Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

The only games that matter are all Ireland's and in the last ten years as that is what some people want to keep it to the score is 2-1 to KK in regards head to heads in all Ireland. Some posters outside of Tipp and KK don't get the rivalry between both Counties because if they did they would know but Counties fear of each other ask any supporter of either County.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 27/08/2014 14:42:48    1643010

Realtmo,i sincerely doubt that League finals against your biggest rivals dont matter.Judging by the look of E O Shea and the Tipp players after this years agonising loss,it mattered an awful lot.They looked devestated.Obviously the All Ire is what matters most but League finals are there to be won.And losing 4 finals to KK in recent years,im sure,would hurt the players.Especially the manner of the losses.If Dublin footballers lost 4 league finals to Kerry in that time,believe me,we would not be happy.The fact is its 10/11 Kilkennywins in big games over last 12 years.Doesnt seem accurate for how close a lot of the games were but,to the victors go the spoils.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/08/2014 15:30:55    1643049

Interesting stat : Tipp have played every team that we have in this year's championship.
Tipp learned from losing to Limerick and have improved with every subsequent game. The wet ball could've gone anywhere in the last few seconds of the KK/Limk game.
Tipp got goals against a poor Dubs team, we didn't.
We shipped a 10pt lead v Galway, Tipp found themselves in trouble v Galway and ended up winning comfortably.
Offaly were too poor in games v both for either to be any the wiser.

They stopped the 'Drive-for-5', how about the '10-for-Hen' ? Hope not but we can't keep beating them forever.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 27/08/2014 15:36:12    1643055

Tipperary by 4 and not an Offaly ref in sight!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 27/08/2014 15:55:05    1643064

Tipperary will need to perform much better than they did against Cork or Kilkenny will take advantage in a war of attrition. Kilkenny appear to be past their best but they remind me of the Kerry team of 1984-86 who won three All-Ireland's despite being past their peak of 1978-81. Tipperary appear to have the better future in front of them and I take them to win narrowly.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 27/08/2014 16:28:00    1643096

Can't believe therealtmo is trying to convince himself that getting well beaten by Kilkenny in All Ireland semi finals didn't matter.
Surely losing a semi final to anyone "counts",never mind getting a hiding from your nearest rivals.

Arturo.Gatti (Kilkenny) - Posts: 52 - 27/08/2014 21:29:34    1643243

You can't compare the game two years ago, it was different management, different tactics (lest we forget for sanity purposes) and we now have new players in the starting 15 like Cathal Barrett, Kieran Bergin, James Barry, Bubbles etc. Wooodlock was only getting back into it following injury, Gearoid Ryan was out injured. Seamus Callanan was out of favour with the manager for reasons I won't go into on this forum. Paddy Saint was not getting a starting berth either because he missed a big part of the early stages of the season through injury.

Here is the 2012 starting 15:

TIPPERARY: B Cummins; C O'Brien, P Curran, M Cahill; T Stapleton, C O'Mahony, Pádraic Maher; B Maher, S McGrath; P Bourke, Patrick Maher, L Corbett; B O'Meara, J O'Brien, N McGrath.

Subs: S Bourke for O'Meara (45), P Stapleton for T Stapleton (47), D Maher for Curran (60), J O'Neill for J O'Brien (63), J Woodlock for B Maher (66).

Here is the 2014 probable starting 15:

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; P Stapleton, J Barry, C Barrett; K Bergin, Brendan Maher, Pádraic Maher; J Woodlock, S McGrath; G Ryan, Patrick Maher, Bubbles, J O'Brien, N McGrath,S Callanan, L Corbett.

Paul Curran was ill all week leading up to that match and shouldn't have been risked. John O'Brien's brother died a couple of days before the match.

So like I say I wouldn't read too much into 2012 but if I had to I'd say the 2014 version of the team is far stronger with the likes of Cahill, Kelly, Denis Maher, Curran, Forde ready to come off the bench if needed.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 28/08/2014 09:02:02    1643276

Referring back to 2012 it was an awful year for Tipp hurling before we even went to Croker.

Limerick should have beaten us in thurles
We managed to pull a game out of the fire against Cork when we should have been well beat.
Waterford were beaten with little or no sweat broken.

Kilkenny had come off a hiding against Galway and a fairly poor performance against Limerick.They were due a big game and Tipp played right into their hands. Everyone knows if Tipp focused more on hurling Kilkenny would not have racked up that score but I believe they would have won anyway given the poor year Tipp were having.

This current Tipp team have a point to prove and a few scores have to be settled with the old enemy.When you look to the league games even in the past 2 years there has been nothing between these great rivals but Kilkenny just seem able to sneak over the line. Sign of a good team who hurl for the full 70 r 75 mins even when things are not going their way.

They have answered all the questions before them this year when Galway hit them for 9 in the last 5 mins in the drawn game they pulled out all the stops in the replay. Same in the Limerick game things were not going well and they won.

Question is can Tipp cause them problems and not let them get a foothold like in 2010. Lead from the off and then land the killer punch with an early goal to knock that belief out of them.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2014 10:29:39    1643317

AnFearDonn
County: Kilkenny

1643055 Interesting stat : Tipp have played every team that we have in this year's championship.
Tipp learned from losing to Limerick and have improved with every subsequent game. The wet ball could've gone anywhere in the last few seconds of the KK/Limk game.
Tipp got goals against a poor Dubs team, we didn't.
We shipped a 10pt lead v Galway, Tipp found themselves in trouble v Galway and ended up winning comfortably.
Offaly were too poor in games v both for either to be any the wiser.

They stopped the 'Drive-for-5', how about the '10-for-Hen' ? Hope not but we can't keep beating them forever

calm down we have beaten ye more times than ye have beaten us man
also I suppose the hiding ye gave us in 2012
made up for the hiding we gave ye back in 1964 and the fact that it took kk 76 years to bat tipp in a championship game

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 11:02:06    1643343

Bold but funny Toibhraid Arann :) Great to see plenty of fighting talk from both camps here. If the players are half as feisty us, we are in for a treat on the 7th.

We are not backing down this time, Kilkenny will need a classic performance to beat us. This Tipp team has shown great heart and guts to get to the All-Ireland final this time. What doesn't kill you will only make you stronger. We have absolutely nothing to fear from Kilkenny or anyone. The large (as always) Tipp support will be the 16th man on the 7th just like our fellow provincial fans who shout their heads off for Munster Rugby and many of their like Ormonde are Tipp hurling fans too.

'Stand up and fight' for Tipp hurling.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 28/08/2014 12:06:08    1643395

We have given KK some hidings in AI Finals too down through the years. If you look down through the history books we definitely have a good record over them not in recent years but that can all change in an instant.At one stage it took KK 45 years to beat Tipp.

However I must point out that prior to 2002 we had a record of something like 12-5 in all championship games. Its now 13-11 so it just goes to show how far Cody has bought this team on and closed that gap in 12 years.

We cant let KK get within 1 of us that gap has to be grown again!!!

An interesting point is that no Tipp / Kilkenny game in the championship has ended in a draw. What the odd's on Sep 7th!!!!

The class of 2010 should not be happy with just on AI they need to prove to Tipp and themselves they were not one trick pony's.

Should they win on Sunday no reason why they should not win another 2 r 3. Many years left in most of this Tipp team should they want it.

Kilkenny will never be finished as people suggest from time to time. They pride themselves in hurling and will always flourish. Will take a great great team even better than themselves to catch their AI haul of titles.We probably wont see the likes of it again but the record is there now. Even when Cody leaves ( if he ever leaves!!!) there are plenty of kittens waiting in the wings.

Any chance Cody should be made manager of the Kilkenny footballers too!!! Perhaps he can turn their fortunes around!!! A special manager and nothing will stop him to becoming the greatest of all time. #Respect.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2014 12:54:20    1643439

bold but true Killarney
they are the facts of the situation

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 12:58:38    1643442

This thread is priceless, lads going on about matches from 50 years ago? Seriously lads, as a neutral hurling fan this is comedy stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/08/2014 13:24:42    1643463

TheFlaker

This thread is priceless, lads going on about matches from 50 years ago? Seriously lads, as a neutral hurling fan this is comedy stuff.

Yup if we cant mention 50 years ago then why mention the last ten years !!! Glad your getting some entertainment Flaker.

As a neutral hurling fan you might learn some interesting stuff about the Tipp KK rivalry here!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2014 14:30:08    1643516

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

TheFlaker

Yup if we cant mention 50 years ago then why mention the last ten years !!! Glad your getting some entertainment Flaker.

As a neutral hurling fan you might learn some interesting stuff about the Tipp KK rivalry here!!!

Eh because the last 5-10 years are relevant due to the amount of players involved, that is the difference. I have been to 5 of the last 10 finals including 3 KK v Tipp ones so know all about the rivalry. Was at the semi final as well when Lar followed Tommy around the corner flag at one stage with the play going on up the far end of the pitch, that was some entertainment that day!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 28/08/2014 14:39:00    1643524

wildpundit
ignore Flaker
he doesn't understand the kk v tipp games and the rivalry
and also the edge tipp have on them down through the years
he just keeps picking out the last ten years out of 130 years of gaa history between the sides

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 14:54:53    1643539

Ok Tipp men,granted ye had a good record v Kilkenny before Cody took over.There can be no taking that away.But since Cody had been in charge,which seeing as hes still present as manager,i think its relevant,Kilkenny have won 6/7 championship games and 4/4 league finals.Thats 10/11 big games won by Cody and Kilkenny in the modern era of this rivalry.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/08/2014 15:28:32    1643558

Stats and all that whether it be from 50 years ago or 5 years ago will have no relevance come September 7th.

Funny that we can have a conversation about how great KK are over the last 10 years but we dare not mention that Tipp have a better head to head over them in previous finals before many of us set foot on this planet. Just because it was 10 years ago or 10 months ago its deemed appropriate.Are we really that sensitive on this forum that in the build up to what will be a great final we cant mention the past and a wee bit of history in what is truly friendly banter.

God help us if its a Kerry , Dublin football final!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2014 16:16:42    1643606

Its all part of the build up Wildpundit.Codys era is near total domination over Tipp.Its just a fact.For what its worth,ill be supporting Tipp bigtime.Id love to see ye win it.In regards a Dublin v Kerry final,weve beaten the kingdom in last 2 big games-2011 final,and last years epic semi final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/08/2014 16:46:03    1643624

Point is cuederocket can you see how far ahead of Kk tipp were before Cody took over?
And even since he took over it still reads tipp 10 wins Kk 7 wins
Now that's what I call domination
Now don't be trying to putt Kk in same league as tipp just because they had their ten year purple patch over tipp
And don't forget the 2009 robbed final either

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 19:44:58    1643707