Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

He bottled the faceguard incident, pure and simple. He had a great view of it. B.Kelly fans laud him for the way he rigidly applies the rules, making this particular failure to correctly punish the player all the more striking.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 08/09/2014 13:51:20    1649575

I am going to frame my ticket from yesterday and hang it on the wall as a souvenir of the greatest game of hurling I had the privelidge to witness, my voice is as strained and my head as sore as they have been after any Meath match in the past 30 years, a reminder of how lucky I am to have Kilkenny blood in me and hurling blood

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/09/2014 14:00:39    1649584

He bottled the faceguard incident, pure and simple. He had a great view of it. B.Kelly fans laud him for the way he rigidly applies the rules, making this particular failure to correctly punish the player all the more striking.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 08/09/2014 14:10:42    1649591

Meridian
County: Westmeath

222 from UK, who would be a Ref with the like of you around. Take the 2 penalties. Very close calls but in both instances was the Tipperary man not fouled when bearing down on goal with only keeper to beat. In hindsight one needs to ask is it more beneficial to pull the man down and give away a penalty where 3 men are defending a strike from the 21 yard line or let him go and shoot from a shorter distance against one man. Cute play from the Cats i think. The penalties were not scored and therefore had no bearing on the result but you have to side with the attacking team as they were denied goalscoring opportunities.

While there were 1 or 2 strange decisions, particularly on the "rugby tackle" on Larkin, I thought he had a great game and added to what was a marvellous occasion. The Brian Hogan incident was a correct one, he charged straight into Maher rather than try to go around him. On the Power helmet decision, there were 2 of them at it, what does a Ref do? He doesnt have the benefit of a action replay to make up his mind.

Considering the occasion, pressure, the speed of the game etc I thought he did a super job.

Fairly selective there singling out the cats for their cute play. Kilkenny were fouled 3 or 4 times when they had an overlap on about 30 metres from goal. Power and Fennelly were going bananas after the incidents as that was also stopping clear goal chances. Just because it 20 metres back doesn't mean it isn't less cute! Kilkenny butchered about 3 goal chances as well, can't wait for the replay. Richie Hogan second half wraps up hurler of the year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 08/09/2014 14:16:33    1649600

I am going to frame my ticket from yesterday and hang it on the wall as a souvenir of the greatest game of hurling I had the privelidge to witness, my voice is as strained and my head as sore as they have been after any Meath match in the past 30 years, a reminder of how lucky I am to have Kilkenny blood in me and hurling blood

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/09/2014 14:25:22    1649606

Heftydickonem - the incident where Power was running to the Ref about his helmet, the replay clearly showed that both of them were at it.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 601 - 08/09/2014 14:58:55    1649623

The face guard rule was invented following dark arts by a one Tommy Walsh. So it's hilarious that Kilkenny fans of all people are moaning about it. But I will concede that Paddy Saint was lucky not to walk. But yeah for the second one they were both at it.

Kilkenny clinically stopped two certain Tipp goals that returned nothing for us from the resulting penalties.

I agree with the Meath. We should all take off our county colours for a minute and marvel at how lucky we were to be at this match. I thought the 2009 final was great but this one easily eclipsed it . I'd say 27/28 of the starting 30 played well that's why the substitutions came so late, not management being slow to make a change.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/09/2014 15:11:14    1649629

Let's not forget Killarney87 that in the 2011 AI semi-final Richie Power had a free awarded against him after he'd just had his helmet torn from his head after a faceguard pull. No wonder the powers that be felt clarification and a more suitable punishment was required. Congrats to two teams on a great match. Looking forward to the replay already. Richie Hogan surely a shoo-in for HOTY.

ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 08/09/2014 15:30:33    1649649

222 from UK, who would be a Ref with the like of you around. Take the 2 penalties.

Just highlighting that he got both calls wrong, if the two penalty's go in, how angered would Kilkenny be as they were outside? He nearly cost kilkenny the game with that late free on B Hogan. Your entitled to stand up for your fellow county man but the big calls were called wrong. Thankfully, it didnt make a difference in the end.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 08/09/2014 15:39:57    1649656

I would have to say that although some of the decisions of Kelly were wrong they were wrong with the foresight of tv replays. I will always say this - no referee will get it right 100% of the time, wither he will miss something or see it wrong. I contrast this to the performance of the ref in the May v Kerry game where there is no way he could have missed some of the fouls and the resulting issues. If anything yesterday showed that the black card is needed in Hurling as much as football - mind you he got the wrong man for the yellow for the second one.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 08/09/2014 16:31:27    1649692

A great game. Two outstanding teams. I thought Barry Kelly had mostly a good game. In the helmet incident, to me Richie Power looked to be sinned against rather than the sinner but I will look back at the incident again.

Regarding who started this "dark art" as Killarney87 put it, the first high profile time I remember it was Diarmuid O'Sullivan constantly interfering with Martin Comerford's helmet in 2004. It has been employed by an awful lot of players since and I am in favour of stiff punishments to get rid of it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/09/2014 16:52:57    1649715

http://balls.ie/gaa/the-british-hurling-reaction-to-the-all-ireland-final/

Here is what our friends across the water thought of the All Ireland Hurling Final on Skysports...! :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 08/09/2014 16:53:48    1649716

Anyone have any idea's where this game can be watched online?

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 08/09/2014 17:18:44    1649731

I think Richie Hogan is in pole position to be hurler of the year alright but if say Mickey Cahill kept him quiet the next day and Callanan ran amok the pendulum could swing back. But if I was naming player of the year today I would give it to Hogan, his balance and vision are amazing. I'd love to see Noel McGrath playing like that all the time and not in patches.

Its good that the punishment is stiff for interfering with helmets.

I'm still buzzing after yesterday, it was an amazing match. I'd find it hard to think we could see a better match than that. It was an honour to be there, we'll speak of this match for decades. Before Cork and Clare people get upset we will also speak of last year's two finals for decades too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/09/2014 17:25:48    1649739

Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

I'm still buzzing after yesterday, it was an amazing match. I'd find it hard to think we could see a better match than that. It was an honour to be there, we'll speak of this match for decades. Before Cork and Clare people get upset we will also speak of last year's two finals for decades too.

Jaysus lad you must have an awful low opinion of us if you think we'll get upset by something like that....once nobody mentions this years semi final in future I'll be happy anyway

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/09/2014 17:40:01    1649755

Not you Benny anyway :) I find fans on hoganstand can become very protective of their own team in the most unlikely of circumstances .

August won't be mentioned as our next beating by cork is never far over the horizon.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/09/2014 17:53:47    1649762

I have the match recorded and I'm going to watch it in full before I pass definitive judgement on all Barry Kelly's big calls but my first (albeit jaundiced) impressions were:

- Eoin Larkin seemed to be fouled twice early in the first half, but for the first instance he gave Tipp a free for Larkin diving (did they score from this, I can't remember?) and for the second he waved play on, allowing Tipp to score a point. Larkin has a reputation for going to ground easily and my first impression was that Kelly made these decisions based on this reputation rather than on the merits of tha actual incidents themselves. Didn't see these incidents on TSG so will watch the match before judging.

- My first impression of both penalty incidents at the time were that they were both outside the large sqaure, and having seen TSG last night my first impressions were correct. These therefore should have been 21 yard frees rather than penalties. As it happened, it preversely worked out in Kilkenny's favour as were they awarded as frees, I'd imagine Callinan/Dwyer would have tapped over rather than go for goal. So that was 2 points dropped for Tipp. Were these penalties given pre-Nash it would've been a lot more controversial.

- The free against Brian Hogan at the end for charging. I'd need to look at that again but from what I've seen in real time and on replays it looked pretty-much side-on hip-and-shoulder from both players. Even from a intuitive point of view, a player "charging" against a player standing his ground usually does not end up on the seat of his pants like Hogan did. I watched Kelly's hand gesture at the time and he put his two fists together and jerked his arms forward, which to me signalled that Hogan was being penalised for charging with his hurley raised. From what I've seen of the incident so far, Hogan did nothing of the sort, so I don't know where Kelly was coming from with that one.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/09/2014 18:07:56    1649775

Can't understand lads moaning about this call and that call by ref, the face guard indecent who seen it at the match in real time ? Was it Jackie in the semi against Limerick did the same thing? Can people not just enjoy the fact this was one of the greatest games ever played instead of moaning about something, would some of ye prefer to be robbed of an all Ireland if there was no hawk eye, instead of moaning relax and enjoy the fact both teams have to do it all again.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 08/09/2014 19:19:42    1649810

If Brian Gavin is the referee for the replay GAA may have to implement emergency powers and make it mandatory that referees wear helmets just in case Tommy Walsh makes an appearance.
In the spirit of "the Nash Rule" this new rule would undoubtedly be dubbed the Tommy Walsh Rule"

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 08/09/2014 19:36:36    1649819

Brilliant entertainment on sunday, well done to both teams for serving up such a high quality classic. The Nash rule is going to have to be reviewed though, ok I it looed to me like both fouls started outside the box but they were awarded anyway. They might have to look into talking a defender or two off the line, otherwise penos are going to be tapped over the bar in future.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/09/2014 09:44:53    1649930