into the same trap as those Dublin fans who you claim thought we "only had to turn up" on Sunday. One things is for sure though, this Dublin team will be in the mix again next year. No question! Congratulations to Donegal again. They are a fine team and the better team on the day won on Sunday. No complaints here.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2014 12:51:28    1646709

It was a fantastic game.

It's good to see different teams in the final each year - keeps things competitive, but Dublin were very impressive again this year. Well done to the 4 semi finalists for producing great contests.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/09/2014 12:59:59    1646720

Jackeen
Oh dear. A lot of mystic megs on this thread who think they know what was going through the Dublin players and managers heads that they thought they only had to turn up. All assumption. Cop on lads! We were beaten on the day by a better team. You wont hear us whinging about the ref like other counties. We accept we weren't good enough now i suggest you all do likewise!

I take it you were on holidays in 2012...

The reality is you cant say a whole lot because you were so soundly beaten. If what happened to mayo had happened to Dublin, the site would be in meltdown with thread after thread after thread about how the world is against them, how the gaa wanted to stop them dominating, how the ref was a meath man and god knows what else. But sure that is 'banter', right? How many threads are on the topic as it stands? 2? How many were stated by a mayo man? 1. That tells its own story.

I can tell you now what will happen, because the same thing happened in 2012. At first you will accept the beating, then after a few weeks the dub posters will change their tune a bit. 'Murphy should have been sent off', 'Nobody mentioned Donegal killing the game at the end' etc etc.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 13:13:03    1646733