I agree ban.We are worlds apart.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/08/2014 17:30:01    1644277

mod

jackrobin
What a load of rubbish, if he was a kerry player there is no way he would have been cleared. If the gaa want mayo to win so much just give them sam now so we dont have to waste our time going to limerick.

People in glasshouses... I remember Daragh O Se being sent off in a club championship in Kerry in the not to distant past. It disqualified him from playing for the county in an important match. There was a furore about it at the time and the headline on some newspaper (probably the Kerryman) read Will Daragh Play? Some wag suggested they should transpose the first and second words and he was correct. Daragh played.!!

Blast from the past. That was 12 years ago. Sure the ref meant to give him a yellow card.
Paidi was late for that game and no sign of Darragh on the pitch. Paidi didn't spend too long in the stand once he realised what happened.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/08/2014 17:50:57    1644285

Keegan's playing......:)
GET OVER IT!!!!

Mayoabroad (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 29/08/2014 18:48:09    1644312

As if our boys didn't have enough motivation going on to this game, this will drive us on even more. I just hope the ref has a good game tomorrow and that he's strong and doesn't let the mayo players and mayo fans influence him too much.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/08/2014 19:09:09    1644323

i am absolutely delighted that keegan got off...the CCCC and the top brass of the GAA get what they deserve...there has been a reluctance to admit for years now that many ofd our so called top refs are completely incompetent...in this case coldrick made a complete mess of the situation...he couldn't even get it right in deciding what offence to report keegan for which begs the question did he even see what happened in the first place..

now will all the mayo supporters who had a go at the tyrone county board and dublin county board for getting players off suspensions on technicalities and support this decision please acknowledge their hypocricy???

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 29/08/2014 19:24:59    1644334

Disgraceful undermining of referees and rules. It stinks. Every other thread on here complaining about refs not making proper decisions. Then when the best ref makes a decision the cowardly suits go against their own rules.
Disgusting.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2014 19:31:44    1644338

Great to see, delighted that well get to see one of the best footballers in Ireland where he belongs. I don't see how anyone normal would begrudge him

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/08/2014 20:12:21    1644352

No doubt that if this had happened in an early round of championship, he would not have got off. Bad decision, shows little respect for our refs.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/08/2014 20:15:48    1644355

Absolute joke of a decision its in the rulebook that any striking or kicking action towards another player warrants a red card so therefore the red card was appropriate..also would like to have seen the outcome had dublin and donegal played last week and drew where would the replay have been the GAA is a joke changing their rules and events to suit their greed.!

oneills09 (Wexford) - Posts: 130 - 29/08/2014 20:56:28    1644379

how in the name of god is it a joke decision ?
for the love of god there was nothing in it, man game , should be played harder in my opion .. like the good old days when a odd punch and kick went astray !

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 29/08/2014 21:24:25    1644395

royal dunne and oneill you both seem to miss the point here...coldrick reported keegan for kicking with minimal force...actually he did not kick...he was guilty of ATTEMPTING to kick but coldrick failed to report him for this offence...therefore the ref has undermined himself..so mayo county board completely justified in their appeal...and great to see an appalling decision overturned

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 29/08/2014 21:29:06    1644398

Ha ha, could ye imagine a ref from today going back with his set of rules and overseeing say a Dublin V Meath game during the 80's.
Fecking 5 aside game would unfold :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/08/2014 21:38:29    1644407

Hey jack murphy, missing you from the Kerry forum site, how you doing, looking like I was right about you, looking forward to you posting before the next Kerry/cork game and your patronising mush, the "animals" are doing just fine, i'll make sure to tell the lads of your interesting posts here, by the way ciarrai abu re: a farce, expect nothing else from the CHC, anyway bring it on, lets end the mayo whinging.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 29/08/2014 21:38:39    1644408

Keegan deserves to play tomorrow.If it was league game or 1st round of championship would red card be overturned?Yet again another red card overturned at business end of championship

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 29/08/2014 22:00:13    1644431

I haven't read many of the posts so my apologies if I'm repeating other posters but anyway I think the decision was wrong, Keegan deserved his red card under the rules of the game. Ok it was a minor incident, he got off on a technicality and I have nothing at all against Keegan or Mayo but I just get the feeling that the Gaa are being lenient on Keegan to keep Mayo onside after fixing the replay for Limerick.

But anyway, Keegan is playing and I wish him and Mayo all the best, it won't bother me when I'm watching the game today but I have a question about technicalities and again apologies if it's already been asked. Keegan got off because Coldrick had him down as 'striking' instead of 'attempted striking' but both are red card offences, so then my question is, is it then possible to get your red card rescinded if you strike out and connect with force but the ref mistakenly puts down 'attempted striking' instead of 'striking'? It seems incredible but if these technicalities are there then I'd imagine it's very possible if the ref makes a minor error.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/08/2014 09:54:52    1644454

I'm delighted he's back. All the Dubs hatin' on here, forgetting about their THREE biting incidents etc. What Keegan did wouldn't have raised an eyebrow at mass ffs. If it happened in hurling, no-one would comment. It's ridiculous how a man sent off incorrectly (not according to the rules, I agree) and is expected to miss out because of a crappy decision.

Good call by the GAA in this case and we are where we should be.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 30/08/2014 10:20:57    1644463

Lee lashed out stupidly in reaction to Buckley's holding and punching. Given that he's a footballer and the fact that his boot went nowhere close to either of Buckley's legs, I think it was gesture of intent, a sort of warning, and not an attempt to land a blow. David Coldrick didn't see it clearly so did the right thing and consulted his linesman. Cormac Reilly described what he saw from a side view, from which it was difficult to determine that a kick hadn't been landed, so that's what LK got carded for. This was an honest error IMO, and all the CCC did was overturn an honest mistake.

I think, and I hope I'm wrong, it's possible that the Kerry crowd might take it out on LK today, and Buckley could also get a barracking in retaliation. I hope both sets of supporters just get behind the 2 teams and no nonsense. Here's to a good open game and the better team winning. Safe travelling to all.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/08/2014 10:38:34    1644470

One man,and indeed his county board,I always admired is John Mullane of Waterford. There is little doubt that had he made a crooked case he could have launched an appeal and have himself reinstated for the All Semi Final of 2004. Fair play John you often tormented us but when it came to the crunch you stood apart even in other ways as a man of sheer class

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 30/08/2014 12:21:22    1644503

Hey jack murphy, missing you from the Kerry forum site, how you doing, looking like I was right about you, looking forward to you posting before the next Kerry/cork game and your patronising mush, the "animals" are doing just fine, i'll make sure to tell the lads of your interesting posts here, by the way ciarrai abu re: a farce, expect nothing else from the CHC, anyway bring it on, lets end the mayo whinging.

You have the wrong Murphy 'collins'.
You are of course typical Kerry and poor old Paudi was right (RIP) I never posted on a Kerry forum as I've never seen it. Im a Wicklow man living in Cork this past 30 years so have no axe to grind with anybody. You lot seem to have very thin skin and can't abide critisism of any nature. In case you don't know, Marc O Se had a red card rescinded after the Munster Final in 2008 and nobody complained as the ref Fahy made a hasty decision without the benefit of slow motion cameras etc. Same thing happened to Coldrick last Sunday but Buckley and especially Walsh were less than sporting.
Keegan was far more sinned against than sinner and every fair minded sports person can see that from the replays. The whistle had gone for a free which he had won, and he was then subjected to manhandling by the two lads in blue. His reaction, and that is what it was, was natural and he is not a dirty player. I sincerely hope there is no follow on today in Limerick and may the best team win.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 30/08/2014 15:45:08    1644569