Culchies v The City Boys

bloodyban
County: Limerick

1644045 Ah theres only real townies or city folk in 3 cities...Dublin of course...limerick and then Cork. Proper city folk in these places have more in common with people in manchester,birmingham and the like..You guys might say hey limerick has only 100,000 people what makes it more city than sa Galway.. Well for me Galway has a town/country mentality while limerick is raw...tenements, back alleys,flats,quick fists...fast wits..."Watch your back kid"...i like that

No you left out Derry City and Belfast City are both larger than Limerick or Galway, and both can definitely go toe to toe with Limerick on having edgy area's and "Watch your back or knee's kid" stakes.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 29/08/2014 14:19:02    1644138

"And less of the spud wise crack lads' Remember When youse walked in Of the the Concrete and picked up your packet of Tayto or got your Fish and chips' Did youse ever spare a thought for us poor Country Folk who broke our backs getting the spudz out of the ground.
Show some respect boys..lol lol"

Jasus, Donegal spuds are good for nothing except Fodder. North County Dublin spuds on the other hand, best of the lot. Wexford ones aren't bad if yer stuck, but they tend to get all mushy in the Coddle.....

JadenD (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 29/08/2014 14:23:42    1644143

Anyone who can go to the shop without needing to use the tractor is a townie

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 29/08/2014 14:29:02    1644148

Ah jesus rua why did you mention the 't' word!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 29/08/2014 14:33:08    1644153

brendtheredhand

Lads this thread is pure comedy gold, admin, DO NOT shut it down, I'm not in a good place right now and reading through this has put a smile on my face, more of this I say.

Ah Bren, I sincerely hope your sadness is football related only, you've probably seen this by now but if you haven't, it'll make you laugh :D

http://livegaelic.com/craic/video-dublin-donegal-battle-anchorman-style/

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 29/08/2014 14:34:09    1644154

Ah yes the country boys v the townies back in the day....those townies had it soft. Walking down town after school, hanging around the streets playing pool, chatting to the girls from the convent while us country boys were onda bus home and usually got farm jobs to do once landed home. Mind you we used to beat the town club often at GAA ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 29/08/2014 15:41:58    1644187

Jackeen

Gleebo

One only has to peruse the mayogaablog to see who's obsessed!! My post however was referencing the cringe worthy open letter that was doing the rounds last year to the mayo team and the numerous rallying cries of "its our year" on numerous social media fora. No offence intended.

Fair enough J, found that letter to be a bit cringeworthy myself. As did a lot of Mayo posters here. Don't see how you can compare a bit of pep-rally "It's Our Year" stuff to the cliché ridden OP, though.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/08/2014 15:48:17    1644191

yew_tree

Ah yes the country boys v the townies back in the day....those townies had it soft. Walking down town after school, hanging around the streets playing pool, chatting to the girls from the convent while us country boys were onda bus home and usually got farm jobs to do once landed home. Mind you we used to beat the town club often at GAA ;)

Which town club was that, Yew Tree? I played for a town club that used to win everything at underage, we rarely lost to the village teams. Mustn't have been a haystack baled during those years ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/08/2014 15:51:37    1644192

Dubs are about to get a wake up call! Hon Donegal!

McCoolio (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 29/08/2014 15:53:17    1644194

Gleebo, south Mayo but that is all I am giving you ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 29/08/2014 15:55:50    1644197

McCoolio

Dubs are about to get a wake up call! Hon Donegal!

------
Keep your eyes wide open. Blink and you might miss us. This will be shock and awe on an unprecedented scale.
Up the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2014 16:06:50    1644210

What a load of absolute hogwash! Must be the worst OP I have ever read.Do you write for Ireland's Own Inishowen?
I tell you one thing we won't be bothered about getting our togs dirty on Sunday!
Good luck with the blanket and sure you can amuse your companions on the long fruitless journey home to the hills with tales of how you used to beat us City slickers back in the day.
Yawn.....

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/08/2014 16:14:26    1644219

Sorry Dubs but KK are the ones 31 other counties want to see lose !
Onto the game itself, DL will negate them but Dubs have the players to win by 1-2pts.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 29/08/2014 16:32:59    1644238

Hans christian Anderson is alive and well and living in the inishowen area but no fairytale on sunday! Cityclickers to walk it and send the culchie crybabies packing with their tails between their legs once again!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 29/08/2014 17:42:20    1644280

Suppose it's just the way this oul gals brain is wired Gleebo :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2014 17:52:52    1644287

i find it funny how dublin people are always labelled cocky
when the original poster
finished off with nothing but cocky lines saying all that donegal are going to do on sunday
and boasting about winning a few games as a kid haha
its like the newspapers
you have mostly ex county players from around the country that use the same pre match verdict all the time
regarding dublin matches this is going back years and then when we lost they would be the first to put the boot
in while the day before the match they were the ones tipping us to win

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2014 17:58:16    1644288

Belfast and Londonderry/Derry are fine cities. Theres no doubt about that,its just that there in another country.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/08/2014 18:45:25    1644308

Jackeen

Gleebo

One only has to peruse the mayogaablog to see who's obsessed!! My post however was referencing the cringe worthy open letter that was doing the rounds last year to the mayo team and the numerous rallying cries of "its our year" on numerous social media fora. No offence intended.

i enjoy seeing supporters get hyped up and losing the run of themselves in the fun of it all. I hate seeing them being put down for it. The championship would be very boring if we all had that view. Like the year Donegal won it. They went mental and did loads of cringe worthy things. I doubt they cared though what people thought as they had the best year of their lives.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 29/08/2014 18:57:12    1644317

Okay I'll admit it......My Granny was a culchie....she wandered into the city from Finglas.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/08/2014 19:18:08    1644329

My Granny wandered through Finglas a long time ago, haven't seen her since :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 29/08/2014 19:33:26    1644339