Lee Keegan gets off

Nothing against Keegan and happy he can play but its a total farce. GAA once again undermining referees. Look at other sporting bodies - they will always side with the referee unless there is a clear and obvious case for reprieve and they do that to protect referees' authority. There was no clear and obvious case in this example - whats the difference whether the ref put 'striking' or 'attempting to strike' - both are red card offences.

At the time, for the good of the game as a neutral, I was hoping that a yellow card would suffice - but there really can be no argument against the ref's decision when you look at the rules. Now, are the GAA going to continue to blatantly ignore the rulebook or change it.

This sets a dangerous precedent.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 29/08/2014 09:54:20    1643871

So it was overturned on a technicality - the referee can only report him for one offense - it looked to me as if he made contact but apparently he didn't so it was attempting to strike, I guess it will mean CP will have to look at combining the rule so that its striking and/or attempting. It just making it harder for referee's. Imagine two lads get sent off for boxing the head off each other - referee reports them for striking with the hand - the two of them go into the meeting and say that they never hit each other just attempted to do it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 29/08/2014 09:55:15    1643872

Very surprised but its a big boost for Mayo. Only in the GAA would we have a situation where some people who said that it shouldn't have been a red in the first place are now saying that he shouldn't have got it rescinded!

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 29/08/2014 09:55:18    1643874

Jackeen

I agree flaker but there's a concensus that if dublin win it IS because of favours from the gaa. Ye cant win. I suppose its shows both our counties are to be envied for recent sucesses and long may the conspiracy theorists sit in their rocking chairs plotting!

I have defended Dublin on here more than most. I think they should have to play games on the road and I was annoyed when the Gaa announced that the reason for the Mayo game wasn't put back a week in case the Dublin game finished in a replay, that wasn't right Jackeen. But if Dublin aren't forced to play outside of Croker then I wouldn't expect them to offer to do it!! If Dublin win Sam this year it will be because they were the best team this year, end of story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 29/08/2014 09:58:50    1643877

Technically he used his boot but he didn't make contact and really, red cards should only be for deliberate attempts to harm another player. So on that basis I have no problem with him being cleared. There is a Kerry player who was very fortunate not to have had video evidence used against him so best it be left there.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2014 09:59:46    1643878

read the rule, if it was enforced fully, there would not be a player left on the field in any game,

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 29/08/2014 10:00:08    1643879

Bottom line Coldrick made a bags of reffing the game and then failed to properly write up his match report. Yellow would have been suffcient for Keegan and as referenced by Colm O'Rourke and Alan Mulholland after the game he gave frees to Mayo that in similar circumstances kerry did not get.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 29/08/2014 10:05:20    1643880

Flaker i agree on all points

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2014 10:07:40    1643882

culmore

read the rule, if it was enforced fully, there would not be a player left on the field in any game,

So what are we saying then? There are no rules? How do we expect to get good referees when there isn't even a rulebook to follow?

Or should we just treat it like the rule where you can touch the ball on the ground after losing possession and falling ie. ignore it

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 29/08/2014 10:08:33    1643883

Don't know why everyone gets so exited about these things. Its been happening for years and every county has got the benefit of one of these "technicalities" over the years.

Bad decision to send Keegan off and a bad decision to overturn the refs decision. Two wrongs clearly make a right.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1133 - 29/08/2014 10:20:47    1643889

I have nothing against Lee Keegan but he got deservedly sent off according to the rules. Harsh as it was. But Paul galvin served many a harsh (and deserved) bans too.
he should have served his 1 match ban and makes a mockery of disciplinary procedures.
Just shows the stupid loop holes that are in GAA.

If Lee Keegan got sent off for breaking the lads ankle and the ref wrote he broke he attempted to strike instead of striking would he get off then also???

But anyway now this is over time to look forward to the game, should be another cracker

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 29/08/2014 10:23:33    1643890

Can gaelic football not just play the rulebook? Please?

It was a correct decision to send him off. He kicked or attempted to kick an opponent. There was no fault on the referee. Keegan's stupidity got him sent off. Now the rule book has been ignored and the red card overturned? What a joke. I won't bother watching the replay.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 29/08/2014 10:24:59    1643891

Well the GAA have given the mayo boys full licence to go and knock lumps out of our Kerry boys tomorrow and wait and see coz it will happen, obviously the GAA are backing the mayo pony this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/08/2014 10:30:07    1643897

Glad he got off as I ssid before he deserved a yellow card would of been the best action. One thing I must say I was disgusted with some of the Mayo lads Cillian o Connor in particular roaring and shouting in the Kerry lads faces when they went 5 up. True winners don't bother with that type of stuff, im afraid they prop will win on Saturday, but that's about it.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 29/08/2014 10:33:25    1643901

This whole wording thing is a joke if everyone is honest.
What would happen in this circumstance:

Ref notes in report : Attempt to Strike = Red card
On review it is realised that the player did make contact.

Is the red overturned?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 29/08/2014 10:33:35    1643902

Its the GAA who are making a bags of it with the rules and undermining the refs, Im glad lee Keegan is playing there was nothing in it and it would of being harsh to miss a semi because of it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/08/2014 10:39:04    1643904

As someone else has said, if it was a Kerry player, the red card would not have been overturned. Just a fact.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 29/08/2014 10:47:47    1643912

As expected, but surely a precedent is set here!

It just highlights there's no defined rules in the game which means that games and championships can be influenced by the preference of certain individuals high up in Croke Park

Last year harsh in all as it was (very harsh actually) but McGrath sent off Horgan in the hurling Munster final only to have it over turned, despite the fact that the GAA had vindicated this decision.

If Kilkenny had beaten Cork last year would Henry have been playing in the semi-final against Dublin? Why did Podge Collins have to serve his ban this year after his sending off against Wexford. Back in 2010 there seemed to be a witch hunt out against the Kerry lads by the CCCC which it the total opposite to whats happening here.

There's 9 pages of comments on the decision to send off Lee Keegan, its probably 50/50 for and against and the fact is both sides of the argument are correct in their own right. 9 pages tells you how unclear the officiating of our games actually are. If all was right is wouldnt have been a post in the first place

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 29/08/2014 10:50:31    1643915

Delighted he got off great player lets move on and roll on tomorrow I personally can't wait for this game and having it in limerick makes the whole occasion even better.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2014 10:56:51    1643924

Lee is very definitely not a Dub. Either is Buckley. Neither is The Pope but that wouldn't prevent some narcissistic posters mentioning him here just to have another reason to show how narcissistic they can be when talking about their county's achievement's.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 29/08/2014 11:06:33    1643935