Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

Who will Cahill start for Thurles Blues ?

G.Ryan perhaps ?

I don't think any player has touched Richie Hogan this year he has been the complete player from start to finish. Yes Callinan has been great also but Richie has hurled way more ball and 0-06 from play in an AI Final is no mean feat. He has performed in every game to date where Callinan the Limerick game has probably scuppered his chances.

So even if you think Cahill will tie Hogan up in my opinion he will still get hurler of the year and rightly so.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/09/2014 16:52:28    1651030

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

I still think Kilkenny will hold the aces going into the replay. So many options on the bench now who can start.

Would not be suprised if Taggy or Shefflin & Padraig Walsh start the next day.

Dont think Water Walsh would start and perhaps but only my view either Fogarty / Holden could be under threat.

Dilemma for Tipp would they start Cahill in place of Bergin perhaps or go with the same 15.

Tipp have more backs than forwards to bring on. I actually heard Conor O Mahoney could be considered a forward. Not many know that he actually plays full forward in club hurling.

I'd have Cahill for Shane McGrath, let him follow Richie Hogan.

Jason Forde a wild card? Surprised he'd manage to push himself so far up the order in O'Shea's mind, did well when he came in too. Possibly a surprise inclusion a la Shane O'Donnell for the replay...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 11/09/2014 17:31:19    1651054

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

1650897 Ballydalane is it true KK came home after the match ?

Two of the tipp boys I know told me they were waiting in the players lounge and KK never turned up. All the WAGS & GFs had to to scoot it away cos they went straight to the bus.

Just shows how serious Cody is about this replay.

Feeling we'll see a phenomenal Kilkenny performance of old in the replay.

I know people will say that you dont get a second bite at Kilkenny but Dublin did it after a replay last year.

Have a bad feeling about this replay though already!!!!

I know they didn't stay overnight in the Citywest, nor did they after the 2012 drawn final. I wouldn't read too much into that, if I were a player I would rather just go home after a draw, what's the point in hanging around for a night just for the sake of it?

I'm not sure if they went straight home after the match or did they go back to the hotel for something to eat and then go home, but I can certainly find out. Either way, I don't think it makes a blind bit of difference, but people will read in to anything and everything in these situations.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/09/2014 18:15:38    1651066

We have missed our chance I feel. KK to roll back the years, you could see Coady was like a bear after that game and couldn't wait to get his hands on the players. I have never wrote KK off but I feel the end is near for this mighty KK team that's why I can see them going to the well one last time. Now KK will never go way don't get me wrong I just don't see them winning all Ireland like they did they will be normal again that's all. I think the future is very bright for Tipp.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 11/09/2014 19:29:29    1651094

The Realtmo, we'll be grand, keep the faith. Forget about Kilkenny, we are not happy with our performance. We've lots to work on, which we will. I can't wait for round 2. Only 16 days to go now.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 19:58:13    1651104

If any of the players got a bollocking off Cody after the match I'd say it was Richie Power, after he spurned an easy point chance to put Kilkenny five points up with ten mins left. Tipp went straight up and scored a point. 2 point swing straight away. Cody was livid.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/09/2014 20:19:41    1651110

Fellow Gaels,i have attended 19 All Ireland hurling finals,and seen the rest on tv.Last Sunday i missed my first All Ireland,as i was en route from New York to Boston.My Dad texted me at the finish,and said how it was a game for the ages,with scores aplenty,2 missed penalties,and Hawkeye ultimately deciding the result.I wasnt sure if he was winding me up.Alas,hes not that kind of man.I happened to be driving past Fenway Park at the time,where the Red Sox fans,were heading in to watch some baseball game.Not that i needed reminding,but i felt a little sorry for them,as i knew,the greatest game of all,was being played across the Atlantic Ocean.At that moment,i yearned for home.I will never mistakenly book a holiday at this time again.
As soon as i got back to Dublin yesterday,i unpacked quickly,and raced upstairs to watch the game on RTE player.What can i say?Another thrilling chapter written in this epic age old rivlary.I dont think there is a bigger game in GAA.Do these two counties ever serve up a poor game?
I was very impressed with Tipp.They showed tonnes of mental fortitude and resilience.Nobody can question their heart and manliness.I felt lady luck conspired against Tipp.The new penalty rule has hurt Tipp more than anyone.2009 final,Henry hits the penalty from 16 yards out,to break Tipps spirit.Few months back,TJ Reid hits 2 rockets from 14 yards out,and rattles the net.Also the TG4 cameras that day,proved a KK point,was in fact wide,and a Tipp point,was waved wide.If Hawkeye was in Thurles,Tipp would have been the rightful winners.So just when Tipp get 2 penalties in Sundays final,the strikers are at a huge disadvantage.In saying that,i was one of the posters,who wanted the Nash penalty stopped.I did however,say that,to favour the attacking side,maybe just thew keeper should be left on the line.Im sure the rule will be changed properly.Too late for Tipp though.
I cudnt believe some of the goal chances Tipp spurned.Lar,who oozed class all day,was so unlucky to hit the bar.He set Callinan up for a goal,but was well smothered.G Ryan missed a sitter,and Bonnar was twarted by a world class save by Murphy.
I tipped KK pre game,as i thought their knack of getting crucial goals,would see them over the line.I feel R Power fouled P Stapleton prior to second goal.This was a real momentum swing.If i was told KK would score 3 goals to Tipps 1,i cudnt see Tipp winning.To score 28 points was remarkable.Incredible skill and accuracy.Overall i think Tipp were the better team,and with that vital bit of luck,they really should have won.Hurling,once again,was the winner.Great to be home.Ill be at the replay.Tippmen and ye funky felines,take a bow!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/09/2014 20:36:38    1651120

Cant read to much into the going home on Sunday thing. Sure isnt most of the KIlkenny team working in Dublin anyway, just made sense for them to work the Monday I would think.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 11/09/2014 20:56:21    1651133

Cuederocket sorry to hear you missed the match. It was an outstanding spectacle. It made 2009 final look like a kids match and that's saying something.

The build up to Gearoid Ryan's goal chance was awesome, had he scored that it would easily have been goal of the season. Like we carved Kilkenny open with 3/4 sublime passes.

It was a match par excellence, I get energy and enthusiasm just thinking or talking about it.

Instead of unpacking you should have been organising a ticket for the replay :) but that is definitely the silver lining, I think the relay could be as good as the first day because we have improved with every game and bizarrely of all both teams have plenty of areas for improvement after that epic game.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 21:14:01    1651152

Re the two penalties last Sunday-it was problematic when Nash and Reid were banging them in for fun but now that two different Tipp takers have missed in one game it's still an issue. The panelists on the Sunday Game cast doubt on whether they should've been awarded at all so maybe justice was done. The irony being had they been awarded as frees it would've been a two point cushion for the Premier. Then again Eoin Larkin was blatantly fouled at one point in the first half which led directly to a score at the other end. If Barry Kelly deemed this not to be a foul then it's no wonder he overlooked an alleged trip by Richie Power in the lead up to goal two. Plenty of room for improvement in both defences so expect the second day to be just as close without the thirty point barrier being breached. Good luck to all concerned.

ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 13/09/2014 16:30:08    1651622

Yes ironmaiden they were banging them in for fun,from a mere 14 yards out,where it was virtually impossible,for a defender to save them.Huge difference in the pre and post Nash penalty rule.Tipp have definately been the big losers in this,although as you correctly stated,the two penalties may have been frees instead,in which case Tipp would have more than likely,taken the option of scoring a point,and that may have made all the difference.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 18:05:11    1651650

Personally I'd have preferred to see the Nash rule stay. The same rule now applies to Tipp and all other hurling counties when it comes to penalties and unlike the Irish team vs Spain in 2002 we assume they've been practicing them in training. The problem with both penalties was they were struck with such little venom I doubt a few extra yards would've made much of a difference-a Tipp fan beside me in the Nally commenting that the first penalty "wouldn't have made a hole in a wet paper bag."

ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 13/09/2014 18:44:38    1651665

I believe the fact that they have to hit the penalty so far out,made the strikers try to over compensate for this,by trying to hit it as hard as they could,to the detriment of their usual refined penalty strike.That 7 yard distance makes a huge difference.I think this is a big factor in the under par strikes.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 19:29:51    1651686

Another penalty easily saved in U21 final this evening.Was well struck,but the defenders had ample time to adjust there hurleys and prevent a three pointer.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 20:18:22    1651712

Im pretty sure thats going to be looked at. At the moment only canning and Nash should go for goal. Everyone else would be better off going for a point tbh.
I say keep the distance as it is, but only the goalie is allowed to stand in goal.
If you think thats too harsh on the defending team, remember that the whole purpose of a penalty is to punish the team who fouled the attacker.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2014 20:46:40    1651724

Joncarter,i propoesed having 2 on the goal line at the time the rule was being ammended.Like you,i believe the distance is not the issue.You could be right in proposing only 1 defender on the line.Another option would be to allow 2 points for a point scored from a penalty.Either way,the advantage has to go back with the forward team.This would put a stop to cynical defending.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/09/2014 15:09:15    1651883

All the lads complaining about nash advantage now saying bring back the rule or tweak it a little,the rule was there for 125 years some penaltys scored some not a good 50/50 call, because nash got a little advantage and remember he missed one in the final last year[so they can be missed] everyone wanted it changed,the gaa should be ashamed of itself and everyone else who backed this stupid rule

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 14/09/2014 17:13:37    1651922

Hey eddie,i havnt heard from you,since you not only predicted,but guaranteed Cork would win the All Ireland,before Tipp embarrassed ye.Maybe you now realise the foolishness of your ways,as the more wise people among us,know there are no guarantees in life.I think most of the posters,agreed the Nash penalty was dangerous,and needed ammending before an injury was caused.The problem being,the GAA seemrd to change it overnight without thinking it through properly.I think it will end up as i proposed at the time)with only 1 or 2 defenders on the line,and the distance remaining as it is now.I think the vast majority will be happy if this is the final outcome.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/09/2014 18:49:38    1651946

Maybe he was referring to the fairer sex!

ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 14/09/2014 19:16:26    1651955

I was doing an analysis of the Kilkenny's players' performances in last week's match. Richie Hogan, unsurprisingly, was Kilkenny's most effective player with 15 possessions, 6 points from play, 3 assists for points, 1 assist created, 1 other scoring chance created but not taken, 2 defensive clearances and 2 blocks/hooks/dispossessions. Of the starting outfield players Walter Walsh was, again unsurprisingly, the least effective with a shockingly low 4 possessions. He did get 1 point and 1 assist to be fair but not much else outside of that.

Defensively these stats are telling; these are the numbers for the 6 starting backs in terms of how many clearances they made and created (ie passed for a colleague to clear). Paul Murphy 10 (including 2 assists and 2 assists created), JJ 9, Tyrell 7, B Hogan 5 (scored a point also), Buckley 7, but Joey Holden did not put in one single effective clearance all afternoon and only created 2 for colleagues. A huge discrepancy with his defensive team mates and backing up my original assertion that he was out of his depth. Tipp's Noel McGrath picked up a huge 21 possessions, comfortably ahead of everyone else, and most of those possessions came on the side Holden was patrolling. Now McGrath drifts all over the place and is difficult to pin down so it would be harsh to pin it all on Holden, but would McGrath have won so many possessions with a more assertive number 5 (Tommy Walsh, Kieran Joyce) in place? IMO, probably not.

Another interesting stat concerns Michael Fennelly. By common consensus he had a poor game and only had 7 possessions. However, he scored a point and assisted for 2-2 (once of those was a tackle where he dispossessed a Tipp player and TJ Reid scored a point. I count these as assists). It shows how much of an influence this man can have if he can get on the ball. Kilkenny must find a way to get him into the match the next day - even if he doesn't start midfield he may drift back as a third midfielder, allowing Richie Hogan drift forward into the centre forward pocket

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/09/2014 19:24:58    1651956