Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

Nay, Shefflin won't start. Cody is not one to play mind games like that. But it will be some roar when Shefflin comes on. I hope Shefflin, Tommy Walsh and Aidan Fogarty all see action at some stage tomorrow. No matter what happens it will be the end of a magnificent era (I know there will be those who disagree with my choice of words but feck the begrudgers).

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 06/09/2014 13:27:25    1648729

There were rumours doing the rounds that Shefflin might start. I have it on very good authority that it's bull, but it wouldn't absolutely shock me if it happened. If it's going to happen it might be something like what Tyrone did a few years back with Canavan; start him, sub him at HT, bring him on again for last fifteen mins. But for the moment I can only go with what I was told that it won't happen.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 06/09/2014 21:15:23    1648916

Shefflin is the greatest in my time. Would love to see him play a part in claiming a tenth All-Ireland. What an achievement if he pulls it off. What a guy and what a bunch of lads them Cats are. Have enjoyed every minute of their success. Good luck tomorrow to Cody & Co.

If Tipp win then fair balls to their management who had to go through hell from local folk. They have talent to burn, some outstanding performers. I've enjoyed they way they've bounced back this year to claim a spot in tomorrows final

Kilkenny Tipp games are always manly and entertaining - I'm really looking forward to this clash. Good luck to Barry Kelly also, best man for the job. A class act - he's at home on such an occasion.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 06/09/2014 21:33:15    1648935

Cody will spring Shefflin with 20 minutes to go. He'll no doubt have an impact when he comes on. Definitely the biggest legend in hurling still in the game. I think Kilkenny will have too much for Tipp. KK 2-21 Tipp 1-20.

enver (Limerick) - Posts: 128 - 06/09/2014 21:35:25    1648939

I think Kilkenny will win this, purely on the pedigree of their team and the players on it. It would be nice for the game for Tipp to prove that wrong - either way both would be worthy winners. Still think KK will edge it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/09/2014 14:56:22    1649071

Incredible final, great last few minutes here, huge calls, great game. Can Tipp do it?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/09/2014 16:58:08    1649108

At least Kelly won't be refin it so Kilkenny will have a better chance

spn74 (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 07/09/2014 17:02:11    1649109

Epic game unbelievable, terrific officials, Kelly and umpires spot on, great game. Well done to both teams.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/09/2014 17:02:20    1649110

My word, speechless, game for the ages, well done to both, and Hauwkeye :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 07/09/2014 17:03:25    1649111

Great game.I wonder did the bit of sentiment in bringing on Shefflin cost Kilkenny slightly.He lost out on 2 or 3 contests for the ball at the end and looked a little off the pace.

Tipps shooting was incredible.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 07/09/2014 17:05:59    1649112

My own County man Barry Kelly will probably be the most relieved man after that. One of the most immense games to grace our green fields could have been heavily influenced by a shocker of a decision at the end!
Well done to both - looking forward to the replay already.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 07/09/2014 17:06:43    1649113

Wow! What a game. Shame we couldn't have got the win but think we'll do it in the replay

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/09/2014 17:07:39    1649114

Jaysus! Best final of my life time. The game that keeps on giving :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/09/2014 17:10:33    1649116

brilliant game, fair play to both sides. shooting from Tipp was unreal at times.
shocking call by Kelly at the end and would have soured a marvellous game if that free had been the winner.
looking forward to the replay already.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 07/09/2014 17:12:51    1649117

Good game.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/09/2014 17:16:19    1649120

Incredible game, great contest. Thought Bubbles was outstanding for Tipp, got a rake of scores including a few that were needed at important times. Again, could it be argued that Callanan didn't perform when the big day came? A quiet performance by his high standards I felt.

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 07/09/2014 17:20:26    1649122

Tremendous game and both teams deserve a second chance. It was exciting, skillful, passionate and a credit to the two counties and GAA. The GAA will make 3 million Euro+ from the replay and surely in such circumstances a one off payment of say 10000 Euro to each squad member would be justified? The referee made some bad calls especially with the penalties; the fouls were originally outside the box and were not penalties.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 07/09/2014 17:21:46    1649124

The GAA will make 3 million Euro+ from the replay and surely in such circumstances a one off payment of say 10000 Euro to each squad member would be justified?

What about Management ?

And why start now ? Why not start in the draw game in 2012, Kilkenny and Galway ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/09/2014 17:27:07    1649130

Thought the penalties were correct, tackles were punished correctly, should have been punished with goals. In real time they were the correct calls. Fair play to umpires leaving those big calls to hawekeye. None of it takes from a fantastic game, we live in epic times to be witnessing this standard of hurling. Every year this game keeps going up a notch the skill levels were unreal at times. And we get a second helping!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/09/2014 17:35:49    1649136

Yes it was a great game, very open though Tipp will be dissapointed they didnt win it as will Kilkenny. Both teams butchered numerous goal opportunities. How can only 1 minute be added on? Game should be finished on the day or at least wrapped up next weekend.Players give everything since January while the GAA make a fortune on this. Barry kelly had an ok game, got a lot a big calls wrong including last minute free. Lastly, the penalty taking rule in hurling is a joke, lets be realistic.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 07/09/2014 17:38:11    1649139