Kieran McGeeney ice bucket challenge?

Don't get the negativity towards this.

So far €1.2 million (and rising) has been raised in less than 2 weeks, do you really think they'd have raised that without this campaign and all the publicity they're getting? I certainly don't.

The IMNDA are also very open about answering any questions about where the money is spent and provided the below link in relation to last years spending for people asking.

http://imnda.ie/about-imnda/where-does-the-money-go/

'In 2013, 11% of overall funds raised went towards funding salaries & pension costs. The remaining 89% is spent on the services we provide and the general expenditure that comes with running the costs to support these services.'

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2014 15:14:46    1643551

Look each to their own, people are not wrong for doing it nor are people wrong for having a negative opinion on it.
Charity should be a private affair in my opinion. Too many like to give and then love to talk about it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/08/2014 15:21:19    1643554

Agree 100% with a few like Ulsterman on this subject.Charity,i concur,should be a private affair.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/08/2014 15:32:45    1643564

realdub

Look each to their own, people are not wrong for doing it nor are people wrong for having a negative opinion on it.
Charity should be a private affair in my opinion. Too many like to give and then love to talk about it.

Yes thats exactly what I mean ,but you said it better than I did :-). Any chance for people to show off or take a selfie on facebook it just rubs me up the wrong way - bit of humility goes all long way in my book.

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 28/08/2014 15:33:19    1643566

It's a bit of craic.. some people are just born stuffy and grumpy and generally just stay like that. Fair play all who have contibuted and donated so far.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 28/08/2014 15:36:42    1643571

Agree 100% with a few like Ulsterman on this subject.Charity,i concur,should be a private affair.

Well i disagree, but do appreciate and understand where your coming from.

If charity was strictly a private thing how much money would the Irish cancer society have raised in recent years, or Suicide prevention charities, Crumlin Childrens hospital?? The problem is there are so many worthy ones - as i said, everyone has charities that are close to their heart and should not be looked down on for choosing not to support others.
At least i would never berate anyone for choosing not to support something or other.
As for people who donate and love to talk about it, yes i guess that's not in the spirit of charity but at the same time tell that to an MND patient or cancer sufferer who has benefited from those donations.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 28/08/2014 15:58:02    1643594

If charity was strictly a private thing how much money would the Irish cancer society have raised in recent years, or Suicide prevention charities, Crumlin Childrens hospital?? The problem is there are so many worthy ones - as i said, everyone has charities that are close to their heart and should not be looked down on for choosing not to support others.
At least i would never berate anyone for choosing not to support something or other.
As for people who donate and love to talk about it, yes i guess that's not in the spirit of charity but at the same time tell that to an MND patient or cancer sufferer who has benefited from those donations.

I don't mean the charities themselves should be kept private, I was referring to the act of donating.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/08/2014 16:06:00    1643602

fire_in_belly - its not water wastage nor people donating to a Charity that is the problem, its the fact that many can't stay clear or find it hard to as they are being berated on Facebook if they are nominated and don't do it or are reluctant to. Also, as someone else pointed out, how much of the £5er or whatever amount it is do the people on the ground actually see? Most charities say the profits go to the cause but funny they don't tell you what the administration costs are within said charity. Yes the profits might well go but when Mr CEO etc get their salaries how much of your £5er is left? You want to do some good? Next time you are walking down the street give a homeless person the money or drop it in the letterbox of someone you are aware of who is in severe financial difficulties. That way not only are you sure that all the money will be used by the person you intended it for plus you have the benefit of remaining dry and doing your bit for the environment.

Most charities, certainly the reputable ones, are very clear on were their money goes. Concern Worldwide for example, 87.4% of money donated to them will reach the people that need it most which would be a very good percentage. A quick bit of research there I found out 7% of your pound will go towards administration and a further 14% on fundraising. The other 79% is spent on ALS education, research and patient and community services.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 28/08/2014 16:43:05    1643622

Look, what people do with their money is completely their own business. Plus, the fact that any money is going to the people affected is better than no money going their way. As I said in my first post on this, I don't like peer-pressure/forced or whatever you want to call it Charity. Remember when I was living and working in Dublin standing in the Central Bank plaza one day minding my own business when one of the clip boarders came over to me and asked me would I sign up direct debit for think it was around €8 a month. Told her she was alright but she continued on with her sales pitch. Told her again I was alright. She then asks me do I drink and thinking she was maybe going to take me for a pint (being the affable guy that I am) said I do. She followed this up with the classic line - well, if you just drank two pints a month less you could give the money to the charity. I told her I would prefer not to drink 2 pints a month less and then asked her was she volunteering to get people signed up, given it was for Charity of course, or was she getting any remuneration for her time. She declined to answer saying she didn't have to disclose this information. Happy to ask personal questions, not happy to answer. Needless to say that ended the conversation.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/08/2014 17:08:51    1643638

Ok so we should just do away with Facebook donations altogether, just because there are a few glory hunters knocking around and it upsets people. It would take in far less money but whatever you need to stay happy.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 28/08/2014 17:29:11    1643650

The end justifies the means for me.

So what if some eejits get to message their egoes as long as some good comes out of it?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/08/2014 17:51:10    1643660

The ice bucket challenge, it just cements the fact that I was born in the wrong century.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 28/08/2014 17:56:28    1643662

fire_in_belly

Ok so we should just do away with Facebook donations altogether, just because there are a few glory hunters knocking around and it upsets people. It would take in far less money but whatever you need to stay happy.

Oh how I wish FB would completely disappear full stop :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/08/2014 17:58:06    1643663