Are Kerry / Mayo fans angry over Limerick venue?

Biggest disrespect was the reason given for not fixing the replay for CP on 6th - because Dublin 'might' need to use the pitch!
Whatever people think of the decision now I'll guarantee you they'll be alot of angry folks on the road from Kerry and Mayo to Limerick on Sat - its going to be gridlock in the towns along the way and pure carnage in Limerick itself for parking. Game will be sold out by tomorrow (massive demand in Kerry)meaning people will missout. Then everyone will will have to face a drive back through the same gridlock - as a hotel room in Limerick will cost you €300+ for the sat nite - a complete joke of a decision. But as long as theres no risk of the Dubs being inconvenienced thats the main thing!
On a side note - would have been great to play the AI QF V Galway in Limerick-now that would have made sense.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 27/08/2014 11:09:19    1642842

*another massive eyeroll

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/08/2014 11:41:02    1642863

woops From North Kerry you can take the N69 through Listowel and Tarbert to avoid Adare and Abbeyfeale.
South Kerry traffic can cut across via Kanturk or Newmarket through Charleville and go in the N20.

fattimmy (Limerick) - Posts: 392 - 27/08/2014 13:17:23    1642931

From Mayo you can take Knock to Shannon, no prob

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 27/08/2014 13:21:53    1642936

Regardless of the venue, Mayo and Kerry have to go out and win the game on Saturday, a 6 day turnaround is a short time to recover from an demanding game. Limerick and it's people are fine, so fans can have a good day regardless of the result.
If there was extra time in q/finals and semi finals, replays may not be necessary. The Football game was fixed for CP, a long time ago, but why don't the GAA fixtures committee, keep Saturdays free in July /August for the possibility of a replay in Croke Park, at the busy time of the season?. It's a bit of a PR disaster for the GAA in my opinion.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 27/08/2014 13:53:58    1642965

From Mayo you can take Knock to Shannon, no prob

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 27/08/2014 13:56:30    1642968

Lads, is the replay definitely on RTE? Ta

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 27/08/2014 14:00:35    1642973

Via Manchester

lobbitin (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 27/08/2014 14:00:44    1642974

@gaelantrim

Its being shown live on RTE and on SKY sports 4 & HD. Will also be on GAAGO service.

MayoClub51 (Mayo) - Posts: 157 - 27/08/2014 14:28:06    1642997

For me its disappointment more than anger i love going to croker to watch Mayo play but l;ike a lot of mayo supporters i'll travel to where ever to watch us play. Looking forward to it got the tickets yesterday and iv'e never been to limerick before so i'm making a weekend of it leaving very early to avoid a lot of the traffic around Claregalway and Tuam and come back the next day in time for the other other semi final and the sunday roast........only way to do it :-)

Stephenite (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 27/08/2014 14:48:31    1643018

Good post blacknamber.

Good few from Mayo are taking train from Galway and spending Saturday night in Galway. Half the homes in Galway have a Mayo person living there.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 27/08/2014 16:23:33    1643089

Just to top things off nicely -
Jackeen - not sure you understand what were talking about - we can't get a bus to the game and jump off 20 mins later outside the ground!
Safe travelling to everyone anyway..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 28/08/2014 09:48:02    1643295

My eye roll was reserved for your comment about the fact Dublin might need CP for a replay. You do realise Donegal are playing too?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/08/2014 10:13:13    1643305

Blacknamber

Park and ride not a bad option, still going to be an hour in and out of Adare.

FullyForward (Kerry) - Posts: 13 - 28/08/2014 10:43:46    1643328

Listen at the end of the day some Kerry las was on radio 1 sunday evening giving out that it took him 5 hours to get to an All-Ireland Semi final to see his team. People moan. Leitrim supporters would drive to hell and back to see our team in the All-Ireland semi. Shut up and get on with it

FrChewyLooey (Leitrim) - Posts: 123 - 28/08/2014 10:49:11    1643332

Assuming that every pub in Limerick is well used to jersey-clad Rugby and GAA supporters and that a normal Saturday night will be bananas even when there's no match. What are the good pubs to be heading into next Saturday night about 8 ? Decor, number of super Telly's , trendy music blaring, unimportant. Where are the pubs where the staff are friendly and craic and banter is encouraged?

Whatever the result I hope a good few rival supporters stick around for the night. May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7351 - 28/08/2014 15:10:10    1643548

AllIreland semi finals should be played in Croke Park, no disrespect to Limerick. Am i angry? Yes! If it were the quarter final i wouldn't be as bothered, the traffic jams will be a big problem. Not going as a form of protest but the GAA won't care whether i attend or not

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 28/08/2014 18:09:58    1643667

In terms of Pubs In Limerick been used to GAA clad supporters hard to know , Limerick city wouldn't be the most GAA part of the world with many pubs patchy enough showing GAA , Rugby & soccer are big sports in the city whilst Hurling would have a big audience too but football has a low profile although the 2 senior teams in the east of the city Monaleen & st Pats doing their best. Near the ground The Ardhu, Greenhills & Woodfield House are your choices, all good venues , Na piarsaigh clubhouse is close by too and bound to be a big GAA crowd there...in the city any of the Flannerys chain, Patsy Nicholas's, The Orchard nightclub & peter Clohessys would be good spots for a GAA person.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 28/08/2014 19:05:05    1643695

Match tickets for stand and terraces still available on-line: surprised by that, to be honest. Has the hype about potential travel difficulties put some fans off? Michael Ring went completely over the top in his criticism today- you'd think people had to travel by ass and cart. Galway to Limerick, with motorway from Gort, is little over an hour. It would probably take longer to get to Croke park!!

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 28/08/2014 19:38:33    1643706

greenandred

go into the greenhills hotel before the match for food
they do a carvery in there thats probably the best in limerick
in town afterwards if your looking for a good traditional irish pub that should be filled with match goers
the locke bar would be your best bet
they have live music nearly every night

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/08/2014 20:54:50    1643742