Culchies v The City Boys

Dont mind the City boys or the Culchies. Up the Townies!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/08/2014 12:19:29    1643997

@ Jackeen Lantern heart of divine jesus there's more than a touch of the Mayos about that post!

LOL, yeah it does sound like something you'd hear from Mayo,it's going to be a great game,I think the bookies have it wrong with the odds though Dublin are rightly favourites,hope it's a good hard sporting match and may the best team win.

City slickers/chelski 0-12 Tir Chonaill 1-10 CMON DONEGAL

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 29/08/2014 12:21:45    1644002

Not quite how the OP saw this thread i am guessing

Prob expecting a lot of congrats and uuuppyyaaabbooyyyaass :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2014 12:23:25    1644004

Stupid thread most people living in irish urban areas in their 20's or 20's are 1st generation city dwellers and are probably well versed in the rural way of life and agriculture.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 29/08/2014 12:25:36    1644005

The Bull - would say there is hardly a Dub or Cork city or Belfast person who does not have at least one parent or grandparent who are or were culchies! It is a bit of crack around games but I'm afraid OP has taken it to absurdity!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2014 12:30:28    1644008

Theres a culchie somewhere in most of us, sure why do ye think the GAA has survived in Dublin. I myself am 3rd generation Dub, that's Dub enough for me :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 29/08/2014 12:33:32    1644012

Ollie, the townies are another breed altogether.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/08/2014 12:37:21    1644021

My grandfather was from Tipp and hurled for Dublin and have granny from DJ's home place but we are Dubs now. Doesn't mean we hate "culchies". Why in the name of god would we!!!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2014 12:45:29    1644033

'Lesser Spotted Spide (Moustachius Bumfluffus)
The lesser spotted spide can usually be spotted in rural areas from early September until late October and is distinct with their all white plume normally with some sort of marking/insignia on the chest and occasionally stripes on the arm. The male of the species also sports wispy hair above the lip and has a call which gets higher in pitch the longer it goes on. They can be seen in meadows and woodland methodically searching large areas, usually in packs of 3 or 4 but seldom more and never alone. Viewing or observing is usually better done from afar as they can get quite agitated if you get too close and you may end up scaring them off. Best time of the day to see them is the daylight hours as they are unfamiliar with the pitch dark and usually return to familiar surroundings before the sun has set.'

Lol yeah well we do have our fair share of smick mushroom munchers. Never quite understood the thinking behind the bumfluff moustache or the spiders legs haircut other than i assume to somehow assist you to get served in the off licence !

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 29/08/2014 12:49:36    1644038

sounds like the forgotten verse from the Eagles song Lying Eyes

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/08/2014 12:50:08    1644040

Ah theres only real townies or city folk in 3 cities...Dublin of course...limerick and then Cork. Proper city folk in these places have more in common with people in manchester,birmingham and the like..You guys might say hey limerick has only 100,000 people what makes it more city than sa Galway.. Well for me Galway has a town/country mentality while limerick is raw...tenements,back alleys,flats,quick fists...fast wits..."Watch your back kid"...i like that

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/08/2014 12:52:16    1644045

Always got a hard time from dubs in curracloe for playing hurling instead of soccer. . . . .they said it was a culchie game. . . . .Until my grandmother told me t0 explain what a jackeen was. They didn't like my summary of their county. . . . All just kids stuff though. once upon a time it would have bothered me that dubs referred to anywhere beyond the pale as "the country". . . .It's a little insulting to other counties and towns steeped in tradition and history and no two counties alike in my opinion. . I'm not quite as sensitive now :)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 29/08/2014 13:17:06    1644072

Speaking of cities, I was in Derry the other week and then Belfast a few days ago, there is a seriously different vibe between the 2 cities, I think the people of Derry are lost culchies in a city body if that makes sense, whereas Belfasties just seem like foreigners.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 29/08/2014 13:31:52    1644087

Who are you trying to fool bloodyban?! Limerick are culchies, stop trying to suck up to us, you have way more in common with two mile borris than Dublin

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/08/2014 13:32:31    1644088

Offsiderule tell me about it ha.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/08/2014 13:41:29    1644094

A Lads' You didnt Like my wee Story..You see We are way behind the Times up here in the Hills' Not much to Do on the long nights and Story telling is part of our tradition. Youse are a serious bunch. O and the story is 100% true by the Way. i knew it would get a rise from some of you Dublin Boys. Not to be taking too seriously. And far from looking for pats on the back.

Ref- The culchie/Townies/City Boys Thing'-i have busted my balls building your Urban sprawl and have worked with some sound Dubs "yes believe it or believe it not" Some Dubs are willing to get there hands dirty. There are plenty of Donegal townies who Wouldnt get their hands dirty or Do an ounce of hard Graft.

ref-This Dublin team' I dont have many issues with them' apart from a dislike of a couple of players.They are a fine Bunch of footballers and I particularly like watching Bernard brogan in Action and also find him to be a very down to earth Articulated Man when giving interviews.

I see some Donegal members cringing and Shouting close the thread' i wonder are theses the same fans who having been doubting our Squad before a championship ball was kicked..?

And less of the spud wise crack lads' Remember When youse walked in Of the the Concrete and picked up your packet of Tayto or got your Fish and chips' Did youse ever spare a thought for us poor Country Folk who broke our backs getting the spudz out of the ground.
Show some respect boys..lol lol

Although the original post was lighthearted' prepare for a Rough Weekend boys' with plenty of big Hits coming your way.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 29/08/2014 13:52:07    1644110

You are getting better Inishowen!

Listen, at end of day all of us are part of the best thing about this country.

Enjoy the weekend my chum.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2014 14:04:39    1644126

hurlingdub

My grandfather was from Tipp and hurled for Dublin and have granny from DJ's home place but we are Dubs now. Doesn't mean we hate "culchies". Why in the name of god would we!!!!

-----
Go way outta that ye bleedin' quarter culchie ye!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2014 14:10:35    1644132

To be considered a proper city there needs to be at least 2 murders a year..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/08/2014 14:12:35    1644134

Lads this thread is pure comedy gold, admin, DO NOT shut it down, I'm not in a good place right now and reading through this has put a smile on my face, more of this I say.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/08/2014 14:13:35    1644136