Referee decisions key in Mayo & Kerry replay?

Spot on kingdomboy. I think most kerry people agree we got away with two easy frees in extra time. But I ask what are we to do?
Refuse to accept the frees? Referees fault not kerrys. I could mention easy frees Mayo got by mr Coldrick after ther sending off in the first game but people dont care about that. I have studied the handbags at the end and while its accepted that kerry committed the foul it was Mayo players which kept it going by joining in on two occasions when there was no need. Pointless as they were wasting there own time and honestly they knew the game was over. Below is the Kerry team from a few years back and team v Mayo the last day. Only one starting survivor (K.Young) for the Mayo game. Thats a team in transition if I ever saw one so an experienced Mayo team should be beating us out the door and not focusing on a few bad referee calls. Two great games and should be proud of your team. Best of luck for the future.

D Murphy, M Ó Sé, T Griffin, T O'Sullivan, T Ó Sé (0-02), M McCarthy, K Young, D Ó Sé, S Scanlon, P Galvin, Declan O'Sullivan (0-01), T Kennelly (0-02), C Cooper (0-06, 6f), T Walsh (0-04), Darran O'Sullivan (0-01).

B Kelly; P Murphy, A O'Mahony, S Enright; K Young (0-01), P Crowley, F Fitzgerald; A Maher, D Moran; M Geaney, J Buckley, D Walsh; K Donaghy (1-00), P Geaney (0-04, 0-03f), J O'Donoghue (2-06, 2-00 pen, 0-02f)

ky4sam2014 (Kerry) - Posts: 32 - 03/09/2014 13:48:20    1647484

Some nonsense being spouted on this thread about the ref. Players at it the whole way through the match, supporters and officials running onto the pitch and threatening the ref, a garda escort needed at the end ?

Cop on. Mayo threw it away in the first game.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 03/09/2014 14:15:09    1647502

sponger
County: Wicklow

Some nonsense being spouted on this thread about the ref. Players at it the whole way through the match, supporters and officials running onto the pitch and threatening the ref, a garda escort needed at the end ?

_________

100% spot on...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/09/2014 15:01:30    1647538

Lots of people have referenced the Cork/Mayo match where Reilly was also the ref, didn't see that match myself. If he made such a mess of that one, I would question why he was allowed to ref Kerry/Mayo so soon afterwards.
Other point are the penalties that were awarded. Is it time that in high tempo IC games to have a ref behind each goal who can assist the match ref, or appoint the umpires from the ref panel. I've done a bit refereeing and it's impossible to get it right all the time in club games if your 40+mtrs away from the action, never mind IC where the pace is so much faster. Most refs don't consult umpires anyway and most umpires are not qualified referees. For provincial finals and on, I can't see why you can't have qualified refs as umpires.
Would also question what last Sat's linesmen were supposed to be at. One of their tasks is to help ensure that frees are taken from the correct place, didn't see much sign of this on Sat. It's not as if it's rocket science.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 03/09/2014 15:25:58    1647556

Mayo did let it slip the first day but that doesnt mean we have to accept such bad refereeing decisions the second day. Anyone can see that alot of decisions that were wrong had a big impact on the result. Enright should have gone twice in the first half and at least 2 more kerry players should have been black carded in the space of a couple of minutes in the first half. Doherty for mayo should also have gone I admit. But its clear to see that Cormac Reilly had a very very bad game and i a major impact on the result. His performance was not acceptable at this level. Every ref will makea few bad calls but he made so many major ones in the game. In saying all that what happened at the end with supporters on the pitch going for the ref is totally unacceptable no matter how bad he was and belive me whatever has been posted online, the majority of mayo supporters feel this way.

Samiam (Mayo) - Posts: 121 - 03/09/2014 15:34:49    1647560

kingdomfan

1647465 The referee was pretty appalling last Saturday evening and McStays comments were fairly spot on in fairness. I was standing fairly close to Shane Enright in the ground and for the life of me I couldnt understand why he stayed on the pitch. Both penalties were fairly suspect as were some of the soft frees that Kerry got towards the end. I find it astonishing that Eugene McGee has made no statement on the application of the black card rule because it has been a farce all year. The black card is not working and most refs arent bothering to apply this particular rule. I also cannot understand how a ref doesnt consult with his umpires before awarding a penalty in such a tight game. If I was a Mayo man I would be disgusted. On the flip side, Kerry dominated midfield throughout the game and Donaghy had a massive influence on the game. Cannot understand why Mayo did not put a big man on him a la David Brady in 2006. Mayo are a fine team and will be back again but refereeing like this understandably leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Not good enough at any level.

A gracious and honest post. I fully agree with all of it. Now let everyone else let this thread die.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1133 - 03/09/2014 16:39:04    1647591

sponger
County: Wicklow

Your point is correct to a degree, we did throw it away in the first game but in the second game, it was taken away from us by the referee. Best of luck to Kerry in the final, it will be some game.....I just hope that the referee will be like the one in the Dublin v's Donegal game.

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2014 20:07:52    1647671

moylagh

Lots of people have referenced the Cork/Mayo match where Reilly was also the ref, didn't see that match myself. If he made such a mess of that one, I would question why he was allowed to ref Kerry/Mayo so soon afterwards.
Other point are the penalties that were awarded. Is it time that in high tempo IC games to have a ref behind each goal who can assist the match ref, or appoint the umpires from the ref panel. I've done a bit refereeing and it's impossible to get it right all the time in club games if your 40+mtrs away from the action, never mind IC where the pace is so much faster. Most refs don't consult umpires anyway and most umpires are not qualified referees. For provincial finals and on, I can't see why you can't have qualified refs as umpires.
Would also question what last Sat's linesmen were supposed to be at. One of their tasks is to help ensure that frees are taken from the correct place, didn't see much sign of this on Sat. It's not as if it's rocket science.

Your spot on, good idea's for improvement and preventing this from happening again:)

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2014 20:09:29    1647672

tirawleybaron

kingdomfan

1647465 The referee was pretty appalling last Saturday evening and McStays comments were fairly spot on in fairness. I was standing fairly close to Shane Enright in the ground and for the life of me I couldnt understand why he stayed on the pitch. Both penalties were fairly suspect as were some of the soft frees that Kerry got towards the end. I find it astonishing that Eugene McGee has made no statement on the application of the black card rule because it has been a farce all year. The black card is not working and most refs arent bothering to apply this particular rule. I also cannot understand how a ref doesnt consult with his umpires before awarding a penalty in such a tight game. If I was a Mayo man I would be disgusted. On the flip side, Kerry dominated midfield throughout the game and Donaghy had a massive influence on the game. Cannot understand why Mayo did not put a big man on him a la David Brady in 2006. Mayo are a fine team and will be back again but refereeing like this understandably leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Not good enough at any level.

A gracious and honest post. I fully agree with all of it. Now let everyone else let this thread die.

Your spot on with your views in my opinion, a thread will die in it's own time by the way, if you don't like hearing things and just want them to go away, you can always put your head in the sand dude. Time for change to help referees and players alike, not a time to forget. :)

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2014 20:13:00    1647673

Ive a problem with one aspect of that post.
On the one hand I read that the black card isnt working. Straight after he says that refs arent bothering to apply it properly. I agree with the second part, but not the first. Perhaps if the refs applied it properly it would work.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 03/09/2014 20:19:20    1647678

In my opinion from the points raised here by eeryone, they're should be changes to aid referees. These are as follows:

-Referee on the sideline with replay technology so that if he is called on by the referee in the event of being unsure about a decision to get a correct decision rather than make a wrong decision. Another way that this could be achieved is if each team had a right to call on a replay when a decision is made that they feel is wrong, having a max of 1-2 of these per half per team would help if a team felt the referee was against them and that he was not using the technology on decisions.
-Having referees of a certain standard on the line and as umpires.
-Showing all replay decisions on the big screen to ensure fans have faith and trust in the decisions and in turn less hostility against referees.

I think these would improve the game and make it more fair and prevent the anger and bad form of some supporters last week. This would help referees as well as teams in my opinion. What are your thoughts?

All of these are not rocket science nor would take long to implement. They would only be used on games in Croke Park.

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2014 20:21:09    1647680

joncarter

Ive a problem with one aspect of that post.
On the one hand I read that the black card isnt working. Straight after he says that refs arent bothering to apply it properly. I agree with the second part, but not the first. Perhaps if the refs applied it properly it would work.

I think both points are right, its not being implemented by all referees correctly, thus its not working. Some things take time but I do think the back card is here to stay and will hopefully get more consistency with it.

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 03/09/2014 20:26:24    1647685

I think the attitude of some Mayo posters (and I stress 'some') is symptomatic of all that is wrong with Mayo over the years! Always looking for an excuse or someone to blame for their own shortcomings! Mayo should have won the game the first day, let big leads slip in both games. The problems are more deep rooted than a poor refereeing display! Selective memory also comes to mind! I recall the Donegal v Mayo final in 2012 when Donegal had the game won after 10 minutes. Then we had a series of very soft frees awarded to Mayo to let them back into the game. Then we had to listen to the insulting comments that Mayo were the better team for 60 minutes of that game! Deal with the issues at he heart of what is wrong with Mayo football whether that be psychological or management and tactical but stop looking for excuses and blaming curses and referees!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 04/09/2014 12:51:42    1647879

Plenty of trolling here about Mayo and the supporters and how they are sore losers etc......

At the end of the day -there is no doubt in my mind that the referee affected the final score in that match, however I also know that ultimately blaming the referee is futile as this is largely out of your control while a lot of other things are within it. Within being perfect in what you can do, do not look elsewhere for the blame........

gbrogan (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 04/09/2014 19:01:55    1648099

Beware the changes in referring games that people are asking for now
after Saturday's game. The same ref was not very good in Mayo's game
against Cork and if things were called differently Mayo probably would
not have been in the semifinal.

mps17 (USA) - Posts: 13 - 04/09/2014 21:54:04    1648217

Beware the changes in referring games that people are asking for now
after Saturday's game. The same ref was not very good in Mayo's game
against Cork and if things were called differently Mayo probably would
not have been in the semifinal.

Its probaly not really about the past now, we can't change that. Its about prevention of it happening again in the future as best we can:)

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 05/09/2014 15:14:30    1648458

Lads, its all well and good looking back at slow motion replays and saying the ref got it wrong, lot harder to see in real time! Its not aoccer either, the pitch is alot bigger and the ball travels longer distances faster, refs just cant be expected to keep up with the play, its not possible! All the big decisions were under the nose of the umpires, they have to play their part and start to make calls!

On a side note, what were mayo doing getting involved in the fracas at the end, kerry would never have been as naieve as that to let themselves gwt sucked into that and allow the clock run down!It just made them look leaderless, someone on the mayo side had to put the foot down and het the players to try and get a goal! I know ita uaing the dark arts by kerry but thats what champions do! The likes of ferguson and mourinho in soccer are masters at it and are winners!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 05/09/2014 17:54:28    1648542

Good article by Eamonn O'Molloy

http://www.irishpost.co.uk/sport/attacks-referee-cormac-reilly-cowardly-ignorant

PiddyM (Kerry) - Posts: 17 - 05/09/2014 19:33:01    1648592

Good article by Eamonn O'Molloy

http://www.irishpost.co.uk/sport/attacks-referee-cormac-reilly-cowardly-ignorant

PiddyM (Kerry) - Posts: 17 - 05/09/2014 19:35:31    1648595

Piddym
Good article , I must admit iv never looked at it from the reffs point of view, I suppose a reff never goes out to have a bad game, and if your a ref you'll probably want to do the best you can. Iv given joe mcquillan some desperate stick on here over the 2011 final v Dublin and the 2010 quarter final v down but maybe it's time to let it go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/09/2014 21:02:07    1648622