Referee decisions key in Mayo & Kerry replay?

Look I understand why people are annoyed, the ref had a shocker but we were 7 points up and got destroyed the whole game by the most basic tactic in Gaa, long ball after long ball. We couldn't shut them down. The ref was not against us, he simply had a nightmare. He have us everything in the second half v Cork, he is simply a poor ref, not a biased one. Time to support the players, not talk about ifs and buts. If my granny had balls she'd be my grandad!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 02/09/2014 14:40:04    1646864

Could we propose a subsitute referee when a ref is having a poor game. people make the point that players can have bad games, but they are pulled ashore, or not started the nxt day. A ref could ruin a game all day long, and only get pulled for it long after the game is over!

FrackTheTurf (Galway) - Posts: 171 - 02/09/2014 14:58:26    1646890

flaker, people are aware of that, and of course mayo should have done better with what was a predictable route of attack as regards donaghy. However, even with that issue, the ref still cost the team dearly. You can not deserve to win, and still win, and if it wasn't for the ref there is a good chance that would have happened. I remember Kerry themselves doing it in sigo one year and going on to win sam. What do people call that again? A sign of a good team? I agree that we should move on from it, and I already have personally, but I disagree that you don't blame anyone but yourself, that is just pie in the sky. You take your share of the blame of course but ignoring how poor the referee was is ridiculous. Top teams don't in fact do that. Top teams know that every inch matters. Mayo did in fact do enough to win that game, maybe not deservingly, but on another day that would have been enough deserving or not, and as any champion will tell you, it doesn't matter how you get to the final as long as you are there. I think your attitude is fanciful and typical of the mayo of old.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 15:09:21    1646898

Dear Master and every other person who keeps repeating the same lines back to me. I HAVE SAID MORE THAN ONCE that the ref had a stinker. I am saying it doesn't change the result and is not helpful to us going forward if we keep going on about it, it is that simple.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 02/09/2014 15:17:19    1646908

At a time when tradition is going out of the window...

You can always count on Mayo

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/09/2014 15:22:42    1646914

I have stated more than once already that the ref had a stinker so I am not ignoring how poor he was. I am saying we need to move on and quickly.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 02/09/2014 15:29:22    1646922

brian

fair play TheFlanker
thats the way to take a deefeat...gracefully

+1

Sure Kerry were the better team

Should have put Mayo out of their misery in the first game

JOD would kick that over 99 times out of a 100 with that sort of space

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/09/2014 15:35:31    1646929

How many people on this forum have actually ever refereed any games at any level? How easy is it?
Maybe Cormac Reilly did not have the best of games but the way the likes of Kevin McStay & David Brady are going on is a disgrace. If Mayo were better than Kerry they would have bet them the first day when they were 5 points up with a few mins to go. Kerry were the better team over the two games. A lot of Kilkenny people were giving out about Barry Kelly sending off Henry Shefflin against Cork & I found it embarassing. Humble in victory & gracious in defeat. CHAMPIONS NEVER COMPLAIN......

dcb (Kilkenny) - Posts: 26 - 02/09/2014 15:38:02    1646933

I've no problem with Mayo people complaining about some of the decisions last Sat. Cormac had a bad night at the office (stinker actually) and I'm pretty sure he'd admit as much if and when he gets to review it. The big one for me and I think most others who saw the game is how Enright did not get his marching orders. Once that didn't happen the players knew it was open season to do whatever, and you probably wouldn't get sent off.
Having said that, Mayo left it behind them, 7-up and let Kerry back into it. Can't fault any of the Mayo players as they all gave 110%. I'm of the opinion that this was another one lost on the sideline to add with last years final.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 02/09/2014 16:01:12    1646964

Surely the whole point of this is the standard of refereeing.
Why is the spotlight continually on referees?
'It seems to go from one extreme to the other. One week the referees are strict, there is a hue and cry in the media and then the following week the refereeing is totally the opposite.
I imagine Reilly was worried about giving a black card after how the black card of the previous week was overturned on appeal. So he was a long time to give one but had already avoided one certain sure card and possibly one or two more.
Even poor refereeing is sometimes tolerated if it is just poor judgement. Both teams get an equal number of calls against them and they cancel each other out. However, sometimes people feel that referees have an agenda. This is what gets supporters up in arms. Reading John Bannon's article in the Examiner it would appear that Mayo had about a dozen bad decisions against them while Kerry may have had two or three. Kerry possibly benefited to the tune of about 1-3 while Mayo might have been deprived of up to five scorable frees. When you look at it this way it most certainly affected the result, especially taking into consideration at which junctures the dodgy frees were awarded or not awarded. This doesn't look good for refereeing or for the GAA as a body.
Generally in this game there seemed to be many infringements which went unpunished. There were at least two double hops, there were instances of charging with the ball including a couple of headbutting incidents by a player in possession. None of these were blown. What message does that give to players?
Aidan O Shea took a lot of punishment without getting many frees but he and others did continually solo into trouble. This tactic does not work against a good team and once they had been turned over once or twice they should have realized that it was better to move the ball on quickly. But they kept at it and it suited Kerry to a T.
Now everyone is wondering what rules will be applied in the final. I think Joe McQuillan should be rewarded after his really good performance on Sunday. It will need a very strict application of the rules to cut out the pulling and dragging, full frontal assaults and third man tackles. Otherwise the best team may not win.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 02/09/2014 16:52:16    1647019

TheFlaker

Look I understand why people are annoyed, the ref had a shocker but we were 7 points up and got destroyed the whole game by the most basic tactic in Gaa, long ball after long ball. We couldn't shut them down. The ref was not against us, he simply had a nightmare. He have us everything in the second half v Cork, he is simply a poor ref, not a biased one. Time to support the players, not talk about ifs and buts. If my granny had balls she'd be my grandad!!

So your solution to a problem is to....ignore it? Ever thought of gettig a job in politics with tat mindset. If people didn'tvoice their opinions we would live in communist Russia....:P I seriously worry about some people

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 02/09/2014 17:00:00    1647033

Sur look what did we expect!! Always some controversy when Mayo men and Meath men are on the pitch!!

1996 , 2009 & now 2014!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 02/09/2014 17:00:22    1647034

Wow actual problems in the world being compared to a bad refereeing display, keep up the good work good lad. It isn't ignored, but we can't keep going on about it for weeks!! Reilly is a poor ref, he isn't the only one. We were hard done by but were 5 points up the first day and 7 points the last day, and got murdered by the long ball for the whole game. We need to look at our shortcomings more than the ref. Same mistakes being made all the time, that is a fact.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 02/09/2014 19:45:35    1647149

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

1647034 Sur look what did we expect!! Always some controversy when Mayo men and Meath men are on the pitch!!

1996 , 2009 & now 2014!!!

What controversey in 2009. We beat Mayo fair and square that day.. and cough splutter Mayo let a big lead slip that day too.

No need for a witch hunt now mayo lads, tongue in cheek

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/09/2014 08:45:37    1647256

dcb
County: Kilkenny
Humble in victory & gracious in defeat. CHAMPIONS NEVER COMPLAIN......

In fairness its very easy to be humble in defeat when your from Kilkenny, ye have witnessed countless All Ireland's come to Kilkenny and probably will do in the future. If you had never saw Kilkenny win an All Ireland you might not be as forgiving when things go against ye.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/09/2014 09:05:15    1647267

moylagh

I've no problem with Mayo people complaining about some of the decisions last Sat. Cormac had a bad night at the office (stinker actually) and I'm pretty sure he'd admit as much if and when he gets to review it. The big one for me and I think most others who saw the game is how Enright did not get his marching orders. Once that didn't happen the players knew it was open season to do whatever, and you probably wouldn't get sent off.
Having said that, Mayo left it behind them, 7-up and let Kerry back into it. Can't fault any of the Mayo players as they all gave 110%. I'm of the opinion that this was another one lost on the sideline to add with last years final.

Very balanced post. I feel that Reilly did have a stinker, making a number of bad decisions in the replay, most of which went against Mayo and which cost them heavily on the scoreboard. However, there are clearly major problems for Mayo in terms of having a leaky full-back line, a midfield which was cleaned out on the day, and a lack of scoring support for Cilian O'Connor. Until these issues are addressed, Mayo will not win Sam, simple as that. It is also lamentable that Mayo sides over the years have a recurrent inability to hang on to leads (this happens at all levels, minor, u-21 and senior, so it's not just a trait with this side).

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2014 09:22:18    1647271

Wasnt the easiest game to ref especially as I think he had in his own mind to let the game flow. Made for an exciting game but also led to some dubious decisions.

Kerry's 2 frees in 1st extra time seemed a bit soft but mayo got a number of soft frees too. But i will admit by and large kerry got their more than fair share of the important calls - which was opposite to the week before where Mayo got the bigger calls.
I have watched the game 3 times this week! Kevin Mcloughlin got away with murder pulling and dragging.

But the winning and losing in the game was mayo's inability to handle Donaghy.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/09/2014 09:30:20    1647280

refs performance in first game key for mayo getting a replay

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 03/09/2014 10:09:56    1647310

This:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html

John Bannon seems to think Reilly lost control of the game early on and fudged a number of key decisions. Hard to disagree with him.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2014 13:14:19    1647450

The referee was pretty appalling last Saturday evening and McStays comments were fairly spot on in fairness. I was standing fairly close to Shane Enright in the ground and for the life of me I couldnt understand why he stayed on the pitch. Both penalties were fairly suspect as were some of the soft frees that Kerry got towards the end. I find it astonishing that Eugene McGee has made no statement on the application of the black card rule because it has been a farce all year. The black card is not working and most refs arent bothering to apply this particular rule. I also cannot understand how a ref doesnt consult with his umpires before awarding a penalty in such a tight game. If I was a Mayo man I would be disgusted. On the flip side, Kerry dominated midfield throughout the game and Donaghy had a massive influence on the game. Cannot understand why Mayo did not put a big man on him a la David Brady in 2006. Mayo are a fine team and will be back again but refereeing like this understandably leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Not good enough at any level.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 03/09/2014 13:31:32    1647465